Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

you're a star looser ?

• 02-02-2004 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭

did anyone see who got kicked out tonight ?

grassias,
    p.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Pablo

*bump*

someone must know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

yer man and yer one.. jill and something... i dunno their names.. and that little skinny one with the brown hair. Laura Brophy got through, that's all that matters!

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

ruth cullen is her name, phill coulter and jill blacque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

far's I'm concerned they're ALL loosers.

who's this weeks looser ? :ninja:

i should really get access to a tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Blondie81

Originally posted by The Beer Baron
    far's I'm concerned they're ALL loosers.

The Final Four got kicked out.

The restults were:
    1. Chris Doran
    2. Jean Elliott
    3. George
    4. That freak from Achill.:ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

:p

Who the f*ck keeps voting for the Achill Wolfman? :dunno:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Can't believe a mod let Afterhours be defiled with talk of that $hite 'you're a star'. That programme is pants of the highest calibre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Doctor J
    Who the f*ck keeps voting for the Achill Wolfman? :dunno:
    People from Achill. I was staying in a B&B on Friday that happened to be a few doors down from the guy's house (I didn't have a petrol bomb with me at the time). Every house and pub in the locality has a poster for whatisface displayed. And they're up in Westport as well (very nice lunch in the Tubber bar in Westport by the way, finest cajun salmon I'm ever likely to have). Lots of balloons and things up at the east end of Achill supporting the guy.

I haven't been watching the show (I tend not to watch these things) but herself says yer man isn't very good. Tribalism seems to enter into this show quite a bit - there's no other way to explain the two tone deaf twins getting so far last year.

But there's only, what, 15.. 16 people tops on that cursed island. You mean they're phoning in more than once? :confused:

That's cheating!!! :dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,659 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Originally posted by Doctor J
    But there's only, what, 15.. 16 people tops on that cursed island. You mean they're phoning in more than once? :confused:

That's cheating!!! :dunno:

There is quite more than 15 or 16 poeple from the island. its got a population of about 2,500 people.

Yes there is a lot of tribalism in the show and as Ray says every week. "you can vote as many times as you want" so how is it cheating.

Whats wrong with trying to get someone from your own area to win?

I mean like the whole of waterford is not voting for chris doran dont kid yourself man.

If ye guys stuck your heads outside the pale there is far more going out here in the country than your ever think of.

Personally i never like to live in dublin the place is a hell hole and wild horses couldnt drag me thier. i rather sit here with no job than go live and work in dublin.

Sceptre what you think of achill besides the your a star thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I take comfort in the fact that none of these singing monkeys will ever have a career in music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

You may be certain that George has a career ....maybe with a reformed Dubliners even.

So will Jean, she is an absolutely excellent singer.

The other two are very suspect , especially yer man from Achill .

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by irishgeo
    Absolutely nothing to be honest. It's as good a reason as any other - and it's nice when people take pride in their locality (I always felt my home town didn't deserve it). Being from (county) Cork I couldn't understand the progress of last year's pair - one of them certainly couldn't sing for toffee.
    Great place to be honest - pretty unspoiled as well. I suppose it's ever so slightly off the beaten track for tourism in February as well, which I tend to like. We went down to a beach on the very west of the island on Saturday and it was a splendid place to spend an hour on a sunny day when few others got the notion to go there. Managed to fool my beloved with the "hang on, I'm taking a photo. Hold on, wait, wait, oh, look you've just been splashed by a big wave, heh" trick as well. Turns out I've the mental age of a 12 year old. Well worth a visit.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

yer one elliot has posters up all over dun learoighe.....

i'd give her one.....

wouldnt vote for dimond's tho....

Originally posted by irishgeo
    There is quite more than 15 or 16 poeple from the island. its got a population of about 2,500 people.

Yes there is a lot of tribalism in the show and as Ray says every week. "you can vote as many times as you want" so how is it cheating.

I mean like the whole of waterford is not voting for chris doran dont kid yourself man.

If ye guys stuck your heads outside the pale there is far more going out here in the country than your ever think of.

Personally i never like to live in dublin the place is a hell hole and wild horses couldnt drag me thier. i rather sit here with no job than go live and work in dublin.

Sorry, my bad. Next time I'll write "THIS IS A JOKE!!!" to avoid confusion. If yeeee country folk didn't get in a huff every time someone made light of a farcical situation maybe your streets would be less overrun by livestock ;)