Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That Picture message that's been spreading around

• 22-01-2004 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭

Has anyone here seen it, or heard anything about it.

I'm reffering to a picture of a girl in a school uniform showing off her goods.
    Everyone I know has seen it. From what I've heard, her boyfriend took it, found out she was cheating on him and sent it to everyone he knew.
    Someone told me they were talking about it on the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

*cough*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

haha yeah seen it , everyone in my school has it pretty much, it was on the news on the radio this morning anyway dunno about others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

I don't know anything about any picture, if it ever existed, which it doesn't by all intents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

my number is 087........ ;)

She's from cork so it'll take a while to come up to teh big smoke. but when it does :)

unless she's actually really young as this suggests here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

If you're talking about Dublin, It's already here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Gerry Ryan spent an hour talking about it this morning. Apparently its all over the country. Gardai are trying to digitally enhance the school crest in the picture to determine what school she is from.

Whats worse is that the poor girl will never be able to live it down. Imagine what her parents will say when her name comes out? (and it WILL come out)

Wouldn't like to be in her shoes....

I can imagine parents all over the country acquiring their childrens' mobile phones tonight to see whats on there......

The other point that came up was that O2 and Meteor must have made alot of money from it (Voda have free MMS this month).....

- Dave.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

It's in "World News" on Sky now here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Their tag line in the browser title bar is unfortunate...

"Headline News from Sky News - Witness the Event"

- Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by TmB
    Their tag line in the browser title bar is unfortunate...

"Headline News from Sky News - Witness the Event"

- Dave.

ROFL. Good old Sky News

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by TmB
    The other point that came up was that O2 and Meteor must have made alot of money from it (Voda have free MMS this month).....
    Doubt it - you can't send between O2 networks and Vodafone :mad:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

the RTE.IE/news

The picture depicts a teenage girl dressed in a school uniform jumper in a sexually explicit position. The jumper appears to bear a school crest.

Gardaí began an investigation under the Child Trafficking and Pornography Act because the girl is a minor. They have warned that anybody found in possession of the image or distributing it could be prosecuted and jailed.

The investigation began when a complaint was made to gardaí in the Cork suburb of Glanmire that a local teenage girl was the person featured in the pornographic image.

Gardaí spoke to the teenager and to her parents and are satisfied that the girl was not the person in the image. They are continuing to investigate reports that the image originated in Cork and are attempting to identify the girl from the crest on the school uniform.

They believe people who receive or send the picture are unaware that they are committing a serious criminal offence which carries a sentence of up to 14 years in jail.

The Copine research project, which is based at University College Cork and investigates the exchange of information among paedophiles, and the British children's charity, NCH, have both expressed concern about the use of camera phones in the spread of Internet child pornography.

looks like, if youve seen it, your breaking the law......
    Question: if her boyfriend took it, and she is 18, then why would it be child porn? not many underage girls would pose there good for there boyfriend. would the fact that the girl is a school uniform come into effect? what if she borrowed her sister's/daughter's uniform?.................

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Originally posted by agent smith
    Question: if her boyfriend took it, and she is 18, then why would it be child porn? not many underage girls would pose there good for there boyfriend. would the fact that the girl is a school uniform come into effect? what if she borrowed her sister's/daughter's uniform?.................
    Even if she an actress who is over the age - if it looks like she is depicting a minor then the law kicks in - if it looks like child porn, it is.

but if you receive an MMS which has no warning or advertising how can you possibly be breaking the law by looking at it?

Originally posted by Capt'n Midnight
    Even if she an actress who is over the age - if it looks like she is depicting a minor then the law kicks in - if it looks like child porn, it is.

eh what about all them porn stars who do films as school girl's?

Originally posted by uberwolf
    but if you receive an MMS which has no warning or advertising how can you possibly be breaking the law by looking at it?
    text and mms messaging are tecncaily illigal in this country as yopu dont have the option to decline the message like you would a phone call. it falls under some act afaik

what about post, u can't decline that? Not being smart, wel maybe I am, but I'm curious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Chevano Riley

hm, i mean picture phones have such ****ty picture quality. i doubt you can even such much of the goodies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If you recive an illegal pic unsolicited, then you are not breaking the law as long as you do not keep or send the
    picture on to someone else - distribution is a criminal offence. They ex is going to be in some Sh1t when the girls ID is made known to the police and her parents/big brother etc.

Mike.

Originally posted by mike65
    They ex is going to be in some Sh1t when the girls ID is made known to the police and her parents/big brother etc.

Alternatively it'll transpire someone spotted a likeness between someone they knew and a porn pic they had sent to them by, and i presume they exist, mms porn distributers. From there things escalated.

The gardaí have interviewed the girl its supposed to be and she's denied it (but she would wouldn't she!) its not even clear if its a school uniform, they're analysing the picture to see if its a crest on the jumper...

*if there transpires not to be a porn mms distrib set up, is there anyone intrsd in financing a start up company?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

lol
    i saw this all over the news today
    it was gas funny :D

aw man...... feel so sorry for the girl though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

For all you that haven't sampled the delights of the South board.. theres been a big bru-ha-ha over this in the last few weeks....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

what if a minor is found in possesion of the pic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,577 ✭✭✭✭Victor

eh what about all them porn stars who do films as school girl's?
    Haven't seen any, but if the object is to depict a child (as opposed to a young woman), then the act considers it pornography.

