Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Yes! Yes! Oh God Yes!!!

• 18-02-2004 11:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭

White Chocolate Mocha Heaven, here I come...
    Starbucks to open 30 Irish outlets

The world's largest coffee chain Starbucks plans to open in Ireland are thought to be at an advanced stage.

Media reports today indicate that the firm has commissioned an architectural firm in Dublin to design up to 30 stores for opening later this year.

The first outlet may be opened in Northern Ireland with further shops to open throughout the Republic after that.

Source: Breaking News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

The Onion ran a story on

'Starbucks opens outlet in toilet of existing Starbucks'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Oh man. These will go down well, but remember when Bart Simpson walked into that shopping complex and all the stores were actually Starbucks? They'll be everywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Oh dear god no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭midget lord

Originally posted by Kali
    Oh dear god no.

what do you mean?

Surely no human can resist the white chocolate mocha.

BTW are you me threadkiller, we drink the same coffee and have never been in the same room ;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

well lets just hope they dont get like the disease they are in the US, i dont mind afew, but it may well get out of hand.....
    we have enough McDonalds, Burger Kings etc. and Bennys is coming here too!!

Fatness here I come

Flogen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Originally posted by midget lord
    what do you mean?

Walk down any street.. starbucks! turn the corner.. the gap! wander out into the suburbs.. walmart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,102 ✭✭✭Genghis

I'm surprised they aren't simply acquiring some existing chain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭ThreadKiller

It appears that we are midget lord ;)

flogen - Benny's ? Benny Hannah's ? If so a rare treat is to be bestowed on us :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

I nearly puked when I had one of their frapcino's(sp).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Tivoli

i was in the starbucks in edinburgh on saturday, great view of the castle, free newspapers to read, and my first White Chocolate Mocha in a fooken massive mug,

oh my god i can't wait to get our own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Why would you want to pay 3 euro + for a cup of coffin with some fecking cream in it :eek:

Originally posted by bizmark
    Why would you want to pay 3 euro + for a cup of coffin with some fecking cream in it :eek:

You've never had one then...

no i havent i dont drink the stuff.....I guess its your money if you like it buy it....I just dont get the point of spending that kind of money on coffee

I don't drink spirits so I've no idea why someone would want to pay €7.50 for a vodka & red bull, but it's their choice.

Ya i dont drink either.....wast of money and brain cells :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by Kali
    Oh dear god no.

Seconded. The last thing Ireland needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Emmo

I like Starbucks,

real nice coffee..............cant really imagine them working in Ireland.

In the states they tend to have intelligent people working for them and play classical music in the stores.

I can just imagine the first "howya" to ask me how I want my Grande Machiato with Caramel syrup.

"Wha? you want syrup? are ye fookin well?"

I dont think that the intelligent Irish youth will work for the piss poor wages that Starbucks pay.

ahhh well.

I was just asking myself why they had taken this long to get to Ireland.

Ohh and 3 Euro for a coffee is about price down on Baggot street.

Emmo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

I've only ever had Starbucks once [London] & have to say it was the nicest Moccachino I've ever had ... & the huge cookies are a bonus too :D

Kali & Buffybot - Mind explaining why ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Why don't we simply sing "America The Brave" together?

Mike.

1) What's wrong with America ?
    2) What's it got to do with this discussion ?

Originally posted by ThreadKiller
    1) What's wrong with America ?
    2) What's it got to do with this discussion ?

Theres a feeling abroad that there are just too many
    commercial operations from the USA in the country which peddle stuff we dont need at prices we should'nt be willing to pay (but some of us clearly are).

Mike.

The USA is innovative in retailing, they're the world leaders. In the end the consumer will decide. If people don't want it they won't buy it & eventually that will be the end of it. Same for pricing.

Cherry Coke anyone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Doodah7

The great thing is that I can add to my collection of Starbucks mugs which I have 'borrowed' over the years. I wonder will they use the real ones or just the paper cups with kleptos like me around...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

bag of cement in the jacks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

Don't they sell coffee in litre take-outs too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

O Briens charge €3 for a cup of coffee the last time I was in there, ****ign redicilous, then I noticed the little coffee shop/cafe opposite it, great coffee only €2, I like coffee, bring on Starbucks.

A litre of coffee, humm I could kill myself drinking that, oh well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭padraigmyers

Threadkiller, its funny that you should ask why is anyone aginst Starbucks coming onto the country. I guess you don't
    know much about their expansion stratgey. Anyway it go's a little like this:
    Starbucks decide to move into a
    new town which is capable of supporting about 20 coffee shops.....however Starbucks then put in 25-30 shops, they
    place so competition into the area that over time all other coffee shops are forced to close because they are operating
    at a loss, the Starbucks shops will also be operating at a loss at this stage, but that part of the plan. When all the other
    coffee shops have closed down they then close the surplus outlets leaveing the 20 that would be viable. Thus you now
    have nothing but Starbucks to go to. This isn't a big secret, its all well documented. Is this what you really want?

Why the need for spoiler tags ?

As an answer... I see no problem with that, it's competition, people are fickle, if they don't want to buy starbucks, they won't plain & simple.

Starbucks offer a constincy, I like their coffee, if I'm in a city that has a starbucks I'll actively seek it out in order to get a white chocolate mocha. I almost NEVER drink coffee in any other stores in Dublin (apart from insomnia who make a reasonable (but not great) caramel cappuchino.

