Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Campaign for admittance to nightclubs....

• 26-12-2003 6:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭

You can either join me of fu*k off if you dont like my idea , either way I think this is a good option. If an elderley person etc. got refused from a nightclub they could sue the boll*cks off the nightclub in question. So my point is if people sent an e mail to the minister of justice and just explained that we as people belive we should have the right to enter a pub and not be refused on the basis we are under 21/23 etc. as this is ageisim, then if enough people surley got e mailing then we could be assured with a response and reasons??

I wrote an e mail to the department of justice, maybe people will follow my example ??

"To: minister@justice.ie

I am currently 21 and happen to frequent Dublin City Centre on a basis. However latley I have found that I am refused as some nightclubs/pubs have a policy on over 21/23's only. This in my opinion amounts to ageisim. If an individual of age 40+ etc was refused from a premises this would be viewed as discriminatory on basis of ae, however when it comes to those in the 18-23 age bracket we seem to be exempt from this law. I believe this is a form of discrimination itself and that people over 18 should be allowed in to a premises once they are over the legal age to consume alcahol.

I await your reply,

Dennis O Rourke"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

I'm 23 and I much prefer going to over 21's, over 23's clubs, there seems to be far less trouble and the chance of there being annoying underage kids there is much slimmer.
    If a club wants to attact an older clientele, who can blame them? 18 year olds always seem to be the one's who start fights in clubs!
    I'd say most clubs ARE 18's plus, btw. In Dublin, anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Of course they're over 18.

Pfft, this has never happened to me so I dont really care but I probably will if it does. Although all the places I go know their clientel is 18-21.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

18 year olds always seem to be the one's who start fights in clubs!

*cough* ohmygodwhatacompleteanduttersteamingpileofbull****e*cough*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

www.equality.ie are the people to talk to for advice on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Not that I dislike the idea...

But...

Pubs shouldn't be allowed to dissallow a person who is of legal age to drink, using their age as a reason. That was in law, briefly, and was only recently removed. I think you'd have massive support for that particular legislation to be reinstated.

Nightclubs, however, are private. They can, therefore, decide anything they want in regards who they admit. I consider that fair enough. I don't think age can be used in the same way as race when it comes to equality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Kappar

I disagree, There is no doubt that 18/19/20 year olds do start fights, I don't think it's more, maybe equal. Also I think that it is easier to marginalise younger people because they don't vote as much or don;t seem to bother with letters to TDs and stuff. So, when they are excluded the fight rate goes down so it looks good. if they exuded people under 40 maybe the fight rate rate would be tiny but trough their own fault younger people are easier to marginalise but that is no excuse.

What if black people were excluded the fight rate would go down because some black people fight in clubs but that does not mean all black people do but by saying "Since we excluded black people fights have droped " kinda sounds like all black people fight thus is legitimatises it some what.

I don't think age can be used in the same way as race when it comes to equality.

I disagree, if we make exceptions in what equality means and we see effects for they better (even though it is only because of what has been explained above) then we will start making exceptions in other areas. This would be deleterious to our whole society.

Why is it fair to exclude someone based of things they can't change fair? One can't change one's age just like one can't change one's race. Being young does not make you a scumbag the same of being Muslim does not make you a terrorist.

dendenz I like your idea and will send a letter myself and will help however else i can. However even if we got the tds to accept our point it would require legislation to amend back the recently amended Equality act as amended by the intoxicating liqur act 2003 which would take ages. Maybe we could lobby for someone/somebody to make a legal challange.

thanks , an e mail to the minsiter of justice would suffice and post the reply you get .

The act says that clubs can cater for certain groups (ie over whatever age) but must provide alternatives .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Why so many recent threads about nightclubs? Who in their right mind would even want to set foot inside a nightclub? Just think about it:

1) you spend 10 minutes queuing outside in the cold
    2) you pay 10+ quid to get in, that's if some w*nker of a bouncer on a power trip decides you're suitable clientele
    3) you pay a couple of quid to hang your coat in the cloakroom
    4) you pay 5 quid for a watered down pint, you don't notice though cause you're already pissed
    5) if you're lucky you go home with some slapper for the night
    6) otherwise you end the night puking your ring/passing out/getting into a scrap/all of the above

And who gets to benefit from this? Some fat bastard nightclub owner who makes more money in a night than you make in a year, doesn't declare most of his income to the Revenue (i.e. steals from the state) and has a big house and a Merc S-Class bought with YOUR hard earned cash. These c*nts are laughin their asses off at the people funding their extravagent lifestyles. Yet these same people are writing to the Dept. Of Justice because they feel that they're suffering age discrimination when trying to get into nightclubs! You shouldn't be trying to get into nightclubs at all, you should be boycotting the places. **** nightclubs, that's what I say.

