Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

W@nkers!

• 23-01-2004 11:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭

Sorry if this has been done before... (I'm new here and I'm not going to look through 1,000's of posts - so just ignore it)

Generally as an ex-pat Irish man I'm pretty proud of all things Irish. I always seek out Kerrygold butter in the shops and despite every bit of sinew, fibre and piece of common sense in my body I sometimes even defend Bono when he is at his most evangelical.

So I gotta ask. Who? Or what? Of our great Irish exports makes you want to curl up and die of embarrassment? Now don't say Bertie that's too easy. He has to do his job (after all we as f*ckwits voted him in (yes I vote - I'm sorry (but I didn't vote for him or his party)). So... Riverdance? Daniel? Van the man? Oirish bars?

Personally I vote for Graham Norton. He doesn't really play the Oirish card so you gotta give him that but... I still wanna kick ten shades outta him. Really I'm embarrassed for him. As a man. As a homo sapien.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Dana, Michael Flatly, boybands. All deserve horrible pointy rusty death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Westlife,Dana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Mr Grumpy

Good man (woman?) Sarky! Flatly is an excellent choice. He's an embarressment in Ireland too - double points! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

Daniel O'Donnell

Good choices guys... but gives us some reasons. Explain (other than the obvious!)

Just so you think I'm being negative I'll start a positive thread!

OHHH right

Daniel O'Donnell-To goody two shoes for my likin

Do you really need explanations? I mean, seriously?

Oh very well then.

Dana is a ferociously self righteous and equally clueless f*cknut. If she could, I have no doubt she'd make sex illegal, crucify rape babies, and make mass compulsory five times a day. Also, I don't like her past music at all.

Michael Flatly is responsible for setting back the image of Ireland by 50 years. Just when we were beginning to climb out of 3rd world-ness, along comes this prat reaffirming every diddly-idle-doodle and tura-loora-loora every single other nation had in ther collective conciousness.

And I really don't have to explain why boybands are embarrassing. Dull, talentless claptrap with no imagination or soul, responsible for stealing intelligence and taste from the masses. That goes for girl bands too, although they're slightly easier on the eyes. Only slightly, mind.

Good lad Sarky. Excellent reasons! I concur.

I am a woman.

OHH there could be slap's here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Leprechauns. Cos' "ohh my gauuuuuuuuud you guy's really have leprechauns (pronounced la-pree-chuns) over there?"

Some Yanks just never learn...

Originally posted by Sarky
    I am a woman.

I apologise profusely. Slaps greatly accepted ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

Good lad Sarky. Excellent reasons! I concur.
    I am a woman.

ROFLMFAO!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Indeed she is a very attractive young woman and not just my opinion either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Louis Walsh without doubt, that guy is a tosser.

Actually... I'd have to change or add to my vote and say Westlife are the pits. Just thinking of them as ambassadors for Ireland makes my stomach turn. And yes, a few people (mostly Americans) that I have met in the last few years have said "Ooh, isnt that where westlife come from?" when I told them I was from Ireland.

Originally posted by rymus
    a few people (mostly Americans) that I have met in the last few years have said "Ooh, isnt that where westlife come from?" when I told them I was from Ireland.

Westlife sucks brown eye. I must be getting old - normally I get U2 or Guinness, but recently I got a French guy extoling the heroic exploits of Stephen Roche at La Plague in 1987 (jeez is it that long ago?) and I can admit to cheering Roche on like a fuking maniac.

Jesus.. Stephen Roche. There's a name you don't hear very often these days. Blast from the past or what :D

Originally posted by rymus
    Jesus.. Stephen Roche. There's a name you don't hear very often these days. Blast from the past or what :D

Yeah! Did you see it? You gotta admit seeing that guy bust a lung on that ascent was amazing. Made me get me chopper out - oh er missus ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Louis Walsh and his seemingly never-ending army of pre-pubescent doom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Terry Wogan !.

P.:ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

ah i wouldn't be embarssed about stephen roche like who the **** remembers him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

Louis Walsh and Ronan Keating. I really really really really really hope they both have a slow and painful death. Well actually not too slow, maybe 24 hours of suffering.

Daniel O' Donnell is a nice guy compared to those arsebags.

Originally posted by Dataisgod
    ah i wouldn't be embarssed about stephen roche like who the **** remembers him?

I'm proud of Stephen Roche! (As much as I can be proud of people i don't know) Like Eamonn Coghlan "coming off the bend" with a grin!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Originally posted by Davey Devil

so so true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Originally posted by Mr Grumpy
    I'm proud of Stephen Roche! (As much as I can be proud of people i don't know) Like Eamonn Coghlan "coming off the bend" with a grin!

aye i'm with ya wouldn't be embrassed of him, the only reason i remember him though is coz i saw jimmy magee's greatest sporting moments over xmas :)

Originally posted by Dataisgod
    aye i'm with ya wouldn't be embrassed of him, the only reason i remember him though is coz i saw jimmy magee's greatest sporting moments over xmas :)

showing ur age there fella?

