Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Without a condom

• 04-03-2004 11:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering how many of you practice sex without a condom aka the withdrawl method?

Myself and my girlfriend have done this several times. What are the chances of her getting pregnant? So far we have been lucky. Everytime we do it, afterwards we promise not to do it again but the temptation is just too much sometimes, feels so much better without a condom. She can't go on the pill at the moment for medical reasons.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Originally posted by pull out
    Myself and my girlfriend have done this several times. What are the chances of her getting pregnant?

exceedingly high! ‘pulling out’ is not a form of contraceptive and I’m very surprised she hasn’t gotten pregnant yet. It’s very irresponsible behaviour. I don’t know what the medical reasons are for her not being able to go on the pill, but at the very least you should be using a condom. There are many other forms of contraception she can use besides the pill, she should go to the doctor immediately and discuss which one would be the most convenient for her to use. If you are not willing to do this, then start preparing to be a daddy very soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

There's about a 35% chance that she actually is already pregnant. This will increase each time this happen. Pulling out is NOT a form of contraception. Unless you want to be parents, wise up and get proper contraception. Condoms ain't that expensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭rs

I have two younger sisters thanks to the withdrawl method.

So do most other irish people.

Semen is excreted long before you actually climax. It's more than enough to make her pregnant.

It's only a matter of time.

If you don't know this already, what kind of parent do you think you will make?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 989 ✭✭✭MrNuked

The withdrawal method surely rules out th possibilty of simultaeeous orgasms. I agree sex without condoms is far better.
    could she get the injection or anything? There might be another option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭dub_dan

Originally posted by rs
    I have two younger sisters thanks to the withdrawl method.

just wondering how do you know that?? did you ask??!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

I hate this" caught in the moment" crap! is that what your gonna tell your parents!!
    "sorry da i just got really horny and couldn't help it"
    get some condom's numb nuts!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Just wondering how many of you practice sex without a condom aka the withdrawl method?

Myself and my girlfriend have done this several times. What are the chances of her getting pregnant? So far we have been lucky. Everytime we do it, afterwards we promise not to do it again but the temptation is just too much sometimes, feels so much better without a condom. She can't go on the pill at the moment for medical reasons.

Yeah we used to do this as my gf couldn't use the pill cos of a heart murmur
    Ah the auld "oh hell, we'll be grand and it feels so much better" malarky.

We now have a 16 month old son.
    What else do you need to know to convince you it's not a method of contraception?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Why bother withdrawing? Before you know it, you'll have a kid, and you didn't even enjoy yourself properly when you made him.

You might as well stay in and have fun if you continue what you're doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭galwaydude

Mate use a condom as the last thing u want is for your girlfriend to become pregnant thats provided ou dont want kids just yet.Same thing happened me a few months ago with a girl i was seeing for 3 months, she became pregnant but unfortunately she lost it 2 months ago so thread carefully is my advice, and im not even going even start about all the sexual deseases u can get too so buy a condom, there not expensive as its no excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

feels so much better without a condom

wait to she how she feels after giving birth after an 8lb kidney stone or better yet, the pain of paying for the brat for the next 18-30 years of it's life.

One of the pair of ye needs to stand up and get protected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Heat of the moment got me a few times but its so stupid.

Me and my girlfriend went and got depo provera (12 week injection) thats 97.3% effective, I never use a condom with that and I still get a bit paranoid.

oops just checked

Confidence. DEPO-PROVERA is 99.7% effective.

woo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

Originally posted by Manticore

get some condom's numb nuts!!

if he had numb nuts then it would be problem solved:D
    but infact its his brain that seems to be quite numb indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭rs

Originally posted by dub_dan
    just wondering how do you know that?? did you ask??!!

We were told!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Originally posted by rs
    We were told!

