Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hangover Cure

• 09-03-2004 8:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭

I was listening to SpinTalk today and they were interviewing a sales person from this company paraxine. They say that their tablets make you sober fast and also boast no more hangover's.....

What ya think of this?? anyone get these tablets yet? Do they work?

www.paraxine.com
    Paraxine® is advised in the following situations:
    for men who still want to perform sexually and don’t lose their ability as a result of drinking alcohol
    cool.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

I'm not so sure about those... Look a tad dodgy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Barbie_666

uck...stay away from that...It looks like paracetamols in a fancy box....:dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

A Can or 2 of that feel fine can clear your head in the morning. Very handy if u end up doing a all nighter and then relaise oh crap my head is killing me and i got work in 2 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

Originally posted by Kennett
    I'm not so sure about those... Look a tad dodgy.

Yeah m8, usually I would stay clear of things like this but it was given a good bit of airtime this afternoon on one of Dublin’s biggest radio stations!! Also, it’s a good excuse to get plastered for "testing purposes only" blink.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Originally posted by ando
    it’s a good excuse to get plastered for "testing purposes only"
    thats the danger - people getting locked every night cause they can fix their hang overs then one day - (((*BOOM*))) you liver explodes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

this is the second product that clains to prevent hangovers posted on boards, im very skeptical but would like to hear from someone that has tried it
    can someone test it plz i cant as im off the drink atm

[size=-4]note to The FANJ please ban me for a week before monty sees my poll [/size]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Lucozade, Vanilla Ice-cream and Chipsticks...

Ah don't needs no dang new fangled medical type things to get rid o my hangovers fast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭sound_wave

i always feel sick after drinking lucozade , the orange energy stuff, in the desperate bid to rid myslelf of a hangover.....although chipsticks and ice-cream would have its charms....

a couple of bottles of pepsi sorts me out usuallly, whilst prob destroying my stomach...ah well...fair tradeoff i guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Bah, it's asparagin marketed as a hangover cure. The patent is essentially for the marketing, not the asparagin content

(technically the patent is for the use of asparagin to prevent a hangover but I won't tell anyone if you just get generic asparagin and take it after a few bevvies without paying them. This is one of the classic cases of the abuse of the patent system)

Does it work? Asparagin does cause ethanol to be broken down slightly faster. You'd want to be taking an awful lot of it to make a significant difference. The amount of water you'd be taking with the number of tablets they presumably want you to take would make a difference on its own. Two 500mg paracetemol tablets and a big glass of water would still be better and cheaper than coughing up for Paraxine.

Or better still, less of the binge drinking (I know it's a nutty idea in this country)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Saw this stuff in the in flight aer lingus mag recently.. Read the science bit. Apparently developed by the russians to make their soldiers perform better than Americans because they have no hangover... pprobably just to make them seem to handle their drink better than American dog soldiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

from new scientist

So, onto N-acetyl-cysteine (NAC), an amino acid supplement sold in health food stores. This proved to be a winner. "Fantastic," said one volunteer. "My head didn't feel fuzzy at all," said another.

they also said hair of the dog works. i.e. drinking in the morning to help flush out the methanol in your system.

my recommendation is to only drink good quality vodka or rum as they are low in methanol and other cogeners which are the main cause of alcohol along with dehydration. so drink lots of water too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

Yeah m8, usually I would stay clear of things like this but it was given a good bit of airtime this afternoon on one of Dublin’s biggest radio stations!! Also, it’s a good excuse to get plastered for "testing purposes only" blink.gif

Personally, I'd still stay away from those tablets, just something about them doesn't want to make me splash out on them. They probably are almost in the same category as those Viagra-type tablits that you get as spam mail... The question is though, do they actually work as well? And if they do, what effect would they have on your er... "Performance"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

More beer will sort ya out, seriously, just one will have ya right as rain!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Paraxine® is advised in the following situations:
    for men who still want to perform sexually and don’t lose their ability as a result of drinking alcohol

Great! Now when I go home by myself I'll be able to whack off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I ordered my ru21 (the ones that were developed by the KGB) yesterday afternoon, so I'll be trying them out on Friday night — which usually consists of four heineken, naggin of smirnoff with two cans of red bull, four or five pint bottles of bulmers and maybe a double vodka and red bull (or two).

I'll let ye know how I get on ...

