Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Den [Mega Merge]

• 21-01-2004 7:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭

I just thought i'd post a thread for people to talk about their memories of this show.
    Remember when Zig and Zag left? It was terrible after that. Dustin sucks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Ah Dempsey's Den and the horrible multi-coloured tube/"climbing frame" background thingy for a set..god that must have been a cheap set to build!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭sparkite

zig and zag were the best.they sold out though.always thought dustin was a legend.i like id now.still a big kid i guess.

what was the thingy that was on saturday mornings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

My favourite memory of it was when Podge, the evil puppet came into it. He'd appear in the baclground for a few seconds and they'd all be oblivious to it, but I was a kid, so I was shouting at the telly - Turn around! Turn around! It was class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭gogo

Originally posted by sparkite

what was the thingy that was on saturday mornings

Pajo's jukebox,

remember the professor, "believe....if ya like!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭sparkite

Originally posted by gogo
    Pajo's jukebox,

ah ha,thats it,they used to have programmes like the salty frog and going round the twist.something like that anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Okie

Originally posted by gogo
    Pajo's jukebox,

Yeah, I remeber that. There were two other characters on that programme too, Grabbit and Fetchit (I think?) A man and a woman, always fighting. The woman was that Irish actress, cant think of her name, she was in Father Ted as the nun that helped the priests through Lent!

Was Pajo on the TV around the same time scale as Scratch Sturday or did that follow in later years?

God, I hated Scratch Saturday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Pajos Junkbox was on Saturday mornings at around 9am, then Scratch Saturday would start around 10.30 am, Pajo would appear in this as well, it was presented by Barry lang and Mary Fitzgrearld as far as I remember

Remember also in Pajos junkbox the cafe with Hannah Finnegan from Fair city who died last year

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Oh that day they were playing with velcro ball and bats. one of the Z brothers was off screen and Dustin was talking (19=1 Doz.) and this bat comes spiraling in from the side and stuck to his face - intstantly shuts up. And then the cries of pain when the bat was pulled off..
    "Ehhh I suppose you think that's funny..."

ROFL

Saw them recently something was mentioned about not being phoned "yer still on 86.. " - just love the digs at the establisment..

And least we ever forget..

"what sort of noise does a pig make at christmas ?"
    "would you mind getting out of your car sir, I'll need you to blow into this bag.."

Nothing on any of the UK channels has ever come close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

Yeh Dempsey's Den, The Den, Den Tv was/is pretty good, although I dunno who the new presenter is. Dustin's words of wisdom still crack me up while flicking through the channels, he has a particular hatred for Pat Kenny and Marian Finucane. Does it still show from 3 'til 6, I remember it being a much better show (longer) than anything UTV or BBC had to offer, their shows were more like one hour long.

Was Pajo's jukebox the show where Kevo was born?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Whatever happened to 2phat. The music video show with Zig and Zag and Ray Darcy.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

more importantly - Whatever happened to velcro girl ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭Fabritzo

They gave away one too many 2phat scooters and RTÉ ran out of money? :P Or was it because Ray's hair went grey and he couldn't do the hip kid's programmes anymore?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Originally posted by Capt'n Midnight
    more importantly - Whatever happened to velcro girl ?

oh yeah.....

she was hot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Grom

Bosco > The Den

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Didn't they call Bosco a boll0x once and weren't allowed on t.v. for a while afterwards ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

Originally posted by Blisterman
    Whatever happened to 2phat. The music video show with Zig and Zag and Ray Darcy.

2 Phat wasn't a music video show..It was a general knowledge quiz show aimed at "older" teenagers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

i remember theyd throw in the ted doll just to watch ray jump around with it, then hed be wrecked and theyd do it again. classic!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Originally posted by Blisterman
    Remember when Zig and Zag left?

Remember when they left? Hell, I remember when they arrived. I thought they were sh1te at first tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by Sico
    Remember when they left? Hell, I remember when they arrived. I thought they were sh1te at first tbh.

Hmmm...me too. I didn't rate them much at first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

remember ted, some crew member would throw him in from the side and ray would pretend to wrestle him.

i was on 2phat, such a laugh.

i wonder is ray d'arcy's show so popular on today fm because of nostalgia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

I used to have a crush on Zag. He blew me a kiss. Fancied Ray as well. Always had a soft spot for him till i met him in Kehoes on Sth. Anne St. He's a short arse. Fancied Ian until i saw him in the flesh a few years ago too. Also fancied McGuyver and Aengus Macanally. The shame...

And Johnny Logan. Shudder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 293 ✭✭Buck Owens

Lay into me if yous want but which one was Zig and which one was Zag. I used to love the den but can't remeber alot from it. It was either Zig or Zag who could see Podge! God I was terrorfied of him and When did socky appear? I might be wrong but on christmas Morning did'nt they ring kids up and ask them what santa left them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

remember Ted? he kicked ass!! i loved those fights where they nearly wrecking the den:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Zag was purple with green spots and the 'cool' one with all the girlfriends. Zig yellow with green hair and the more intellegent but slightly horrible one until they went to the big breakfast and got personality transplants whereby he became moronic. Zag had yellow/red zoggabons and Zig had red ones? I think it was Zag who saw Podge. Remember the Christmas No.1? Remember Ray's Rave? Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

"Podge and Zag
    They're really good buddies..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by Buck Owens
    When did socky appear?

dont know when he appeared but didnt he come from a basket of Zag's dirty socks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭revelate

Zig as captain pillowcase - that was fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Originally posted by smiaras
    (Proud owner of most of the Dustin albums...favourite Dustin song - 'Funky Ford Cortina')

