Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FAO: all you posh people here

• 16-01-2004 11:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21

From the theme of some posts which involves branding people 'knackers' and general 'upperclass' feel about this place I presume there are a lot of well to do people here. So I ask yez this:
    What was your reaction when to the recent court case about the young chap who died outside that really posh nightclub for students?
    Wheren't all the accused from areas such as Foxrock, D4 etc? Did you suspect that these couldn't be guilty of such a horrendous act and maybe wonder if the blame lay with someone with a more of a 'working class' accent?
    Has this case made you wonder if maybe 'knackers' aren't the only people who start fights? That ridding the country of all the 'scumbags' ie, baseball cap, 9ct gold brandashing youths would make this country a safe haven!?
    Personally I couldn't believe that four well bred youngsters like the accused could be guilty of such a crime. A crime most common among the lower income familys of Dublin. Amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

scumbag is a state of mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

I'll say this, the guy who got killed was very unfortunate. Wrong place at the wrong time really. It was 4 juiced up southside turkeys that killed him, fair enough. But that doesn't make them any less aggressive or violent as 4 skangs. There was 4 of 'em and they decided to throw their weight around and ended up killing the chap.
    If you've ever been in the queue for a nightclub in the temple bar area etc. around midnight, take a look around at who's being the surliest or most loud, it'll usually be some posho's (unless there's a few skangs in the vicinity in which case they'll be a bit more subdued).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

No.
    All people know that those in the upperclass never commit crime :rolleyes:

Get a grip ferchrissake, everyone knows that a scumbag is scumbag no matter where he comes from.
    But D4 isn't filled with scum, unlike other areas of Dublin where kicking someone's head in for a few cents is just another day, another dollar.
    Like the two knackers who recently got off when asked a guy for a cigarette who said
    "Sorry, I don't smoke"
    and then they jumped on his head until he was dead.
    They did find print marks on the guys face that matched the shoes of one of the knackers. Lovely stuff.

I hope those D4 fcuks end up in detention but it probably won't be filled other people from foxrock now will it?

You were amazed that someone from D4 could actually commit a crime? grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Firstly, as you seem to be so class obsessed, I should preface this by saying that I'm been born and raised in Tallaght where I've lived all my life and I certainly have a 'working class' accent.

With that out of the way, I think your making connections that aren't there. Drunken fights happen outside nightclubs all over the country – it doesn't matter what kind of people go there – mix 500 young blokes and a lot of beer and you're always going to get agro. The case you're refering too seems like the kind of thing that happens sadly week in, week out, except this time it got out of hand.

I hate (and I don't use that word lightly) skangers, I make no bones about it. They are scum of the highest order, whose main goal in life seems to be to persecute people, sober or not. I can only go by my experiences, but I've never been mugged by a 'rugger head'. I've never been physically and verbally assault by one and I've never had to call the police because a gang of them are smashing the windows of an old lady's car just because they've nothing better to do with their time. Unfortunately, I can't say the same of scangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Originally posted by Kananga
    No.
    All people know that those in the upperclass never commit crime :rolleyes:

<crap removed>

You were amazed that someone from D4 could actually commit a crime? grow up.

I'm amazed that you use sarcasm but you can't tell when other people do..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Was one of them not from Monaghan ?

Worst. Thread. Ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 B1G 3Y3s

Cheers Kali.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I think Sheron summed this thread up beautifully ...

oh, and the thread-starter needs to get a clue :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Ronaldo7

Originally posted by B1G 3Y3s
    From the theme of some posts which involves branding people 'knackers' and general 'upperclass' feel about this place I presume there are a lot of well to do people here. So I ask yez this:
    What was your reaction when to the recent court case about the young chap who died outside that really posh nightclub for students?
    Wheren't all the accused from areas such as Foxrock, D4 etc? Did you suspect that these couldn't be guilty of such a horrendous act and maybe wonder if the blame lay with someone with a more of a 'working class' accent?
    Has this case made you wonder if maybe 'knackers' aren't the only people who start fights? That ridding the country of all the 'scumbags' ie, baseball cap, 9ct gold brandashing youths would make this country a safe haven!?
    Personally I couldn't believe that four well bred youngsters like the accused could be guilty of such a crime. A crime most common among the lower income familys of Dublin. Amazing.

