Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

terrorised by group of youths - advice

• 09-01-2004 11:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭

Guys,

I wasn't sure where to post this but I'm keen to get some feedback so I thought I'd try here.

8 months ago myself and my husband busted ourselves financially to buy a good house in an area we were happy with, ie close to family friends and good commuting distance to work.

From about a month after we moved in, we've had eggs thrown at the house, stones thrown at the house, at the cars, at us. Nasty comments to both myself and my husband. Rubbish kicked into the garden. They run in, knock on the door/windows and run away. We usually have 1/2 incidents per week, sometimes more, sometimes less. I drive home, into my driveway, get out of my car not knowing whether I'm going to have eggs thrown at me, or stones. Yesterday they came out with filth I'd never heard before ( as well as stones).

Who is doing this? A small group of about 5/6 lads aged about 13-16 or thereabouts. They hang around outside our houses creating havoc. Last night as well as hassling us they were throwing stones are passing cars just for the hell of it.

I have called the guards so many times, they are sick of hearing my name now. I have called the ones in my town , as well as the county ones too. Last night my husband was so pissed off as they were seriously starting on him (calling him a dublin wan**r, even though we're not from dublin) that he went down in person to the guards to make an official complaint. He was told that there was nothing they could do. We know exactly who these guys are, and so do the guards, but they said the most they could do is caution them which wont' stop them. They live in the local council estate and are well known but seem untouchable.

Our neighbours (on the left) have the same problem but they have lived there for years and have a grown up family and it doesn't seem to bother them. Expect wehtn the man got egged 3 times getting out of his car one evening. We only found out afterwards that the people who lived in our house moved our because of this hassle, as did the neighbours on the other side of us(on the right).

Our major concern at this stage is that my husband is going to get so mad at them that he will take matters into his own hands and then we're the ones who are going to get into trouble.

We can't start a family as I am petrified of carrying a small child in and out of the house having eggs and stones thrown at it. I couldn't let them play outside with all that going on.

Last night we were seriously considering moving house but moving into this house has seriously taken it's toll on our finances and in my stronger moments I don't want to let them run me out of my house. Maybe if we stick it out they'll get sick of it... but maybe it'll give me a nervous breakdown, my husband a jail term for gbh? who knows?

has anyone any advice?
    we haven't mentioned this to friends or family as they're all so happy for us in our new house.

I just don't know what to do any more.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

A few random nuggets.

Air rifle from bedroom window, if they cant see the shooter, they dont know who it is.

Video everything they do, show them you are videoing them, it will freak them out. What you do with the footage is up to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 841 ✭✭✭Dr Pepper

Can't really think of much.. I really sympathise with your situation. Sometimes, the more of a reation these fellas get, the more they enjoy it. Try ignoring it as best you can and don't give them any satisfaction and they may lose interest.

Take comfort in the fact that most of them will probably end up killing each other or dying of drug abuse in the coming years :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I like the air rifle idea, but that would probably only aggravate them to further extremes, "cause like, we have to get them back"

but the videotaping is a really good idea.

Also I'd run an electric fence along the top of my boundary wall, and if they touch it, well tough!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Obscure

If enough people in the estate feel the same way, you could try starting a Neighbourhood Watch scheme.
    As far as i know it would consist of getting a couple of adults walking around the estate everynight on a rotta basis. The kids then have no "privacy" as there's always someone around who can see them.

Ob;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Originally posted by Dr Pepper
    Take comfort in the fact that most of them will probably end up killing each other or dying of drug abuse in the coming years :)

lol.

tape them...but don't make it too obvious. if they see you with a handycam or something they'll just get worse.

perhaps you did something to bring this on yourselves? have you asked the little ****s why they're doing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I wouldn't expect the little turds to be able to explain why they are doing it. It owuld be beyond their mental abilities

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

Grab one of them alone and with no witnesses and beat the living **** out of him- in this situation its best to try and isolate the ringleader and you and a few others bring him someplace and give him a good hiding. Try not to leave any scars or bruises. Go for body blows rather than to the head and face, I mean it, sometimes it's the only language people understand. Scare the absolute ****ing ****e out of the little bastards and make them rue the day. Having already called the cops a thousand times it's unlikely they'll suspect you. Have an alibi- even better, if you have a family member/s with a propensity towards violence perhaps you could enlist them whilst you're comfortably having a pint at the local pub or whatever during the time. It's a symptom of the times really, parents don't discipline their kids no more, so it's up to you as a responsible member of the community to kick the crap out of the wee bollixes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭SuperStudent

