Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liars

• 08-01-2004 9:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭

Has anyone got a friend or know someone who is a pathalogical liar?
    I think we all know someone who blindy tells fibs to maybe boost their
    morale or make them feel more interesting among their peers.
    I personally had a close friend who continued to make up storys about
    having a holiday home or inheriting bars etc into his twenties and it was
    pretty annoying but we never said anything because it would probably
    crush him. But I'm curious, do these people think that everyone believes
    such cr@p?
    And if there are any Liars outthere who want to air the reasons behind
    their madness please tell us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭leonotron

Maybe you think you realise you have a sad, dull boring life and don't want others to know this about you, perhaps you think those guys you talk to in the pub are your friends when they only think of you as that t0sser who talks sh1t. You have nothing interesting to say as nothing happens in you life so you make up things that have not happened to make yourself feel better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭SuperStudent

And if there are any Liars outthere who want to air the reasons behind
    Originally posted by leonotron
    Maybe you think you realise you have a sad, dull boring life and don't want others to know this about you, perhaps you think those guys you talk to in the pub are your friends when they only think of you as that t0sser who talks sh1t. You have nothing interesting to say as nothing happens in you life so you make up things that have not happened to make yourself feel better

Thanks. I presume your talking about yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Grom

sigh another thread wasted before its even started.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭TheSonOfBattles

You know this thread raised an interesting question, but already it's decended into idiocy because ye two can't keep your ego's in check.

Stop dragging your flame wars around the forum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

I have a mate called Leon who lies constantly - he can't stop. Sometimes people can't tell if he's telling the truth because he lies so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Originally posted by SuperStudent
    Has anyone got a friend or know someone who is a pathalogical liar?
    Dave? that you?

You know this thread raised an interesting question, but already it's decended into idiocy because ye two can't keep your ego's in check.

Yeah fair enough, I won't get dragged into it.
    But I was serious about the question...

Originally posted by lafortezza
    Dave? that you?

Dave who? send PM pls, don't want me name written out on boards thx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

I used to know a guy who would lie so much he would end up believing his own lies.

It was scary! Whenever anyone brought it up he would deny it and get pissed off and claim everyone else was lying

Ha, Kone we could even be thinking of the same person!

Originally posted by herbie747
    I have a mate called Leon who lies constantly - he can't stop. Sometimes people can't tell if he's telling the truth because he lies so much.

Maybe it's the same Leon I know, but the one I know doesn't lie, he just tells fibs for his own amusement. Maybe thats a lie too though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

i used to know two people both through work actually that would lie consistently. One was the kinda harmless lies about things like girls, what he'd done with his life etc. which everyone knew was basically bull****.

The other one would lie about more serious things which i think my have been related to an un happy home life.

data

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

I lie occasionally, just to keep in practise! You never know when you might need a good lie and a straight face to get you out of a tricky situation, so you have to get practise somehow!

We had a competition in our house one week to see who could tell the biggest lie, and get away without anybody realising. I won with a superb effort, but I can't remember what it was. Happy memories... :D

Originally posted by Dataisgod
    i used to know two people both through work actually that would lie consistently. One was the kinda harmless lies about things like girls, what he'd done with his life etc. which everyone knew was basically bull****.

I think they are the worst kind of lies. As in a bit sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Faust

I used to know this girl who would lie about things from her past and say that her mother beat her and stuff and that she had crazy adventures when she really did'nt. She was also always so dramatic, it was so stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by Faust
    I used to know this girl who would lie about things from her past and say that her mother beat her and stuff and that she had crazy adventures when she really did'nt. She was also always so dramatic, it was so stupid.

i know of someone who used to that when he was drunk. last thing you want on a night out is a sob story about something that didnt happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

Originally posted by mr_angry
    We had a competition in our house one week to see who could tell the biggest lie, and get away without anybody realising. I won with a superb effort, but I can't remember what it was. Happy memories... :D

Bullsh*t.

I agree, to some extent.
    How would such a game work?
    Is this a case of Lying just for something to say/type?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Anybody who has to lie to be interesting must be quite dull. It *is* possible to have an interesting conversation about purely hypothetical things, without lying.

