Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bouncers - which door in Dublin is best/worst?

• 14-01-2004 12:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

Hi

I'm a bouncer in Dublin and a resently posted thread on the right to refuse people caught my attention. The posters were varied and interesting. I would like to take advantage of boards to ask the question:

"Which door is best/worst in dublin and why?"

Please don't take this as an oppertunity to whale on bouncers, I get enough on the doors to see me through serveral nights, but take your time and respond. I would like to know which door you think is doing a good/bad job and why.

We can all learn from the experience I hope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

Originally posted by Minime
    I would like to know which door you think is doing a good/bad

hee hee..... doors:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Minime

its bouncer speak don't ya know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

hee hee,, 'bouncer':p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭jd

Originally posted by Minime
    Hi

"Which door is best/worst in dublin and why?"

Bouncers for Ri-Ra/Globe/FL are good..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Bruxelles bouncers always seem very cool.
    Dorans occassionally are cool.
    Handles were great, but haven't been up that way in about a year or more....

But they're all pubs as opposed to clubs, so I dunno if it does be countin'! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Best: Pravda
    Worst: Slapperface Jacks
    Joint worst: Spirit (and yes I do get in, this is not a flame!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Spirit is the absolute worst. Tell you no for absolutely no reason, and theres absolutely no reasoning with them. Its not like the place is the new thing anymore and particularly exclusive... so the bouncers attitudes are questionable to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Good: Ri/Ra always polite and jokey, but tough when there's some drunken goon (me) trying to get in.
    Isoldes Tower, late boozing, so they are a bit cagey but once you chat to them they're very sound.

Bad: Fireworks, but the barstaff are great during the week cos I'm regular there for pool and pints.
    Turks Head.
    Reynards cos I'm apparently not posh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Good:
    Bruxelles (The old bouncers anyway, I dunno the new guys who arrived in the last 2 weeks, maybe they're just filling in)
    Dorans
    Isolde's Tower
    4 Dame Lane, surprisingly.
    Down Under

Bad:
    Viper Rooms. Not all of them are bad, there's just one prick who's totally up his own arse.
    Spy. They're morons.
    Doyle's. Not from personal experience, but I've seen them asking the same people for ID week after week, and generally being arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Smurphy

Bouncers at both Spirit and Viper Rooms are dodgy.

Spirit - I've never been refused entry but a couple of times I have gone there(each time I was stone cold soper, just starting my night out), queued up, got to the bouncer who asks me how I am etc etc while staring in my eyes.....I know they are checking to see if I am off my head on drugs, problem is that sometimes they grab my arm while they are talking to me......why do they have to grab my arm?????. I didn't kick up a fuss coz I wanted to get in as I was meeting people there......but I don't think they have to grab my arm just to ask me if I am OK

Viper Rooms - only tried to get in here twice.....was refused both times......one time I was with two other female mates......each of us had a couple of drinks but we weren't plastered....other time I tried to get in with my boyfriend and his mate.....again we weren't pissed....had only had two drinks each somewhere else....still were refused.....they wouldn't tell us why.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Best:

Bruxelles - resident alcoholic there :)

Worst:
    Any "trendy" bar I have ever tried to get into, despite looking "pretty" :rolleyes:

And from a distant standpoint - I would say Dorans could be very bad. Was walking past it just before Christmas and some guy was getting refused - all well and good, however he was simply persistant in asking the bouncer why he wouldnt let him him, to which the bouncer replied and I bloody well quote

"Get the f**k out of here before I smack you in the face"

Needless to say I did my duty, and sent a passing Garda down, and I gladly looked back with a smirk as the young lad in question was allowed into Dorans - and boy did mr. doorman look p*ssed off :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Bruxelles is fine, always just wander in no probs.
    Fibbers has been a bit dodgey of late, got stopped twice in the last couple of weeks, once i wasnt allowed in. despite being a gig organiser for the place?!?!
    Voodoo are fine on the door, as are Dorans. Think im regognised as part of the furniture in these places. they are the only places ill drink, except maybe the Clarendon pub on Clarendon row if i want a quiet pint.

gar
    20BE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

The worst in terms of attitude in my opinion are...

