Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is this a scam ???

• 05-02-2004 12:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭

I put my computer up for sale on Freeads.ie and I just received this email this morning. Does it look like a scam and how should I handle it ???

Email:

Hi ,

Good Day Seller,
    My name is charles maga,I am located in the states,i buy goods and
    services for my customers Home and abroad especially from europe,well
    i have a client right now that is willing to buy your computer
    because he needs it very urgent,I will like you to tell me your last offering
    price and its present condition immediately.
    My client will be willing to pay via wire transfer to your account direct.so let me be know the cost
    and present condition of the computer and any recent pictures if needed, Get back to me as soon as possible.i look
    forward to hearing from you.
    Best regards,
    Charles Maga .

BJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Check the IP address and see where he's REALLY located.
    I'll bet it's Romania, it's a hotbed for scams.

Ask him for more details, are you supposed to send the computer BEFORE you get the money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

yes, he speaks like a 419 email

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

email him back

looks kosher

dont send the pc till you know the money is going through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Verdammt

Originally posted by eth0_
    Check the IP address and see where he's REALLY located.
    I'll bet it's Romania, it's a hotbed for scams.

Ask him for more details, are you supposed to send the computer BEFORE you get the money?

I received the email through hotmail. Is there a way to track the IP through there ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

It's a scam. I've seen this e-mail before. It's just another way of getting your bank details, and your name, address, blah blah.

I've just replied, I think i'll play his little game for a while and see where it goes.

Originally posted by Billy-Joe
    I received the email through hotmail. Is there a way to track the IP through there ??

I haven't used hotmail in years...can you see the headers? If so, paste them in here

Originally posted by eth0_
    I haven't used hotmail in years...can you see the headers? If so, paste them in here

this is all i have :

Sent : Thursday, February 5, 2004 2:28 AM
    To : xxxxxx_xxxx@hotmail.com
    Subject : FreeAds.ie : AMD 2600+ complete pc

Hi ,

Good Day Seller,
    My name is charles maga,I am located in the states,i buy goods and
    services for my customers Home and abroad especially from europe,well
    i have a client right now that is willing to buy your computer
    because he needs it very urgent,I will like you to tell me your last offering
    price and its present condition immediately.
    My client will be willing to pay via wire transfer to your account direct.so let me be know the cost
    and present condition of the computer and any recent pictures if needed, Get back to me as soon as possible.i look
    forward to hearing from you.
    Best regards,
    Charles Maga .

To View this Ad Just Click Below Link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Jokah

Hotmail addresses cannot be traced. IP addresses in hotmail cannot be traced.

Dealing with this kind of thing on a day to day basis, it is a fraud.

Ignore the email. It is a fraud.

Johnny Versace is very right when he says it is another way to get your bank details etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭reigninblood

Total scam. Like he is going to bother going to all this hassle for his "clients" to buy second hand PC's! It's not like you're selling a Picasso or sumthin. Tell him to shag off cos he WILL be draining your bank account if you let him wire money to you. Just wait for someone normal and local to pay you cash in hand for it.

Originally posted by reigninblood
    Just wait for someone normal and local...

LOL! I love it. "Normal and local" :D

Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    LOL! I love it. "Normal and local" :D

I live in Swords, so i think I have a better chance of selling it to the email guy than finding someone "Normal and Local" in Dublin ???

Well you'll find plenty of locals anyway.

Is it some kind of supercomputer or something? What makes you think somebody in the US would urgently need your PC? I think its more likely that some bloke in Romania urgently needs your bank account details.

I did see a normal person in Dublin once but I can't remember his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Ronaldo7

Play his game. Ask for a contact number. Tell him you will be in the area and car deliver it to him personally. Play this mother****er...LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

i does sound pretty dodgy alright right. Don't give him and an detaisl about yurself or yur bank account and get some more info on him, play with him a bit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by Jokah
    Hotmail addresses cannot be traced. IP addresses in hotmail cannot be traced.

Should be an option in Hotmail called "Show full headers" and you can get thier IP address that way (or at least the mail relays they went through.

Tell him you will accept Western Union.

Yup, you can actually trace hotmail addresses. It's in the header somewhere (can't remember what the field is called... X-Referer or somethng...)