I once knew a guy who told everyone he'd grown up in America to explain his accent. He later admitted to me that he'd actually been in Ireland all his life. I presume he lied because he was embarassed to admit he changed his accent from a country one to an American-sounding one but I have to say it really freaked me out that somebody would lie about such a thing. (Lies that don't shock me are white lies and lies told by say, people who are rivals in business).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

I knew an english guy in limerick,
    He lived a total lie, he told everyone he was ex-special forces (may or may not be true, no way to verify it), but he also claimed to have a company in england, and he was scamming everyone he knew, getting loans of €10 or €20 here and there saying that cheques were delayed.
    None of us realised as every now and again he'd have wads of cash and liked to flash it about, insisting on geting rounds of drinks or whatever, which lent credibility to his excuses.

Turns out he'd been taking the rent that his flatmate was giving him, and spending it and not giving anything to the landlord, we all found out something was amiss when the landlord called the flatmate (my friend) and demanded the rent, from there we all kind of compared stories and it was obvious that he was full of shit, and that pretty much everything he said was a lie.

It taught me a lesson, and unfortunately seriously impaired my ability to trust new people I meet,

Regarding this friend who lied alot, myself and other closer friends would never bring the subject of his obvious lies up because at the end of the day he was a friend, but when other people used to bring it up it was hilarious, you could just sit back and watch him get all frustrated without having to endure their rants and raves. It was bad enough when your 17/18/19yrs old but still up to the auld tricks in his early twentys is shamefull.

I can't stand people who lie to make them sound better, like if someone you meet
    starts saying 'oh I can get you this and that' then you ask them for it and you hear all the excuses under the sun. Why say you can get something when you can't?
    Sad, it really is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

1) This guy (lets call him Bob) was on a sun holiday with some mates.
    His friend got his drink spiked in a bar and was taken out of the bar and down to the dark beach where he got the shit kicked out of him and his wallet and clothes stolen. When Bob was asked why didn't he help his friend, Bob said that he too had had his drink spiked and had been anally raped by whomever did the spiking.
    This overshadowed the robbery of wallet and clothes of his mate obviously and Bob was taken to the hospital to be checked out.
    The doctor said to Bob after examination "There is no physical evidence at all that you have been anally raped".
    To this day we suspect that Bob lied to protect himself after his mate got robbed and beaten and he did nothing.

2) Bob again: we had another holiday booked and we needed to pay the balance of the cost of the holiday at the travel agents.
    3 guys didn't show up. 1 had failed his exams and his repeats were on the same time as the holiday. Another had no money to pay.
    And Bob's excuse was that he had cancer. Maybe he did and I'd wish it on nobody. But Bob made a remarkable recovery after a month and hasn't looked back. It was mentioned to his sister on a night out and she said Bob never had cancer.

3) Bob III: Bobs friend wanted a job in the video shop that Bob worked in. Bob said no problem, come in on saturday and I'll show you the ropes. Friend goes in and works 2 weeks in the video store, coincidentally on exactly the same shifts as Bob.
    The friend after 2 weeks looks for his pay and payslip. Bob produces an envelope of cash (5's and 10's) but no payslip.
    Unbeknownst to Bob the friend rings head office asking about the pay and payslip, head office wages person has never heard of him.
    Turns out Bobs was paying his friend out of his own pocket, just couldn't tell his friend that there was no job.

We don't see much of Bob any more.

Yeah I know 1 or 2 people like that. One is more of a "I scored 10 birds while you were in the jacks there" type of liar and the other is more of a "coming out tonight man?".."nah...I...um...have to go out with my parents" when he actually just wants to go to his girlfriends house and hang there. It's not like we'd give a shít if he'd just say that to us in the first place.

Originally posted by lafortezza
    1) This guy (lets call him Bob) was on a sun holiday with some mates.
    His friend got his drink spiked in a bar and was taken out of the bar and down to the dark beach where he got the shit kicked out of him and his wallet and clothes stolen. When Bob was asked why didn't he help his friend, Bob said that he too had had his drink spiked and had been anally raped by whomever did the spiking.
    This overshadowed the robbery of wallet and clothes of his mate obviously and Bob was taken to the hospital to be checked out.
    The doctor said to Bob after examination "There is no physical evidence at all that you have been anally raped".
    To this day we suspect that Bob lied to protect himself after his mate got robbed and beaten and he did nothing.

2) Bob again: we had another holiday booked and we needed to pay the balance of the cost of the holiday at the travel agents.
    3 guys didn't show up. 1 had failed his exams and his repeats were on the same time as the holiday. Another had no money to pay.
    And Bob's excuse was that he had cancer. Maybe he did and I'd wish it on nobody. But Bob made a remarkable recovery after a month and hasn't looked back. It was mentioned to his sister on a night out and she said Bob never had cancer.