Hang your counties flag out. They're probably targeting you because they presume your from Dublin. Some boggers are like that.
    When I was around that age I'm ashamed to admit it, but our crowd were a bit of shower of b@stards. Not as bad maybe as these but you get the picture. If we had trouble from someone we would harras them a bit, get under there skin. If they got irritated, kept calling the Guards, it would get worse. If they ignored us, after a while we'd get bored. If they came at us with guns-a-blazing, i.e came out swing bats, knifes (and it's been done before) then as young lads we'd run and the majority wouldn't come back, ever. It depends what kind of people you and your hubbie are. Ignore them (which is probably the best thing) or go fu*kin nuts. Don't let them know your ittirated and all you'll do is ring the Guards. It won't work.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Originally posted by commuterised
    From about a month after we moved in, we've had eggs thrown at the house, stones thrown at the house, at the cars, at us. Nasty comments to both myself and my husband. Rubbish kicked into the garden. They run in, knock on the door/windows and run away. We usually have 1/2 incidents per week, sometimes more, sometimes less. I drive home, into my driveway, get out of my car not knowing whether I'm going to have eggs thrown at me, or stones. Yesterday they came out with filth I'd never heard before ( as well as stones)

I am truly sorry to hear that commuterised, I have had something similar happen to me around my apartment, though nothing as bad as what you have to put up with by any means, same sort of age group too. I have gone out and taken pictures of them, I have never seen lads so quick to cover their faces and run, I’ve not had as much hassle since, but the summer time will no doubt bring them out again. I really don’t know what can be done, the cops don’t seem to be able to do anything. Are their parents approachable? (I know, I know, it’s doubtful as they are obviously not teaching them any manners) but as a last resort, you could try
    It's a dreadful situation to be caught in, especially as you have put everything into the purchase of the house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

They're not targetting cos they're from Dublin, they're doing it because they're scum and they want to look big in front of each other.

I've seen the same problem in other places, and I really don't know what the solution is besides getting a couple of lads with baseball bats (maybe in balaclavas) to rough them up a bit and make it clear to them that they will come back - tell them they're all dead if they ever show their faces there again. Northern accents mightn't hurt.

Besides the vigilantism, legal means don't seem to be very effective - even speaking to the parents of the guys didn't work in the other (ongoing) case I know of this.

Please keep us updated. You have our support and best wishes, good luck.

Al.

and so begins a neighbourhood feud...

the parents are typically scum also or at least defensive of their spawn. if you cannot talk to the parents about it-chances are putting a blunt object against the back of their childs skulls would make your life more difficult.

Originally posted by Karoma
    and so begins a neighbourhood feud...

the parents are typically scum also or at least defensive of their spawn. if you cannot talk to the parents about it-chances are putting a blunt object against the back of their childs skulls would make your life more difficult.

Anonymously, Karoma, that's the important bit.

then you're not much better. jumping to violence without attempting any other real course of action. Try talking to the parents. If they're scum-then do whatever... otherwise,they may be decent people. in which case, problem sorted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Originally posted by The Beer Baron
    Grab one of them alone and with no witnesses and beat the living **** out of him- in this situation its best to try and isolate the ringleader and you and a few others bring him someplace and give him a good hiding. Try not to leave any scars or bruises. Go for body blows rather than to the head and face, I mean it, sometimes it's the only language people understand. Scare the absolute ****ing ****e out of the little bastards and make them rue the day. Having already called the cops a thousand times it's unlikely they'll suspect you. Have an alibi- even better, if you have a family member/s with a propensity towards violence perhaps you could enlist them whilst you're comfortably having a pint at the local pub or whatever during the time. It's a symptom of the times really, parents don't discipline their kids no more, so it's up to you as a responsible member of the community to kick the crap out of the wee bollixes.

I agree.

Skangers run in a pack. If you beat the **** outta the leader of the pack, the others will fall. Its the whole alpha male thing. The leader is usually the strongest dirt and the one the others are afraid of. Scaring him will scare the others.

