Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should smoking be banned in public?

• 29-12-2003 7:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭

Should Smoking be banned in Public Places?

I think it should. This idea is being discussed in Scotland at the moment.

Our streets are being littered with fag butts.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Without a doubt YES
    The benefits far outway the down sides, and in the end the world would be a better place.

If you wana smoke, smoke in your own house and stop littering our streets.
    I think what needs to be done now is a bigger clamp down on litter in general.

Fri, Sat and Sunday mornings are a disgrace to our country and if litter in general was clamped down then those stinking disguisting fag butts would be really showen up.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Not until the politicians have shown they can implement the smoking in pubs ban. The cost of which could be adequately covered by the money wasted on Govt' Jet etc. Also should politicans be banned from smoking in public in the meantime ?

There is no point in banning something in law when you can't or won't ban it by enforcement - just makes people respect the law less. eg: Due to the complete mess made of driver testing most drivers on the road are or have at one time driven without the correct driving license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Originally posted by Cork

Our streets are being littered with fag butts.

No. IF (capitals, cos its a big if...) the ban on smoking in the workplace is implemented correctly that will be enough. If the intention is to ban it because of litter, then why stop at smoking? How about no chewing gum? Soft drinks? Sweets and crisps?

It would be a better idea to enforce the existing litter laws, and give smokers a little peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭sanvean

and if it's not just due to the litter problem (which, as therecklessone pointed out is a fairly puzzling emphasis) then it would be presumably due to the pollution caused?

in which case, we'd have to ban cars and public transport. I was at a party the other night with a girl from new york city (over for christmas) who had phoned ahead to see whether anyone was going to be smoking at the party. apart from the rudeness of the gesture (as it was to make a point rather than actually not coming when informed that, yes, people would be smoking) the mind boggles at the hypocrisy of a girl who lives in new york, drives a car complaining about pollution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭krattapopov

like outside? no it shouldnt be banned outside, litter laws should be enforced, and offenders should be punished

im all for the smoking ban in the workplace but i think outside is pushing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

smoking isnt the same as litter because smoking can damage other peoples health.
    like me, who is a chronic asthmatic. being around someone who smokes screws up my breathing for the whole day. Its a nightmare and i dont think many people realise what a pain in the ass it is!
    i cant wait for smoking bans.

dont get me wrong i know litter is bad, but it wont actually damage my health as soon as i see it/etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I think we should concentrate on stopping the use of hard drugs Crack Cocain and Herion before we start trying to ban smoking. Get real here people smoking outdoors means the banning of smoking completely except in your own home or car, that wouldn't work and as I say we have a lot more to worry about in the way of class A drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

Originally posted by snickerpuss
    smoking isnt the same as litter because smoking can damage other peoples health.
    like me, who is a chronic asthmatic. being around someone who smokes screws up my breathing for the whole day. Its a nightmare and i dont think many people realise what a pain in the ass it is!
    i cant wait for smoking bans.

dont get me wrong i know litter is bad, but it wont actually damage my health as soon as i see it/etc..

I too am in favour of the ban. Passive Smoking is an intrusion in to the fresh air of others.

The smoking ban is on the way. Pity, its not beginning on New Years Day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

Just ban living, we are all dying anyway, and that effects everyones health?..

P.:ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Firstly, I'm not a smoker. But I can't see how banning smoking in public could be beneficial really. As people have mentioned already, there's already a hell of a lot of air pollution anyway. Plus, it could never be enforced, just like the littering laws unfortunately.

Personally, I think it's a stupid idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭usualsuspect

trying to personalise a debate is usually a sign that you've lost the plot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

There seems to be two seperate issues - the litter smoking causes, and the effect on air quality.

The litter aspect is more a problem with the enforcement of litter laws than anything else.

The effect on air quality - well lets imagine the air in the world divided into individual portions, each of us owning our own. Mine is mine to do with what I want. It mingles with yours, but that is the nature of air. Your air mingles with mine and brings odours and germs and everything else into my air (and worse if you drive a car).

So really, the point is if you are in an open space and you don't like someone smoking - tough. Move along. They probably feel the same way about you.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I too am in favour of the ban. Passive Smoking is an intrusion in to the fresh air of others.