3) Bob III: Bobs friend wanted a job in the video shop that Bob worked in. Bob said no problem, come in on saturday and I'll show you the ropes. Friend goes in and works 2 weeks in the video store, coincidentally on exactly the same shifts as Bob.
    The friend after 2 weeks looks for his pay and payslip. Bob produces an envelope of cash (5's and 10's) but no payslip.
    Unbeknownst to Bob the friend rings head office asking about the pay and payslip, head office wages person has never heard of him.
    Turns out Bobs was paying his friend out of his own pocket, just couldn't tell his friend that there was no job.

We don't see much of Bob any more.

Sound enough to pay his mate to work with him though.

that's what I was thinking..

F*ckin Hell Bob!! I though I heard some lies in my life but Bob takes the biscuit!..

"Sound enough to pay his mate to work with him though"
    Me thinks you and Bob are of the same Ilk.
    leonotron = Bob??

F*ckin Hell Bob!! I though I heard some lies in my life but Bob takes the biscuit! I wish I was him, just for the anal rape like..

leonotron = Bob??

No, I wouldn't pay a mate so I could hang out with them while I was working.
    And I've had pretend cancer twice.
    Never been on a sun holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

I agree, to some extent.
    How would such a game work?

This isn't coming out quite the way I expected - it was kind of like a simplistic game of poker. The objective of the game was to convince the other people in the house that you knew some "fact" or something, while really you were just bull****ting.

You might have to know a bit of background to our house - we regularly have heated debates on the latest technologies, and many other random topics. In our experience, some people (you know who you are!) used to "make up" some facts to support their particular argument. However, this was usually picked up on by the other parties.

So, one week we decided to have a kind of background competition to see who could slip the biggest fabrication into an argument / conversation, and still convince the other people you knew what you were talking about. It was fun!

F*ckin Hell Bob!! I though I heard some lies in my life but Bob takes the biscuit!..

leonotron = Bob??

OMG that was the most blatent attempt at starting a flame war that I've seen in a while. By 'a while' I mean wince the lsd thread got locked...

anyways someone ban superstudent quick before he ruins yet another thread.

Originally posted by utility_
    OMG that was the most blatent attempt at starting a flame war that I've seen in a while. By 'a while' I mean wince the lsd thread got locked...

anyways someone ban superstudent quick before he ruins yet another thread.

What are you talking about? I haven't 'ruined' any threads. And I started this one. I was mearly making a point and a 'flame war' didn't commence.
    Without intending to start a 'flame war' - your a different species to the average Liar. You claim others did things they didn't. Stop making things up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Interesting topic - just happened upon it !

In a thread in net/comms a guy made out that his dad had died 3 years ago when he came under some slagging.

In his first post in that thread he referred to fis father in the present tense, which was pointed out to him by a mod.

Subsequent searches revealed that he refferred to his father in the present tense quite a lot. He since removed the post claiming the death of his father . . . sad really !

Tinky

The two worst things I can think of regarding telling a bold face serious lie are
    A: "I screwed such&such"
    or
    B: "My Da/Ma/sister/brother died.

Bit sad really.
    That's only if the liar is saying it to really make the listener believe it.
    I remember when I was a young lad I said I had a brother who
    was mad and in St. Brendans, but that was for a bit of a laugh, because the person I said it too kept asking me did I have a brother everytime I saw them.
    Also when you hear lads say they used to go out with someone's new girlfriend to them to wind them up. They are joke lies, told with a grin.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i invented the question mark

Really ? ©

Tinky

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

You do relise that you now owe me 0.00.03€?(C)

Opps sorry Can I pay you when it reaches the even 1c ?©

Tinky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Tiesto

i hate liars so much.
    One person in particular, consistently lieing and to be honest i think sometimes they actually believed the stuff they were saying. It just flows out of them.

And yeah speaking of english people. i was actually saying to somebody last week. wha is it with english people and them always talking bull****,all the time.
    Out of all the english people i have met in my life, not loads actually but of them all. So many of them were bull****ters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

you never know where you stand with a liar.. thats why people hate them so much...
    they probably think they are doing good by lying ... but they are doing themself no good by doing so.

does that make sense?

LIAR !!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

LIAR !!!!!!

I hope that wasn't in reference to my post?!?!

I am not a liar... I get myself into alot of trouble for not lying... but I can take responsibility for my actions/words ... most of the time :dunno: