Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Rose of Tralee is Dead

• 15-01-2004 10:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭

From http://www.rte.ie/news/2004/0115/rose.html
    No funds to discharge Rose of Tralee debts

A spokesman for the Minister for Arts, Sports and Tourism, John O'Donoghue, said today no funds are available from Fáilte Ireland to assist festivals in discharging their debts.

He added that funds were only available from the tourism body to assist festivals in their marketing campaigns.

Since December 2001, almost €550,000 in Government funding has been allocated to the Rose of Tralee festival.

The Chief Executive of the festival has said that unless €250,000 can be raised by the weekend, she will have to inform its directors that attempts to save the company have failed. The festival directors will then have to decide whether or not to put the company into liquidation.

Rescue package bid

Over the past three months the festival's chief executive, Siobhan Hanley, has been trying to put a rescue package together to save the company from liquidation.

Ms Hanley told RTÉ News she has secured verbal agreements from a majority of the company's creditors, who are owed €900,000, to settle for payments amounting to a third of their debts.

But, she said, the success of the rescue package was dependent on a commitment from five organisations to make a contribution of €50,000 each to pay off the debts.

Ms Hanley said the Mayor of Tralee met earlier this week with the five bodies, Tralee Town Council, Shannon Development, Tralee & Kerry Vintners, Tralee Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Holiday Tralee, but no financial commitments were made at the meeting.

Ms Hanley said there are others from outside Tralee interested in investing in the festival, but they would only do so if the company was debt free and if organisations in the town had also come on board
    From Irish Independant
    Rose spurns riches to care for Calcutta children

JOANNA O'Keeffe, the Cork entry in the Rose of Tralee has suspended her work as a model - to go and work as a volunteer teacher with street children in Calcutta.

Joanna has decided to turn down lucrative modelling and personal appearance contracts to focus on helping charity, the Hope Foundation. Joanna will work with former street children teaching them English.

Hope Foundation official, Maureen Forest, said the charity was thrilled with Joanna's offer to help and impressed by her decision to put charity work ahead of lucrative modelling contracts.

"When Joanna approached us to discuss the possibility of teaching in Calcutta, we were delighted to have her," Maureen said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

About fúcking time.

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ah I would'nt get my hopes up just yet, some silly bugger will find the money at the last possible moment.

Maybe a local lotto winner, RTE and Gaybo can stump up, or perhaps a consortium of overweight "Martha and Bob McGraths from Boston Ma" will come together so thier daughter Aine can have a platform to dazzle us from! :D

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I doubt it will go down like this! All the locals will raise funds and it will be going for another year at least!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

They better add a swim suit competition if they bring it back...

Originally posted by DMT
    They better add a swim suit competition if they bring it back...

I'd go further and make it pay-per-view!

WARNING CLICK AT YOUR OWN RISK!

http://www.trembelog.com/Content/CWA/NudeWorld/1/images/MNW129B_jpg.jpg

Mike

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Hmmmm, you feel confident about posting that (It's nice like, but will you get burned by monty)

John

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

may i be the first to piss on it's burning ashes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭oeNeo

Wow. Dey r sum hot ladys LOL! :D:D

beaverpatrol.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Originally posted by mike65
    I'd go further and make it pay-per-view!

http://www.trembelog.com/Content/CWA/NudeWorld/1/images/MNW129B_jpg.jpg

Mike.

Nice linkage! Could have labelled it non-worksafe though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Commissar

Wow...That's a lot of silicone.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

First a Dub wins it... and then the culchies won't pay off their debts in protest.

"Ye can't have a Jackeen winit... sure... tis against god".

/etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

That will be a big blow to the people of Kerry, financially speaking. It's no loss to me. If i wanted to see a bunch of american-irish-wannabies trying to play the harp, and rant about being 3.14....% irish i'd go to Boston, not turn on RTE 1.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

"The rose of tralee is dead" ---> Thank God!

Terrible news chaps....

The Rose of Tralee had been saved! :mad:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2004/0116/rose.html

It seems a bunch of local business men sudenly realised,
    have been prompted by the coverage yesterday, that Tralee pubs would be empty next August so have pledged a stack of cash....

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Originally posted by mike65
    Terrible news chaps....

The Rose of Tralee had been saved! :mad:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2004/0116/rose.html

It seems a bunch of local business men sudenly realised,
    have been prompted by the coverage yesterday, that Tralee pubs would be empty next August so have pledged a stack of cash....

Mike.

Say it ain't so :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

couldnt give a **** tbh. if it keeps the grannies happy for 2 nights of the year etc. etc. it is a load of arse though, that i do agree with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Wow, how'd she die? :D

Originally posted by Kold
    Wow, how'd she die? :D
    She fell down a well...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Ah **** it. I thought we were rid of it.