BrianD3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

18-21 yr olds are far too immature especially in groups to behave themselves in a nightclub.
    They cant hold their drink and end up taking it out on their fellow age group or older patrons, they just cant handle enjoying themselves imho.
    Plus the chances of weslife playing on the dancefloor is extremely slim without those immature kids around :D
    Fair play to nightclubs operating a policy of barring this age group, the chances of getting a night out ruined is alot slimmer. :)

18-21 yr olds are far too immature especially in groups to behave themselves in a nightclub.

I am 18 and have never been in a fight in a night club so I am sorry but you are wrong.

In anticipation to your response to that I imagine you were talking in general terms even so I would disagree However, even if it is true I am auguring against excluding people based on the actions of others especially something so fundamental and unchangeable like age.
    Fair play to nightclubs operating a policy of barring this age group, the chances of getting a night out ruined is alot slimmer.

If you want a tip on how not to have your night ruined by people fighting it is to go to a club with only you there. That is not me being flippant thats reality of living in Ireland these days, I agree it is a sad situation but Ce la vie. It is not only 18-21 who fight but every age and as i said in the last post when you remove them of course the fight rate will go down and to get it to go down further remove 21-40 and drunk people then women, everyone but catholics.

Can I pose a question to you? What would opionion be if you wanted to get into a club a there was an over 40s only policy because a granny was there and someone 25 years old was fighting and she thought they were "far too immature especially in groups to behave themselves in a nightclub."Please don't say you would go somewere else because that is an option but say alot of clubs were implenting this policy and one of them had a good act on or you enjoy yourself in there or something and you realy wated to get in but these power high grannies thought you fought too much. What would you feel about that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

Originally posted by eth0_

what a load of crap...

Originally posted by gurramok
    Fair play to nightclubs operating a policy of barring this age group, the chances of getting a night out ruined is alot slimmer. :)

I totally hear you there, if nightclubs implemented certain door policies it would make the night safer, more enjoyable and more pleasent for all the Irish. For example no ayslum seekers, they simply leech off the system and don't understand our culture so they get into fights and they cant even socialise ffs!
    Or keep the clubs limited to certain areas of Dublin, for example a South Side only club. It would limit the fights between rivals and everyone could get to know eachother better, not to mention a better all round atmosphere as it is well know people from the Northside start more fights and drink too much.
    There should also be a policy for your job, for example only those in higher professions could get in e.g doctor, lawyer, manager etc. while those in construction or menial jobs could stick to the pub where they are more suited to heavy drinking and shouting.

This equality is PC gone too far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

nightclubs are for scum... scum i tells ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Originally posted by Kappar
    I disagree, if we make exceptions in what equality means and we see effects for they better (even though it is only because of what has been explained above) then we will start making exceptions in other areas. This would be deleterious to our whole society.

Why is it fair to exclude someone based of things they can't change fair? One can't change one's age just like one can't change one's race. Being young does not make you a scumbag the same of being Muslim does not make you a terrorist.

Like I said already, a club is a private venture. In that respect, it can make it's own rules. I don't think it unreasonable for a club owner to be able to dictate the age group that they want inside their club. I consider that quite different to a club that doesn't allow blacks, or asians...

You're eighteen, i'm not that much older than you, only twenty two. When I was eighteen, I wouldn't have wanted to be in a night club full of twenty two year olds. And now that i'm twenty two, I don't particularly want to be in a night club full of eighteen year olds. It's nothing to do with thinking that 18 year olds are scumbags.

Clubs do student nights that require you to hold a student card. Is that descriminating against non-students?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

what a load of codswollop.....

g'wan, knock yourself out though.... :rolleyes:

i agree with eth0 btw... it may sound stereotypical, and not all ppl in that age group do cause trouble (im 21 and have never been in a fight since i was 13/14..) but i must admit ive seen more trouble in that age group barrier than 21/25++

Originally posted by Lodgepole

Clubs do student nights that require you to hold a student card. Is that descriminating against non-students?

Yes you moron.

you realy wated to get in but these power high grannies thought you fought too much. What would you feel about that?