P.S. the site is www.ru21.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Originally posted by Buckfast
    I ordered my ru21 (the ones that were developed by the KGB) yesterday afternoon, so I'll be trying them out on Friday night — which usually consists of four heineken, naggin of smirnoff with two cans of red bull, four or five pint bottles of bulmers and maybe a double vodka and red bull (or two).

oh man your so cool , I wish I was like you :rolleyes:

I thought this was a discussion on hangover cures and was simply quantifying the amount of alcohol that was to be consumed after consumption of these new tablets?

Or maybe I misunderstood Tusky's sarcastic post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

Best hangover cure ever:

A full day of watching videos. By the time you go to bed, your hangover is usually gone - magic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

it's all crap anyway.
    the only thing that is required to get rid of a hangover is time. Nothing else.
    The liver must process the all the gunk and get rid of it. 1
    Drinks, food etc might make you feel better but they won't make your liver work faster!

That RU-21 stuff looks like it breaks down the alcohol in your stomach
    . Meaning that it breaks the alcohol down before it gets into your bloodstream (why else would you have to take it before or during drinking?)

It just means that you absorb less alcohol so you don't get as drunk for a given amount of booze therefore you'd get the same effect from just drinking less anyway.

I mean, the stuff on the site is SO oviously marketing BS

"Prevents hangovers
    Supports healthy DNA cells
    Supports Central Nervous System
    Protects skin from alcohol damage
    100% Safe & Effective
    These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, or prevent any disease

'Supports' healthy cells? What the hell does that actually MEAN!
    'Protects skin' WHAT!?!?!?

Originally posted by Sleipnir
    [BIt just means that you absorb less alcohol so you don't get as drunk for a given amount of booze therefore you'd get the same effect from just drinking less anyway.
    [/B]

According to this article in that paragon of British broadsheet journalism:

"The pill lets you get drunk, but indefinitely delays the hangover and damage to the body's organs."

(Link: http://www.guardian.co.uk/international/story/0,3604,1047700,00.html )

Anyhoo ... they arrived at my house this morn and another friend has also 'volunteered' to be a guinea pig, so I'll let ye know on Monday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Originally posted by Buckfast

So, if your still alive, how did you get on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

rofl, i'd love to know what a "dna cell" is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭joePC

Ok order those paraxine, I'll test them on friday, I saw a thing on TV when they where testing paraxine in the UK. All positive results,

The end of Hang overs and missing heart beats,, Thanks for the link.

Thanks joePC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Easy-C

Lads? Are yous all ****ing lightweights or what?
    Listen to yourselves? We are Irish we can drink ffs,yous sound like
    gay english drinkers,come on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Originally posted by Easy-C

stereotypes make baby jesus cry :(
    the only thing missing from your post easy-c is oh ahhh up the ra or something along those lines

now why would ya go and say something like that for?
    Are you a gay english drinker?(sterotype)

the only thing that made baby jesus cry is no one would put the poor ****er up for
    a night, he had to slum it with the animals,

I haven't heard anyone saying they can't drink, where did you get that from? Just because you don't get hangovers, makes you special, aye?

If you cant drink without crying about a hangover,
    I suggest you stop drinking,

If you cant drink without crying about a hangover,
    I suggest you stop drinking,
    Some people get bigger hangovers than others. I could get a hangover which would carry over to 2 days. Everyones body is different and your body can obviously hack it the next day. Believe me, a lot of people do quit drinking because of the hangover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭SeeYouJimmy

irn bru is the best hang over cure, we scottish have sworn by it for years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

My hangover cure is a bottle of Lucozade Sport (not the fizzy one) and a roll with sasuges and wedges.... MMMmmmmmm
    Does the job for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

0749307846.02._PE20_SCMZZZZZZZ_.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭artvandelay

I dont know if that hangerover pill is the same as this one,
    http://abcnews.go.com/sections/scitech/Living/techtv_hangoverpill030912.html .This was developed by the russian during the cold war. It's ment to work but no serious scienctific trials have been carried out on it. There selling it over in california for about the same as a pint. Still if it worked it would be worth it.

artvandelay ... ya that's it.

Everyone else ... I've tried it on five occasions now (incl. Paddy's Eve), and its worked a treat each time (with varying amounts of alcohol). Only thing I've noticed is I still fell the tiredness the day after.