Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bus crash on Wellington Quay

• 21-02-2004 2:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭

(From here):
    Four dead in Dublin bus accident
    February 21, 2004
    (14:36) At least four people are believed to have been killed in an accident involving a bus in the centre of Dublin this afternoon.

It is understood that some of the people who died were standing in a bus queue at Wellington Quay, near the Clarence hotel.

A bus is said to have lost control and crashed into them at about 1.25pm.

A number of people are trapped by the bus, and at least seven people have been seriously injured.

Gardaí, fire brigade personnel and other emergency services are at the scene and the entire area around the south quays has been cordoned off.

Gardaí are diverting traffic away from the south quays and the garda helicopter is observing the area.

Happened right outside the lads currently gaming at GameCon LAN :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Jesus! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

14:36 Four people have been killed and ten have been injured after two double-decker buses collided on Dublin's Wellington Quay this afternoon.

www.ireland.com

No pictures yet.

Conflicting reports...

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2004/02/21/story135270.html

Bus overturns in Dublin city centre
    21/02/2004 - 2:38:25 pm

A bus has overturned on Wellington Quay, near the Halpenny Bridge, in Dublin.

It is understood that a number of people are trapped and emergency services are at the scene.

As a result, the south quays from O' Connell Bridge to Capel Street Bridge are closed. Motorists are asked to avoid the area until further notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

:eek: :(

christ,thats bad. Poor people just waiting for the bus. How did the bus just "go out of control"??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Jesus thats terrible, what can you say in this kind of situation

they are all contradicting each other.
    You have to be a member to get news at ireland.com

One says it was two buses colliding
    Other says the bus overturned
    Final one says a bus mounted the path

What actually happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

According to 98FM, two buses collided, one flipped over and landed on the queue of people :eek:

Several still trapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Magic Monkey

I heard 3rd hand that a bus was hijacked, but can't really say what actually happened until we get the facts (obviously enough).

o god.that couldn't have been any worse.Would not liked have to witnessed that.
    Where exactly is wellington quey. I was thinking around the Q-bar area?

Sky News, now, hijacked me arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Magic Monkey

Draupnir: I just heard this 2nd hand account from someone that is currently right in that area (someone told him, he told me)

TimAy: Right outside the Clarence hotel, 67 busstop, crosses with Parliment St.

if it was hijacked Ill of course apologise, but I doubt it

Incase anyone is wondering (like me) where it is. (im useless with street names)

http://www.theclarence.ie/location.asp?version=highend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 healy001

my bus stops there, i hope i dont know anybody involved

According to a reporter at the scene (on Sky News), one bus was reversing and it hit another parked bus. The parked bus, which was empty, was the one that toppled over and 5 people have now died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

5 confirmed dead, 12 injured, one person still trapped, it's a dark day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭DArcy

A very dark day for dublin bus...

Are they still planning an all-out strike on Monday?
    Hardly seems relevant now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Ronaldo7

Holy **** thats terribly sad news. Man thats really sad...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

jesus thats bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Blondie81

That's really sad. That's where my best friend gets his bus to Maynooth every day. Thank God he's fine but that is really, really awful. Very sad day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

3 women and 2 men are confirmed dead with 7 seriously injured. A single bus lost control and hit a bus shelter. All this is according to sky news who have an irish reporter on the scene. RTE are as usual surpassing themselves in the news gathering department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

i agree with dustaz, RTE's performance so far has been pathetic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭carrotcake

Originally posted by Dustaz
    3 women and 2 men are confirmed dead with 7 seriously injured. A single bus lost control and hit a bus shelter. All this is according to sky news who have an irish reporter on the scene.
    there's no shelter at that bus stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭gs39t

It'll be on RTE news on Monday evening with some stills after someone manages to get down to the one-hour photo to get the roll of film developed :dunno:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by gs39t
    It'll be on RTE news on Monday evening with some stills after someone manages to get down to the one-hour photo to get the roll of film developed :dunno:

This is the station which missed most of the Romanian uprising as it happened at Christmas,

Sounds terrible, no doubt it'll become clear but its sounds a very strange sort of accident.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Blank Space's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Walter Ego

My sympathy to those involved and those anxiously waiting for news.

RTE couldn't put a top on their own sh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I walked by that earlier and both the buses were upright so unless they righted one of em since the crash occured i dont think one of em flipped over. Could be wrong though.

Was a bit of a smell of burning though....according to Ireland.com over wap one of the buses drove up on the footpath and plowed through the queue. not sure wtf to believe tbh, all the news atm seems to be a bit circumspect.

and there isnt a bus shelter there, just a stand. there was a pole that had been bent to about a 45degree angle. the only visible evidence i could see other than the buses being right up against each other so i'd be liable to believe the Ireland.com bit.