I'd put something over his head when landing body blows just to add to the effect of fear. NOT TO SUFFOCATE HIM!!

leader...not necessarily.
    certainly go for the loudest.

this hard-man rhetoric is getting old. most of you wouldn't dare do such a thing irl. so why not actually try giving some practical advice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

Originally posted by Trojan
    getting a couple of lads with baseball bats (maybe in balaclavas) to rough them up a bit and make it clear to them that they will come back - tell them they're all dead if they ever show their faces there again. Northern accents mightn't hurt.

screw annonymity (sp?) u want them to know its you with the loose cannon mates who will beat the ****e out of them.

but i reckon it would work better this way. do it to one of their dads. u can be guaranteed the little scum will get disciplin at home then. as he comes home from work, put him in the back of a hi-ace with 4 lads with ballys & fake northern accents. drive off at high speed. give him a dig or 2 but nothing serious. put a blindfold on him, tell him that if little johnny scumbag ever bothers x again, then press a long metal pole against one of his kneecaps. heel get the msg. then dump out at the end of the estate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

Throwing eggs is not uncommon in many places, try going to the local shops and asking have a word with the MANAGER and ask him to tell everyone who works there to stop selling eggs to any teenages without adults with them. Loads of shops do this no probs, in many areas.

Point out what they do with them, if the manager refuses, ask him does he really belive they're going to make cakes with them? That would be one problem sorted :dunno:

Then once thats done just try to ignore them. I've had similar problems in my area before, unfortunatly moving isnt an option.:(

some poor junior cert home ec. student will fail.... and it's all your fault.
    hah.
    do you think ALL staff in ALL shops around the area would stop selling them to unsupervised youths?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Talking to the parents is no good. They'll either say "boys will be boys" or "my little johnny wouldn't do that" and call you all sorts for insulting their little precious babies, that's always what happens. Tbh it wouldn't surprise me if the parents started laying into you then aswell.

The unfortunate thing is they don't respect anyone or anything, including the proper authorities, the only thing they understand is violence (which will get you in even more trouble than them). I'm not sure there really is a solution* :(

*Besides your hubby and some of the bulkier mates/colleagues he has threatening them with some serious violence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Get photos of them and video evidence of what they are doing. Show this to the cops. If they won't do anything then take it to the local newspaper, the Sunday World, the Gerry Ryan show or somewhere else similar.

Failing that some good old vigilantism would at least make ye feel better even if it may make matters worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

some poor junior cert home ec. student will fail.... and it's all your fault.
    hah.
    do you think ALL staff in ALL shops around the area would stop selling them to unsupervised youths?

Look, its been done in many, many places. its not that hard. and atleast its an actual solution. Wow, a couple girls might have to remember get their parents to buy extra eggs at the weekly shop. Thats no distruption to anybody, cop on they're not going to FAIL cos of it. ITs a simple thing, being done everywhere theres a problem like this.

agreed. but one should try this course of action first anyway. (it *might* solve the problem without the need for violence. and failing that-you can lay in to the whole lot of the family and not feel guilty)

uh.... i wasn't serious about the JC remark.dolt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

I think it would work better if you or your husband had a few big friends relatives come around during this trouble! Mean looking b*stards if you know some.
    Hopefully they will throw something at your big friends and in turn will get the ass-whoopin of a lifetime!!

At the end of the day your married and you've porobably been through a lot more in your life than these little f*ckers.
    They young fellows ffs. I know they can be intimidating and all that but why should you/your other half live in fear.

If it were me i know what i'd do but that would probably end me up in Jail.
    Still there are lines to be crossed so go as far to that line as you can!

If they throw stones throw them back!
    Run at them with a baseball bat or a Hammer! They will run away!
    Showing them your demented will worry them!

Other than that video them. At least then you'll have evidence!
    Where in the country do you live anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

I'm not really that fond of any of the violent courses of action. I fear it might make matters worse. I'm of the "ignore them and they might stop" school of thought.

It's not just us who are being targeted so we haven't done anything to aggrivate them except move in and try to make a nice life for ourselves by working hard to make a nice home.

We're from the same county as these scumbags, we're originally from about 8-10 miles up the road ( in wicklow). My husband has a company car with a D reg so I think that is where they're getting the Dublin thing from. I think they have these idea that we're rich(cos of the company car) and maybe that's another reason why they're targeting us.

I'm going to talk to the local shop owners about selling eggs and see if that makes any difference. At least that's being proactive. If I can get my hands on a camcorder I might try videoing them, but the last thing I want to do is spend my life waiting for them to do something so I can tape them. They only come out when it's dark and retreat back up a dark laneway when they've thrown things or said things. My husband has challenged them to come down to him and say it on occassions but they've decline the invitation. I fear their parents have every notion of what they're up to, but can do nothing about it.

thanks for all the feedback, some good things to think about there, as well as some to ignore!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

I'm going to talk to the local shop owners about selling eggs and see if that makes any difference.

I fear their parents have every notion of what they're up to, but can do nothing about it.