As you said, they have the right to bar you if you are under 40. Anyway, the choice of music could be better or worse, too many grey haired people on the dancefloor, someone of my or your age would stick out a mile. :D
    I am 18 and have never been in a fight in a night club so I am sorry but you are wrong.

But you have not reached 21 yet, there is plenty of opportunity for you to act like a yobbo along with any fellow immature 18-21yr olds.

The risk of 18-21yrd olds ending up fighting and causing general mayhem is huge in contrast to other age groups. This group is very hyper, they are just out of school with zits all over them and find the social scene very exciting. There is peer pressure on them to act like adults. They cant hold their drink when listening to westlife, they think a dancefloor is just a boxing ring in another guise.

However, as you say you are not the rowdy type, if you were accompanied by a mature over 21 adult and fed non-alcoholic drinks through your stay, i would have no objection to you having a good time in the night club :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭herbie747

This argument is so stupid.

I think that a club/pub should have the right to refuse ANYONE. That way, you know what type of people will be in there, and won't have to put up with a group of immature spa 18 year old's who overdo it.

If you get refused for wearing runners for example - then the people in the club obviously DON'T wear runners, and they (as well as the management) don't want you there.
    If you get refused for being too young, then tough sh*t - go somewhere where a younger crowd hangs out. It's obviously an older crowd who drink in that particular establishment.

It's really quite simple.....
    If you get refused for any reason - you're OBVIOUSLY not wanted in there, so go somewhere where you'll fit in. You're trying to hang with the wrong crowd - whether it be age, social status, appearance, dress code......
    Why would you want to get into somewhere where people will just sneer at you because you don't fit in?

Everyone should have the right not to have to put up with certain people too.
    If I want to drink somewhere with a more mature crowd (i.e. not a bunch of 18 or 19 yeat olds who spill drinks and dance like goofballs, throw shapes, and act like knobs), I am happy in the knowledge that there are places like that.
    If I want to drink somewhere without knackers or scumbags, I take comfort in the knowledge that certain places don't let them in, etc....

So stop moaning because you can't get in somewhere - YOU'RE NOT WANTED IN THERE ANYWAY!! Try "Copper Face Jack's" or "The Vatican" or some other sh*thole where you'll fit in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by BrianD3
    Who in their right mind would even want to set foot inside a nightclub?

a question i ask myself at times. they are **** holes full of idiots spilling pints on you, burning fag holes in your clothes etc. etc.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by Mossy Monk
    a question i ask myself at times. they are **** holes full of idiots spilling pints on you, burning fag holes in your clothes etc. etc.

You must be going to the one in the bad part of town?

Hold on one moment, I am 21 and a lot of my friends happen to fall into the 19- 30 (odd) age bracket. Whne we go out we have a good time, in fact if someone started a fight we would more than likely leave and just make our excuses and go. I am not bitter about it as I dont get refused a lot myself ut a lot of friends happen to get refused.

Some of you have raised the point of seperate clubs for older people etc. etc. Everyone should learn to tolerate one and other. I happen to have a friend who is 36 and we go out occasionaly to Barry's Hotel etc., there have been fights which I have seen so it is not just confined to 18 - 21 yo adolecent males .

I think that a club/pub should have the right to refuse ANYONE. That way, you know what type of people will be in there, and won't have to put up with a group of immature spa 18 year old's who overdo it.

You may know what age/race/gender on people are in there but, you do not know what "type". Being in a club full of 21+ year olds does not equal no fights.
    Why would you want to get into somewhere where people will just sneer at you because you don't fit in?

Do people sneer at others for being too young? TBH, I would have thought that they wouldn't have noticed or cared. Some ignorant people sneer at gay people in clubs maybe they should be barred to save them the embaressment.
    Everyone should have the right not to have to put up with certain people too.

You do have that right but the perogative is on you to avoid them not them to avoid you. And they olny way to do that in my opinion is to ignore them or stay at home.

or some other sh*thole where you'll fit in.

I was going to take offence to that but then I realised that you have no idea what you're talking about.
    As you said, they have the right to bar you if you are under 40. Anyway, the choice of music could be better or worse, too many grey haired people on the dancefloor, someone of my or your age would stick out a mile.

I don;t think they have the right to but the do have the power to under the new legislation. I accept that maybe the music would be bad in there but i was inviting you into a thought experiment to imagine if you wanted to go in with a friend maybe or parent what would your opnion be?
    But you have not reached 21 yet, there is plenty of opportunity for you to act like a yobbo along with any fellow immature 18-21yr olds.

