Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BIKE THEFT - any solutions?

• 18-02-2004 3:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭

Hello Everyone.

My brand new bike was just knicked at lunch time. Despite it being locked to a bike stand in broad daylight outside oasis on grafton st. The "Security Guard" didnt see nuthin (so he says anyway) despite standing at the door for the entire 20 minutes I had it locked there.

Reported it to the cops. On my way (walking) back to work I spotted 3 tracksuit sporting scumbags (complete with knuckles dragging on the ground) checking out bikes in the same area. Called the cops (who never showed) and followed em meself for about a half hour. No sign of the bike, so just went back to work.

Does ANYONE know where I could possibly get the bike back. Is there any bikeshops in that area that the 3 gorrillas might try sell it to?

If not - does anyone know anywhere I might get a cheap (nearly) new bike??? I heard something about a police auction - anyone know anything about these?

MAN I hate scumbags. Planning an american psycho on the next junky piece of siht who asks me for change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Check the flats up at Charlemont Street or at Oliver Bond down near the Four Courts. Of course you'll probably get stabbed into the bargain so consider how much the bike is worth.

The police auction is held only a couple of times a year, I think, ring the Bridewell, that's where they normally have it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭rubberduckey

Had threee bikes stolen from Dublin City Centre in last 12 months...took an hour off work to go to the auction in Bridewell, absolutely insane, all bike shop owner types there, surely persons whose bikes have been stolen should get precedence over these guys.

had to leave before auction got started...you need to take 3-4 hours off work to make it worthwhile going to the auction...

Bike Robbery isn't taken seriously by the Guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by TwoShedsJackson
    The police auction is held only a couple of times a year, I think, ring the Bridewell, that's where they normally have it.
    Kevin Street.

Don't leave a good bike anywhere on the street. Make sure you have two locks. Lock both wheels and the frame to something solid. If possible leave your bike near a CCTV camera.

Ultimately the solution maybe to put several radio frequency tags spread around the bikes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

A large industrial chain twined with a Large and Heavy lock.

Was it insured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Get some of that substance Bruce Willis uses on the car in the jackal, and soak the wheels of your bike with it. Kill off any knack who tries to steal your wheels (Just have to relish in the pleasure of that thought for a sec).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by Evil_Bilbo
    MAN I hate scumbags. Planning an american psycho on the next junky piece of siht who asks me for change.
    Sorry about the bike but it's nice to hear someone else thinks of that American Psycho scene when layabouts ask you for change....

Ever since my mobile got stolen by scumbags on bikes (presumably stolen too), I've wanted to do nothing more than soak the streets with their blood. I think all boardsters would revel in that...

Does your bike have any security tag? I remember they imprinted a special number, that shows only under UV light, on my bike years ago. Does that mean people have to return your bike even if they "bought" it from a bike shop?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭Mocking Burd

Sorry to hear about the bike - it's happened to a friend at least a couple of times and she uses it to get to work too.

This must be fairly unusual so but I've seen a bike (man's mountain/hybrid) locked to a lampost, just off the Balinteer exit of the M50 heading down towards Dundrum. It's been there for at least a month and it actually looks like an okay bike - it's certainly completely intact as far as I can see. I can't believe that someone hasn't nicked it by now - not even for parts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Divine

Get some of that substance Bruce Willis uses on the car in the jackal, and soak the wheels of your bike with it. Kill off any knack who tries to steal your wheels (Just have to relish in the pleasure of that thought for a sec).

Yeah what the hell was that stuff?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

I've had bad experiences with bikes and the world. It sucks. And it's usually a pain in the ass to remedy the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

To paraphrase Pulp Fiction:
    " They should be fúckin' killed. No trial, no jury, straight to execution. It's chicken sh1t. You don't fúck another man's vehicle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

unless you are a professional biker (don't no what they are called) you should choose your lock before your bike, even spend more on the lock, it's gonna last way longer than the bike so it shouldn't be an afterthought, if the only way to free the bike is to cut through the frame of the bike i doubt anyone would bother

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It it is a good bike they'll cut through the frame to get the components - it's happened.

No point in getting a lightweight in Dublin - you'll have to over compensate with the weight of the lock.