Doyles and the Q Bar. Most other Q like bars in town are fine i've found. Oh except for the Red Box. Their head bouncer, as of about ten months ago, acted very unreasonably towards me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Oh yeah, let's not foget the Hub, where a bouncer refused to allow my mate to go to the toilet, took his pint off him and marched him up the stairs (the pub was closing). When he was outside, and turned around to ask the bouncer why he was being such a prick, another bouncer ran up the stairs, kicked him in the chest and slammed the door. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭dictatorcat

best are Doyles and Isoldas, always have a little chat and they let you right in, and in fairness they need the business!

Worst, from what i remember from my student days was the palace, uptight power hungary cnuts, may they rot on the 8th layer of hell with much weeping and grinding of teeth:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Good - Down Under, Metropolitan, Sosume, The Duke, The Village & Isoldes Tower .. doesn't matter what you wear as long as you look semi-respectable and like your not going to cause trouble... Isoldes Tower are especially sound, had many a chat with them in the past.

Haven't had too many bad experiences apart from when I don't really deserve to get in anyway (way too much to drink)... some bastards on the door of Mssrs two years ago being the one time I despised bouncers (was completly sober and no excuse)..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

fireworks. the bouncers clearly believe that teh club should remain as it was when they arrived for work. Empty. Not tonight lads. what does that mean??? when you're sober well dressed, there's just two of you and its only 10.30?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

what you doing going into a night club at 10:30....crazyee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by SheroN
    what you doing going into a night club at 10:30....crazyee
    get seats?

I say Fireworks - you think nightclub?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

Originally posted by bombidol

Fibbers has been a bit dodgey of late, got stopped twice in the last couple of weeks, once i wasnt allowed in. despite being a gig organiser for the place?!?!

I've been going there for the best part of 10 years now and in the last 12 months I've been stopped every time for ID, even though I'm probably older than the bouncers (and I look it too). I remember the good old days when it was full of underage girls :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Originally posted by Tommy Vercetti
    I've been going there for the best part of 10 years now and in the last 12 months I've been stopped every time for ID, even though I'm probably older than the bouncers (and I look it too). I remember the good old days when it was full of underage girls :(

ah yes underage girls, oh the stories i wish I had to tell about them - but alas I was too plished each time I went there to have any stories worth telling :0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭alienhead

worst - spirit, q bar, spy, fireworks etc.....

best - the village, bruxelles, eh the rest are just passable...........

is there any chance of setting up a poll?

I had trouble getting into fireworks when i was promoting a gig in there, 800 punters through their door on a tuesday, you'd think they could see what side their bread is buttered on.

Same night one of the bouncers approached me and asked me if I was supposed to be banned, asking when i had last been there. The honest answer was 2 yrs perviously at a jazz night. He said he knew my face - which meant i was banned, then I twigged, i'd been chatting to him at another gig I'd run a couple of onthes previuosly. Seems "some" bouncers assume the worst if they recog you. sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

To be fair to the bouncers, anyone who tries to get into fireworks or spirit is a pleb anyway.

the worst bouncers I've ever come across are Tomango's finest boys in tuxedos.
    God I was at Tomangos a month or two ago. The place is like a time capsule from 1988. The same people, same clothes, same music, same smell in the corners.... it's nothing but a social club really, hardly public at all. Thats why its so annoyingly hard to get into.

a bit of a generalisation there, its not like we're spoiled for choice. spirit would be the bigger toss hole, but the apeal is its v late licence.

the issue here is bouncers.
    Originally posted by Tommy Vercetti
    To be fair to the bouncers, anyone who tries to get into fireworks or spirit is a pleb anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭bettyboo

Best - Solas (was the Modern green bar) & Bruxelles

Worse - Odeon, Capital, Parnell Mooney

Parnell Mooney
    You obviously didn't get through their skanger filter (they only let the skangers through).

I had the dubious honour of playing music upstairs in the Parnell Mooney a few weeks ago. I arrived at the pub with a beanie on, scruffy jeans, runners, dodgy leather jacket etc. I had my usual spiel ready for the bouncers - "I'm playing in the band upstairs, I won't be this scruffy when I change etc", but they let me straight in, while they were arguing with 2 perfectly respectable looking foreign gentleman.