Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anybody here not drink alcohol?

• 09-02-2004 12:31am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭

Why not? I'm curious as to the reasonings for it. I wouldn't mind cutting back myself, not that I'm a big drinker at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Ronaldo7

I do it occasionally. Like get smashed possibly once a month...alcohol makes me aggressive over the slightest things so idont like it. I seriously dont like "drunk me". Most of the time im cool. But sometimes i just act really stupid. it sucks the way so many people drink in this country...id love to have non drinking friends...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

I like the Irish dringing culture myself. I am a drinker buy not a hevey drinker.
    I am wondering how the smoking ban will effect drinkers.
    I know 2 people who dont drink and refuse to touch the stuff.

1 of them was aproched by a random stanger in town and offerd some sort of tablet. The guy said it was a caffine tablet so the guy i know took it (weird)

The other guy dosent drink or smoke or anything. He wants to be some guy who does sports on a bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

I rarely drink myself, just once or twice a month. I like to loosen up sometimes, and that's all that happens, I don't get aggressive or do outrageous things. But after 4 or 5 pints, I just can't drink anymore because I feel if I have any more I'll be sick. And then the next morning comes the hangover. Hangovers is what would put me off drink completely (which is why I'm contemplating it)

I'd like if non-drinking was tolerated more among young people in Ireland. I know I'd probably be pressured into having something by my mates in a pub.

Strange about the caffeine tablet. The other night, a friend of mine had a tablet and I asked him what it was and he said caffeine. I've no drug knowledge, so I don't even know if caffeine tablets are common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Magic Monkey

Never heard of that caffeine thing before, seems most likely to be a pick-me-up to help you stay awake while out on the tiles. It may have some other connections to alcohol intake, can't find anything with Google though.

Offhand, it would supress appetite to some degree, and make you more mentally alert (would this offset the affect alcohol has on your mental faculties though?). Additional energy, etc..

Although you'd have to be some kind of eijit to take a strange pill off a random stranger... :rolleyes:

At a 21st recently, a girl got quite drunk, fell asleep propped up in her chair. After a while, she moved - only to projectile vomit on her fella, who was sitting with his back to her. She was still asleep, and him now with vomit all over his back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

I don't drink or smoke. I haven't had a drink since September last year. No special reason to be honest. I just don't like the stuff, I never have really, I only ever drank alcohol because everyone else was at the time and I couldn't see a reason not to. I always just assumed that it was what one does on a night out, i.e. drink = fun. It makes me too pensive and emotional though, so I decided I'd cut it out. Don't like the taste much anyway.

Out of interest there are so many drinks u must be able to find 1 that you like the taste of ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Last October I decided to stay off all drink and drugs for a year. Have kept to it since. I don't miss drink too much really or drugs at all.

I'm also trying to stay off anything with caffeine in it. To varying degrees its working but I get sick of drinking water when I go out so I get the odd latté. At home I drink caffeine free tea.

I'll go and get hammered once or twice when the 12 months are up and might drink the odd glass of wine from then on for health reasons but right now I can't see a reason for starting to drink again. I feel so much better without a cloudy head for a day after a night out. My recovery time is better and my stomach isn't feeling as bad.

I really can't see a good reason for drinking. I don't need it to relax. I don't like the "acquired taste". The regular stuff doesn't really alter your mind and make you look at things differently.

I was on a company night out Friday night and being sober while everyone else is pissed is enlightening. Its good when you can remember everything people tell you on a night out. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I don't drink, started 2 years ago and quit 4-5 months ago. I don't miss it and i don't know what I used to enjoy about it.. now I can't stand being drunk.

i do other drugs though :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Saviour_Angel

Drink, Feck, Arse, Girls, I'm Irish and love to have a few drinks with friends.
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I don't smoke or do drugs. I have never smoked a cigarette or even taken a drag from one or had one in my mouth.

I also don't drink except for a couple of glasses of red wine each week at home with my dinner.

The reason I don't really drink is because:
    a) I don't like the taste of most drinks
    b) I don't like getting drunk and losing control of my emotions
    c) I don't like behaving like a twat
    d) I don't like having to go for a piss every half an hour

But the biggest thing is: I dislike publicans. Many of them are screwing the system by not declaring their income and not paying their fair share of tax. By boycotting their pubs and refusing to pay inflated prices for drink, I am making a stand against the publicans. More people in this country should do the same. Just think about it: you pay inflated price for drink. You get drunk, act like a twat, puke yer ring and end up the next day with a pounding hangover. And who gets to benefit from all this? Some fat bastard publican, that's who. By drinking in his pub, you're effectively financing his next 50k BMW. That is something that I'm not prepared to do.