****ed up tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Its september the 11th all over again!! :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

1197956.jpgbus3.jpgbus.jpgbus2.jpgliffey3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by Lex_Diamonds
    Its september the 11th all over again!! :eek: :eek: :eek:

Don't be so alarmist/sarcastic.
    These things happen. A similar thing happened in Christchurch about 10 years ago. I think a lot of people were killed then, the hospitals were overflowing with casualties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

and your man who drove down henry st.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

boards member Spookey Donkey give a good account of the incident on 6.01 news there

Horrific incident, any news on the driver? im hearing it was knackers

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

May the lord have mercy on there soul's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Originally posted by bazH
    im hearing it was knackers

What do you mean? Knackers got in the bus and did it? Or the bus was wrecked? (Sorry, I'm tired, and dim!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 graciek

I couldn't believe it when I heard, that's my bus stop, I hope noone I know was injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

First the bus flipped, second it was hijacked, and now "it was knackers".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

I heard some knackers flipped and hijacked it.

Well what can you say...another one of those freakish accidents that happen and remind you how easily life can be put out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Originally posted by bugler
    I heard some knackers flipped and hijacked it.

So they flipped the bus and then jumped in and tried to hijack it? THey hijacked a bus that was lying on its side... O.K. - think before you post ffs.

Seriously though, just take a minute to imagine the sene:

Your standing waiting for you bus to arrive thinking will dublin bus ever fecking turn up for once....and band along comes a 66 at break neck speed and ploughs through everyone. 5 people dead.... 5 families lost someone, a brother/sidter/mother/father....

Somone has a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

After seeing SKy news, they hinted that one of the drivers took ill, but I've just seen another report from Sky saying both of the drivers are in shock, so I guess no-one took ill. Surely there are CCTV camera's there that would of seen what happened, seeing its Temple Bar ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Originally posted by ando
    After seeing SKy news, they hinted that one of the drivers took ill, but I've just seen another report from Sky saying both of the drivers are in shock, so I guess no-one took ill. Surely there are CCTV camera's there that would of seen what happened, seeing its Temple Bar ???

If there is footage, the Gardaí are more tahn likely examining it.
    And it's ahrdly the sort of thing that should/would be put on the news anyways.
    Well, maybe Sky or FOX.

Props to RTÉ for sterling coverage once again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Another guy was knocked down by a bus on Camden St. around 4:20pm, just not dublin buses day!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by azezil
    Another guy was knocked down by a bus on Camden St. around 4:20pm, just not dublin buses day!
    One images that, out of sympathy and to avoid a lynch mob at their door, any strikes will be a long time in coming...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by Peace
    So they flipped the bus and then jumped in and tried to hijack it? THey hijacked a bus that was lying on its side... O.K. - think before you post ffs.

Return your pc to whence it came, you are not qualified to operate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭swiss

Just spotted Spooky Donkey on the 9 o' clock news (missed 6.01). It kind of made me worry that someone I knew might have been in that bus queue. Probably not... but still it is a cause of concern - especially since I know a good shot of lads who were lanning at the GameCon nearby.

I think it's a little early to being speculating as to the circumstances leading to the crash. From what we know, an out of service bus collided with a bus to maynooth as it was picking up people on wellington road. Unless someone has something else that's more concrete to offer, I don't think it's particularly good time to start spreading rumors. The people who have lost someone to that crash don't need idle speculation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

so, the 'as seirhbís' bus must have tried to undertake (at speed) the maynooth one which clipped the back of it while turning in to pick up people, yeah ? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Deacon Blues

What I would really like to know is WHAT THE F**K Bertie was doing there. I know the guy has a reputation for turning up for the opening of a phone box, but his contribution to this was pathetic. He was 'in the area', so decided to pop in so he could get his mush on the TV. Gets in past the Garda cordon, by virtue of his status, speaks to emergancy workers, and then comes out ... the only person who now has time to speak to the assembled press ... and because he's the only one who can give them information, they nearly cream all over him.

Get's him lots of airtime, telling us all how sad it is, and what he has been told happened. The guy is a sicko. Using an incident such as this to get himself publicity is disgusting. He served absolutely no useful purpose there except for himself. At least Seamus Brennan is the responsible minister, and will be the guy who sets up whatever enquires will be needed.

Bertie is a sick publicity seeking voyeur ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

...and once again a young citizen of the State is struck down with Idiotic Newbie Syndrome. Sad...

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

Originally posted by swiss
    Just spotted Spooky Donkey on the 9 o' clock news (missed 6.01). It kind of made me worry that someone I knew might have been in that bus queue. Probably not... but still it is a cause of concern - especially since I know a good shot of lads who were lanning at the GameCon nearby.

HI guys, just for the record despite what RTE said i was not an eye witness to the accident, i was not. I was on the secene just after it happened and im still not sure what really happened. 1 Hour before the crash I was parked right outside the LAN ( Unloading the PC`s) at the exact spot that the second bus stoped ( where the people died ). If i had been ah hour later god knows how it may have turned out.

RTE was so late on the secene I was the colsest thing to a witness they could get.

My thoughts and prayers will be with five families tonight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭Señor Juárez

http://www.rte.ie/news/2004/0221/6news/6news56_1a.smil

Spooky Donkey in there giving a rather... confuddled report. realOne Player required.

GameCon LAN going on in the building beside the clarence hotel, we are all inside the fenced off area. if i had been 10 minutes later coming down to the LAN..... woulda been me.

bus did NOT flip over. its rather pathetic to watch all the onlookers waiting for something to happen. well it didnt.

and Bertie's appearence there was disgraceful. his PR fishery is... pathetic.