Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Angel is cancelled

• 14-02-2004 3:13am
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭

This just in from Warner Brother's site :
    IMPORTANT NEWS ABOUT ANGEL
    A statement from The WB:
    For the last seven years Angel and Buffy the Vampire Slayer have been cornerstones of our network. The sum total of the work done on those shows has produced some of the proudest moments in our history. Like some of the great series that are leaving the air this year, including Frasier and Friends, the cast, crew, writers and producers of Angel deserve to be able to wrap up the series in a way befitting a classic television series and that is why we went to Joss to let him know that this would be the last year of the series on The WB. We have discussed continuing the Angel legacy with special movie events next year, which is still on the table. In a perfect world, all of these details would be completed before this information went to the press so that we could be definitive about the show's ongoing future. But in any case, we did not want to contemplate this being the last year of Angel without giving the show the option of crafting their own destiny for this character and for this series. David Boreanaz continues to be one of the finest, classiest and friendliest actors we have had the pleasure to work with and we hope that the relationship furthers from here. The same can be said for all the actors and producers on the show.

It's over!!! NOOOOOOO! The new season was just getting good (in the US that is). Why are they doing this to me?! :(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭Brian Houlihan

Holy sh*t. I can't believe it. No Buffy, No Angel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Yay! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭John2002

Oh what a pity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

I did like Buffy & Angel, but I feel that they have had a good run and it's probably time for them to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Owenw

Originally posted by SyxPak
    Yay! :)

I feel your pain :D

Sadly whatever replacement shows they cook up will probably be even more bland, tired and predictable and include the phrases "Like hello!", "whatever!" "shut up!" and of course "oh, my, god."

*deep sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭TheSonOfBattles

Originally posted by ixoy
    It's over!!! NOOOOOOO! The new season was just getting good (in the US that is). Why are they doing this to me?! :(:(:(

Hey, at least they're giving them adequate warning that they're gonna cancel, so that the show's writers can try and wrap it up decently. Even if they don't manage that, they have a chance at a film or something to wrap it up, so at least it won't be cancelled in the middle of a story line leaving you hanging, with no closure.

Also, I didn't particularly like the show either, I don't like 95% of tv shows tbh, I download anime and watch that instead. It's got a set amount of episode, usually 26, so there's little waffle, and the shows tend to be brilliant. By the way, downloading anime isn't illegal so don't bother flaming me for that, its not licensed in Europe, so downloading it is perfectly legal ww)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Damn! Well... I only just started to watch the old episodes every night/morning. So at least I still have all the rest to see before I run out. But still damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭DiscoStu

Originally posted by TheSonOfBattles
    By the way, downloading anime isn't illegal so don't bother flaming me for that, its not licensed in Europe, so downloading it is perfectly legal ww)

its not legal its just the producers dont really care :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭TheSonOfBattles

Originally posted by DiscoStu
    its not legal its just the producers dont really care :)

Sorry to keep this off topic, but really? ****, another dream busted :( Oh well, not like it'll stop me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Angel Dies*...

........*No Really he does...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

At long last.
    Buffy I didn't mind, easy on the eye.
    But Angel's broodiness and sulking arund the place really pissed e off.
    Trying to pull off the "tough, dark, silent-type with issues and weight of world on shoulders" attitude.

When really he likes ballet, baking and watching Ricky Lake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Nike_Dude

It was just starting to get good:( ah well hopefully the end this series with a bang.
    Angel Dies*...
    :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: He has always been dead, thats the idea of being a vampire.
    More likely that he will become human, if the prophecy is to be believed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

he was alive when he lived in Galway :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭TCamen

Alive & dangerous with one of the worst Irish accents ever :D

I'll miss the show I guess, but right now, with the new episodes currently very crappy, I'm not that upset.

Shoulda ended last season when the Jasmine story finished up. The gang working @ Wolfram & Hart is boring. As for Spike, let's not even go there :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

I really enjoyed last week's ep, I thought it was really funny. The few before that weren't great though.

I'll miss it :(
    All the shows I watch are getting cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

TBH I've never really liked Angel as much as I did Buffy. The show didn't quite have the same spark to it.

It's a shame, but I can't say I'm devastated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭Zhane

please people, help save Angel (buffys spin off show)

Please sign the petition....if you dont they'll be hell to pay!!! only joking, but please sign it anyway.

http://www.petitiononline.com/angels6/petition.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Alas, I highly doubt a online petition will affect Warner Brothers desicion all that much. I'd say it's best chance is that another network mightp ick it up (as UPN did to Buffy when it left The WB)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Why! it's ****!