BrianD3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by yellum
    being sober while everyone else is pissed is enlightening. Its good when you can remember everything people tell you on a night out. ;)
    And you find yourself thinking, "Jebus, I hope I'm not that much of an asshole when *I'm* drunk..."
    I went for a few late pints last night in town, and there was a good crowd where we were. And when you watch drunk people for a while you find your fists clenching and you wish you had some kind of nasty weapon.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Stopped drinking a few weeks ago because I got in a fight, and then an arguement with the Gardai afterwards that nearly got me arrested. Can't remember a whole lot about it though. :dunno:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Fudger

i have the odd snifter of brandy at christmas the other 364 days i just drink beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Very rarely drink anymore.

Just can't be arsed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭BluE-WinG

Dont drink at all... Reasons

a) Makes you feel like **** the next day
    b) After a bit much you lose some control and bad things can happen
    c) It costs too much in Ireland - just seems like youre pissing your money away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Well, I'm not drinking now...

Does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Originally posted by Magic Monkey
    Never heard of that caffeine thing before, seems most likely to be a pick-me-up to help you stay awake while out on the tiles. It may have some other connections to alcohol intake, can't find anything with Google though.

ask for pro-plus in the chemist, they are caffeine pills and back when i was drinking (i havent drank in about 6 months personally due to health reasons) they were good as a 'pick me up' when i was pretty hammered. Would wake you up no end and more often than not i used to take one before heading out to a nightclub so i would seem more 'alert' and it 'seemed' to work as i got in pretty much all the time.

You will find alot of students use pro-plus before exams for studying purposes aswell so that they are able to sit up all night while going at it, which is one of its main purposes i think (i was introduced to these by my brother/sister who used them the night before the exams to sit up all night studying and put everything in the 'short term memory'..

they are available but the way your 'friend' ended up getting one sounds awful suspicious to say the least :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

I still enjoy a glass of beer every now and then with my dinner but don't get smashed anymore. I spent about 4 years drinking after my dad died and had a great time. Now I just have no need to get drunk. I had one beer on new years eve. I just don't feel like getting smashed anymore. Been there done that moved on. I go out have a good time and am still able to get up early the next day and actually do something. I realised I don't need drink or drugs to enjoy myself. As I said, I still enjoy a glass of beer but I've learned when to call it quits. Now I actually do things with my life, rather than spend most evenings in a pub going to the jacks every 30m minutes. As the film says "booze is the Man's way of stopping you realising your potential"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Dakeyras

Well I think I must be in the minority on this thread so far but I thoroughly enjoy drinking, both in moderation and to excess. Nothing quite like a few quiet pints to meet with a mate or two and just have a chat (maybe you do this over coffee but i think it’s an engrained part of Irish culture to do this over a few pints). And going out on the lash at weekends is one hell of a good way to release all the tensions and pressures of the week, plus its enjoyable. Hangovers and fuzzy heads can easily be dealt with (most of the time).

But alas, due to the fact that maybe I like it too much I decided to go off the drink for a few months. Why? Just to see what difference it would make and not because I didn’t like it anymore or was worried about health or anything, just to see the difference. So I also kicked the cigarettes at the same time to go the whole hog as it were but I drew the line at instigating some rigorous exercising regime.

For someone who never went out on a Friday night or actually into a pub without having a pint its actually a bit of a shock to the system going out without a drink or a smoke. Its much more difficult to relate (or unfortunately to want to attempt to relate) to someone when they are absolutely hammered and you are still sober as a judge. Plus when it gets to about 11 or 12 on a Friday night its also a bit worrying to see the state of some people and even more worrying to think that that could be you if you were drinking since 5:30.

I have to say now that when this non-drinking period is over I’ll certainly be going back to drinking my few pints with my mates but there’ll certainly be less of those end-of-week piss-ups and less alcohol drank (no more rounds of double aftershocks so).

On the health side of things i didnt notice any discernable difference in how i felt at all (bar of course no hangovers to deal with at all) from either the drink or the smokes.

So, personally I’m glad I went off the drink for a while in that I decided that I needed to cut down somewhat on the savage sessions but its all personal choice when it comes down to it.

Whatever floats your boat.

I liked your first paragraph. - Describes the feelings of many.

