Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How early does one ask a girl to the Grad?

• 16-01-2004 7:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭

Grad isn't until September but I haven't got an obvious partner to bring ie. a steady girlfriend so how early do ye reckon I should ask the "lucky" girl? Bearing in mind leaving it until the last minute is most definitely not the answer since I'll be out of the country for most of July and August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Before you go away, ask someone. Or maybe if you've got enough time, leave it til you come back. Bear in mind though that she'll have to get a dress n such, so give her plenty of notice. And ya could well end up meetin the girl of your dreams while you're away and want to invite her, and then you're screwed if you've already invited someone else!

But then again, if ya leave it til ya come back, might be a bit late-ish, so sure ya may as well ask before you go away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I'm in a similar situation. I'm kinda in love with one of my good friends but I don't want to ruin our friendship just yet... I'm going to uni in england next yr so when shuld i ruin it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Start of the summer or before the leaving cert is a good time start asking ppl if they want to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

the best way to do it imo is say it when your with her as if it means nothing to you.. that way its more casual.

*random conversation*
    <girl> yea i remember when that happened
    <boy>yea that was great fun.. ohh by the way, my grad is in september, ye fancy comin along? shold be good craic, we can get pissed!

just slip it into a sentence, but dont make it look like you've been thinkin about it, otherwise if she cant make the event, she will be in an awkward position... which means bad vibes...

Originally posted by Kold
    I'm in a similar situation. I'm kinda in love with one of my good friends but I don't want to ruin our friendship just yet... I'm going to uni in england next yr so when shuld i ruin it?

normally I'd say 'just go for it', but the best time to ruin a friendship is when you never have to see the person again. Just give yourself enough time to shag her before you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

Originally posted by Kold

Well if tiz a great friendship, and if she doesn't feel the same way - then ye can still be friends. Even if ye kissed each other and din't really feel anythin, then ye can still be friends.

Jus don't tell her that you are in love with her unless she actually does like you & you end up goin out wit her for a while, otherwise - if you say you love her, and she only thinks of you as a friend, then she may feel awkward around you.

So jus say that you'd like to be wit her or somethin, jus don't mention the L word jus yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Pfffft, people stress over these way too much,
    Either ask a really good friend so you can have a laugh or ask the hottest bird you know.

Unless you're an asshole or some form of mutant they won't say no, they're do and never will unless they actually cant make it.
    They wont say know because:
    -It's mean
    -Going is an ego boost
    -Its fun
    -They get to wear a fancy dress

Just trust me and relax, I know thats easy to say but dont stress about it, just go to whatever girl.

Hey Im away for the summer so I was wondering if you'd like to go to my Grad with me, should be a laugh...ill buy you drinks! Please?! PLEASE!!OH FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!!
    *sobs*
    Why!!!Please!

girl: ok fine...sheesh, just go away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

Sangre brings up another decison I must make on who to bring. I see 3 options:
    1. A girl that I'm friends with and will have a laugh with.
    2. A girl that I like and that I have a good chance of getting with
    3. A really hot girl that I know I haven't a chance in hell of getting with but would look great in all the photos.

Decisions, Decisions. I'm sorta leaning towards someone that's a little bit of each of options 1 and 2 at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

I was in that situation before. Good Friend v Hottest Girl in town. Both were nice looking birds but I took the Hot Girl cos I liked her(she knew it too), but we didnt get click and nothing happened. I wish now that I took my friend, would of had a great time with her.:dunno:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

I was facing decisions 1 and 3 you listed. Sensibly enough I feel, I went for option one and she said yes, and hopefully I should have fun when it comes around.
    EDIT: So to answer your original question, I've already asked someone though mines not til August.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Originally posted by utility_
    Just give yourself enough time to shag her before you go.

ladiea and gentleman

this is utility_, one of board's more "sensitive" poster's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Your better off inviting someone you know and who you'll have fun with.

If you go inviting the hottest bird in the school just to look good or boost your ego or whatever, you'll probably end up having a crap night.

Besides from my experience its just an excuse for a piss up. The lads usually get drunk together, while the girls huddle over in the other side of the room, and talk lots of gossip.

Debs/Grad balls are far too over rated. Its really just another night out with the lads, but you gotta invite a girl, and look good in a suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 439 ✭✭Atreides

I agree with sangre, ask a good friend to go with you, that way it can be great fun. Never bring the girl friend, its a lads night out for all the friends you probably will never see again. Also going stag has its pluses , you get to pick up all the spares on the night and get royaly twisted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

In my school in Galway we had a grad in 5th year and a debs in 6th year.

In 5th year, I took the best looking girl I knew that'd agree to go to the Grad with me and she ended up making a fool of me by shifting two other guys. For my debs, I brought one of my mates, we got ****faced and had an absolute ball!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

All i can say is i'm not looking forward to asking anyone. Theres one girl that i hang around with that i'd ask, and if she says no....

Basically, i'm screwed. Oh god, the choices. But i'll probably wait til end of the exams anyway. Then i can ruin my summer nicely if she says no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

You ASK someone to the GRAD!!!, in our school they just piled us all in to the local club and we just sorta drank to pass the time - I dont remember anyone asking anyone. The Debs ye but the grad is meant to be more relaxed....I found it more fun then the sh!tty Debs( God I hated them:mad: ). What is the point of asking someone when all you are going to be doing is getting pissed?:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,334 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

M_F it doesn't matter if you have someone or not you could end up pulling someone you never came with:D - drink the great inhibitor :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭deimos

I had a plan. If I could'nt get a girl I would just put a dress on a keg of Dutch Gold and carry her in with me, and if any1 asks why does'nt she speak, i'll just say "she has a little too much to drink".....................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

oooh, sory, complete misunderstanding. For our grad its rare for a guy to invute along a girl to the ceremony etc, but when we all head into town afterwards, some would get their girlfriends to come along, but its mostly just the guys.

Then we all supposedly get wasted and get kicked out of 17 nightclubs. i can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Yeah, I was talking about the Debs myself. I don't think there's any official thing after my grad, just all head to the pub I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Caffine

Originally posted by pigeonbutler
    Sangre brings up another decison I must make on who to bring. I see 3 options:
    1. A girl that I'm friends with and will have a laugh with.
    2. A girl that I like and that I have a good chance of getting with
    3. A really hot girl that I know I haven't a chance in hell of getting with but would look great in all the photos.

Decisions, Decisions. I'm sorta leaning towards someone that's a little bit of each of options 1 and 2 at the moment.

i went for 1+3 myself but i had a laugh, tho i got so drunk i cant drink since :P

if u know someone whos a mix of 1/2 then go for it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 666 ✭✭✭pigeonbutler

People seem to be taking up different interpretations to me of the word "Grad". In my school we generally have a grad mass in May when we finish school before the exams. After that everyone goes for a few jars but it's nothing formal. Then is September we have the Grad dance which some of ye know as a Debs Dance. I thought Debs was only the name it got in a girls school.
    Anyway it's the grad dance (ie. meal, tux, band, dj, copious amounts of alcohol) that I was referring to.