Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toilets (1) - Assistants

• 24-01-2004 2:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭

Like, WTF is the deal with these? I go to the loo only to be greeted by a bloke handing me soap, toilet tissue to dry my hands (likely he's just been cleaning up with the same roll) and a look that says 'please leave a tip'. All he's short of is unzipping me and, well I'll go no further...

Forget it. I'll piss away goodo, where it should go, wash hands and use dryer to finish. I won't be waited on to perform one of life's basic routines. Fair enough it's good to see clean loos, but to be clustered in a small enough toilet with the cleaner is just too much.

Seriously tho - why??

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Its a job !.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

and a badly tipped job at that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

It does actually annoy me. Its kinda just..... why do i need you to hand me a tissue when I can use that uber heat machine behind you which will not break up like those tissues?

The job itself too seems very low, If it was me i would feel like some sort of pleb. Havign these "assistants" seems to be a sort of craze with places that want to look 'trendy'. It seems like a waste of time to me.

oneweb seems to have jsut got back from a night of drinking and venting his anger at what he saw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

I hate the ****ty aftershaves and deodorants they try and give you. They went into the pound shop (or it's €€€ equivalent) with a fiver. **** that.

They should do something useful like hand out porn, or drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Originally posted by Tommy Vercetti
    They should do something useful like hand out porn, or drugs.

Then people would never come out of the toilets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,553 ✭✭✭wolfman

I absolutely hate anywhere that has them. I always make a note not to return to anywhere with these guys.

That's my 2 cents worth! (Which incidentally is more than I give to these "assistants")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

I mean, you wouldn't mind if they were decent looking :(

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

Originally posted by oneweb
    I mean, you wouldn't mind if they were decent looking :(

or female:rolleyes:

I hate them and still can't actually see why clubs continue to hire these people seeing as it was only cool for about a week about 2 fuking years ago.

I can dry my own hands, thankyou.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

bleedin' blacks in the jacks!

just ignore them now mostly

kaids,

Quote you; " bleedin blacks in the jacks ! " End quote.

Are you a racist ?..

Those toilet attendants are trying to earn an honest living, and deserve a little respect. For being self-supporting, and doing a job that most of the new breed of spoiled Irish citizenry would consider beneath them.

For a country that has taken more hand outs from the European Union coffers than any other, and whose citizens as a direct consequence are living in a fools paradise built on very shaky foundations.

You have no right to look down your elitist nose at anyone.

P.:ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Originally posted by Paddy20

Are you a racist ?..

I think he was making a reference to the issue of the Slate that had huge uproar over it. Well, thats what I took it as, and I laughed my ass off when I read it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

The attendants in the ladies toilets always make me feel uncomfortable. They watch you really closely and even when you don't use any of the products they stare at you expecting a tip.
    I made the mistake of leaving a euro one night and taking a lollipop in exchange and the woman went crazy with me. I thought a euro was fair price for a damn chubba chupp... obviously not! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I honestly don't know why they do it. Surely they'd make far more money working even a menial job in mcDonalds? If they got any job satisfaction I could understand but..
    They don't get paid by the club, they earn only what they get in tips, and they have to take so much abuse from drunk slappers in the toilets.
    I was friendly with the African lady who was a toilet attendant in Switch, and I saw people treat her like dirt, the aforementioned slappers coming in E'd off their heads, puking in the toilets, coming out and using her perfume and her mints etc, then not leaving any tip at all. It's just so rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

kaids,

Are you a racist ?..

Those toilet attendants are trying to earn an honest living, and deserve a little respect. For being self-supporting, and doing a job that most of the new breed of spoiled Irish citizenry would consider beneath them.

For a country that has taken more hand outs from the European Union coffers than any other, and whose citizens as a direct consequence are living in a fools paradise built on very shaky foundations.

are they paying tax on the cash they take off peopl?????????????

plus a tip is something you leave if u WANT to otherwise it wud be a mandatory charge to use the toilet so ur entitle to use their perfumes/after shaves and give them nothing, they dont saythey r charging and dont have a price list

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭violenza

I think it's a f*cking disgrace...aside from not needing assistance in the first place I feel like i've been transported back 50 years, I mean why not get down and polish my shoes while your at it!!! What state is the world in when black imigrants are playing servant to a white majority population. I've yet to see toilet assistants of any other ethnic origion. Personally I politley decline the assistance and say"I've more respect for you than that."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

so ur entitle to use their perfumes/after shaves and give them nothing

err ur entitled to use the toilet but i dont think ur entitled to use their stuff.... u wouldnt grab someone elses perfume aftershave deoderant if it was just sitting there so why do u think u can grab theirs?