The smoking ban is on the way. Pity, its not beginning on New Years Day.
    Just how would the ban be enforced given the lack of Garda resources (& Gardai) to cover existing legislation (and I'm thinking of crimes against the person - you know the pre 1169 stuff - not recent stuff like penalty points etc. ) ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Yes - it's so sickening being exposed to it in places like bus queues. Some smokers seem to have no idea how disgusting it is to non-smokers or maybe they just don't care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭flyz

Yes it should, I am sick and tired of going to the Cresent Shopping Centre in Limerick and coming home smelling like an ashtray! .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

yes, ban smoking in public, disgusting habit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

completely agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭Adrian

Cigarettes companies should be closed down !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Smoking should be banned FULL STOP. Not just in the pubs and public buildings, but on the street, in peoples houses, everywhere. People who do not smoke have the right to be healthy. Nicotine should be made illegal. This will stop smoking addicts from having an excuse. I hate cigarettes and the amount of young people spending their money on the **** is ridiculous. **** the governments income from the tax on cigarettes. I know that if this was to happen the price of everything else would rise, but its stupid. Any smokers reading this please give a reason of to why you smoke. I don't care if your excuse is to be cool, or to be social. Whatever it is. Just give me a reason to why you smoke. Thats my 2 cents!

I don't think anyone needs to give a reason. It's called freedom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Beëlzebooze

when I moved to Ireland just over 5 years ago, I was astonished to see people smoking in shops. I was even more astonished to see that it was accepted. (even as a then smoker!)

But banning smoking outside is just plain silly, it serves no end but persecuting smokers, if that is what you want ban smoking all together....

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by BuffyBot
    I don't think anyone needs to give a reason. It's called freedom
    That's a daft response. Answer the man's question people - WHY do you smoke. If it's "because I can, because it's my choice" that is - again - evading the question. Maybe the "I've no will power and have to do daft things to impress on other people my worthiness" - that I'd accept...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Originally posted by ixoy
    That's a daft response. Answer the man's question people - WHY do you smoke. If it's "because I can, because it's my choice" that is - again - evading the question.
    Probably because of the affects of nicotine on the body. It's called addiction, in case you haven't heard. Now the question could have been better structured by asking "How or Why did you start smoking? the answers are various. Me? It was part peer pressure/ part didn'tgiveafnukidness.
    Maybe the "I've no will power and have to do daft things to impress on other people my worthiness" - that I'd accept...
    What about the answer "I have no idea what I am talking about and am seeking to flame and get attention for myself"? :rolleyes:

That's a daft response. Answer the man's question people - WHY do you smoke. If it's "because I can, because it's my choice" that is - again - evading the question. Maybe the "I've no will power and have to do daft things to impress on other people my worthiness" - that I'd accept...

It's not daft, it's quite true. I'm free to smoke if I feel like it, I'm free not to. It's not evading the question at all, it's a definitive answer, just not one you like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

i think when the new ban comes in for no smoking in pubs, restaurants and stuff that will be enough. I don't mind as much people smoking outside, cuz i can get away from it or it will just be blown away by the wind and not just stay there in a big cloud like in pubs etc. The litter issue is a problem, but its a problem with all stuff. Theres as much chewing stuck to the ground as there is fag butts.

Originally posted by BuffyBot
    It's not daft, it's quite true. I'm free to smoke if I feel like it, I'm free not to. It's not evading the question at all, it's a definitive answer, just not one you like.
    So what made you think one day - Ohh I'll try inhaling this vile addictive, expensive, smelly, hamerfucl nicotine substance into my lungs? Was there something that made you start in the first place rather than pure apathy or trying-to-fit-in? There's an underlying reason for most actions that have some consequence.

Originally posted by suppafly
    The litter issue is a problem, but its a problem with all stuff. Theres as much chewing stuck to the ground as there is fag butts.
    Whatever happened to the proposed tax on chewing gum? And when they point out how filthy our streets are, they often forgot to point out how people can't use the litter bins [least in Dublin city centre] because they're already over-flowing with rubbish waiting to be emptied by the paltry amount of littermen the city employs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

bugger off......!

no smoking outside because butts go on the ground?! as some one else said what about all the other crap, maybe if in town had more of those cigarette dispensers in town (the things at the top of the bin *WHICH ARE ALWAYS FULL AND OVERFLOWING MAY I ADD*) then maybe that would be less of a problem. I would and always try to use one of these but there isnt enough of them around town, so i usually have to stub it in a corner somewhere. Wouldn't throw a lit cigy in a bin now would i... sometimes i take the head off it then bin it though if its at shorthand

fed up with all this anti smoking preeching crap, give us a rest

Well that's what I said Big Chief. They tell us to place stuff in the bins - but then the bills are overflowing, making it impossible. And they wonder how litter gets on the streets? :rolleyes:

Smoking outside I can live with. There IS fresh air to dissipate it and people can generally move about more. Indoors though ... just give me that hotline number :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Well that's what I said Big Chief. They tell us to place stuff in the bins - but then the bills are overflowing, making it impossible. And they wonder how litter gets on the streets? :rolleyes:
    If your that concerened. Take it home with you and dispose of it yourself. It is your litter after all.

