Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how much does it cost to repeat a year in college?

• 19-01-2004 9:03pm

Just wondering in advance. Nobody has ever given me a concrete answer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

depends on your course, full course fee's unless they will accept mitigating circumstance and reduce/remove them.

plus of course no grant, accom, food and general living expenses of course.

so ask ur faculty what the course fee's are.

ffs that's so shíte. I know a guy who's repeating 1 subject though in the same course and he still gets his grant cheques...(not that I'd be eligable for them anyway)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Atreides

Originally posted by utility_
    ffs that's so shíte. I know a guy who's repeating 1 subject though in the same course and he still gets his grant cheques...(not that I'd be eligable for them anyway)
    No your full of ****e, the goverment will pay for a year of college exactly once, after that you are liable for the full fees. Your friend will still recieve a maintance grant however. If you want to know exactly what a year in your course costs to repeat, look it up in the propectous, under non eu fees, that will give you a rough guide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Magic Monkey

utility_, you're in DCU?

It's €292 to repeat externally, somewhere around a couple of grand to repeat internally (of course, you can just do it externally and still attend lectures anyway...) :rolleyes:

Originally posted by utility_
    I know a guy who's repeating 1 subject though in the same course and he still gets his grant cheques
    Originally posted by Skanger
    No your full of ****e,...... Your friend will still recieve a maintance grant however.

Seriously...how much of a tosser are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Atreides

I find your tone offencive and I have reported you the the administration of this board. Personal attacks are not otlerated by the moderators of this forum. I was not contradicting yourself about the grants, just saying that your full of ****e in general and one so full os ****e as yourself, should not be saying others are talking ****e, when it is in fact you, the article in the first person that is the one full os ****e.

ok. You say that I'm full of shíte, and then report me to the administration when I call you on it?

LOL.

Ban us both, do the world a favour. Actually no...just ban Scanger - at least I have something to offer this forum...

Originally posted by Magic Monkey
    utility_, you're in DCU?

It's €292 to repeat externally, somewhere around a couple of grand to repeat internally (of course, you can just do it externally and still attend lectures anyway...) :rolleyes:

Ok amidst all the bickering I missed this. I wouldn't need to attend the lectures if I was to repeat, afaik. Although I may have to repeat some continuos assessment subjects...Dunno if that would still count..

I'm gonna check in the registry office as soon as I get the chance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Magic Monkey

You can repeat externally and attend lectures if you wish. They're not compulsory in any respect.

Re: continuous assessment, just talk with the lecturer or your year head. It should be fine to repeat externally and still do your labs. Just make sure your lecturer knows you're doing this, email him/her or set up a meeting; good luck...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

I'm not sure about paying fees and that, but you're going to need to be able to support yourself for the year, which is the main, and most expensive thing. I don't think working a full time job and repeating the exams and coursework is such an easy or advisable thing to do. So you know yourself how much it's going to cost you to support yourself for 9 months.

P.S. Utility, you do come here looking for help, then call somebody a tosser then the try to help you by giving information. Are you going for a banning record here or what?

Sinecure...I called him a tosser, because out of nowhere he tells me I'm full of shíte, and then is EXPLANATION as to why he said I was full of shíte was:
    I was not contradicting yourself about the grants, just saying that your full of ****e in general and one so full os ****e as yourself, should not be saying others are talking ****e, when it is in fact you, the article in the first person that is the one full os ****e.

honestly...:rolleyes:

P.S. my current ban record is...*0*, so I don't think I'll be entering the guiness book just yet :(

anyways cheers Magic Monkey I'll see how I got for the next month or 2 and then decide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

I find your tone offencive and I have reported you the the administration of this board. Personal attacks are not otlerated by the moderators of this forum. I was not contradicting yourself about the grants, just saying that your full of ****e in general and one so full os ****e as yourself, should not be saying others are talking ****e, when it is in fact you, the article in the first person that is the one full os ****e.

This could be the highest form of comic irony ever seen in Ireland!

Then again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭henbane

DCU? What course are you in? I think CA was about €4k this year.

Don't plan on repeating it yet. They only just started. If you're in 1st year one evening is enough to study for anything - do well in the exams and a lot of lecturers will let you pass anyway or repeat the continuous assessment at some stage during next term. Have a chat with the lecturers in the subjects you go down in and try and sort something out. This will only work if they don't already think you're a tosser but if you're a 1st year and act all contrite they may think you've learned your lesson.

Get your finger out for the next semester, pass the summer stuff.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Skanger
    utility_ has been banned because of comments on another thread which I have read before this one
    he would have been banned because of this one had I read it first
    however
    you are rising to his flaming here, don't rise to these baitings or I will have to ban you too
    B