I usually tip em something small cos i feel sorry for em :( (im a bit like that :p )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

I agree with violenza

i feel really dirty when i use a toilet with one of these assitents in it. They are always black and it just feels wrong. I dotn think i've ever seen a white person (not even a eastern european) doing this work in clubs. I doubt they would ever get promoted. Most nghtclubs i've been to are like that (mostly england) the whole staff cleaning up or serving are white and the only black person is in the toilet.

I know its a job but there must be a better job then that.

On a side note is it just the nightclubs in ireland? I remember while i was in new york i found them in the toilets of restaurants and large shops (virgin) as well. Actually i remember swearing if i saw it in ireland i would leave the country...well then i gotta go then...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

kaids,

Are you a racist ?..

paddy20: are you a hyper-PC nonce?

"bleedin blacks in the jacks !"

bleedin - they are annoying; they do a job that is completely unnecessary, and frequently they try and force 'their' service on me and then expect a tip

blacks - well, they are

in the jacks - also true

k. :ninja: :ninja: :ninja: :ninja: :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

kaids,

Are you a racist ?..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

whats the point of qutoing a post by someone else and not adding anything at all ?

for some reasion that piss's me off
    are you a hyper-PC nonce?

:D got to hate pc people dont ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

I personley dont like them. Its a Job yes but they should ask each costumer if they would like soap instead of raming it into the sink ontop of your hands.

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    err ur entitled to use the toilet but i dont think ur entitled to use their stuff.... u wouldnt grab someone elses perfume aftershave deoderant if it was just sitting there so why do u think u can grab theirs?

I usually tip em something small cos i feel sorry for em :( (im a bit like that :p )

they dont ASK for money or have a price list , they stand there with it aimed at u and nod so where is the invite to pay. If i go into a shop and some guy satrts handing me stuff and doesnt ask for money then its free, in fact if tthat happens anywhere its free, thats like someone posting you something and sitting there expecting you to send them money on an assumption

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by Stekelly
    they dont ASK for money or have a price list , they stand there with it aimed at u and nod so where is the invite to pay. If i go into a shop and some guy satrts handing me stuff and doesnt ask for money then its free, in fact if tthat happens anywhere its free, thats like someone posting you something and sitting there expecting you to send them money on an assumption
    You don't seriously believe all this? C'mon, admit the fact you're a scabby bo**ocks.

I also give the guys a tip at some point in the night because it's an awful, demeaning job that they do. I don't need their produce because I have used my own earlier. I've a feeling the practice was adopted from the States - anyone confrim this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

Blacks in jacks really piss me off, I mean, tbh, they come on all friendly, no I don't want aftershave sprayed on me- do I look like I use the stuff ever (the very word shave makes mne shudder) no I don't want to smell of CK1 ponce crap. They get pig ignorant when you ignore them, this reverse-rascist crap that makes my blood boil. Y'know all I want is to have a piss and go back to my drink and you look @ me like I'm the one who chopped off ****a Kintae's foot. And they're sneaky bastards who watch every move inside. Tbh it's a bad idea as it makes the place itself look bad, they invariably get indignant if you don't tip them for something you never asked, ****ing guy hands me a paper towel and proceeds to go dry my hands- get the **** off me. Then expects a tip!

Here's a tip for you, get a real ****ing job.

Anyone who thinks I'm coming across as a right-wing fascist arsehole is entitled to feel that way. Black people in Ireland are simply going through what Irish people did in England and places all those years ago. And I can understand that. But I ain't gonna fall for this "that's the only job they can get" crap, and refuse to believe that these guys are poor starving misfortunes abandoned by the state when they got a jaw-full of teeth like the inside of Fort Knox, not to mention the gold chains, gold rings, gold...

Tricksters, conmen, almost everyone pays up- at one time or another, particularly if they never seen before. It's really lame, like we pay the guy so we don't appear rascist- that's it in a nutshell, if you don't pay your rascist, if you do the bastard gets indignant- oh yeh, I give a fella 2 euro for handing me a paper towel and spraying crap on my face- makes jesus carrying the cross pale in comparison huh? Here have 50 quid since you work so hard- **** off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

They make me feel special cus he says i will get all the p,ussy i want and i like totally believe him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

i hate this too but is part of it not something to do with security?
    ie: simply having somebody there prevents people being attacked/raped/shooting up or faking injury on themselves and suing.

it seems like a good idea in some places with that in mind

and i was in brown thomas earlier (forced shopping..) and there was a white person there as toilet attendant (i'd never actually seen this before and didn't use cologne so i opted not to tip him)...so...its not always a black person.....

Maybe its about time customers complained to the management of these establishments.

Sounds as if these coloured individuals may not be officially employed, which to me smacks of outright exploitation by Irish owners who are typically much too greedy to pay a wage if someone is prepared to perform a type of demeaning job without pay.

There are far too many catering industry employers of this type, and it is probably against certain exploitation of emigrants legislation, but of course your average Irish punter would rather have a go at the victim, rather than the perpetrator of the circumstances i.e. the Owners.