What would it have to do with someone with a working class accent?

Theres knackers everywhere. One of the lads up on trial(i know personally) and is one of the soundest lads around. Reason he is up is because in Annabells earlier that night he was in a fight with that guy....thats why he is involved.

No he doesn't. He's got all the clues he needs.
    I half forget what point I was making to begin with but one
    thing I do remember is that I'd noticed this board had a lot
    of posters who love to hate 'knackers'. It's a preoccupation for
    some.
    And from experience the people who love to hate knackers are usually
    posh, self proclaimed upper class wonderful citizens who look down their
    noses at the less-well-off. So I wanted to hear from the posh people regarding
    this subject.
    Note: the thread is titled ;'FAO: all you posh people here' and in 4 minutes it had
    16 views, so there are obvoiusly a few posh people here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

That's right. We sit here all day in our tuxedos and top hats, typing on our gold-plated keyboards just lying in wait for some unsuspecting member of the lower classes and forcing them to eat coal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Originally posted by super_furry
    That's right. We sit here all day in our tuxedos and top hats, typing on our gold-plated keyboards just lying in wait for some unsuspecting member of the lower classes and forcing them to eat coal.

:D LOL Excellent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

Yes I myself am drinking a splendid Brandy and enjoying a Havana Cigar :D

Take that cock outta your ass...if anyone is looking down their nose its you for presuming everyone who read your post is posh.

that's debatable, see below

this subject.

No. I hate scum because they're scum and the absolute plague of society. You can't even leave a pair of shoelaces lying around otherwise they'll either be lifted, f*cked up, or used to beat some poor defenseless soul senseless all in the cause of "eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeyyyhhhhhh, Oi'm haaaaard"

As Sheron has stated before, it's a state of mind. not class.

Oh, and I'm not posh. I just have a brain and the ability to think for myself.

Note: the thread is titled ;'FAO: all you posh people here' and in 4 minutes it had
    16 views, so there are obvoiusly a few posh people here.

It OBVIOUSLY got 16 views because people went "ooooh looky here - a muppet has just posted something funny. Lets read and laugh at them".

Obviously :rolleyes:

Now where did I put my havanna & my ivory mouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

Anyone else get a mental image of a black woman with one hand on her hip and waving the other in the air when they read this?

Originally posted by Ronaldo7
    What would it have to do with someone with a working class accent?

Theres knackers everywhere. One of the lads up on trial(i know personally) and is one of the soundest lads around. Reason he is up is because in Annabells earlier that night he was in a fight with that guy....thats why he is involved.

OOH RIGHT!! So you know him do ye. (LIES) Therefore he must be sound!
    Jaysus, what did you expect? murderers aren't fuc&ing cloaked monsters that
    roam dark alleys and sewers. 'Reason he is up etc' oh well then, if he was provoked be a bit of handbags at ten paces then he has every right to kill someone.
    Are you on crack? He's not 'sound', The parents of the victim have lost their son forever. Everytime they pass his bedroom, everytime they see a picture of him for the rest of their lives they will be reminded of this. Thick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭s8n

sod this....I'm off too renards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Did you loose your job recently?, b1g.. ah feck that i won't even try to type your name. Or are you sexually frustrated? Because dr jones detects alot of hostility from you. Don't worry, it'll all work out soon enough. There's a dole office near you! (and a lapdancing club).

Ah stick it up your ar$e.
    That's the most pathetic overused insult there is.
    'Are you sexually frustrated' get a life will ye.

Originally posted by Kali
    crap removed

God this debating thing is easy!

my my - further phallic references ....

