Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

worst programme EVER!!!

• 19-02-2004 2:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

please someone agree with me when i say that "last man standing" rte's quiz show on sunday nite is absolute crap.ive never seen a worse programme.its so cringeworthy and it makes no sense.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭TUTS

Its my fav!!!

Your the last man standing !!! Even if your a woman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Iv seen some right tripe in my time but my pick for worst peice of ****e on TV has to go to that lotto bingo with that fúcked up head banger, Shirly Temple Bar, the freak in a frock.

Never before have I been ashamed of being Irish, but after trying to explain lotto bingo to some UK people I just wanted to crawl under a rock. Even talking about it in work after I first witnessed the show, my work mates were under the impression that it was some crazy assed late night slot show from those wacky Euro channels that Tarrent on TV and Clive James have introduced us to over the years.

Bring back Leave it to "Ms O'Brien", come home "Stop the lights" and forgive us our muppetery "Murphy's Micro Quisim". Come home Bunny Carr all is forgiven :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

The worst programme ever on RTE has to be
    'The Lyrics Board'
    It's complete manure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Trix

the lyrics board??its so awful that its good. my friend is convinced that its all done spontaneously. but im gonna go to one of the shows and expose them.i hate the way they pretend to think of a song and then "the key of E lads" and they all start singing.having not told the band what song they are gonna sing.they just know. spontaneous my ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Trix

he is possibly the sweatiest man on the face of the planet. have you ever seen the way he sits sideways in his immense armchair because its ample size will not fit his huuuuge ass.the show is pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 markisevil

Originally posted by iggy
    The worst programme ever on RTE has to be
    'The Lyrics Board'
    It's complete manure
    It's a huge success in Denmark and Sweden, though; the Swedish version, "Så ska det låta", was on at 8pm on Friday nights for years -- it's one of Sweden's highest-rated TV shows!

There was uproar in the gutter press when it was revealed that they knew the songs in advance!

Swedish TV is awful. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Temptation Island - Sh*te:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

worst programme ever was " The Strangerers" on sky one several years ago.
    totally crap and at the end of series one there was a "Dream-Team-like" ending where you heard gunshots bit didnt know who got shot.
    i guess they never did a second series so i'll never know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Airwolf. Not season 1-3 but the 4th season currently showing on Net2. The one that was shot in Canada with a whole new cast of z-list actors, sets that wouldn't pass Fair City quality control, more stock footage than you could shake a stick at and finally baddies that are about as believable and developed as your average Pokemon character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

I have to agree about The Lyrics Board but I think The Salon, Big Brother etc take the biscuit. I've had more fun of a fine summers evening in rural Ireland watching grass grow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

loads of bad stuff on tv but those programmes like John Edwards Crossing Over are terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

I've a particular dislike in my heart for Team Knight Rider. Partly because William Daniels sounded like a car (er, well, he did) but whatever rednecks they had doing this plotless show didn't. Boo hiss.

At its worst though Japanese telly takes some beating for worst ever. Some of it is so bad it's good but the odd show is so bad it's painful.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

All the cover version series are dire - especially if dumbed down or made politically correct or enviromnental messagelets.

And any episode of Scooby doo with Scrappy doo in it.

Weird I found myself watching Orieachtas Report last night - previously would have put it in the WPE league

Most of the non musical programs on MTV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Originally posted by Trix
    "last man standing" rte's quiz show on sunday nite is absolute crap
    Is that the one with that 'comedian' who thinks he's funny but actually isn't? I forget his name. Ye know, the tall, skinny guy? All the charisma and wit of a twig?

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Is that the one with that 'comedian' who thinks he's funny but actually isn't? I forget his name. Ye know, the tall, skinny guy? All the charisma and wit of a twig?

No Jon Slatterty was never a comedian at least I don't think so.

He used to continuity on N2, and 2tv classics.

I don't get the show its supposed to be fast paced, i seen paint dry faster. 90 sec is not fasted.

Anyway while you mention the lyric board which is so much worst with Linda Martin, please bring back Angus at least they new it was ****. God some one take ur mans mustash and shot it please.

Awards for worst show goes to:-

The Salon
    Russel grant
    Telly bingo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Elmo
    Anyway while you mention the lyric board which is so much worst with Linda Martin, please bring back Angus at least they new it was ****.
    I tend to agree (not that I watched it more than twice). There was a certain taking the proverbial campness when Ray McAnally's son was presenting the thing (Aonghus always seemed to have a kitschness about his dress sense - anyone remember that yellow and red suit he had (with odd shoes) on Anything Goes?).

I watched about ten minutes of the thing since "Hello, Linda Martin here, wanna buy insurance" took over and I'm even less impressed than I was before. My chosen belle does a rather annoying "well, show me" impression of Linda Martin accompanied by the annoying neck action that comes with it.