There is a clip of Bart Simpson giving it to Marge, which is technically illegal. While you are unlikely to be prosecuted for it, it would arouse suspicions.

How the act would deal with serious works of art like "Lolita" (they had to go to extreme while filming it with the Lolita actress not being allowed on set during the shooting of intimate scenes - I don't know how explicit those scenes got), I'm not sure. The line between genuine fiction and contrived fiction is blurry one. But as one judge is quoted as saying "I can't define pornography, but I know it when I see it."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by Victor
    Haven't seen any

Pssssssht! Yeah right!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

OMFG! A pornographic picture of a girl in a school uniform?! Whatever next?! Unmarried mothers? Premarital sex? What's this country coming to? :rolleyes:

Typical Oirish bull****. Some aul wan makes a big fuss, and next thing it's a big deal.

It's a farce. Some silly bitch photographed herself naked, fecked up, and now she's paying the price by being humiliated. Worse things have happened. Waste of Garda resources.
    Originally posted by Capt'n Midnight
    That's not true. That's like saying that getting a prostitute to dress up in a school uniform and pretend she's underage, is child prostitution. Although Irish law is a bit ambiguous and archaic when it comes to porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

There is a clip of Bart Simpson giving it to Marge, which is technically illegal. While you are unlikely to be prosecuted for it, it would arouse suspicions.

I heard about a situation where it was Bart pulling down his trousers the whole way, it got emailed around the office and apparently a few people got fired for possesion of child pornography. It was about a year or 2 ago, probably in the US.

Originally posted by kano476
    what if a minor is found in possesion of the pic?
    Someone over 14 is considered old enough in the eyes of the law to know right from wrong, although it is unlikely anyone under 17 would go to jail, they could end up in trouble (community supervision, social services or in the extreme being taken into care). Someone under 14 would probably just get community supervision and / or councelling.
    Originally posted by mike65
    Pssssssht! Yeah right!
    Loaned VCR to friend, his flat burned down, I can't watch pr0n now.
    Originally posted by seamus
    That's not true. That's like saying that getting a prostitute to dress up in a school uniform and pretend she's underage, is child prostitution.
    What happens between consenting adults in private is little of our's or the law's business. If it is a minor or in public that is another matter.
    Originally posted by seamus
    Although Irish law is a bit ambiguous and archaic when it comes to porn.
    Actually no, any prosecution would be brought under the CHILD TRAFFICKING AND PORNOGRAPHY ACT, 1998 and the DISTRICT COURT (CHILD TRAFFICKING AND PORNOGRAPHY ACT 1998) RULES, 1999.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/front.html

I understand the Film Censor is perfectly willing to certify the vast majority of "normal" pr0n as "18".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

this story is only popular because of the media's latest craze........... why u shouldnt get ur child a picture phone.

yeah, get me one instead.

now i aint no legal specialest, but afaik,
    post is not covered under this act, it's under a telecomuntcations act afaik. maybe i'm rong but i can distently remember my business teacher waffeling on about this.....

Note to self: get a picture phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

hey, its on prime time right now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

zzzzz

the internet version of this story has been around for years,

ps. someone copy the image from phone > computer and linky it around the world

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Front Page
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA22Y1998.html

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA22Y1998S2.html
    "child" means a person under the age of 17 years;

"child pornography" means—

(a) any visual representation—

(i) that shows or, in the case of a document, relates to a person who is or is depicted as being a child and who is engaged in or is depicted as being engaged in explicit sexual activity,

(ii) that shows or, in the case of a document, relates to a person who is or is depicted as being a child and who is or is depicted as witnessing any such activity by any person or persons, or

(iii) whose dominant characteristic is the depiction, for a sexual purpose, of the genital or anal region of a child,
    So to repeat - even if it was done by consenting adults - if it LOOKS (depicts etc.) like child porn then it IS child porn.

if it LOOKS (depicts etc.) like child porn then it IS child porn.

exactly how the hell do they define that?
    lots of porn has girls dressed up to look childish and sometimes they kinda/almost/barely/could possibly look underage...this is porn on shelves in newsagents here (or so i've been told)

it seems pretty damn stupid and impossible to prove...anybody could easily look at that picture and pretend they thought she was 17? (they'd be lying, but they could!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Senor_Fudge

what a load of ****e if ya ask me just more sensationalism who cares!

ps someone send me the pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

OMFG! A pornographic picture of a girl in a school uniform?! Whatever next?! Unmarried mothers? Premarital sex? What's this country coming to?

Typical Oirish bull****. Some aul wan makes a big fuss, and next thing it's a big deal.

It's a farce. Some silly bitch photographed herself naked, fecked up, and now she's paying the price by being humiliated. Worse things have happened. Waste of Garda resources.

That pretty much sums it up.