Originally posted by Hobart
    If your that concerened. Take it home with you and dispose of it yourself. It is your litter after all.
    I do that actually or carry the rubbish for ages until I find an empty bin. I don't think I've ever thrown it on the streets. A lot of people aren't so patient though and - if three or four bins on Grafton Street (one of the worst offenders) are all over flowing - they're likely to throw it away (particularly late at nite after a few pints).

So what made you think one day - Ohh I'll try inhaling this vile addictive, expensive, smelly, hamerfucl nicotine substance into my lungs?

Perhaps I'm just odd ;)

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

I do that actually or carry the rubbish for ages until I find an empty bin.
    Me too. I have such a built-in aversion to littering, I think I'm physically incapable of it. It's quite literally incomprehensible to me that people can discard litter on the streets.

I include cigarette butts in that. I've had people ask me "what am I supposed to do with it?" - to which the answer is, that's your problem - nobody asked you to smoke it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

No smoking outdoors?

Going a bit far isnt it, some people really need to lighten up a bit on this issue, people smoking outside must rank as one of the lowest possible threats to public health.

As for the why did you start smoking question asked earlier, grow up and look around, people have been using/abusing plants and chemicals for millenia to enhance their day to day pleasure, what possible fucking difference does how they started any particular one make?

"but what about the smell and the nasty smoke" I hear you whinge, well in an outdoor environment i have more often gagged on perfume/deoderant or in some cases the smell off someones makeup, than i have from people smoking. you dont hear me screaming for a cosmetics ban. and dont come back with the tired old "perfume doent cause cancer blah blah blah" line.

I defy any of you to produce unbiased comprehensive proof that it doesnt, and wjile you're at it, find me the same evidence re: exposure to SHS(its got its own acronym now, isnt that cute) in an outdoors environment does cause cancer

This recent upsurge of psuedo-science backed self righteous "won't somebody please think of the children" bullshit attitudes has me really worried about the direction we as a society are going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Beer Baron

How's this sound?

Six counties for smokers.
    And 26 counties for non-smokers.

...for my next trick I'm going to solve world hunger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

I dont smoke by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Originally posted by echomadman

This recent upsurge of psuedo-science backed self righteous "won't somebody please think of the children" bullshit attitudes has me really worried about the direction we as a society are going.

well said.

i dont throw litter on the streets, cigarette butts are different though, i was merely talking about having more of those cigarette dispensers in town, there isnt enough of them and even when they are there they are overflowing..

I however wouldnt carry cigarette butts in my pocket all the way home, as they smell hundred times worse when its like that.. (no they dont smell any where near half as bad normally...) for any smoker will tell you that if you ever stub a half way cigy then goto smoke it later you can almost taste it.
    well in an outdoor environment i have more often gagged on perfume/deoderant or in some cases the smell off someones makeup, than i have from people smoking. you dont hear me screaming for a cosmetics ban.

fully agreed on, maybe we should start our own anti "too much fùckin perfume on" campaign.. :p i think anyone would agree that if you walk in with a hangover and smell that MASSIVE wiff of perfume its enough to make you start croaking.

Originally posted by Big Chief
    i dont throw litter on the streets, cigarette butts are different though
    Cigarette butts aren't litter? I'm really looking forward to seeing you back that one up.
    I however wouldnt carry cigarette butts in my pocket all the way home, as they smell hundred times worse when its like that..
    Can we use that as a general rule? If something smells bad, it's OK to drop it on the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by oscarBravo
    Cigarette butts aren't litter? I'm really looking forward to seeing you back that one up. Can we use that as a general rule? If something smells bad, it's OK to drop it on the street?

They are litter you eejit. Don't be so patronising.
    If you were eating a burger walking down the street and halfway through you decided you couldn't stomach it, so there want to throw it away.... but whoah there, the bin is overflowing onto the street...

Would you put a half eaten burger in your pocket to bring home? Same goes for a half a can of coke? A half a mars bar?

Have a bit of cop on and at least provide a reasonable argument.

We should ban - cars, motorbikes, people with BO, cheap deodorant, long smelly hair that brushes off you in crowds, bad breath.

Now I know they're difficult to police but fúck it, I'm a whining maggott, who can't give up on issues unless they're completely and entirely to my satisfaction.

As someone else has mentioned, I'm scared of the direction our society is heading. Very scared.

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    They are litter you eejit. Don't be so patronising.
    Attack the post, not the poster.
    If you were eating a burger walking down the street and halfway through you decided you couldn't stomach it, so there want to throw it away.... but whoah there, the bin is overflowing onto the street...