Tell him you'l go through with it and then get your ESB bill and give him their payment account details as yours and watch as some Romanian tries to bleed the ESB's account. Hahaahaaa Interpol will be round his gaff in a flash! That'd be funny. And even if he is legit, he'll pay your ESB bill.

/pats self on back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭DaithiSurfer

what can he do with your bank account details.
    i would have thought that he could only put money in with your account number :)
    if he pretends to be you and withdraws money thats the banks fault not yours i would think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by DaithiSurfer
    if he pretends to be you and withdraws money thats the banks fault not yours i would think

it is the fault of the account holder for giving the details in the first place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Fudger

419 for sure, stay away from it.

i wouldnt imagine it is the account holders fault.
    Details for bank accounts can be got in many places.
    The bank should make sure they give out money to the account holder only.
    if they accept a forged cheque or failed to do the relevant checks etc they messed up and the account holder is not held responsible.
    My first job was a pleb at the bank counter for my sins.

I'll wait until he replies first. But i very much doubt it. I might even try the ESB thing.

Tell him you'l go through with it and then get your ESB bill and give him their payment account details as yours and watch as some Romanian tries to bleed the ESB's account. Hahaahaaa Interpol will be round his gaff in a flash! That'd be funny. And even if he is legit, he'll pay your ESB bill.

/pats self on back

LOL! Now that I'd like to see! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

Just wait for someone normal and local to pay you cash in hand for it.

This is a local PC for local people, theres nothing here for you!:mad:

This is a local PC for local people, theres nothing here for you!

LOL!

Tell him it only speaks Irish. Tell him it runs Fuinneog XP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

/pats self on back

Thats genious!

Check out Raphael's post count "666". This poster is the Beast !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Bluehair

Originally posted by tba
    This is a local PC for local people, theres nothing here for you!:mad:

Whats all this shouting we'll have no trouble here :D

(Seriously though as everyone has pointed out it's obviously a scam. Could be fun to be had though play with his head for a little while like this guy did http://spl.haxial.net/nigerian-fraud/ fecking hilarious stuff :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Divine

why not go into a bank and open up a new account with just a fiver or something in it, that way if he is authentic you will get the money and if not he might at the very most make 5 Euro off you.

*simple*

I just got the full header.

Can anybody make any sense of this :

MIME-Version: 1.0
    Received: from freeads.ie ([64.106.148.40]) by mc9-f22.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6824); Wed, 4 Feb 2004 18:28:31 -0800
    Received: from WEBECS2 [64.106.148.40] by freeads.ie (SMTPD32-8.05) id AA5D2B0039E; Wed, 04 Feb 2004 21:28:45 -0500
    X-Message-Info: 6sSXyD95QpVr++KdOdwIIwUs+jiWMye3
    Message-ID: <20040204-21284559-a50@WEBECS2>
    Return-Path: charles_ltd@uymail.com
    X-OriginalArrivalTime: 05 Feb 2004 02:28:32.0070 (UTC) FILETIME=[BF693660:01C3EB8F]

?????????????????????

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

tell him your PC is not for sale but you know a friend who wants to sell one, just the friend needs some money to arrange the courier (like no one is coming out to collect it) so if he could just send on €20 and you'll pack it up...

The IP 64.106.148.40 is actually FreeADs, so we can't trace the user. Sorry...
    I just got the full header.

Can anybody make any sense of this :

MIME-Version: 1.0
    Received: from freeads.ie ([64.106.148.40]) by mc9-f22.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6824); Wed, 4 Feb 2004 18:28:31 -0800
    Received: from WEBECS2 [64.106.148.40] by freeads.ie (SMTPD32-8.05) id AA5D2B0039E; Wed, 04 Feb 2004 21:28:45 -0500
    X-Message-Info: 6sSXyD95QpVr++KdOdwIIwUs+jiWMye3
    Message-ID: <20040204-21284559-a50@WEBECS2>
    Return-Path: charles_ltd@uymail.com
    X-OriginalArrivalTime: 05 Feb 2004 02:28:32.0070 (UTC) FILETIME=[BF693660:01C3EB8F]

?????????????????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by Capt'n Midnight
    tell him your PC is not for sale but you know a friend who wants to sell one, just the friend needs some money to arrange the courier (like no one is coming out to collect it) so if he could just send on €20 and you'll pack it up...