How about 'Born greasy'! That was brilliant!! :D

When I was about 6 a painting that I did with one of the lads in my class at school was shown on the Den- I was sooo proud!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Divine

and lets not forget "Zuppy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I was in the Dempseys Den Club :D
    I got badges and stickers and stuff. Waited Aaaaaaaaaaaaaages for it to arrive I think it arrived the week after Ray D'Arcy started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭mickrourke

Just saw an ad on the TV for The Dens 21st birthday, yes it's that old, and yes you are that old. Worth watching I'm sure but i'm not sure when it's on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Ah remember it like it was yesterday when "Eoin Dempsey" was the presenter. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Hey remember they went to prison for saying a bad word on air?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

Ruu wrote: »
    Ah remember it like it was yesterday when "Eoin Dempsey" was the presenter. :)

or even ian dempsey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

The Den was at it's absolute zenith when Evil Ted was in it, and Postman Podge.

It was so off the wall and just hilarious and you got nothing like it on BBC or ITV.

Dustin, Zig & Zag (never liked Zuppy) and Ted and Podge. Genius characters altogether.

And when Zig & Zag used to rip the piss of Giles and Dunphy was excellent too.

Gordon the Gopher? Give me a break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭BanzaiBk

DesF wrote: »
    The Den was at it's absolute zenith when Evil Ted was in it, and Postman Podge.

Classic. I'll definitly tune in for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Den_(television)
    The show goes out live, as was demonstrated all too well in 1990 when the adbreak ended early, with the shot coming back to Zig and Zag punting a Bosco puppet around and the puppeteers shouting "Bosco is a bollox".

They were right. :eek:
    On another occasion, a particularly dim-witted child was doing a phone quiz and could not answer a question despite being directly told the answer after several hints. Zag finally shouted "Ah, for fúck's sake!"

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭steve 0

When is it on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭thror

OK, I've asked all my friends and no-one remembers the talking evil sofa, it was pink and white striped and used to appear when the studio was empty and Ray and the lads were gone. Sometimes it even came on after the end credits of the show.

Does anyone else remember it or was I dreaming as a kid? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

No, I don't remember the sofa.

I do recall Podge on it though - I can even sing the Podge and Zag show theme :D

Then there was "It is I, Captain Joke", not to mention Captain Underpants, Captain U-Boat, toenails anonymous and Ray's Rave.

Does anyone remember the name of the club that Zig, Zag and Ronan Johnson (I think) used to play songs at after the Den.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Firetrap wrote: »
    Does anyone remember the name of the club that Zig, Zag and Ronan Johnson (I think) used to play songs at after the Den.
    The Rotten Apple Club! I think it only used to be on on Fridays.

God, I loved The Den. Remember Ray fighting with Ted. Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

Yeah the den was cool.

Pity zig & zag sold out and moved to ch4.

Of note is that the production company that did zig & zag is the same that does the bronx bunny - not sure if its definetly the same voice actors and puppeteers, but I think it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I remember zig cursing. I remember it happening a couple of times too! Ah and evil ted, I forgot all about him. Happy days. Is draw with don still on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭deman

Peared wrote: »
    Hey remember they went to prison for saying a bad word on air?

I vaguely remember something about that. Can't remember hearing about them going to prison though. What was it again? Wasn't it Xmas and they called Santa "a tight bast**d" or something like that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

Yes indeedy Ronan Johnson was Ronan Deeeelight in the Rotten Apple Club! Hey, can any of you remember Zig & Zags video called 'Nothing To Do With Toast'???:D I remember at the time Zig & Zag had a thing for cucumber and custard sandwiches :p

The Den was fantastic. I can remember the first time Zig and Zag appeared behind Ian Dempsey. That was 1986!! Argh!!!:eek::eek::eek: The Den would always start for a new season when we'ed all start back at school in September and I can remember being really excited that first day back at school because I couldnt wait to get home to see what design the Den would have!!

Good times. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cazzy

Captain pillowcase ... he was good.

I wrote into the den for a pen pal - Ian read out my detiails and I swear the postman delivered a sack full of mail to my house for the week after. Wasn't expecting that at all. Some really strange letters too. Couldnt read them all there was so many.
    Some people wrote to me like they were my long lost friend and enclosed all sorts of weird things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

The Den was so mad and hilarious back in the days of evil Ted. I remember they did a brilliant pisstake of an ad at the time for a beer... Oh God, I can't even remember what beer ad it was, but it had the guy dancing around a pint glass, and they parodied it with the blue bucket!

Wouldn't see many kid's shows parodying beer ads today...

Edit: It was Guinness, of course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

deman wrote: »
    I vaguely remember something about that. Can't remember hearing about them going to prison though. What was it again? Wasn't it Xmas and they called Santa "a tight bast**d" or something like that?

D'ya know I cant remember the exact story. I thought it was something to do with xmas all right but have it in my head that it was the dreaded f word when giving out about presents. That was so long ago, how can you be born in the 70s and feel old? When I see someones date of birth as being 80 something I think of them as being a kid. Sigh.

Also remember when Dustin used to be funny?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Gauge wrote: »
    The Den was so mad and hilarious back in the days of evil Ted. I remember they did a brilliant pisstake of an ad at the time for a beer... Oh God, I can't even remember what beer ad it was, but it had the guy dancing around a pint glass, and they parodied it with the blue bucket!

Wouldn't see many kid's shows parodying beer ads today...

Edit: It was Guinness, of course!

Wow, haven't seen that ad in god knows.. Thanks!