I plan on living longer than when i reach 21 so there is along timeleft for me to be a yobbo. Being 18 does not put me in a greater risk of being in a fight.
    The risk of 18-21yrd olds ending up fighting and causing general mayhem is huge in contrast to other age groups.

I'm not sure about that, but lets say i do accept that maybe if we treat them like adults they will act like them and those who don't a.k.a. scumbags are excluded.
    fed non-alcoholic drinks

Surly I can have a west coast cooler shandy instead :D:p
    I consider that quite different to a club that doesn't allow blacks, or asians...

Care to offer an insight into why if different?
    When I was eighteen, I wouldn't have wanted to be in a night club full of twenty two year olds

To be honest it doesn't bother me what age the patrons are in fact I like a good mix. The music tastes are the same because *shock and awe* I don't listen to westlife and most 18 year olds don't and tgose that do don;t expect to hear it in night clubs and if it is played that is the DJ fault.

Like I said already, a club is a private venture. In that respect, it can make it's own rules. I don't think it unreasonable for a club owner to be able to dictate the age group that they want inside their club.

Now I'm not a fancy up-town lawyer or anything so I misunderstand this but here goes:-

INTOXICATING LIQUOR ACT, 2000 SECTION 18 (c)(iv)

"the Court shall, notwithstanding anything contained in the Act of 1902, cause a certificate to be given to the applicant entitling him or her to receive a licence in respect of the new premises, unless the Court prohibits the issuing of the licence on the ground of—... (iv) the adequacy of the existing number of licensed premises of the same character in the neighbourhood."

As I understand it, I may be wrong, That this Private Venture may be talking up a licence that another private venture could use and operate fairly.

Kapper, just get over it and stop winging. There's a reason why you're not getting into specific places, so deal with it.
    Your username describes you perfectly.

Yes, wouldnt want the likes of Kappar ruining your buzz in those gay weightlifting gym themed nightclubs.

Have fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

nobody should be refused entrance if

1)they are 18 or over
    2)they are not pissed off their face
    3)they are dressed appropriately

im not buying these simple minded philosophies that late night club opening hours are adding to violence on our streets or the idea that 18-21 year olds cannot handle their drink.

Originally posted by Sangre
    Yes, wouldnt want the likes of Kappar ruining your buzz in those gay weightlifting gym themed nightclubs.

Have fun.

Obviously never seen the genius that is Family Guy.

Nonetheless, that is just a hilaaaaaarious comment. WOW, I mean....WOW! How clever. He saw a cartoon in my signature (that his "Will & Grace" sense of humour is just too sofisticated to recognise), and decided to use it against me as an incredibley witty retort. Legend! You must have a great laugh with all your mates - always cracking amaaaaazing jokes like that one. I'd say you're the funniest guy out of all your cool mates. I hope the let you into the next pub I go to, I'm sure you'd be the funniest guy in there. We could all sit around and listen to your funny anicdotes, and humerous outlook on life! Can't wait.... PM me next time your going out.

Geez, I feel so embarrassed now; my signature is just plain crap compared to his. I just wish I was slick enough to have thought of the "Children of the Corn" thing first. Ah well, he's really made me look stupid....I'll get my coat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Jesus you'd think that once you reach 21 you become super mature and say please and thank you, and sit in clubs in a corner discussing politics while sipping half a glass of shandy, with a copy of the times on the table.

Shut up you ignorant f*cks, jesus I wouldn't like to go to a pub with someone with an attitude like some of the people here, probably bore the sh*t out of everyone talking about how great you are, when in reality your a stuck up 22 yr old who lives with their parents and is pissed off with everyone not respecting you as an adult.

Jesus Herbie, sarcasm isn't helping you is it, as it just makes you look like an idiot.
    Funny when you talk about wit and retorts, and you reply with sarcasm.

Originally posted by herbie747
    Ah well, he's really made me look stupid....I'll get my coat.

Too state the painfully obvious, you're doing that fine all by yourself.

P.s. you actually described me perfectly, I am the funniest and coolest guy in a group of really funny and cool guys. Wanna hang some time?
    Call me
    :x

you actually described me perfectly, I am the funniest and coolest guy in a group of really funny and cool guys.

I know. I could tell straight away by your quick wit. Congratulations on your success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭AB03

AngelofFire:
    nobody should be refused entrance if

1)they are 18 or over
    2)they are not pissed off their face
    3)they are dressed appropriately

im not buying these simple minded philosophies that late night club opening hours are adding to violence on our streets or the idea that 18-21 year olds cannot handle their drink.