I have been fortunate enough not to have experienced this in Donegal, as yet. However, I am aware that Ireland is rapidly gaining a worldwide reputation of being one of the most prejudiced countries in the world.

I find this very ironic. As when I was young most had to emigrate for a job, as most people did not have a pot too piss in. How things have changed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭wiensta

Ha, this reminds me of a thing that happened to me recently.

I was in the jacks in Anabels(shudder) on wednesday. The assistant guy (incidentally black) was there as I washed my hands and looked in the mirror talking to a mate who was in the other corner.

Then out of nowhere I feel something touching my ass. The bloody guy was hitting me with the hairbrush that was in his hand!! He was leaning over and kinda tapped it a few times but wtf?!

I wasnt gonna take offence cos he was only messin (plus the place is already full of stuck up phucks waiting to do that for me). So we just laughed it off while he was askin us for money holding out his tray smiling away to himself.

We were all merry at the time but in retrospect he was totally out of line and not at all drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

i have to admit, these assistants freak me out. I always rush out after i take my wizz in the toilet. All it takes is for them to start ,oving in my general direction and i'm outa there! Theres just something wrong with one man trying to help another man out in the toilet (unless the first man has 2 broken arms...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

I hate this too, I don't hate them for doing it but I think they are disrespecting themselves by doing it. it is the fault of the club owners for letting these people do this. When I see this I think of the days of slavery and it makes me uncomfortable. I just avoid them for the simple reason I don't want to contribute to what I think is wrong, For the same reason I won't buy a newspaper at the trafic lights as these people usualy black are placing themselves in mortal danger just to sell a poxy newspaper it's just plain wrong IMO.

Originally posted by Redshift
    For the same reason I won't buy a newspaper at the trafic lights as these people usualy black are placing themselves in mortal danger just to sell a poxy newspaper it's just plain wrong IMO.

ive never seen a black person selling newspapers at traffic lights, its always (irish) kids, or the occasional old guy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

Originally posted by Stekelly
    ive never seen a black person selling newspapers at traffic lights, its always (irish) kids, or the occasional old guy

I don't know where you drive m8 but I see it every working day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dangerman

i didn't see this mentioned already -

does no one remember the slate article 'blacks in the jacks' - they ran an article about it, basically exposing the fact that a lot of them aren't paid a wage etc. etc. the tabloids took it a little too literally and next thing samantha mumba was on record saying the slate was a terrible racist yada yada or something.

its in the best of the slate, u'll see it round town in places like tower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

Dangerman is obviously one of these blind people who missed the 5 posts in this thread that has a reference to that edition of the slate.

Why do these people bother replying when they don't read whats before them.....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dangerman

Dangerman is obviously one of these blind people who missed the 5 posts in this thread that has a reference to that edition of the slate.

yeah sorry,im an idiot. someone did point out the slate thing. I did a search for 'slate' on the reply to page, but i wasnt showin all the threads so i missed it and posted thinking no one had mentioned it. apologies bubbles, now u can get on with your life.

to go back on topic, i just feel sorry for them, so i usually give em a euro or something. I agree, hate it when they throw tissue in ur face etc.

i'd hope things are better now & they're at least being paid a wage for their time, but who knows.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by Redshift
    I don't know where you drive m8 but I see it every working day
    Me too. And I can point out the location if you want to go see it.

fine we've established that there are a couple of foreigners selling papers at the traffic lights, the point i was making was the attitude was "aaw poor them having to go out in the dangerous traffic" wen in reality the majority of the people doing this are irish kids, r do they not count for sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

feckin romanian pikey`s too, bout time we had a good old ethnic lynching ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

heh i take everything they have to offer and leave a euro :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Im in half agreement. AFAIK most of the black lads working as toilet attendants are probably asylum seekers. IIRC it is quite difficult for somneone seeking asylum to get a job while their application is being processed. What isnt illegal presumably is for pubs to allow them to stand in the bogs with the soaps and recieve tips. Most of these pubs arent actually employing these lads-they make all their money from the tips. Therefore they arent officially working and the pub need not worry that they are illegally hiring asylum seekers.

As for the practice itself its a distasteful throwback to the slave era polish my boots boy mentality,as some previous poster said. Its true-no Irish person would do such a demeaning job. Obviously these lads really need the money. Personally I can wash my own hands thank you,and yes it does seem a little odd when some dude standing by the sink squeezes some soap into your hands and you throw him 10 cents for the service. It is a little off putting for some people alright. I was in a blacks in the jacks joint about 3 weeks ago now,and my mates girlfriend said she didnt want to go back into the toilet lest she be approached by black soap man(she was actually rather racist and put them down about the whole thing,which I thought was well unfair but then again Im just too cultured :) )

So on one hand the lads are making money. On the other its a joke of a job. It makes working in McDonalds seem dynamic and high flying. Its a catch 22 tbh