Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lost Passport - what to do?

• 22-02-2004 7:17pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭

I lost my passport. Apparently its a "massive deal" and "people kill for an irish passport". I personally dont give a flying **** and well its lost so **** it. Just get a new one i guess.

So how do i go about getting a new one? :confused:

thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭vgar

I got mugged about two years ago and they stole my passport and phone.

Go into the passport office and they will give you a "Stolen / Lost Passport" form. You will need to take this to the Gardai to get them to fill in the details etc. (if it was stolen). If it was just lost I think you can fill it in, but you will need to do the whole getting the Gardai to verify who you are again.

YOu will then be issued a passport for 1 year (thats what they did with me anyways) and then next year you will have to go back and get another for the full 10 years! It can be a pain in the ass and it took me a couple of months in the end with all the mix ups and all, but once you go in there they will advise you on the best course of action.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I personally dont give a flying **** and well its lost so **** it.

Ah, well you might if they decided to clone your identity. Identity theft, google it ;)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

yea have to go to the gards if you lost it or stolen it, they have the forms there.
    check the travl/hols forum, someone posted up someinfo there a while back about it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

To be honest it's very serious. If you lose it once, well fine you get another. Now ever if you lose the second one again in the ten years you may not get another one for 5 years I think.

I lost my 18 months ago, luckily got back to ireland from the UK.... Ryanair let me collect my ticket without a passport. I sweet talked the hot airhostess

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by Lump
    I sweet talked the hot airhostess

however not enough to join the mile high club.

Its a big deal allright, i think people charge €800 for a perfect passport like. Its worth a lot on the black market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Report it immediatly to the nearest Garda Station

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Originally posted by Lenny
    yea have to go to the gards if you lost it or stolen it, they have the forms there.
    check the travl/hols forum, someone posted up someinfo there a while back about it..
    Holy **** Lump, thats a serious serious offence, I would have reported yer one after I had flown and then reutruned, you're just proof how easy it is to get onto a plane with no identity and kill hundreds of people.
    I know people selling genuine passposts for 500-600euro tops, its all dependant on time required it to be made within. absolute mad money involved in it,
    very easy money if you're in debt and need to get a few grand up in a week or two and then leave it at that

Why would I report her? I got home.... I didn't kill anyone, all's well that ends well ;)

John

Originally posted by daveirl
    You don't have to have a passport to fly from the UK to Ireland

All that is needed is photo ID by most airlines, passport isn't a requirement for UK/Ireland travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by vgar
    YOu will then be issued a passport for 1 year (thats what they did with me anyways) and then next year you will have to go back and get another for the full 10 years! It can be a pain in the ass and it took me a couple of months in the end with all the mix ups and all, but once you go in there they will advise you on the best course of action.
    That's weird. I lost mine (think it got thrown in the bin somehow), went down the Garda station, filled out the form, got it stamped, fired it all into a swiftpost bag and received a new 10 year passport 10 days later.

Suited me cos the photo on the old one was crap. The one on it now is good (always get black & white photos for passports and licences people!).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Ronaldo7

Seamus what identification do I need?

Birth cert? Old cancelled passport? Cheers man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by BuffyBot
    All that is needed is photo ID by most airlines, passport isn't a requirement for UK/Ireland travel.

While the airport won't, you get stopped at security and you don't have a passport your screwed.

Anyway I don't know of any country that doesn't ask for the passport for non-domestic travel.

I lost my passport before, you get 1 year passport as a replacement and get hassles using it too.

Originally posted by Ronaldo7
    Seamus what identification do I need?

Birth cert? Old cancelled passport? Cheers man.
    As much as you can bring along. Best thing is Birth Cert + photo id, driving licence if you have it. I think officially you only need your birth cert, but why leave yourself open to hassle? :)
    Originally posted by Hobbes
    I lost my passport before, you get 1 year passport as a replacement and get hassles using it too.
    Either I was just lucky then, or they changed the rules. I got a 10 year as replacement for my lost one in 2000 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭calhob_ie

The Uk and Ireland have a agreement whereby nationals of each country can freely pass between each country without passports. Im from Glasgow and I fly backwards and forwards regularly. The id thing is an airline requirement not a legal requirement. I usually use my work identification on Aer Lingus which is perfectly acceptable to them.

Makes sense when you think about it, if that wasn't the case ther'ed be immigration posts on all the major routes into the north, to check passports.

Chris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

To be honest it's very serious. If you lose it once, well fine you get another. Now ever if you lose the second one again in the ten years you may not get another one for 5 years I think.