I've no problem with their business practices, how many of the other shops in Dublin offer a "Fair Trade" coffee ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭padraigmyers

Fair enough, no point in me arguing with that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dangerman

i dont like starbucks. its super-capatilism at its max. im all for competition, and i dont hate americans, but i was walkin past st. stephens green and i saw a bunch of lads looking exactly like parodys of 50 cents. when they spoke with their thick dublin accents, i thought, what a bunch of tits. granted its not the clothes that make the man, but lads come on, you just look stupid.

i find it ammusing that a few years back we had great fears of losing our culture as we became more integrated into europe, whereas now we lap up whatever the jt-dog or the fizzle shizzle in the hizzle says.

someone please start a clothing fad thats in the slightest bit original.

whats this got to do with starbucks? dunno. dont like it, id prefer to see us go closer to europe [which granted, has already or is getting starbucks] ... to be honest im just tired of american culture in general. its not a hate crime or racist, im just sick of all the makin love in the house, its gettin hot in here, hey britney, you say you want to lose control? Ben plank of wood Affleck. I'm lovin it! Microsoft, MTV... blah blah. starbucks is a part of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

It's true, the entry of starbucks just means less choice, not more. In America, the number of starbucks is rediculous, one on every corner.

And I definitely agree with the previous posters. American culture is getting more and more bland each day. Hip-hop seems to lack any innovation whatsover (with the exception of Outkast). Hollywood movies suck, they just keep rehashing stuff over and over. They also summed up the clothing scene well in Friends - "Joey, you're wearing the same shirt as me". "Damn you Gap on every corner!".

Interesting that you chose to use an American series to make your point...
    Anyway enough of the America bashing... bring on the coffee !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

Besides, people do have a choice to voice any dissapproval they may have by not buying Starbucks coffee.

all this capitalist bashing is bull. Realising monopolistic status is why anyone starts up business, i.e. kill of the competition to enjoy bigger revenues, resultant bigger profits and richer shareholders. If the hippies dont like it buy some shares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Originally posted by hedgetrimmer
    Besides, people do have a choice to voice any dissapproval they may have by not buying Starbucks coffee.

Read previous post by padraigmyers: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?postid=1410318#post1410318

My god, where is that post blindness gathering card?

By the way, does anyone have a link for that onion article?

midget lord is right though... you don't get into business to only open one shop, you want to be as big & as powerful as you can...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭krattapopov

id rather make my own coffee then spend stupid money on it

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Cool, now the fickle flocks will stop spending crowding up and spending all their money in pubs, forcing the prices down and freeing up seats for the committed drinkers!

Can you smoke in Starbucks?

Originally posted by pickarooney

Can you smoke in Starbucks?

Staff are cleared to shoot smokers.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Originally posted by padraigmyers
    Threadkiller, its funny that you should ask why is anyone aginst Starbucks coming onto the country. I guess you don't
    know much about their expansion stratgey. Anyway it go's a little like this:
    Starbucks decide to move into a
    new town which is capable of supporting about 20 coffee shops.....however Starbucks then put in 25-30 shops, they
    place so competition into the area that over time all other coffee shops are forced to close because they are operating
    at a loss, the Starbucks shops will also be operating at a loss at this stage, but that part of the plan. When all the other
    coffee shops have closed down they then close the surplus outlets leaveing the 20 that would be viable. Thus you now
    have nothing but Starbucks to go to. This isn't a big secret, its all well documented. Is this what you really want?

From what a I remeber from Junior Cert Business Studies, Loss-Leading is, and has been for many years, illegal in this country.
    Will the governement step in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Senor_Fudge

never mind americas chain of coffee outlets

when we gonna get some of those Dutch ones eh?
    someone should open one in temple bar in dublin
    or down the claddagh in galway what do yeh think

are ye with me

yeahhhhhhh mannn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,454 ✭✭✭weemcd

id support starbucks if they came here, i wouldnt mind a choclatey syrup cofee from time to time, i welcome theese american chains, im just holding out till i think its big, or else fat burger come over here, mabye both exist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

Originally posted by Senor_Fudge

are ye with me

yeahhhhhhh mannn

Hey Senor_Fudge, get back on your rocker there man :)

Oh btw, I know it was mentioned to make your own coffee but does anyone find cafe coffee a lot nicer? I know I do

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

maybe if they offer free WiFi internet...

Call me old fashioned but I like the old world charm of Bewleys, one cup of coffee and you can stay for ages, none of this McDecor designed to get you out of the place ASAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

It's better than the ****e they serve in O'Briens, of Kylemore.
    If Starbucks means putting those places out of business, then I'm all for it to be honest.

That, and the prospect of White Chocolate Mochas... omfg, just cannot resist!

Originally posted by Capt'n Midnight
    maybe if they offer free WiFi internet...

Call me old fashioned but I like the old world charm of Bewleys, one cup of coffee and you can stay for ages, none of this McDecor designed to get you out of the place ASAP.

Bewleys come out of a box, same as any other chain/franchise.

Starbucks you can stay all day if you want. On Sofas. With free papers. And free magazines. And music. (I think they have a rule of a purchase an hour, but I think that's fair)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Originally posted by Senor_Fudge

are ye with me

yeahhhhhhh mannn
    i fully endorse this product or service. starbucks coming? goody! another target for may-day:)

Originally posted by ferdi
    coming? goody! another target for may-day

Why ? What good does it serve ?

Big deal, you go out one day a year & "demonstrate" (i.e. throw a few rocks, make some noise & break some windows) in a feeble attempt to drive the "evil corporations" out.

You break their windows, they get them replaces by the "big bad evil glass corporation™" which gets paid for by the "big bad evil insurance corporation™", both of which have employees who go eat/drink at the "big bad FMCG corporation™" who get their windows broken once a year by the may day group....

You don't like them don't go to them, but I'll hazard a guess that they've more customers than you've got demonstrators...