Jesus:eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

you twat!
    im always amazed such stupidity prevails in this day and age.

there's loads of other methods of contraception you can use if she's unable to take the pill. if you'd bothered to look into that you'd know

what is it preventing her from taking the pill?
    i'd advise you get her ass down to the doctor who can suggest other methods, but of course they'll always stress the need to use a condom. you could be spreading all sorts of diseases as well as risking pregnancy/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

I'm amazed that someone can be so uneducated in this matter. I know I'm probably going to offend someone here, but it would be ok if Anto and Jacinta didn't quite cop it but come on, you are able to use a computer for God sake!
    BTW, if your girlfriend is over 17 (I hope for your sake she is) she must have read hundreds of her women magazines that always mention all about contraception. I'm surprised she didn't know all about this subject.
    You shouldn't be posting a question like this. If you know so little I'd be using the internet for research purposes.
    Originally posted by I am MAN

Me and my girlfriend went and got depo provera (12 week injection) thats 97.3% effective, I never use a condom with that and I still get a bit paranoid.
    Confidence. DEPO-PROVERA is 99.7% effective.

woo

MAN
    What is DEPO-PROVERA? Is that just another name for the pill injection. Are there a few different types of pill injections?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,187 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Look it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Originally posted by Linoge
    You shouldn't be posting a question like this. If you know so little I'd be using the internet for research purposes.
    What is DEPO-PROVERA? Is that just another name for the pill injection. Are there a few different types of pill injections?

:rolleyes: The ironing is delicious as they say

http://www.depoprovera.com/
    T'is the injection indeed. That site covers all the info. Oh that and Google.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

I bet it was your chick who convined you to do the pull out technique.

She's probably trying to get pregnant and bag herself a husband at the same time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

you go typedef, tell it like it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by Linoge

MAN

It's a contraceptive injection, and it's between 97-99.7% effective (as opposed to 98% for condoms, but then depo doesn't protect you against STD/STI's or cervical infections/cancer). It's not something i'd take myself, there are so many horror stories about it, and once it's in your body it lasts for 3 months and there's no way of getting rid of it if you have side effects...

Edit: And you're terminally thick if you think the 'withdrawal method' is going to prevent your girlfriend getting pregnant. She may already BE pregnant...have you even done a test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Originally posted by Typedef
    I bet it was your chick who convined you to do the pull out technique.

She's probably trying to get pregnant and bag herself a husband at the same time.
    That would be the only thing getting bagged here ;)

Another stupid thread tbh

Pulleh ou and commeh over her tats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Ok fair enough some excuse for those ppl who left education early and hadnt that much access to information in the 1960's , but for any human being not born in the jungle (or Leitrim) , whats the excuse!!!!

This is so thick it has to be a troll. Its just not possible for someone to be this thick (unless from Leitrim!)

Everyone I know that uses DEPO-PROVERA has no problems at all, I wouldnt let internet horror stories put me off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

I' reminded of the Billy Connelly quote "When I'm about to come wild horses couldn't make my ass go in that direction" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

The thread starter is either one of these or one of these....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭AntiRip

isn't there certain times of the month thats it's safe? Like when she not ovalating. I'm educated enough & we do it. But then again we own our home & getting married soon so it wouldn't be a big deal if she did get pregnant!!

And btw, It might be just me but condoms are feckin' sh.te...Any time I used them.....wake up boy!!!! might as been wearing a tayto bag!

Be careful though, contraception is cheap & makes her fat!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by Typedef

Ahh memories of a very timely & lucky escape...
    If you don't know this already, what kind of parent do you think you will make?

The same kind of parent that all the other moronic teenagers in Ireland are? Not wanting to imply that the original poster is a moronic teenager of course... (unless the hat fits)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭loismustdie

immediately after period is safe but along the same lines as pulling out, not very reliable. contraception of any sort is not cheap!
    i know the thread starters "method of contraception" isn't the best idea but he posed a question that is only as stupid as a lot of the thread's started on this forum so give him a break. everyone is high and mighty whn they patronise him about how risky it is and altough you are all right i'm sure there are millions of eople being just as irresponsible even if they don't admit it. and you can retort to this "yeah that's how unwanted pregnancies happen" but at the end of the day even rational people allow their emotions to dictate their actions.
    it's fact that pulling out isn't contracesption and a lot of ye have talked about how this lead to pregnancies but on the other hand i know a lot of couple who have gotten away with it. i'm not condoning it but it's not such an alien idea that couples would chose to do this, but i agree that it is risky
    sti's shouldn't be a factor if you're having un-condomed sex-most couples know each others past sexual experiences if their in a lovin rship and can make an informed decision

//: me awaits lecture

Correction: Depo Provera is 15 euro for 12 weeks protection, if that isnt cheap what is?

loismustdie - cop on. No one is being high and mighty. This guy is stupid if he thinks his girlfriend won't get pregnant from unprotected sex. It's not a 'one in a million chance', the odds are actually very high that she will get/is pregnant.