/jealous mode off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Originally posted by Davey Devil
    Concur, he broke through the green man when I was trying to cross.

tosser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Joe Dolan and every other showband 'artist' out there.
    Dana.
    Miss World Rosanna Davison.
    Sinead O Connor.
    Wastelife/Boyzone/D Side/B*Witched/Ronan Keating/Louis Walsh/Simon Casey/Mickey Joe Harte/ Youre a Star etc.......
    The shameful amount of Eurovision wins.
    Roy Keane.
    Terry Wogan.
    Gay Byrne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Pikeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

the tosser that plays bond for his ****ed up accent

Dana (wtf is she a mep)
    Takeiing part in eurovision (its a embarasment more so when we win)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

everyone on RTE?
    everyone that ever was on RTE
    and everyone that ever will be on RTE.

Oh and all those fake U2's- y'know the bands that back in the 80's everyone used to say, "oh they're gonna be the next U2", like Something Happens, an Emotional Fish oh, and the Hothouse Flowers....oh, still on the subject of music Chris De Burg- what a knobend.

i sence you dont like rte :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Quatre Mains

...Newstalk had Louis Walsh and a couple of other people on a few weeks ago discussing the view that Irish people begrudge success. Thats very true, and just to prove it here's my list. I'll try to stay away from ones already mentioned (bar the 1st one, whoccould leave him out)

1. Louis Walsh for his comments around the Special Olympics

2. His protege Shane Lynch, everyones favorite Boyzone Boy for his antics at the childline concerts and his opinion(rough quote) that Irish people are all jealous arseholes.

3. Jim Beglin - one time when he was a pundit on the football the presenter asked him what the outcome of the match was going to be and he started with "Well don't call me Mystic Beg..." enough said.

4. New Entry - Royston Brady the nu-Mayor, who hasn't taken long to learn the Fianna Fail ropes, geting himself into as many editions of tabloid muck like the Star as possible cos he knows gimps will vote for him in the future on the basis that he;s 'the nice man who got the homeless couple a house'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Personally I vote for Graham Norton. He doesn't really play the Oirish card so you gotta give him that but... I still wanna kick ten shades outta him. Really I'm embarrassed for him. As a man. As a homo sapien.

About Graham Norton, I have to agree with ya. And I think the only reason he doesn't play the Oirish card is because he's ashamed to be Irish. Any time American guests refer to him as being English, he doesn't correct them. And he's always using words like 'us' and 'we' when referring to the Brits. I know that he's on a British channel but it wouldn't be too hard for him to express himself without disowning his country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

Fatal Deviation - The Movie *shudders*

The fact that other people in other countries might see it and think Ireland is as bad as the movie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Originally posted by Badly Drunk Boy
    About Graham Norton, I have to agree with ya. And I think the only reason he doesn't play the Oirish card is because he's ashamed to be Irish. Any time American guests refer to him as being English, he doesn't correct them. And he's always using words like 'us' and 'we' when referring to the Brits. I know that he's on a British channel but it wouldn't be too hard for him to express himself without disowning his country.

You took the words out of my mouth. Well said.

:eek: i didnt even know he was irish

then again i dont watch his show's .......im more a "they think its all over" or "have i got news for you" type of guy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

hmm so the choices seem to lie somewhere between

People who got rich somehow
    People who became famous and made lots of money
    People who made lots of money after coming to fame or the limelight
    People who are not you but made lots of money and/Or became famous so you feel the need to bitch about them
    People who won anything
    People who achieved something that got them lots of cash or contacts that would make them money in time

Missing any?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Originally posted by TacT
    hmm so the choices seem to lie somewhere between

People who got rich somehow
    People who became famous and made lots of money
    People who made lots of money after coming to fame or the limelight
    People who are not you but made lots of money and/Or became famous so you feel the need to bitch about them
    People who won anything
    People who achieved something that got them lots of cash or contacts that would make them money in time

Missing any?

Dubs, all Dubs county and city must be avoided at all costs outside of Ireland
    Never induce conversation with the "Dub" or else hear the reply "JeEEEsus what part of ther feckin coutry are you from ya culchie"

Originally posted by TIPPTOP
    Dubs, all Dubs county and city must be avoided at all costs outside of Ireland
    Never induce conversation with the "Dub" or else hear the reply "JeEEEsus what part of ther feckin coutry are you from ya culchie"

Somebody needs a hug!
    Wtf are you quoting me for, it has nothing to do with your reply apart from the fact I'm from Dublin. Is it cos I is black?

Didn't anyone ever teach you the sticks and stones rhyme at School? Bless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

pat kenny, he is a right ****bandit

Nearly forgot about the gullible people who live outside of Dublin City and County that never travelled further than their own local, :eek: believe everything their 1 mate who travelled to the continent for a week says about the 1 bloke he met abroad from Dublin who couldn't get over his accent so he decides to paint everyone in Dublin with the same brush and spread the word while re-enforcing the fact that his crew needs to stick together and watch them Dubs with their accents that actually don't seem funny at all..

To the restauration mobile Robin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Bill O Herlihy

'nuff said :mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

What about Ray Shah from Big Brother, he was wearing an old fashioned English jersey on the show. I hate that traiter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

oh jesus, burn him BURN HIM