According to the news report the Gardai are investigating this because the girl is a minor. Yet in the next paragraph it states that they don't know who the girl is! So how the hell do they know her age then? Have they got some ability to determine a teenage girl's exact age just by looking at her? Perhaps they're saying that she's being "depicted" as a minor but as others have pointed out how does one define this? Seems to me that the law is an ass.

Stupid ****ing country.

BrianD3

Originally posted by passive
    exactly how the hell do they define that?
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA22Y1998S2.html
    (2) The reference in paragraph (a) of the definition of child pornography to a person shall be construed as including a reference to a figure resembling a person that has been generated or modified by computer-graphics or otherwise, and in such a case the fact, if it is a fact, that some of the principal characteristics shown are those of an adult shall be disregarded if the predominant impression conveyed is that the figure shown is a child.

(3) In any proceedings for an offence under section 3, 4, 5 or 6 a person shall be deemed, unless the contrary is proved, to be or have been a child, or to be or have been depicted or represented as a child, at any time if the person appears to the court to be or have been a child, or to be or have been so depicted or represented, at that time.
    (The highlighting is mine)

Originally posted by passive
    exactly how the hell do they define that? .... it seems pretty damn stupid and impossible to prove...anybody could easily look at that picture and pretend they thought she was 17? (they'd be lying, but they could!)
    Thats for a judge and jury.

Someone obviously hasn't heard of the Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Unit and Operation Amythest.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2004/01/22/story130796.html
    Kenny wants gardaí to tackle child pornography
    22/01/2004 - 6:13:12 pm

The Fine Gael leader has called on the Minister for Justice to set up a specialist Garda Corps to tackle the rise of child pornography and paedophilia.

Enda Kenny was speaking in Cork, where a pornographic image of a schoolgirl was circulated by students using camera phones.

It is believed the picture could have been sent to phones in Cork, Kerry and Limerick.

Deputy Kenny has already called on the Government to make the curbing of child pornography and facilitating research into the causes of paedophilia a critical issue of Ireland's presidency of the EU.
    How come the image hasn't gone beyond these three counties?
    Originally posted by Big Ears
    Ah, we have an apologist for money grabbing phone companies afraid of losing money if picture phones aren't widely adopted! :)

it has gone beyond them 3 counties. i have no idea why the news is only mentioning them but i saw it in school (Dublin) last week and everybody i've spoken to about it has seen it/heard about it too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

Originally posted by BrianD3
    That pretty much sums it up.

According to the news report the Gardai are investigating this because the girl is a minor. Yet in the next paragraph it states that they don't know who the girl is! So how the hell do they know her age then? Have they got some ability to determine a teenage girl's exact age just by looking at her? Perhaps they're saying that she's being "depicted" as a minor but as others have pointed out how does one define this? Seems to me that the law is an ass.

Stupid ****ing country.

BrianD3

Maybe the picture is clear/explicit enough that they can count the rings?

i'm torn between "she's a tree?" and "eew"

..so you can have both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I take it skool disco's are considered illegal too then :rolleyes: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Someone posted the pic in After Hours about 2 weeks ago and blacked out her ...ye know.;)

(un)fortunately Monty came to do his thing.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Shes a ****ing rotter.
    I got this pic sent to me about 3 weeks ago and I live in Dublin,
    According to everyone'
    someone knows a mate that knows her :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭exCrumlinBoyo

If this happend in the USA Seriously she would have her own Television Show by now !

Its serious ****. The person who took the picture and then sent it is in huge trouble. As for anyone actually having the picture and been charged for it I highly doubt that would happen.

That girl will have to carry this with her for the rest of her life and I'm sure she would love the ground to swallow her up. I'm sure it will be the last time she drops he knickers and allow someone to take a picture of her.

I would not like to be her or her family right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

While you are unlikely to be prosecuted for it, it would arouse suspicions.

that's not all it would arouse ho ho ho

jaysus I need to sleep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭inaccessibleisl

I felt sorry for the girl (didn't get the message thank G.O double D) until the news
    said she was identified and that she took the pic herself! She's stupid & naive.
    I had a picture taken of me with one of those phones before, but I retreived the
    phone before it was sent on. I too was naked, and covered in clingfilm (for experinmental purposes), unbeknowst to me that bastad was hiding behind the sofa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

I never get these kinda things sent on to me....:(

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

So how long before we get calls from Ignoramuses to ban Camera Phones of Vile Evilness? How long before they set up a full committee, costing the tax payer €10 million to "tackle the issue" when there's hardly an issue at all? This isn't a case of abuse like many underage porn cases would be. Actually, I wonder if we can blame this on Internet chat rooms? It's been a couple of weeks since they've been blamed for every act perpretrated against a child ever...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Haven't seen any, but if the object is to depict a child (as opposed to a young woman), then the act considers it pornography.
    What about Trainspotting the movie? The one in that was depicting a school girl...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Yeah well she's 15 years old and if you do look at it for whatever kicks you may get, you're a paedophile.
    Simple as that.

A 15 year old is a f*uking kid for chrissakes and should not be gawped at by idiots who want their cheap thrills at the expense of a girl who, from now on, wherever she goes, will be known as "that girl......."

So grow the fuc up.

(excuse the language mods, i only hope it will help to further convince you to lock the thread. Dangerous waters IMO)