I'm changing my vote. "The Lyrics Board" it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Originally posted by Pigman II
    Airwolf. Not season 1-3 but the 4th season currently showing on Net2. The one that was shot in Canada with a whole new cast of z-list actors, sets that wouldn't pass Fair City quality control, more stock footage than you could shake a stick at and finally baddies that are about as believable and developed as your average Pokemon character.

Oh my god, how bad is that current series - it really is the worst direction/acting/writing/production EVER

Honestly people, have a look out for it on Sat. afternoon I think. You will scarcely believe what you see before you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭eggshapedfred

Airwolf. Not season 1-3 but the 4th season currently showing on Net2
    on a similar note, the latter series of the A-Team were pretty bad too. No Decker. and who really cared about Frankie Santana. what a gimp.

worst tv show ever? anything with Paul Reiser in it (except my two dads)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Telly Bingo is an embarrasment to Ireland. Shirly Temple Bar should be put down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

Originally posted by LFCFan
    Shirly Temple Bar should be put down

I agree. First this, now There's Something About Miriam. Those sort of people shouldn't have an outlet on television.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Originally posted by Agent Orange
    .... There's Something About Miriam...
    Do you realise I will no longer be able to hear anything about "There's Something About Mary" or Ms. Diaz without nasty images forming.
    Sir, this time methinks you go to far. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What about The Borgias?! :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭emertoff

Winning Streak, the set looks like something you would have seen from Albanian TV in the 70's and the little games they play must have stolen from a psychiatric institution. I don't know if they still have the "special guest" to play for someone at home, but it always used to be someone like Big Tom or somebody like that.:D :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

Originally posted by emertoff
    but it always used to be someone like Big Tom or somebody like that.:D :D:D

leave Big Tom alone!!

besides the worst thing on telly's got to be guilty on sky one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Colm1

"besides the worst thing on telly's got to be guilty on sky one"

This is without a doubt the most horrific abomination mankind has ever created. Nothing is ever resolved on the show!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Originally posted by emertoff
    Winning Streak, the set looks like something you would have seen from Albanian TV in the 70's and the little games they play must have stolen from a psychiatric institution. I don't know if they still have the "special guest" to play for someone at home, but it always used to be someone like Big Tom or somebody like that.:D :D:D

Agreed! It's an awful show where prizes just seem to be given out at random, instead of wasting thousands of Euros on the show they should just give the contestants an extra few grand an not bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

Originally posted by Raskolnikov
    prizes just seem to be given out at random

That's pretty much the whole idea with The National Lottery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Zoton

Gameshows and Reality tv in general are one of the most evil inventions ever to be inflicted on modern society. But what i really hate are soaps, every last one of them:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭artvandelay

"The Girl from tommorow" old austrialian show from the early 90's, still makes me cringe thinking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭dictatorcat

House of Love was the worst piece of RTE shyte ever, it was like watching stalin asking labour camp workers if they were worthy enough to be given bread and it was pure tack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭orangerooster

This new show-the big bow wow is the worst thing rte have done since well ever or batchelors walk which was also suck ass.Seriously RTE need to do something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭Walter Ego

The Angelus has to win this category hands down. Bong. Bong. Bong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

Originally posted by Silent Death
    The Angelus has to win this category hands down. Bong. Bong. Bong.

I agree, that and oirectas report (or however ya spell it!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

Some dire programmes from the past

Play The Game - Remember Derek Davis and Twink battling it out in a game of charades with Ronan Collins hosting.

Talkabout - Guess the correct ten words about a certain subject and you got the price of your train fare home and maybe the price of a sandwich if you were living nearer dublin.

as for now Winning Streek has to be the worst programme on the television nowadays. The set was better in the past for christ sake. and you know the games are rigged just look at the way the wheelss in the small games stop suddenly. And its always the sweet little old lady or the farmer who walks away with the most money.

The Rose of Tralee padgent. Please please make it stop

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by fcddunne
    The Rose of Tralee padgent. Please please make it stop
    I thought this WAS stopped due to lack of funding?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i remember someone saying local businesses ploughed money back into it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭bdiddy

I love all these shows( except maybe the Angelus). Fair City vs. Glenroe for the worst ever. How about all those 'kids' shows clearly made up by extremely stonned adults(Big soft talking dinasaur, singing bear, Tellytubbies?!?!?!?!)
    Aghaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭Zoton

The Lyrics Board
    Open House with marty whelan and mary kennedy
    Will and Grace
    Jim Davidsons Generation Game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭krattapopov

i despise telly bingo and that foul thing that presents it

hella bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElNino

Originally posted by krattapopov
    i despise telly bingo and that foul thing that presents it

hella bad

"Thing" is the best description for it alright :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭lukeUCD

gotta be the salon wat a load of crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭genie

"Give My Head Peace" on BBC1 Northern Ireland.

Truly, truly awful.

And it keeps getting new series after new series.

How..?

Why..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras