Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mushroom Thread Closed

• 11-02-2004 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭

I am curious! :confused:

Why close the magic mushroom thread?

FANJ, would you care to explain?

/Kone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i'd delete this thread and then pm him to ask..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

I'm going to guess it was closed because the information and discusison on where to purchase and how to grow "shrooms" may leave boards.ie in some legal ****e. The topic of a drugs forum was brought up before and it was decided that it could be dangerous to have and people trying to push their warez on the forum etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Originally posted by BoB_BoT
    I'm going to guess it was closed because the information and discusison on where to purchase and how to grow "shrooms" may leave boards.ie in some legal ****e.

legal ****e? For growing a legal fungus? I don't see how!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

It is a dubious conversation topic for a family friendly website, with some very young members

but it's not illegal

there's threads going on about rape, murder, abortion, capital punishment on this website.. don't go spouting off about "family websites" at this stage..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

So it's not illegal but posting information about growing and distributing is 'questionable'

Would you sit in a Garda station and talk to your mate about growing and posting mushies around the world?
    Would you hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Originally posted by Sleipnir
    So it's not illegal but posting information about growing and distributing is 'questionable'

Would you sit in a Garda station and talk to your mate about growing and posting mushies around the world?
    Would you hell.

'Questionable'? What is questionable about growing mushrooms? Please explain yourself.

Only 4 months ago I had a chat to one of my neighbours (who happens to be a Detective) about the pros and cons of legal psychadelics, it was an interesting conversation. He is aware of my growing and has no problem with it, as I am doing nothing illegal at all.

/Kone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Originally posted by hedgetrimmer
    It is a dubious conversation topic for a family friendly website, with some very young members

Unlike anal sex threads in personal issues? nice family topic there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Ronaldo7

family friendly...dont start that bull****. look at the state of some of the topics around here. I mean come on...

Would you sit in a garda station and take a **** there if you wanted to go to the jacks? Didnt think so. So why would he go to a garda station and talk about growing mushies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Originally posted by Ronaldo7
    Would you sit in a garda station and take a **** there if you wanted to go to the jacks? Didnt think so. So why would he go to a garda station and talk about growing mushies?

er I think you missed the point slightly. Slightly as in astronomical terms.
    I wasn't actually suggesting he do that :rolleyes:

grow em, don't, talk to whoever about it. whaduicare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Mods can be a bit too trigger happy sometimes.

They should take the same attitude the Irish Film Censors take when viewing a film with bad language - saying "fuuck" and "bolllox" etc won't affect a films rating as the kids going to see the movie will have heard these words in the lobby, on the bus etc.

I seriously doubt any kids reading the mushrooms thread went online and used their credit card to buy acid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    Mods can be a bit too trigger happy sometimes.

They should take the same attitude the Irish Film Censors take when viewing a film with bad language - saying "fuuck" and "bolllox" etc won't affect a films rating as the kids going to see the movie will have heard these words in the lobby, on the bus etc.

I seriously doubt any kids reading the mushrooms thread went online and used their credit card to buy acid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Originally posted by Mordeth
    here's threads going on about rape, murder, abortion, capital punishment on this website.. don't go spouting off about "family websites" at this stage..

ROTFMAO

M

you'd better be laughing with me boy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

I kinda understand why:

Kid gets caught next september/october with a massive bag of dried shrooms, while lying in the middle of the road screaming at the clouds (which are trying to eat him) a day later when he's finally calmed down, he gets a roasting from guards/parents and he said he read about them on boards.ie

Rabbit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

I’ve received several PM’s on this and I will answer them here.

The thread was an idiot’s guide to sending a “legal” psychedelic drug through the post, for me it was too close to moving onto talking about the distribution of illegal drugs.

It’s very easy to come across as being clever by giving a very blinkered opinion on this travesty of justice and how dare I close a thread talking about something perfectly legal. Unfortunately I don’t have the luxury of being able to view things that simplistically, I have to decide where this may lead to and then decide to nip it in the bud or keep an eye on it. In my opinion this thread would set pretence for worse things. It’s not illegal to discuss trafficking cocaine around the world but it wouldn’t be allowed here.

I’m standing by my decision on this, if others feel that strongly about discussing the distribution of “legal fungus” through the post they can ask one of the Admin’s to unlock the thread.

I've posted here once or twice asking the same question... there wasn't that big a deal made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

But it's legal to grow and sell psychobins/magic mushrooms. It's legal to post them.
    They only become illegal if they're dried out for use as a hallucinogen.
    Sure there are stacks of shops in london that sell only magic mushrooms, loads of fridges packed with mushies growing away.

Originally posted by Kali
    Unlike anal sex threads in personal issues? nice family topic there.

Agreed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Sajan

Sorry if I ruffled a few feathers on this one. It was an honest question and got all the info. So thanks everyone.

Originally posted by Kone
    'Questionable'? What is questionable about growing mushrooms? Please explain yourself.

Only 4 months ago I had a chat to one of my neighbours (who happens to be a Detective) about the pros and cons of legal psychadelics, it was an interesting conversation. He is aware of my growing and has no problem with it, as I am doing nothing illegal at all.

/Kone

when you've finished growing your "legal" mushroom what then? are you just going to sit there and admire it? like **** you will. You will either use it (i.e. prepare it and use) or sell it (if in it's fresh form is not illegal) but as mentioned when prepared it is then deemed illegal! So your "legal psychadelics" are no longer legal unless you can get a buzz from it in it's fresh form. So in fact they're just mushrooms and not psychadelics when you grow them so your neighbour won't care. If he was to see you wandering around your garden screaming at the sky and being freaked out by your garden gnome I'd say he'd be a bit more than concerned.

Anywho I'm way off topic here

what the hell are you talking about?

by preparing.. it means drying. not.. anything else.

the only difference between a prepared mushie and a fresh one is size and moisture content.. innit?

and.. you have some very strange notions about what mushrooms do to you

(edit)
    So in fact they're just mushrooms and not psychadelics when you grow them so your neighbour won't care

you seem to think people add some sort of subtance to the mushrooms to make them "trippy"... if we had that substance in it's pure form.. why in the name of Dog would we add it to mushrooms???

I'm sure there are PLENTY of varieties of hallucinogenic mushrooms that are legal to prepare and use here!

As for the detective, well, unless he SEES the guy drying the mushrooms and then ingesting them, what can he do?
    You can't send someone to jail on a presumption, the law requires evidence :)

Originally posted by Mordeth
    and.. you have some very strange notions about what mushrooms do to you

I sure do. Well i've never tried them so i wouldn't know.

What I meant by "So in fact they're just mushrooms and not psychadelics when you grow them so your neighbour won't care" is in the eyes of the law they're not illegal unless prepared. I.e. as you said dried out, chopped up, boiled etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Sajan

I am a little curious why I was called an idiot though. Any explanation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭Monty - the one and only

kone, in future, pm the mod responsible for locking a tread. I'ld usually delete a thread like this on sight and pm the thread starter my answer