Yay another "I don't like something, therefore it's **** and noone else must be allowed to like it".

Although seriously, PetitionOnline petitions are a load of crap. Like Buffybot says, much better odds of a different station picking it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

No, it really is utter pants!

:p

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by Sleipnir

:p
    Care to explain your reasoning? I assume you've watched a number of shows on which to base your opinion.

What I never get is the folk who come in, almost enthusiastically celebrating the death of a show they dislike. If you don't like it, then don't watch it, and don't proceed to do a little dance over its demise! Posting a message "it's crap" is about as constructive as a paper house in monsoon season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Originally posted by ixoy
    Care to explain your reasoning? I assume you've watched a number of shows on which to base your opinion.

What I never get is the folk who come in, almost enthusiastically celebrating the death of a show they dislike. If you don't like it, then don't watch it, and don't proceed to do a little dance over its demise! Posting a message "it's crap" is about as constructive as a paper house in monsoon season.

Well I do have a T.V.
    I don't need to supply a 'reason' for not liking it, I can just not like it.
    "I don't like humbugs"
    "what's your reason for not liking them"
    "Do I need one?"

I just think there could be better things on during Angel's timeslot.
    Posting a message that says
    "it's crap. Give it's slot to something better"
    is not pointless.

You want it on T.V.
    I don't.

Well I do have a T.V.
    "I don't like humbugs"
    "Do I need one?"

And I suppose you walk into sweet shops too and complain to the shopkeeper about stocking them even though YOU don't like them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭donhughberto

I watched Angel from the start and even thought it is clearly in demise i still think it is better than 80% of teh shows on telly!

quote:
    Well I do have a T.V.
    "I don't like humbugs"
    "Do I need one?"

He is entitled to like or dislike whatever he wants, out of interest Sleipnir what would you like in its place and what kinda shows do you rate, my brother also doesnt watch angel but nearly watches everything else lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭Agent Orange

Originally posted by Sleipnir

Then why are you even participating in this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭doh.ie

Sleipnir -
    "I don't need to supply a 'reason' for not liking it, I can just not like it."
    "I don't like humbugs"
    "Do I need one?"

Well, presumably it's because you don't like the taste of them, or the texture
    or the packaging or something like that.

Same with Angel - you either don't like the plots, the premise, the actors or whatever.

It's likely you don't like it for a particular reason, so you can probably add a bit more to the discussion by saying more than a lame 'pants' comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Fence

http://www.thisiscinerama.com/comics/20040216.html

No spoilers or nuffin in case you were wondering, although this one does, but it is just so wierd and potentially awful that you gotta take a peek

That looks brilliant, thought it was a pisstake at first but apparently it's going to be an actual episode. Can't wait for it, reminds me of the episode in farscape where they started turning into looney tunes characters (bloody funny episode). First Looney Tunes tribute where you wouldn't expect it, now Muppet Show tribute where you wouldn't expect it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

While I know u are all sad about the end of Angel, the beauty of American TV is that they do not allow shows continue far after their sell by date and new shows come along.

Unlike britian where the continue to produce shows for 30 years, there is a 10 year max on most shows.

Just let him go. He's only the living dead, may he now RIP.

Originally posted by Fence
    http://www.thisiscinerama.com/comics/20040216.html

No spoilers or nuffin in case you were wondering, although this one does, but it is just so wierd and potentially awful that you gotta take a peek
    I've seen the episode in question: it's bloody brilliant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

In a weird way, I feel kinda cheated. Buffy, sure, it was time to go, but I was sort of thinking that this was the time for Angel to shine because they'd have the whole Buffy cast to play with (With the notable exception of yer one herself...) as well as Joss' full attention. I am absolutely bloody devastated that for the foreseeable future, the Buffyverse is dead. Sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Does this mean that the series currently being screened on Sky One is the last one, or is the US that far ahead that we're talking about the next series being the last one?

I only watched Buffy caused I was forced, but I got to like it somewhat. I've always liked Angel though. Spike is number one though. We should have a new Spike series. Or maybe "Angellus and Spike - The Early Years"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,805 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Originally posted by The Rooster
    Does this mean that the series currently being screened on Sky One is the last one

Yes, Sky-One are currently screening the fifth and final season.

I think they shown Ep 11 of season 5 yesterday , americans see episode 16 tonight.