U locks (Kryptoinite etc.) can be oppened with a 2 1/2 ton jack (hiace etc.) a cable is handy for the front wheel - don't use a quick release saddle on a mountain bike. The big segmented locks seem to be the best - or a GOOD discus lock and granite chain - not the sort of chain they cut in the hardware store.

then again rechargable angle grinders exist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PrecariousNuts

That actually happened to me once. I was fairly pissed off too, but I hold grudges. I was just heading out from college, went to the bikerack as usual . I walked up and down a few times trying to remember where I left it. It was brand new, blue and black with white handlebars, I couldn't have missed it. It then struck me that some fecker had stolen it. I had to walk home that day, what a bitch.

I told my friends about it that night and they were fairly pissed off too. We all look out for each other so it wasn't too hard to get a replacement bike. After a couple of pints (read: ten or so) we came up with a half assed plan to get it back. The next morning we held a stakeout. I got a loan of a friends bike and we put it in the exact same place with a rather flimsy looking lock on it. We retreated down a small alleyway but still had a clear view of the bike.

Suprise, surprise! In under half an hour the same fellow (I hope) turned up again with a pair of bolt cutters and began snipping away. The street was deserted as lunch had finished about 20 minutes ago. We didn't want any trouble so we casually walked up behind him and asked if he needed some help. He was the usual knacker type with the cap balanced on his head, the greasy fringe, teeth yellow from god knows how many years smoking (he was barely 16, probably started smoking at 5). He started bull****ting about how his keys had slipped out of his hand, slid along the pavement and into a gulley about 20 foot down the road. I guess the we're-not-buying look on our faces gave us away.

He bolted down the street after realising who we were. His arms were flailing, his shiney nike runners dangled from his feet.

"Damo, damo get over here, d'tese schlads are on to us!"

Fortunately for us no one actually came, but things were not so good for our bike thief.

In his mad rush to make himself scarce he paid absolutely no attention to the patch of ice that lay on the ground before him. In a 'Home Alone' baddie style his feet flew from underneath him and he landed full force on his back. We tried our best to stifle our laughter but it was too much, anyway we thought we would wind him up even more.

He didn't budge.

I glanced at my friend, "I think he hurt himself pretty badly, should we help?" We did the only thing we could at the time.

I rolled him over onto his stomach and began to unbuckle his pants. The bike saddle was masterfully inserted into his anus by my friend. He slowly but surely began to rhythmically push it in and pull it out. Soon he was using it like a plundger, in out in out, "Faster!" I roared, this was seriously funny. After about ten minutes at this his ass was a bloody mess. He rectum and possibly large intestine lay spewn on the pavement. The saddle was brown, bloody and useless.

We took his wallet and went off down to McDonalds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

That was most certainly all made up, but it shall still go under my "happy thoughts for the day" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If I used a bicycle to get in and around, expecially Dublin City, I'd use a hack bike. Something I bought for €200, put some old parts on it to make it more comfortable, and use the good bike for personal use.

I'm even sketchy about leaving the motorbike in town for long periods.

Motorcycle locks, like the Maglock may be useful, and will deter all but the most determined thief, but they weigh upwards of 3 kilos and would be a big burden in your bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Originally posted by bananayoghurt
    if the only way to free the bike is to cut through the frame of the bike i doubt anyone would bother

I'm afraid this is far from true. I know at least two peolpe who have returned to find their lock still in place, no rothar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Evil_Bilbo

Cheers for all the advice dudes.

There really is just nothing I can do about it (unless I decide to completely make up a story about anally raping a sumbag).

Ah well - nothing for it but to get a new bike. Gonna go for an old crappy one and put new gears and brakes on it. Maybe it wont attract as much attention as a shiny new blue and red one.

Its such a sickener the way you just cant even have anything nice for yourself without some WA-WA monkey head thinking he deserves it. Ah well. I suppose they take what they want and usually get away with it, but who'll be laughing when he's rotting away with no teeth in the joy or some complete junky sh!thole riddled with pinholes and Aids?

Who?

ME

Thats who.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Camoflague
    What you want is "rust in a can" - spray on a bike to make it look old and decript.