The eggs thing should work.
    When I was growing up the local shops didn't sell eggs around halloween to any kids. This period was extended when it was discovered that the local youths were not consuming half a dozen eggs evry night!

As for "nothing they can do about it" that i'm afraid is bullsh*t. We all answered to our parents when we were growing up! The parents ARE responsible whether they like it or not! If little Johnny can't behave himself then he should have a curfew imposed. It's that Simple!

Talk to the parents if you can and see if they'll be reasonable.
    If not tell them you'll be getting the Gaurds involved! (Even though the Gaurds have been useless to you until now the threat of calling them might be enough).
    But be sure to talk to the parents.
    You'd be suprised the amount of Parent that DO NOT know whats goin on with their kids.
    My folks certainly didn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Mine the laneway? :confused:

..but the last thing I want to do is spend my life waiting for them to do something so I can tape them.

alternatively, invest in bright lights + CCTV ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Beëlzebooze

When I was a kid me and my mates would get in to trouble with the police, and believe me, we did things that were way more innocent than what these little f*ckers are doing. The police had no problems dragging our sorry arses into the copshop and threatening us with jail, writing lines and the like. I now know that is wouldn't have been possible for them to hold us, but this was done woith our parents consent, and it worked a treat. We never went robbing apples from the local orchard again!

These kind of goings on have been on the radio many a time (and way worse) and The guards seem to think they don't have to do anything untill it is too late.

if the cops where to haul both parants and kids in to the copshop and warn the kids in front of the parents, it would definately have an effect. if not, it is time to move to a better place.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I've been told that, in certain areas, the vigilante approach works. Van drives up, grabs one of those litte fcukers into the van, delivers a few blows, and the gang becomes quiet afterwards. Nasty but effective. A "Please leave us alone" is likely to get derisive laughs from them, accompanied by a puzzled expression if you point out it's a derisive word [polysyllabic words...a toughie].

"Talk to the parents" - What a happy, nice deluded world that is. The parents are likely in one of a few scenarios:
    1) How DARE you say my little Anto does these things. I'm suing for defamation of character and - given Ireland's litigous state - I'll probably win.
    2) Sure he's only having a laff. What's the problem? You should chill out.
    3) I've tried my best with him, but what can I do? There's no option left to me.

The guards are told not to do anything I'd imagine. There's a number of issues. First is of resources - they can't be arsed going after a bunch of little gouriers. It's an image thing. Second there's the aforementioned litigation issue - they're probably scared that if they arrest little Deco that Deco will slam a scumbag suit on him for aggressive manhandling of a minor/abuse/slander. We all know scum know how to work the system. Thirdly, even if convicted there's nowhere to go. Young offenders units are notoriously full so they're all just turfed back on to the street. Trouble is now they've got a dubious badge of honour among their contemporaries and so they can become even worse.

You're probably going about the best option, short of the vigilante approach. Now really: Is sterilisation of a large swathe of the population really a bad idea you bleeding heart liberals?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

That sounds good but wouldn't that backfire? Like you said, scum knows how to work the system. They'd probably put two and two together, or failing that some smart alec in the group will probably take the registration number of the van (I assume you're planning on using a rented van) and report it. Other than that, it's something I might think about to get rid of the scumbag minors who've been harrassing my parents' house down in Cork.

i'll say this for the last time. i am under no illusion that it will definitely work, but i think that the talk to the parents routine should be the step before violence.
    as for reg plate number: masking tape-it goes on quickly and comes off.... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

Now really: Is sterilisation of a large swathe of the population really a bad idea you bleeding heart liberals?!

Of course not!
    Irradiated Budweiser, Bacardi Breezers and WKD etc, - that's always been my plan.
    :ninja:

These days there's not much that parent's can do. Most parents are reluctant to slap their kids. I'm in favour of this in general, I mean you can't go slapping your little ten year old for every indescretion. However if you're child's a little gourier like these ones, then he deserves it. In fact what he actually does deserve would probably land the parents in prison.

I know the problem from when I lived back home in Cork. I was a bit selfish and escaped the problem by moving out (although it's still hell coming down for weekends). Ignoring them generally doesn't work, they'll just step up the attacks until you can't ignore them. Have tried grabbing them to give them the odd punch, but they're slimy little bastards who keep slipping away.