..... You sure you're not frustrated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Originally posted by super_furry

OOH RIGHT!! So you know him do ye. (LIES) Therefore he must be sound!
    Jaysus, what did you expect? murderers aren't fuc&ing cloaked monsters that
    roam dark alleys and sewers. 'Reason he is up etc' oh well then, if he was provoked be a bit of handbags at ten paces then he has every right to kill someone.
    Are you on crack? He's not 'sound', The parents of the victim have lost their son forever. Everytime they pass his bedroom, everytime they see a picture of him for the rest of their lives they will be reminded of this. Thick.

Why wouldnt i know him? He lives 5 minutes away from me.

btw your a ****ing idiot. You dirty low class scumbag.

God this debating thing is easy!

Who said anything about debating? I see very few proper or intelligent points being made in this thread at all, and I doubt it'll last very long before being locked and moved to the recycle bin.

I agree.
    I'm unsubscribing and ignoring it from now on anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

this subject..

No, we just dont like violent ignorant louts. So get the chip off your shoulder and fùck off to deal drugs or whatever it is you do in your slums when your not hassling people for spare change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

Harumph!
    This place has gone to the dogs. I mean just look at the sort of people we get in here these days. I'm sorry, but I need to ask DeVore why he lets them in. I mean shouldn't the commoners have their own forum?

harumph! he said again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Originally posted by Ronaldo7
    Why wouldnt i know him? He lives 5 minutes away from me.

what he is saying is nothing to do with ur "right to know" him, in fact his point rests on it. He is saying that ur personal character reference doesn't change whatever it is the courts decide it is that he did. And he continues to say what teh impact of what was done(by whomever) has had on his parents, and others, lifes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

We have all ready seen the closure of a forum recently (web hosting)
    Why After Hours hasn't been considered in the same vein is beyond me.

The constant dribble that gets posted to the forum is very concerning

Working Class V's Snobby Upper Class twats and malcom in the middle sitting on the fence.

These arguments are boring one was enough and it's coming up on a daily basis now.

Can DeVore ecksor or someone please look into this and for the mods of the forum to take a closer look at it?

Sickened.

i prefer to be called snooty rather than posh anyway.
    Emboss is right.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Ah now closing it is a bit extreme! There are some perfectly fine posts here. Surely just closer moderation of wandering threads is all that's needed? And a swifter hand with the ban.

Ohhh look!
    I mean who let in this Tallaght guttersnipe! It's appauling- it just won't do to have the likes of him around here!

Anyways- whaayre wahr wey?

Oh yes, I was wearing my V-neck pulover talking about the price of housing whilst you were telling my how many miles to the gallon you get with your Volvo...

Originally posted by ixoy
    Ah now closing it is a bit extreme! There are some perfectly fine posts here. Surely just closer moderation of wandering threads is all that's needed? And a swifter hand with the ban.

Indeed.

Originally posted by The Beer Baron
    Ohhh look!
    I mean who let in this Tallaght guttersnipe! It's appauling- it just won't do to have the likes of him around here!

Anyways- whaayre wahr wey?

Oh yes, I was wearing my V-neck pulover talking about the price of housing whilst you were telling my how many miles to the gallon you get with your Volvo...

No I was discussing how easy it was to break into your polo....(you're a punto driver really)

We all know how much you love those.....

:ninja:

That's me finished...

Actually I don't drive at all- the chaufeur (gf) drives me everywhere.
    Only the car's ****ed- you wouldn't be a decent chap and maybe get you and some of your prolee chums to how do I put this...smash the **** out of it so we can claim the insurance and scrap the bastardin' thing?

Originally posted by Emboss
    Working Class V's Snobby Upper Class twats and malcom in the middle sitting on the fence.

These arguments are boring one was enough and it's coming up on a daily basis now.