No no no.. you do it like this...
    Dear Sir,
    Following the sudden death of my husband General Sani
    Abacha the late former owner of the computer , I have been thrown into a state of utter confusion,
    frustration and hopelessness by the present administration, I have been subjected to physical and
    psychological torture by the security agents in the
    country. My son is still under detention arraigned before the federal high court of Nigeria for an offence he did not commit.

As a widow that is so traumatized, I have lost confidence with anybody who wants to buy my PC in this country. You must have heard over the media reports and the internet on the recovery of all his pr0n collection and britney spears MP3's from his computer and backup collection. A large sum of programs that existed on the machine where deposited by my husband in different security firms abroad, some companies willingly give up their secrets and disclosed our software confidently lodged there or many outright blackmail.In fact the total sum discovered by the the repo men so far is in the tune of
    $70Milliondollars. And they are not relenting to make me poor for life. I got your contacts through my personal research,and out of desperation decided to reach you through this medium.I will give you more information as to this regard as soon as you reply. I repose great confidence in you hence myapproach to you due to security network placed on my day to day affairs I cannot afford to visit your country so that is why I decided to contact you and I hope you will not betray my confidence in you.
    I have deposited the sum of 28.6million dollars with a
    security firm abroad whose name is witheld for now until we open communication to backup my husbands pr0n collection. I shall be grateful if you could receive this fund into your account for safe keeping. This arrangement is known to you and my son Mustapha alone, so my son will deal directly with you as security is up my whole being.I am seriously considering to settle down abroad in a friendly atmosphere like yours as soon as this sale is completed and I get into your account so that I can start all over again if
    only you wish, but if it is impossible,just help me in
    diverting this fund into your account which will
    accrue you 30% of this fund .Please honesty is the watch word in this transaction.I will require your telephone and fax numbers so that we can commence communication immediately and I will give you a more detailed picture of things.

In case you dont accept please do not let me out to the security as I am giving you this information intotal trust and confidence. I will greatly appreciate if you accept my proposal in good faith.Please expedite action.
    Sincerely yours,
    Hajia Mariam Abacha.

/pats self on back

That is a bloody excellent idea!

Check out Raphael's post count "666". This poster is the Beast !!!!

WHO TOLD YOU!!!!!!!

wish i'd gotten a screenshot of that, ah well

Well you'll find plenty of locals anyway.

Is it some kind of supercomputer or something? What makes you think somebody in the US would urgently need your PC? I think its more likely that some bloke in Romania urgently needs your bank account details.

I did see a normal person in Dublin once but I can't remember his name.

Why , yes ,

Yes it is a supercomputer.

I use this beast just for browsing Boards.ie

bigblue.jpg

i was bored....
    The%20poster%20Of%20The%20Beast.jpg

that esb one is the best idea. do it :)

Get aload of this, here's another one.....

This is fu*king unreal.

This is the latest one:

Original Message
    To: xxxxxx_xxxx@hotmail.com
    Sent: Saturday, February 07, 2004 12:15 AM
    Subject: Enquiry....................AMD 2600+ complete pc

Stephen Gomez by name,I came across your AMD 2600+ complete pc which i am
    interested in,and
    i am ready to purchase it immediately.But i would
    like to know the
    present status and it's cost price so that I can
    proceed further on
    with a
    cashier's
    check, for the shippment I have a reputable shipping
    Awaiting your favourable reply.
    Regards..
    Stephen

This is Freeads.ie 's response :

Freeads scam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I don't know how he could do anything with your account details except put cash in. Banks have no problems giving account details out, I lost my details and they gave me them in the bank without any hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭HarryD

jaysus.. these are getting more and more popular..
    I advertised binoculars on the buy and sell..
    got 2 replies from scammers..
    one below:

To: <disclosed>
    Subject: Binoculars
    Date: Sat, 07 Feb 2004 23:57:27 +0800

Greetings,
    I saw your advert and i'm interested in buying your Binoculars. I'm offering €150 and i'll be paying you through my client who owes me €2000. Get back to me your full name and contact address, so that I can instruct my client to send the funds(cashiers check) to you. After deducting the cost, can I trust you to send the rest of the amount (i.e the excess fund) via western union money transfer to my shipper whom will take care of the pick up. Let me know as soon as possible, so that I can get in touch with my client. Thanks for your co-operation while anticipating your earliest response.
    Regards,
    Frank.
    --