..and dutch gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

supersoaker + bleach

target clothes....

case solved

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

get someone u know who has a van, and a few family friends to help,, go round looking for a few of em,, when u see em, pull them into the van, knock them out with a swift blow to the head.. undress them, tape dildos to their hands(ala dirty sanchez), bring them to a tattooist who has a dislike of scum, get him to tattoo EVERYWHERE, including tattooing clown makeup on their faces,
    now u have two choices..

a) bring them up the wicklow mountains, let them make their own way back, naked of course..

b)drop them off in the middle of town on a saturday afternoon, naked of coure..(i recommend central bank, let the rockers have a good look)

they probably will want to get their own back, but its all worth it..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Commuterised,

I used to live in a little town in North Co Dublin and we had similar problems; in fact we had a worse time. My siblings and I were bullied by older kids from the word go, they all lived around the corner in the Co Council estate. My fathers car was vandalised repeatedly, the trees which my father planted were broken, our house windows were broken and believe it or not, our garden wall was knocked down (we had a ¼ acre garden, so it had a big wall!). My father worked very hard to buy that land and to build his own nice big house. I think the primary cause for all the sh*te was jealousy.

The cops were absolutely no help at all, in fact I think they were scared of the older individuals. The trouble mostly happened when my father was away, working or otherwise, one time however he was around and he caught an individual spraying paint on his car, he gave him a deserved hiding. On another occasion, rubbish was being dumped in our back garden, my uncle and my dad gave those guys a right beating. This ended hostilities against us but we were completely fed up with the town at this stage.

We had lived there for 10 years in total, but the amazing thing was, we were always considered as ‘outsiders’. We moved to a bigger and better town / neighbourhood.

then you're not much better. jumping to violence without attempting any other real course of action

Other action has been attempted - contacting the authorities.

Being "not much better"? Who gives a damn - this is about a real-world solution to a real-world problem that is not being solved in a civilised way (under our definition of the word civilisation - can you imagine this happening a hundred years ago?).

Al.

not being solved in a civilised way?
    what civilised attempt has been attempted?! running to the gardai isn't quite "civilised". I whole heartedly recommend giving each of them (and if the need arises,their families) a kicking-but only after all other avenues have been attempted..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Beëlzebooze

Originally posted by newband

b)drop them off in the middle of town on a saturday afternoon, naked of coure..(i recommend central bank, let the rockers have a good look)

now this one is original, yup I like it!

yeah,cause naked people in awkward situations is an uncommon sight around temple barf...

(think: stag nights..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

Originally posted by k.oriordan
    some smart alec in the group will probably take the registration number of the van (I assume you're planning on using a rented van) and report it.

in fairness if u were goin to go to the lengths to set this up i think u d have the intelligence to cover the licence plate with mud or something similar. its hardly the biggest logistical problem with setting up something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Interesting chance for a little behavioural science. Maybe you could call the various psychology departments in the universities and offer them this situation as a study - see if they'd like to set it as a problem for their students to solve.

or contact channel 4 and see if they want to base their entire season on it..

(rough idea: lock them into a room.no food.no water.blunt sticks.nothing,but a promise that the last surviving will be released.of course,being a mass murderer:it's ok to leave him locked up...)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭vinnyfitz

They only come out when it's dark and retreat back up a dark laneway when they've thrown things or said things.

One thing would be to get on to the Council and get the dark lane lit properly. In general you shoud talk to both Council officials and your local councillors about this. You never know what information they might have that could be useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

Do like a work colleague of mine did: sow the seeds of dissent. Targwet the leader as you walk by and say to him "Oh hiya X, the Gardai said that information you gave me was very useful! etc". Set them at each others throats :)

tried that before - they know better unfortunately - "yeah right boi, what are you on about?". Alliances change as well, someone could be the "leader" one week, and the bitch the next week (usually after someone humiliates them as per suggested) to be replaced by a new leader. They're adaptive little pests. It's an interesting group dynamic as well - "at each other's throats"? - sometimes you get the loyal groups - "fiends, there's the fiend who thumped Anto!", other times you get the anarchist groups who just seem to fall into the same group on a particular night. These are just as dangerous, and you have to target every member of the group, not just the leader, else the group will simply change shape. The good thing about these groups is they're not so bent on revenge, so you don't have to worry about starting a gang war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Find out who their parents are somehow, and sue their asses. The thought of actually losing money over their kids behaviour may put a stop to them.

Other than that, it's down the murky root of punishment beatings and knee-cappings....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭D-!

did u say they lived in a council house?

you might be able to report them to the council for this and they can treathen them with eviction if the "anti-social" behaviour doesnt stop it should stop then.

Get a few people to complain if you can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭Redleslie

Call the local Sinn Fein rep. Seriously.