Originally posted by AntiRip
    isn't there certain times of the month thats it's safe? Like when she not ovalating. I'm educated enough & we do it. But then again we own our home & getting married soon so it wouldn't be a big deal if she did get pregnant!!

And btw, It might be just me but condoms are feckin' sh.te...Any time I used them.....wake up boy!!!! might as been wearing a tayto bag!

Be careful though, contraception is cheap & makes her fat!:p

Wow antirip, what a classy guy you are. It's NEVER safe. At a certain time of the month the odds are reduced quite a bit, but I think the only people who believe in the rhythm method are the amish people probably lol

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

loismustdie
    please leave the moderating to the moderators
    B

Originally posted by Beruthiel
    loismustdie
    please leave the moderating to the moderators
    B

I don't think she's doing anything other than express her opinion?
    Anyway, lois, contraception is dirt cheap. 6 months supply of the pill is under a tenner. You can get condoms free from family planning centres. What more do you want?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭gsand

'pulling out' as mentioned already is not the smartest,chances are some semen has been released so in that case the chance of pregnancy is the same as having sex without a condom-about 1 in 7. i hope your several is significantly less than 7!

sorry Beruthiel it was only an opinion
    i know it's stuid to not use condoms but ever1 posting her is making out that he is the only 1 stupid enough to consider pulling out but it's really not that uncommon i know the fact that it's not uncommon doesn't make it any better and that giving out to the thread starter might make him see sense but i just thought you were all being a bit hard on him
    i meant for people who don't have medical card, which is a lot of people esp for students and young people who are probably in need for safe contraception more than any1. it's 45 euro every month to see doc.

45 to see doc everymonth for perscription is expensive especially for students and young people who need contraception more than anyone. condoms are 19euro for 12 condoms, which for a young couple is a probably a weeks worth (depending on couple, correct me if 'm wrong. jsut the facts but i don't believe the price of contraception is really an excuse for unprotected sex. however it is a factor and an issue that has been complained about before.
    i don't agree with pulling out either but i just thought you were being hard on him. it's stupid but not uncommon but i'm not trying to make it sound ok because it's not uncommon. i know that buy giving out to him you might make him see sense but he is not the only one who does this.
    i acknowledge that it ain't a one in a milion chance of getting pregnant and riskier than anything else but i know many cases where the people were lucky who used pulling out but once again i'm not condoning it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭spectacleinrock

You're an idiot.

Im on the pill and inist on condoms and i still had a major pregnancy scare....

If u cant afford the four euro for a box in the pub get to your local family planning center and u will get some condoms for free.

NO EXCUSES!

Originally posted by loismustdie
    45 to see doc everymonth for perscription is expensive especially for students and young people

Actually yeah, it is pretty dear, although if you go to the family planning clinic it's much cheaper, especially if you have a student card.

I've been living in Belfast for a few months and doctor visits and the pill itself are both completely free, and I have to say there aren't very many teenage mothers here at all compared to the south.

Originally posted by spectacleinrock
    You're an idiot.

Im on the pill and inist on condoms and i still had a major pregnancy scare....

NO EXCUSES!

Relax and settle down
    Let your mind go round
    Lay down on the ground
    Listen to the sound of the band
    Hold my hand

Open up your mind
    We'll love right where we lie
    I know you from inside
    You're like a horse I'll ride o'er the sand
    Through the land

Relax and let your mind roll on
    Over all your problems
    Relax and let your mind roll on
    Over all your problems

We try harder and harder trying to get away
    But it's a long long way until judgement day
    So settle your affairs and take your time
    'Cause everything in the world is yours and mine
    Yours and mine

Relax and settle down
    Let your mind go round
    Lay down on the ground
    Listen to the sound of the band
    Hold my hand
    Relax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

So far we have been lucky.

