Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sonic The Hedgehog Video

• 04-03-2004 11:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭

I found a song on my hdd that was a remix of streets of rage and sonic. Dunno where i downloaded it from. Anyways the song inspired me to make a video to go along with it. I'm not finished it yet but would anyone be interested in seeing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Absoloutley! Is it Streets of Rage II or III? If I remember correctly, they had some excellent early 90's dance music. I remember pumping it through my stereo and putting the speakers either side of the TV. LOL! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,258 ✭✭✭MrVestek

Streets of rage 1 actually. Just finished the vid, looks good actually. Tried my best to get the video to match with the song. The song was a bit long tho so i had to edit it. Wasn't arsed spending ages editing it either so the cuts are a bit choppy, you will notice them, but not too much. Anyways the file is 21.7 megs. Would that be too much for ya to download? I'll pop it on my ftp space asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Nope - 21.7 megs is fine.

/off topic

I'm in the good 'ol US of A where broadband is, would you believe it, free with the apartment.

(pity I'm only here for a while - back at home Eircom told me I can expect broadband by the end of March. Great. Only it's March 2005. Don't get me started)

Right i uploaded it to some webspace. Apparently for some reason it wont automatically play in media player so right click and save as.

http://homepage.ntlworld.ie/steven.kavanagh/SonicOfRage.wmv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

..Why would you want to know where you downloaded that track from :P
    meh, whatever floats your boat....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Will download it later and give it a look :)

Hope yer liking the vid, would like to get back as much feed... err.... back, as i can thanks. Good points? Bad points? If the feedback is good i might make a few street fighter movies or... dunno... will take requests ;-)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 2,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭LoGiE

Jaysus!!

"Suuppeerr Soonicc Dannce Attacck.."

If anything it made me start playing Sonic 2 just for the bonus stage. But seriously not bad tho, fair play:)

Now lets see a you do something with Puzzle bobble and say....Strider then I'll be really impressed;)

Puzzle Bobble? To be honest that wouldnt really work. Cus i mean it'd just be videos of the bubbles popping and stuff... not a very good video. Never played strider tho so if i made a vid of that it'd probably be crap anyways ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Grimlock

how did ya record your games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Streaming the frames from the emulator, FRAPS or capturing off the console hardware itself I'd imagine.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I saw a really cool Mario Vs Sonic video ages ago which was pretty good - done in Flash, as I recall, with sprite-grabs a plenty....I'll have to dig that link out now if anyone's interested.

If you're taking requests....how about...ummm....Metroid vs Silent Hill, with a cameo by the weird little begger from Digdug.

Yea that guy was right, i used the emulator in full screen and used fraps to capture what i was doing.... i dont seem to have people's opinions on the video tho... what does everyone think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

It was good and I only have a few qualms about it.
    The song is crap but you worked the video well with it.
    And what you were saying about it being choppy was right it is noticable.

I'd see this as a stepping stone for yourself. I have a feeling you will move on to bigger and better things.
    Keep us informed of any further works.
    Thanks.

Ste-

I've done other video projects before this, one was an intro mod movie for a game called Bridge Commander (really ace star trek game when it's modded to bits) and one i was working on, but then scrapped cus of the simple fact that it didnt impress me. I need when i make a video to have the urge to watch it over and over and with this i didn't, so that's canned. Might borrow a friend's DV camera in a few months to make a little short movie, just for myself... and see what the craic is. Will keep ya posted in the video editing board perhaps.

*snip*

Here's a little preview of the movie i was working on till i scrapped it... was a bridge commander recreation of various happenings in movies and that. This is a short recreation of nemesis. Done from sourcing my vhs back into the pc, however i'm trying to get to grips with fraps now but my system doesn't wanna seem to play uncompressed avi files... anyways here goes:

http://homepage.ntlworld.ie/steven.kavanagh/Nemesis_BC.wmv

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Heh - just watched it. Not a bad video - the choppiness wasn't too bad far as I can tell, and the song...well, the song is like all the early 90's dance music with tinkly keyboards etc. I thought the whole thing was quite cool. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Thought I had replied to your video already.
    Anyway it's way better than your sonic one. You shouldn't have scrapped it.