Can DeVore ecksor or someone please look into this and for the mods of the forum to take a closer look at it?

its the "adrian kennedy phone show" board :)

Originally posted by The Beer Baron
    Actually I don't drive at all- the chaufeur (gf) drives me everywhere.
    Only the car's ****ed- you wouldn't be a decent chap and maybe get you and some of your prolee chums to how do I put this...smash the **** out of it so we can claim the insurance and scrap the bastardin' thing?

I can send down some of the finest scobes in Tallaght to do a good job on her...

Then they'll do something with your car aswell......

That's if they can find ennis :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Ah good old adrian. Still on fm104 is he? Ah those were the days, living in dublin............:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 HostMan

I agree that scumbag is a state of mind.

However, people from "dodgy" areas are generally less educated, and nothing calms a man like education.

Also, rich boys have more to lose.

And, there are more working class people than middle/upper class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Hello, Chris?!

Scumbag is a state of mind, all you have to do is look at the political parties in any country to see that. It matters not where you come from, or how you talk, its your attitude towards other human beings and everything around you that defines you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

whats more back to what originally prompted this thread, doesn't matter where your from, whether you've been in consistent trouble with the law all your life, whether you've a degree. You kill a man, you're a murderer. Technicalties such as manslaughter shouldn't remove from that. Drink driving, speeding, fights, etc. No matter - you've endangered someones life by not being able to control your urges. If you get lucky and teh person doesn't die it shouldn't make a difference. you've still crossed that line.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

Personally i don't really mind where anyone comes from as long as they respect other people, which a lot of skangers don't seem to do.

This hysteria that's building up around this case is nothing short of insane. It's just unusual to see 4 well to do lads who went to a fee-paying school and then kicked the ****e out of someone outside Annabel's up for a crime like this in court. People who say skangers don't outdo them by 90% are not living in the real world - or else don't even listen to the news.

I go regularly enough to annabels, and to be honest i do feel alot safer there than in some other places.

BTW no one is guilty until proove otherwise. So the author of this thread should understand that before he goes on a **** talking rampage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

*Presses the big red button labelled "Release Hounds"*

Society is a melting pot. You get nasty stuff sticking to the bottom, you get scum floating on the top, and there's plenty of crap getting stirred up in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Like the two knackers who recently got off when asked a guy for a cigarette who said "Sorry, I don't smoke" and then they jumped on his head until he was dead.
    They did find print marks on the guys face that matched the shoes of one of the knackers. Lovely stuff.

That's just horrible... horrible horrible horrible. Like others on the thread, I do think that 'scumbag is a state of mind' and no matter where you come from or grew up, you can be as violent, ill-tempered and downright psychopathic as anyone else. That's not to say however that someone from Foxrock or D4 doesn't deserve the exact same treatment as someone from Ballymun (No, I don't know Dublin that well). I makes my blood boil when I hear of offenders being given special treatment just because they are "upper class". What I'm trying to say I suppose is that I agree with the rest of ye. Shoot em all and let God sort em out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Like the two knackers who recently got off when asked a guy for a cigarette who said
    "Sorry, I don't smoke"
    and then they jumped on his head until he was dead.

Any links for this? That's ****ing disgusting.

By the way, did the original poster get banned for this topic? That's a bit harsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Originally posted by HostMan
    However, people from "dodgy" areas are generally less educated, and nothing calms a man like education.

Odd, i must be quite a rare commodity in your mind.
    I'm degree educated but yet i live in an area where 4 murders have taken place in the last year, the last murder scene i could see from my own back window.

Strange thing is that the majority of people around here have a few bob to their name obtained legaly of course :)
    I makes my blood boil when I hear of offenders being given special treatment just because they are "upper class".

Yep, they have their daddys delve into their pockets to hire the most expensive legal team on their defence. Money talks :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

if anything the Burlington boys may be made an example of -

correct me if I'm wrong but theirs was not a random attack - unlike another particular trial which is taking place -murder in the South East

not that it makes a difference murder is murder

but I'd still feel safer with a bunch of rugger turkeys walking towards me than a crowd of fringed, gortexed, nasal-whining ntl topped scummers