Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sun holiday, any ideas

• 14-01-2004 3:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭

i wanna head away on a sun holiday this year, 3 lads mid 20's. nothing too tacky, but with a bit of life.

any recomendations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Hirsonnisos (sp) in Crete, a bout 6 of us went there last August, all aged 20-24, had a fantastic time, moped disasters aside.
    There's no english in Hirsonnisos, they're all 20 miles down the road in Malia, and there's enough bars/clubs/nightlife to keep you going for a month.

There's loads and loads of leaving certs to college age people there, which is a good thing and a bad thing.
    It cost us about 720euro for flights and accom, bring 750-1200+spending money for 2 weeks.

There's cultural tours and stuff to do as well as the beer/sun/swimming we did, so its not all tacky

We've been looking around for a similar type of holiday for this year but it looks like Tenerife or somewhere for us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭alienhead

looks nice

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

yup been there twice!!. Its the only holiday destination ive gone to twice. And yes i had moped disasters too just i was drunk all times so by the time i woke up the pain was gone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by Chief---
    yup been there twice!!. Its the only holiday destination ive gone to twice. And yes i had moped disasters too just i was drunk all times so by the time i woke up the pain was gone :)
    my mate snotted himself of his going down a hill, ripped every piece of skin off the palms of his hands, his knees, elbows, upper arms,
    He was covered in bandages and disinfectant for 4 days, we had to help him take a piss cos he couldn't pull up or down his shorts.
    Cost him 400euro in drugs and hospital visit, 200euro for the damage to the moped.
    He still scored a ginge though!

Gumbet near Bodrom in Turkey.

The biz and very lively, cheap too.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

I've been thinking about going there aswell this summer,
    Some epople say its as expensive as dublin some parts of it?
    anyone had an experience on that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭phoenix2181

anyone got any thoughts on gran caneria plays des inglais (excuse the spelling)...my self & 2 other lads will be booking out holiday next sat.... is it cheap /expensive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

Playa del Ingles is perfect for a group of lads - you'll love it - loads to do and loads of Irish - very little English around.

I'd recommend Kusadasi in Turkey - was over there last night and its excellent - the sights are amazing and everything is so cheap. Most restaurants will send a free taxi to your hotel to pick you up, give you a free starter, drink and desert. Clothes are for nothing so if you're going bring an empty suitcase coz you will get everything over there for dirt cheap! You'll hear rumours about the Turkish ppl but they absolutely love the Irish - I'd recommend it for any age group.

Gran Canaria is cheap enough- food is anyway - drink isnt too bad if you drink their own beer - Tropicana I think its called - its grand. The best thing about it is the day trips - there's loads and loads of water sports, water parks, island trips. There's also a really good night out to a place called Souix city - a town done up little a town in a Western film - there's a big show, drink is free all night and all you can eat bbq. Well worth a visit. Plmitos park is really nice too - massive open park with loads of wildlife.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Originally posted by trotter_inc

I'd recommend Kusadasi in Turkey - was over there last night and its excellent

Last night ehh ?

Where are you going tonight... Thailand?? :)

yeah yeah ok :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

lol

Originally posted by trotter_inc

I'd recommend Kusadasi in Turkey - was over there last night and its excellent - the sights are amazing and everything is so cheap.

We drove up to Kusadasi from gubet and found it to be nice but just a a big city and thats all really compared to where we were based.
    Staying in Bodrum or better still Gumbet is a much better idea,they are much better party places and lots more sun holiday type activities by day and by night.
    And Gumbet has a long sandy beach compared to the stones of kusadasi.

You must have only seen Ladies beach in Kusadasi - as far as I know thats the only stoney beach there is - there are loads of other huge sandy beaches on the far side of the city.