Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

gardai trust??????

• 10-02-2004 12:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭

"The Irish Times-MRBI poll found that overall, 58% of voters have confidence in the fairness of the gardaí while 37% have no confidence. The poll was taken in the wake of the RTÉ Prime Time investigation into garda behaviour".

58% have confidence? whats that about? That surely should be the other way around?!!!!

accepted there are a few bad apples but their mainly in Bulmers!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

agreed, that programme was very sensationalist I thought. It condensed examples over 10 years into one 40 minute programme to give an illusion of widespread brutality. most guards I've come across and heard of have been pretty sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Up to recently I experienced nothing but politeness from members of the Gardaí. Then last Wednesday night, three friends and I got out of a car which my friend had just parked. He owns an old car, so I had no seat belt as I was sitting in the back. An off-duty garda saw this and started giving out to my friend very belligerently. He told my friend to take his car off his "patch", or we would throw the four of us into cells for the night. I've never experienced such an aggressive and threatening manner, and all over nothing. We were all clean cold sober, over 25 and doing nothing but getting out of a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

Fudger, you should have put up a poll with your post.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

must say that i havn't had any problem with the gaurds. although i don't know if i'd trust them with a gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Fudger

Fudger, you should have put up a poll with your post

dam it.... o well.

so was it a case of RTE Prime Time trying to be something its not? (ie: too smart for its own good), or to coin a phrase 'sex it up'. If so where are the netural reporters at and can anything from RTE be trusted or was anything ever? I find it hard to follow who's telling the truth these days......... I always had high regard for RTE's reporting but it does paint a bad picture in the clear light of day.

is rte jumping on the wagon of 'shock and scare' american style reporting?