There was a stage in my life where i went out EVERY friday non stop for about 2 years (i missed 2 fridays. Because of food posining) I also used to go to the pub every thuesday and every sunday.- I enjoyed it allot. Then **** started to happen on fridays.

On the walk home you have some scumbag "Eh Alrightd Buded av ur ga a fune?" I hate all that **** .Started going to different pubs and peoples houses more often. I like a good party and i have to say i make great puch.

I used to get drink at 1/2 price every thuesday and sunday but i stoped drinking on thuesday and sunday cause i liked to watch TV on thuesday and get to sleap before 3am. Sunday just wasent botherd anymore drinking on sunday was wasting the day

Recently I have reley cut down on the drink. - The only regular drinks i have now are 2 pints a week when i go to the UGC cinima.

As for not smoking, 2 words -Lung Pains-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I dont drink! Unless at christmas or something a glass of wine but i dont drink socially and never get drunk. So bassically i dont drink, even when i did drink it was only something i did every few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

I drink......

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭i_am_dogboy

I don't drink all that much, partly becaause I've grown to hate drunk people after working in a pub, and partly because I just don't like the way I am when I'm drunk.

I used to drink a lot, but then I turned 18 and realised that it wasn't all that great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

<insert troll here>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭loismustdie

alcohol is the only drug i wouldn't be keen on, the buzz is meaningless and there's no special effect from being drunk. you may feel happy but in reality there's no positive emotion felt by a drunk person. they are not able to think or do anything like they would be under the influence of another drug. drink's pointless and shallow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

I'm 19 and have never once Drank alcohol. No reason in particular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭loismustdie

Originally posted by Mordeth
    i do other drugs though :)

really :) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

I dont drink, tried a load of different drinks when i turned 18 and it all tasted like utter rubbish. Wheni ask my friends why do they drink when they also dont like the taste the reply i usually get is "to get drunk". Call me old fashioned but i don't fancy the idea of forcing something down ur throat for the sole reason of getting sloshed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Alcohol?

What's that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

I intensely dislike the drink 'culture' in this country and I'm glad I'm not part of it.
    I drink, but not very regularly. Usually to round off a night of other recreational drugs. I don't like being very drunk, I don't like the person I turn into when drunk and drunk people annoy me severely when I'm sober.

One of my pet hates is people who give out about illegal drugs when they see nothing wrong with polluting themselves every weekend with so much alcohol that they can barely stand or speak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Don't drink, doctors orders, liver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Don,t drink or smoke, I never aquired the taste for alcohol but on a really hot day I would take a pint or 3 of chilled cider . I tried smoking too but didn,t like it either.

Boring I Know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

alcohol is a shyte drug.

there are so many better ones.

i only really go for 2 of these alternatives.

drink makes everyone stupid and obnoxious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Originally posted by Sico
    One of my pet hates is people who give out about illegal drugs when they see nothing wrong with polluting themselves every weekend with so much alcohol that they can barely stand or speak.

NAIL
    HAMMER
    HEAD

glad to see there are others who see what i see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

grr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

I don't drink alcohol, never have and most likely never will. I drink a lot of coke, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Apparently Coke can be worse for you.

John

I may be talking bull****.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

well i'm drinking a beer right now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I enjoy a few drinks with my friends. It helps me relax more when I'm out, makes me more chatty. Thats good for me cos I'm all quiet normally;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

Originally posted by User45701
    Out of interest there are so many drinks u must be able to find 1 that you like the taste of ?

Well yes and no really. Alcopops for example are sweet tasting and so that part of them tastes nice. If there's some orange or strawberry flavour to them then that bit tastes nice but there's always the alcoholic aftertaste and I don't like that at all.

Why have a vodka and orange when I can just have an orange juice? Still drinking the bit that tastes nice but doing away with the bit that tastes rotten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

don't drink much, when I do it's not beer. I've tried each a little but was pleased by none. Spirits (Malibu), Baileys, or those Mudshakes for me thx ;) I also don't drink for the sole purpose of getting drunk. Glad to see I'm not the only one :)

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

I dont drink, never have and never will. I'm too much into sports to be bothered heading out drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Nike_Dude

I dont drink either. tried the stuff but didnt really like it and i've seen the effects it can have on people so im happy staying teetotal

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

mmm, beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Nearly 30, and I've never touched a drop. I reckon if I survived 4 years in college without drinking, I can survive anything. :)

Still love going out, though.....

- Dave.