I lost my 18 months ago, luckily got back to ireland from the UK.... Ryanair let me collect my ticket without a passport. I sweet talked the hot airhostess

John

whats actually meant to happen if you loose your passport abroad? i mean u have to get home

You have to go the Irish Embassy in said country and ask nicely. You obviously have to prove that you are who you say you are. I'd assume you'd have to get someone to fly out to "collect" you so to speak. They'd have to bring your birthcert and their own ID. It's never happened to me.

John

Originally posted by whosurpaddy
    whats actually meant to happen if you loose your passport abroad? i mean u have to get home
    You can contact the embassy there who will help arrange an emergency passport to get you home. Afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭moridin

Originally posted by Ronaldo7

So how do i go about getting a new one? :confused:

Go to a chemist and get passport photos
    Get an old (expired) passport if you have one, yor driving licence or birth cert.
    Go to garda station, fill in a PAS L form. Get stamped.
    In Garda station fill in a PAS 1 form. Get signed & stamped.
    Go to Passport office on Molesworth st with Long form Birth cert, completed PAS L, completed PAS 1.
    Pay €57.

That's exactly what I said!

Never said it wasn't ;)

While the airport won't, you get stopped at security and you don't have a passport your screwed.
    You do not need a passport to enter the UK from Ireland if you are Irish as the UK is not a "foreign" country (it is a different country, just not a faoreign one). That said it comes in handy to get by the security types.
    Anyway I don't know of any country that doesn't ask for the passport for non-domestic travel.
    Ever hear of the Schenengen Area? You only need your national ID (if asked, which rarely happens).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Is this unusual?

This summer I was arriving at Dublin Airport from Heathrow, and all of us (passengers) were walking towards customs. The guy waiting there just asked someone at the front of the line "Where are you all coming from?" and a few people said London and he just waved us all through without checking any passports. The thing is I was coming from Canada via Heathrow. I'm an Irish citizen, but surely there were other people on the flight who were neither Irish or British and were just coming via London?

This *is* Ireland :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

That's what I thought.

TBH the customs officers are highly trained.... they can tell when some one is taking the piss.... also Ireland isn't a high priorty on the terrorist list. TBH half of america don't know where Ireland is....

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

Originally posted by Exit
    "Where are you all coming from?" and a few people said London and he just waved us all through without checking any passports. ... I'm an Irish citizen, but surely there were other people on the flight who were neither Irish or British and were just coming via London?

But there's a free travel area - they can't ask to see your passport (they can ask for ID though, but your driver's licence is good enough for that)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

TBH the customs officers are highly trained....

Interesting thing about the metal detector people, you'd think they're just dossing, but they're actually watching the people rather than the screen a lot of the time, they're trained to watch people going through for suspicious movemenet and such-like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

yeah, they're like sleeper agents, waiting to jump you, drag you off to that dark room and cavity search you.

Another odd fact - Bewleys has undercover security guards. Bizarre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Originally posted by crash_000
    yeah, they're like sleeper agents, waiting to jump you, drag you off to that dark room and cavity search you.

It sounds almost like your speaking from experience...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Ronaldo7

this is such a ****ing hassle. i hate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

TBH the customs officers are highly trained.... they can tell when some one is taking the piss....
    John

do you think someone earning piss money like they are is *really* paying attention *all* the time.:dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Originally posted by seamus
    That's weird. I lost mine (think it got thrown in the bin somehow), went down the Garda station, filled out the form, got it stamped, fired it all into a swiftpost bag and received a new 10 year passport 10 days later.

Suited me cos the photo on the old one was crap. The one on it now is good (always get black & white photos for passports and licences people!).
    If you are getting an emergency one it will only last 6-12 months,
    but if you are getting a new one, lost or otherwise they should give you whatever you want (10 yr)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Originally posted by maxheadroom
    But there's a free travel area - they can't ask to see your passport (they can ask for ID though, but your driver's licence is good enough for that)

The free Travel area is only for citizens of the free travel area (i.e. Citizens of UK or Ireland). So many foreign (non-eu) nationals in Ireland need a visa to enter the UK.

So they can ask you for passport to "prove" you don't need one. Last time i passed through Dublin airport, I flashed my EBS Account book, which is the almost the same size/shape/colour from the back and the waved me past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

I had my passport stolen in Amsterdam a couple of years ago. Reported it immediately to the local police. Got a copy of my report.

Phoned Irish embassy, expecting to have to go to the Hague to organise temporary passport. Nope!

Was allowed check in and board aircraft, with NO ID WHATSOEVER except my copy of the police report. Waved through at Dublin when I presented same to immigration control.

Even outside Schengen, European borders are very very open.

Originally posted by redoxan
    do you think someone earning piss money like they are is *really* paying attention *all* the time.:dunno:

How much are they paid?

John

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Originally posted by Lenny

some shameless self advertising there!

but yeah, you get the 1 year deally, then next year you get a nine year passport.