Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Everybody was kung fu fightin

• 29-01-2004 1:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭

who kikketh the most ass, if you answer is other please explain,,

i realise there is a martial arts forum but i dont think a lot of people like that place, it is a ghost forum...

kung fu kik ass 55 votes

van damage
    0% 0 votes
    stephen segal
    5% 3 votes
    bruce lee
    3% 2 votes
    jet lee
    43% 24 votes
    jackie chan
    29% 16 votes
    chuck norris
    16% 9 votes
    insert name here
    1% 1 vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Gotta be jackie chan, not only does he kick ass, he makes it funneh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

erm wtf, jackie chan is NOTHIN compared to bruce lee. On that list only jet li coes close to bruce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I think you'll find pretty much everyone will (or at least should!) vote for Bruce Lee. It's undeniable, and indisputable. He is the master.

Jackie Chan my ass! He's good, but he's just a goofy, stupid git all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Bruce Lee for defo...

the mans a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Have you seen that video of Bruce Lee's 1-inch-punch?
    He held his fist 1 inch (or so) away from this huge guy's chest, concentrated for a minute, then knocked the guy flat on his back from 1 inch away.
    Very impressive.

I stand by chan, for the shear reason that although his martial arts skill is no match for the others, he does his own stunts, other peoples stunts, can do amazing things (ie rush hour 2 - through a cash grill)

i dont rate ass kickin ability purely by martial art skill at all

(1 inch punch sounds pretty fcukin cool tho)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

Jet li is pretty cool, but it's got to be brucie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Bruce

John

right, so bruce here thinks it's john....john who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Originally posted by lafortezza
    Have you seen that video of Bruce Lee's 1-inch-punch?
    He held his fist 1 inch (or so) away from this huge guy's chest, concentrated for a minute, then knocked the guy flat on his back from 1 inch away.
    Very impressive.

Apologies for the quality

http://kajukenbo.info/kajukenbo/oneinch.avi [1mb]

Bruce%20Lee.gif

Qualities fine, tahts pretty cool all right

Still stand by jackie tho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

bruce and then jet li

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭colincarnate

van Damme's your only man.

Did ballet n' all, but helps with balance, stretching and strenght. Also was European champion too by 16.

He has some right leg on him as seen in No Retreat, No Surrender/Bloodsport/Kickboxer/AWOL and more.

Segal - d'mind him

Jackie - comedy stuntman stuff(i know he's his own but y'know what i mean) d'mind him

Bruce/Li - very good but sure every second asian lad is probably as good as these boys. ah well Bruce is a 'Legend' so he's alright i guess... but van damme!

Where's China O'Brien? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭K2

bruce lee is the kung fu king

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Bruce Lee is GOD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

bruce for sheer ability and talent. he took the best that was available in the way of styles and form and made them his own, then improved on almost all of them in so many ways.

jet li has got plenty of talent, but he's just perfected what was already there. he's the fastest out there at the moment, but if bruce were still around:( he'd still kick his ass, even being 15-20 years older than jet.

aside from anything jet li takes a lot of inspiration from bruce, and probably wouldn't be as good as he is if he wasn't following where bruce led.

incidentally, honorable mention has to go to Bolo Yeung for just being the biggest baddest chinese fung fu master on the planet!

Oh, and Sammo Hung too who was a good friend to Bruce Lee & Jackie Chan and greatly influenced both (Sammo was asked to play a part in Enter the Dragon by Bruce and ended up fighting him at the beginning of the movie).

Oh, and I quite like Mark Dacascos too, but he's not in the same league really. oh, and there wa s a blondie english guy with a bit of a big nose who did the same sort of movies as mark dacascos around the same time who was OK. apparently another world champion turned actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Bruce Lee, all the way!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Originally posted by Amz
    Bruce Lee, all the way!

gotta agree with the amz girl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

van damme --- TWAT in most of his films bad actor, good martial artist but you need both to pull it off properly

stephen segal --- mediocre martial artist fairly ok actor

bruce lee --- absolutely fúckin brilliant at everything he did unbelievable martial artist created loads of styles his history is set in stone brilliant philosopher brilliant actor

jet lee --- pure class deadly fast can kick anyones ass has a lot to live up too walkin in the footsteps of bruce lee and jackie chan

jackie chan --- my favourite of the lot because just the funniest dude ever asways gets in the wierdest situations in all of his films, one of the best martial artists ive seen, does all of his own stunts uses the environment around him to the last and is just great

chuck norris --- cool dude struck me as more of a war hero hes a great martial artist and an ok actor

Originally posted by Catsmokinpot
    jackie chan --- uses the environment around him to the last and is just great

Like in first strike with the ladder:D :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

SPYKE IN COWBOY BEBOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

:D:D:D:D

only messin.

i would go with bruce lee xcept i havnt seen enuf of his stuff

maybe jackie cause i love how he uses the enviorment around him, but i dont like his goofiness as much as others.