There's the operative word.

You're both morons. I think there are enough morons in this world without you two spawning more. So, even for this reason alone, I hope you grow up and develop some responsibility. You're playing parenthood russian roulette.

Try Durex Avanti if the 'bareback' sensation is that important to you. They're not cheap, but they're cheaper that supporting a sprog. Otherwise get down the family planning centre and talk to someone sensible.

Originally posted by loismustdie

Silly happy-clapper Christian music

loismustdie - you're going the right way about it if you want to get banned from PI. If you want to participate in the thread, say something useful, not this tripe, please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Originally posted by eth0_
    loismustdie - you're going the right way about it if you want to get banned from PI. If you want to participate in the thread, say something useful, not this tripe, please.

eth0_ ... yes, they are going a little be out of the way, but Beruthials comment of "leaving the moderating to the moderators" applies to you too....

<< Fio >>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,875 ✭✭✭Seraphina

contraception is dirt cheap. 6 months supply of the pill is under a tenner. You can get condoms free from family planning centres. What more do you want?

eh hey now here. 3 months of the pill i'm on is 35euro. thats WITHOUT the prescription fee and 25% markup because my mum is a pharmacist.

and i have a question, where are these family planning centres that give out free condoms? cause i'd be down there in a second, although tbh i dont think they'd take kindly to people coming in on a weekly basis for their supply of condoms.

contraception is not that cheap, but its neccesary. you pay for your pleasures.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

yeah, the pill my girlfriend uses is €15 a month, and she needs to get her perscription every few months.

good point seraphina, if you want to have sex, you have to pay the cash or pay the consequences

Flogen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Originally posted by flogen
    if you want to have sex, you have to pay the cash or pay the consequences

Stung for refusing to pay before?! :p
    Maybe its not my place to intervene, but if someone is providing a service, then they deserve to be paid for that service....

And "pull out", for the love of god just carry one or two condoms in your back pocket. Or your girlfriends handbag or purse, or anywhere. And no, cling film does not substitute well (I know someone who once tried it, resulted in a wee baby, not what you want I'm sure!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Original poster, if even 5% of you semen comes out before you ejacualte (which may not be the same time as you orgasm), thats probqbly 5,000,000 sperm, who really needs the next 95,000,000?
    I have to say there aren't very many teenage mothers here at all compared to the south.
    Shotgun wedding comes to mind. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭spectacleinrock

3 months of the pill i'm on is 35euro. thats WITHOUT the prescription fee and 25% markup because my mum is a pharmacist.

???? What the dearest pill i have been worked out at 5 euro per month........ The cheapest was 3 euro. Admitted doctors are outrageously dear but most people need to go for whatever reason so just save alll your complaints for the one visit.
    What does it matter a baby or an std will end up costing u a lot more..

The well woman centres and the well man tend to give them out for free also college nurses or student unions will give them to you.

But to honest there's no way in well i'd shag anyone who couldn't be bothered to by a condom, its simply respect for your partner.

Originally posted by Seraphina
    eh hey now here. 3 months of the pill i'm on is 35euro. thats WITHOUT the prescription fee and 25% markup because my mum is a pharmacist.

What pill are you on? I know some, like dianette are expensive, I take microgynon and it was between 10-20 euro for six months supply...

and i have a question, where are these family planning centres that give out free condoms? cause i'd be down there in a second, although tbh i dont think they'd take kindly to people coming in on a weekly basis for their supply of condoms.

www.ifpa.ie
    I only know the one in Dublin, its accross the road from the old eircom building on O'Connell St.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by spectacleinrock
    ???? What the dearest pill i have been worked out at 5 euro per month........ The cheapest was 3 euro. Admitted doctors are outrageously dear but most people need to go for whatever reason so just save alll your complaints for the one visit.
    What does it matter a baby or an std will end up costing u a lot more.
    I'm sure you know the point, but the pill won't protect you from an STI.