Would you put a half eaten burger in your pocket to bring home?
    If necessary - I'd certainly carry it until I could dispose of it properly. What's the alternative? Would you seriously drop half a burger, including packaging, on the street rather than carry it with you?
    Same goes for a half a can of coke?
    Absolutely.
    A half a mars bar?
    Definitely. Am I to infer from your questions that you would dump them on the street rather than bring them with you?
    Here's my reasonable argument: littering is inexcusable, whether it's burgers, cigarette butts or anything else. I don't care what your justification is; it's just plain wrong.
    We should ban - cars, motorbikes, people with BO, cheap deodorant, long smelly hair that brushes off you in crowds, bad breath.

Now I know they're difficult to police but fúck it, I'm a whining maggott, who can't give up on issues unless they're completely and entirely to my satisfaction.
    And you ask me to have a bit of cop on?
    As someone else has mentioned, I'm scared of the direction our society is heading. Very scared.
    I'm getting worried about it myself.

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    Would you put a half eaten burger in your pocket to bring home? Same goes for a half a can of coke? A half a mars bar?

Yes I would carry them. Stop making excuses. The only reason you would refuse to carry them for a short bit is because you're damned lazy. Is it inconvient for poor little you to find a bin? Awww - is the burger heavy? Awww poor snookums.

It's this crappy let-me-do-what-I-want-and-not-give-a-sh1t-about-others policy that people adopt that's driving a lot of society into the ground. Society works as it is because it's built around respect for OTHERS as well as your own right to get along. The free-for-all notion is why scumbags saunter out of court after stabbing old grannies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,797 ✭✭✭Paddy20

:rolleyes: Heres me thinking this thread was about whether or not:Smoking should be banned in public ?, Silly me.

P.:ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Ok kids, simmer down. Lets keep this civil or I'm gonna have ta git ma gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

The free-for-all notion is why scumbags saunter out of court after stabbing old grannies.

So are you accepting that the route to the solution of all of societies problems lies in the majority persecuting the minorty with draconian laws to benifit themselves? Kill all the scumbags, ban all the smokers? We dont like it, therfore they must stop.

Whatever happened to the proposed tax on chewing gum? And when they point out how filthy our streets are, they often forgot to point out how people can't use the litter bins [least in Dublin city centre] because they're already over-flowing with rubbish waiting to be emptied by the paltry amount of littermen the city employs.[/QUOTE]

It sounds to me my friend that like Mr Martin, you seem to have embarked on a killjoy frenzy too rid the world of anything impure and against your personal approval. (cough) hitler, stalin (cough cough)

Hitler hated smokers.

Originally posted by Grimes
    Hitler hated smokers.
    GODWIN!!

smack! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭halkar

oh yeah, why we are at it, why not ban the drink as well? People pukes around, causes disorder, damages things and bla bla bla so drink at home, puke to your own room and break your own furniture, write your own walls.
    I am happy enough with smoking ban in public places but ban outside too? :rolleyes:

Asking for why smoking is a bit (little bit, ok ok maybe a little bit :D ) like asking why do you drink? is it because it makes you cool? :p

Originally posted by halkar
    oh yeah, why we are at it, why not ban the drink as well? People pukes around, causes disorder, damages things and bla bla bla so drink at home, puke to your own room and break your own furniture, write your own walls.
    I am happy enough with smoking ban in public places but ban outside too? :rolleyes:

Asking for why smoking is a bit (little bit, ok ok maybe a little bit :D ) like asking why do you drink? is it because it makes you cool? :p
    As a social experiment, I'd love to see drink banned. It's quite often a social crutch, to help lubricate awkwardness. Be interesting to see how we all function without it and can we have fun, enjoy ourselves without it, or is our only joy to be found in vices? It'll never ever happen, but could be an eye-opener on society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,083 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Well prohibition certainly didn't work.

Went sober when I was out last night. Was thinking at the start - "oh **** this is a bad night to be sober". (I find being sober no trouble when it's a conversation night in a quiet pub, but I usually need something to numb the experience of a cattle-market). Was actually grand, all tense at the start, but then I loosened out on my own, no slower I believe than I would have if I was drinking. And I didn't have to worry about looking like **** with a stink of drink off me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

I do hope that all the anti smoking folks who are so upset about the evil smokers destroying the air they breath, are all non drivers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

oh, get bent, you health freaks wont be happy until we're all living in a plastic sterile box being fed pure oxygen totally protected from the dangers of the outside world, ffs us smokers suffer enough from this sh*t, outrageous prices, not being able to smoke in pubs anymore (soon, whenever thats happening), having to listen to ye going on at us all the time, fs anti-smoking lobbyists, give em an inch and they take a f*cking mile:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Sorry angelofdeath, was my warning to keep it civil hard to read? Was it it somehow illegable? Did I not make myself clear? Have you got me on ignore? Should I have written it like this:

KEEP IT CIVIL OR GET BANNED!