Jet li is uber fast and i like him in most of his films and if u've seen hitman u kno he can do funny just like jackie chan.

Chuck Norris etc MUGH!!! no thx.

-on side note...is it true they have to slow jet lee down in his films cause if the film is'nt slowed down he would be way too fast??? ??? ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

tito ortiz ulimate fighting light heavy weight champion appears in cradle to the grave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Insert name here is the only choice, this guy was raised to fight. He was trained in the art of bushido and was fed glass until he was 14 where he was set lose in a ring of mistempered grizzly bears, he kicked their asses. I almost cried when he died sacrificing his life so that we may live..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

Jet Lee rocks. Not only does he kick serious ass, he's a fine thing as well:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

Originally posted by colincarnate
    van Damme's your only man.

Did ballet n' all, but helps with balance, stretching and strenght. Also was European champion too by 16.

Bruce/Li - very good but sure every second asian lad is probably as good as these boys. ah well Bruce is a 'Legend' so he's alright i guess... but van damme!

erm u DO realise that Jet Li won the chinese national wushu championships when he was only eleven? Suck on that van damme

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Jet Li was and probably is one of the best martial artists to ever come from china.He was selected at 11 years old to Demo at the Whitehouse for the Chinese Martial Arts.
    Jackie Chan is an actor, but has martial arts and stunt training,make no mistake, he is fit,hard and crazy!
    Van Damme won the European Heavyweight title with a jump hook kick, he is strong and explosive in action,and not afraid to fight!I heard he got his ass handed to him in a car park scrap by a bodyguard,possibly Ray Park? Darth Maul for you Star Wars Fans!
    Bruce Lee was an innovator and one of the first to train Westerners.His one inch punch is a demo though, very little application in reality.
    Steven Seagal is a sixth Dan in Aikido.He's getting flabby now but he is also a "real" Martial Artist.The only problem is that Aikido was invented to be more a meditation through motion than a defensive or offensive art.Don't blame me,O Sensei says so himself!
    If u want ultimate movie fighters try Jake the Muss from "Once Were Warriors" or Stacy Keach in "Ninth Configuration",WWII Combatives and edge of hand stuff.
    Or Lee Ermey,the Drill Seargeant from "FMJ".He was a real Drill Seargeant in the US Marines Corps.
    Also Ray Park,Scottish lad was Darth Maul,The Headless Horseman and Toad in X-Men.Was a kung Fu champion first and foremost!
    What about the Gracies from UFC or Ernesto Hoost and Bas Rutten?
    They are full contact fighters and will rip ass in any arena!
    Thanks for your time and I remain Yours In Sport
    Musashi

thank you musashi for a very informative post, i'll definatley give those other boys you mentioned there a look at, watching van damme and bolo yeung go at it has it's limits.
    jump hook kick, now he's even more my favourite/hero. i love the treble roundhouse he gives the father at the start of no retreat no surrender, the only thing bad about van damme though is his love for including ass shots in his movies, presumably for the girlfriends of the guys back then who brought them along to the cinema...

You may need to expand the poll to include some or all of the following.
    WuShu and Wires- Early Jet Li for example
    HardCore Stick,Knife- Like in "The Hunted" or Speakman in "Perfect Weapon"
    Raw/Gritty- "Fight Club","Ninth Configuration" and "Once Were Warriors"
    Period Stylee- "Count Of Monte Christo" or "Zorro","Brotherhood Of The Wolf"
    Sport Fighting- Rocky
    Gun Ballet- "Equilibrium" or any John Woo Movie.

Some other suggestions for movies are any with Marc Dacascos,especially "Crying Freeman" or a sort of road/chase movie I think was called "Drive"
    Akira Kurosawa movies: Yojimbo, Sanjuro and so on...
    Gangs Of New York
    "To Live and Die in LA" and the knife work in "American Me"
    , "The Boys in Company C." Featuring Former USMC Drill Instructor Lee Ermey. He later appeared in "Full Metal Jacket" in the same, basic rule. More vicious in the latter though...
    Mel Gibson in the PATRIOT
    The fight scene in the Diner from "Bad Day At Black RocK". Spencer Tracy as J.J. MacReedy was all over sadistic Ernest Borginine like a cheap suit! Edge of hand blows, what appeared to be a groin slap, and a couple of knee strikes. It just doesn't get any better than that.
    Sylvester Stallone breaking out of the Police station in "First Blood". Open hand blows, basic throws and elbows. And it all looked so untidy, just like a real fight.
    Kalifornia with Brad Pitt
    War scenes in Braveheart and Saving Private Ryan
    Jet Li in "Fist Of Legend" and "The One".Fist can be bought in good DVD stores,very fast fights!
    Last Of The Mohicans
    Cyborg with Van Damme
    Roadhouse with Patrick Swayze
    Grosse Point Blank
    Equilibrium
    Soldier with Kurt Russell
    Heatseeker and Fist Of The North Star starring Gary Daniels
    "Best of the Best 2" a sequel better than the original!
    Boondock Saints....Two Irish lads in Southie (S. Boston) go biblical on organized crime. Lots of cool ****, especially funny because they keep compariung what they do to how they do it in the movies....The initial fight scenes in the pub with the Russian Mafiya guys is cool...The scene the next morning with the toilet kicked ass!
    Way Of The Gun with Ryan Phillipe and Benicio Del Toro
    Billy Connoly as fenian tam fighting a couple of Orangeman in the70,s Brit TV movie "just another saurday" using a long leather coat as a weapon. One of a series of "gritty" dramas BBC Scotland did. "Just a Boys Game" was another about hoodlums in Greeenock, rasors, bayonetts, glassings and other real type attacks. PC types at BBC probably will never show them again.
    Blade 1 and 2 with Wesley Snipes. That guy can move for a big fella.
    Nikita and Leon by Luc Besson
    "Heat" an excellent remake of Michael Manns original "LA Takedown", remade by himself!

Sorry this is such a long post but i do enjoy a good fight movie, and some crap movies with good fights!There are many more so please feel free to add your favourites.
    Yours,
    Musashi

i like in Kickboxer that in the credits Tong Po is 'as himself' but in Bloodsport the same guy is Michael Qissi or something, makes me feel like the makers of Kickboxer think it's for real, even though i heard Frank Dux actually made it all up and isn't really an army/martial arts dude at all, Musashi what's the craic with Frank Dux?

http://www.usadojo.com/biofrankdux.htm
    http://martialarts.jameshom.com/library/weekly/aa073001a.htm
    http://www.martialartsplanet.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=894

Not sure about this guys claims at all.I seem to remember an interview in Fighter or one of those older MA mags with one of those old time full contact tournament fighters.Can't remember the guys name but he seemed to be one of the first wave of westerners taught Martial Arts in the Kung Fu schools at the time.He claimed to never have heard of Dux.Not conclusive but these guys claiming their past, be it training,CIA missions or being the sole heir to a lost branch of Ninjitsu or whatever style just seems to be so suspect.Any instructor can tell you who trained him,who he trained with,usually back to the masters/Grandmasters of the style.
    Steven Seagal has alluded to having been CIA or some such,but a lot of his movies and his personal look reminds me of Richard Marcinko.In one of his books Marcinko is asked if he is Seagal and replies"no,I really kill people for a living".
    We do know that Dux was mates with Van Damme (not his real last name) and they later fell out.Dux played "Welder 1" or some such in the Marc Decascos movie "Only The Strong".A fairly good Capoeira styled movie.
    Michael Qissi was (is?) another friend of Van Dammes and a boxer.He used to train with Jean Claude while in LA and was an extra in Bloodsport,trainer on Cyborg and Tong Po in Kickboxer and Kickboxer 2,minus Van Damme.His brother Abdel plays Atilla, the heavy in AWOL and Khan,the final opponnent in the abysmal "The Quest"
    One guy I couldn't remember in my last post was Olivier Gruner.He was in the French Army and apparently in some French Special forces Unit.He was a World Kickboxing champion in 1987.His first movie,"Angel Town" is poor but he does show some nice training scenes and great flexibility,doing the full splits,chest to the floor with his instructor standing on his hips :) My favourite movie of his was "Nemesis" from 1993 directed by Albert "the Pyunisher" Pyun.
    Related to nothing but I always thought it was cool about Jean Claude:-
    Real Name - Jean-Claude Camille François Van Varenberg
    Former European Professional Karate Association middleweight champion
    In Jesse Ventura's book, he mentions Van Damme as having played the Predator monster until he was fired and replaced by Kevin Peter Hall.
    Studied classical ballet for five years
    Speaks English, French, Spanish and German.
    He became a European Karate Champion in 1979 and went to USA to win the World Championship. He didn't win. Few months later he had a rematch with the opponent he lost against in World Championship and he won in less than 2 minutes.
    Can lift 166 kg on a bench.
    Former sparring partner of Chuck Norris in the early 80s.