Nah, Sky One showed Episode 5x08 - "Destiny" last night. Tonight, WB - in the US - will show Episode 3x15 - "Shells". After that, WB will take a break until 14th of April when they presumably finish on an uninterrupted run. Whereas Sky One will continue on their merry way and, as a result, be only a few weeks behind their US chums by the end....

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

What a shame.

PSSST...POTENTIAL SPOILERS AHEAD....

(Any thoughts on the current Fred storyline? _

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,055 ✭✭✭OmegaRed

Looking forward to downloading shells on thur. Don't care to much for fred tho, always found her a bit annoying. she's hot though. Gotta give her that!
    Wesley is gonna kick angel and spikes ass though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭neokenzo

What a shame. Oh well, I've been following Angel from the begining and I must say that I find the latest series less interesting then what they had in the past. Nevertheless, still a good show.

I always quite liked Fred. Like Phoebe, only with the brain of a mildly insane traumatised survival honed physicist. And brunette. Plus, shes one of the few Angel characters who is genuinely good-natured, and if a show has an entire cast of brooding Batman wannabes it might as well give up and add "My So Called Life" as a subtitle.

I’m not slagging u off but your oviously a girl. I wanna see an apocalypse, a huge fight, what will happen to Angel and Spike. Will Josh get SMG back and if so who will she chose and who will go nuts and kill the other. What a fantastic season all round!

I’m not slagging u off but your oviously a girl

What gave me away? My avatar or my name?

Yeah, I wanna see some smashing and exploding too, but Buffy has no place in Angels universe any more, she doesn't fit. Buffy (the show) was all about making choices, and Angel (the show) is more about dealing with the consequences. I would much rather see Faith return for the finale, because she gels with the tone a bit better than Buffy "Oh no! a problem! Thats okay, because it just so happens that I'm perfectly equipped to deal with it! Yay!" Summers. Faith fits a bit better in the dark moodiness of Angel, because the darkest Buffy ever let herself get was...Oh! she cut class! Oh, shes not considering Spikes feelings? That monster!

And I'm guessing you're an X Men fan...

Both really!

I actually didn't think of faith but that would be pretty cool. But we still wanna know which one buffy would pick! I eman that is one of the biggest questions this season. Angel obviously still has a thing for her cos he gets so pissed off when Spike says he’s going off to see her!

And yeah! Who doesn't like X-Men!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

From what I've seen on the net there's no chance of
    SMG coming back for Angel, she's done with the shows I think

more of a spoiler!
    I think it's veeery much a possibility that either Willow or Faith will come back before things end

Oh, I think the possibility of Yer One Herself coming back is somewhere between slim and none. She's made it very clear she wants to make a totally clean break and move on as an actress. And I would give toes, or maybe one of the duplicate organs, (you know, kidneys, lungs, that sort of thing...) to see Giles meet up with Wesley again, or Xander and Angel, or Faith and anybody. It would rock. Not as much as another season would though...:(

Yes yes! Through all of it, it comes down to a simply feeling. We want more!!! More Angel! it’s all so sad! Stupid WB! (Insert fist shaking picture)

Indeed though with regards to the latest US developments (and seriously - if you ain't seen them this is a MASSIVE MASSIVE spoiler):
    Isn't it slightly tiring having a girl possessed/go evil AGAIN? First Willow, then Cordy, and now EvilFred? I'm going to assume Fred is not dead, that her spirit can be rescued. Given they killed off Cordy two episodes beforehand, it's highly unlikely Fred is gone for good. But c'mon - a new angle please, besides Former Friend Goes Bonkers And Tries To Destroy The World! Still I like the idea of a hole in the world... And yeah, Wesley's gonna be pissed when Angel tells him he couldn't allow himself to stop Fred's death.

... Dare you reveal the spoiler space....

The big difference is that the others all brought it on themselves, they let themselves get corrupted and then destroyed. Fred's a nice girl who opened a box. The ever shorter countdown to the end of Angel implies that she could very well be dead for good.

and without sounding like a complete moron, how can I highlight the text grey? I know its probably staring my right in the face...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

Originally posted by jill_valentine
    and without sounding like a complete moron, how can I highlight the text grey? I know its probably staring my right in the face...

Instructions for doing the spoilers are in the charter here.

I've already done it for ye anyway. :)

Well i don't wanna know what happens cos
    ths 5.16 is up tomorrow and Shells is gonna be great. We all know fred won't die!