sure you're a gas man for the old martial arts movies so you are. i'd like to think that Dux is for real although it'd be gas if he was lying, what a hero sure either way. I haven't seen the quest yet but heard it's good, well the guy also likes van damme so i'd be doubtful of his opinion.
    What's the craic with China O'Brien? do you remember her, she was a fox i recall, give us the low down on her if it's handy

China O'Brien was one of Cynthia Rothrocks movies,also featured Keith Cooke wh was the hero in "Heatseeker" opposite Gary Daniels.Saw her on Discovery Channel the other day commenting on womens boxing and the growing influence of no holds barred events like Pancrase,UFC and Vale Tudo.Looked her up and this is what I got.

She was the undefeated middleweight Kickboxing/Weapons lady champion for five consecutive years.

Began training when she was 13.

Favorite male co-star is Yuen Biao for their similarity in style and timing.

Has six black belts in Korean and Chinese martial arts.

Guest at the 2001 San Diego ComicCon's 4th Annual Kung Fu Superhero Extraveganza.

Is dual citizen of the USA and Hong Kong.

Measurments: 34C-25-34 (Source: Celebrity Sleuth magazine)

Five time undefeated World Karate Champion in Forms & Weapons (1981-1985).

Was first woman cover subject of a martial arts magazine, appearing on both "Inside Kung Fu" and "Black Belt" magazines.

Hope this helps.

China O'Brien was one of Cynthia Rothrocks movies,also featured Keith Cooke wh was the hero in "Heatseeker" opposite Gary Daniels.Saw her on Discovery Channel the other day commenting on womens boxing and the growing influence of no holds barred events like Pancrase,UFC and Vale Tudo.Looked her up and this is what I got.

She was the undefeated middleweight Kickboxing/Weapons lady champion for five consecutive years.

Began training when she was 13.

Favorite male co-star is Yuen Biao for their similarity in style and timing.

Has six black belts in Korean and Chinese martial arts.

Guest at the 2001 San Diego ComicCon's 4th Annual Kung Fu Superhero Extraveganza.

Is dual citizen of the USA and Hong Kong.

Measurments: 34C-25-34 (Source: Celebrity Sleuth magazine)

Five time undefeated World Karate Champion in Forms & Weapons (1981-1985).

Was first woman cover subject of a martial arts magazine, appearing on both "Inside Kung Fu" and "Black Belt" magazines.

Hope this helps.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

You want action movies
    remo.jpg
    http://www.roogulator.esmartweb.com/fantasy/remo.htm
    So bad it was good

The fight scene in Rashomon (kurosawa)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Of that group jet li gets my vote, he was a child prodogy in Wu Shu. However I think there are a load of other great martial artists out there in films, just watch some of the Hong Kong legends stuff.

Special mention to Jackie Chan, the man is an unbelievable athlete, especially in his earlier work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Dead Man

Bruce Lee is by far the clear winner.
    Jackie Chan's martial arts and technique has been somewhat underrated in this thread though. Go see "Snake in the Eagle's Shadow" and "Drunken Master" and tell me differently.
    Jet Li is also a contender though, he was afterall, 5 time wushu champion and was the best on the Beijing Wushu team for years. His style and grace is unmatched on film - see "Once Upon A Time In China 2".
    Van Damme is a good athlete, granted, but he is the epitome of crappy, badly choreographed Hollywood fights, plus he's coked up all the time.
    Forget about Chuck Norris or Steven Seagal, they are both average at best. Even though Norris was a Karate champion, Karate is not a great style in my opinion, and doesn't come out so well on film, plus he's a douche.

But Bruce Lee is clear winner. The man was recognised by most Kung fu practitioners and the best martial artist in a long time. The guy just had the right idea, and he even managed to create probably the most effective fighting style on the planet, Jeet Kune Do.
    I've read the Tao of Jeet Kune Do and I must say the guy knows his ****. I could go into his amazingly powerful philosophy (which he created while bed-ridden for nearly a year) but that would be beside the point.

- The one-inch punch is only the most well-known example of his amazing strength and ability.
    All of these pumped up muscle bound wrestler types may look strong, but if you have ever seen Lee using strength, you will notice the incredibly strong sinews on his body. The guy was light and not incredibly strong looking, but his muscles were like bungee chords, and from his own intense training routines, he even grew new muscles!!! yes new muscles on his legs, he had lumps on his thighs from practising slow motion hook-kicks for hours, which had never been found on a human body before!!
    -
    -
    -
    Bruce Lee far surpasses the others, without question.