Spot on and well said.

Herbie - my god you are an awful muppet. Go back to the wicked wolf and get the dort home with all yer cool mates ye f*ckin idiot.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by Giblet
    Jesus you'd think that once you reach 21 you become super mature and say please and thank you, and sit in clubs in a corner discussing politics while sipping half a glass of shandy, with a copy of the times on the table.

Bwah! :D Once yer 21, you can probably afford more alcohol - that's the main difference.

Trouble in clubs are caused by trouble seekers. Little skanger sh1ts - or otherwise - spoiling for a fight. It just happens that yer more likely to boil over when young - however, older people have access to more drink so they're probably more likely to push themselves over the drunken edge. Possibly. What I do know is that when I was 18, I'd be well pi$$ed off if people took some of the atittudes here. I was pretty responsible, as were (and are) the majority of that age. Let 'em in, I say. It's Christmas after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Heh, I have way less money now than when I 18.
    Actually, after your twenties, life just gets harder and more annoying.
    No school to hide in, you actually have to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭billy the squid

If you have a problem gaining admittance to a certain night club for what you believe is because of your age then you are perfectly within your rights to place an objection with the district court to that establishments licence being renewed.

The establishment is obliged to advertise that their licence is up for renewal in the newspapers and I imagine that the courts would tell you when their licence was up for renewal if you were to ask them.

Informing the establishment that you would be in the courthouse on licence renewal day has worked for me

Originally posted by herbie747
    Your username describes you perfectly.

What is a sickening comment. It's a disgusting thing to say, It only manifests your bigitory. Dispite that even you spelt it wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Grom

For starters most places have the right to refuse entry ? so long as a valid reason is provided that wouldne border on slander ?

Ffs if you get refused live with it go back until you get in.

and thas bs about 18 year olds start fights

I don;t think they have the right to but the do have the power to under the new legislation. I accept that maybe the music would be bad in there but i was inviting you into a thought experiment to imagine if you wanted to go in with a friend maybe or parent what would your opnion be?

Why would anyone behave like a yob accompanied by a parent is beyond belief anyway. A responsible parent would drag you out by the ear !
    I plan on living longer than when i reach 21 so there is along timeleft for me to be a yobbo. Being 18 does not put me in a greater risk of being in a fight.

Its a fact of life, the younger you are the higher the risk of acting immature, especially with others of you age group.
    Just look at how car/bike insurance companies avoid your age group. As you get older, socety begins to trust you more as being responsible.

Originally posted by gurramok

Just look at how car/bike insurance companies avoid your age group.

I cannot believe you just used that as an example.

May God have mercy on your soul.

P.s Shut up Herbie you newbie newb newb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Just put it this way. If you get refused from a nightclub just go to another place and give them your custom.

However, if you desperately want to get into a place, you've just got to accept that you're owned by the bouncers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dangerman

You're all wrong.

Fights on the streets occur because we're all horrible and deserve to die.

All you 18 year olds so heartedly defending your honour, shut up and listen to older wiser people than you.

All you do is moan moan moan, and then go stare at the genitals that have just grown between your legs in the last few weeks.

Young people are refused for a reason, not because there's a vendetta against you smelly, loud, ugly bastards. Just because you don't start fights, doesn't mean there aren't people in your age group who do and give your age group a bad name. Just because you're an almighty super intelligent angel who never does anything wrong doesn't mean that you should get into a club.

The main thing that unites the allowed-to-drink-this-year group is their unbelievable stupidity.

Have a bit of respect. Think about the reasons for why things are instead of why they are so unfair. Only talk when spoken too. Unless you're a girl, then you can just look pretty. I don't mind you being in the club with me.

All you ****** with your turned up denim jacket collars, your long, greasy smelly hair, your baggy trousers, your tight trousers, whatever music you listen to just fuck off. I don't care what you are, who you are, you just annoy me. You're a disease.

Just be quiet until you at least get laid, or the world ends or something. Gain some perspective, always be nice to strangers. Treat others as you would want to be treated yourself. Etc. Etc. Etc.

In summary: If you want to get into a club, walk up to the club in very small groups, smile and nod, have your ID ready, don't act suprised when your asked for it, look the bouncer in the eye and speak in a quiet even tone regardless of how drunk you are. Instead of being upset when your provisional licence is refused, bring six different forms of id including your passport. If you can't do this, you shouldn't get into the club anyway.

Finally, disregard everything I've said. Make up your own minds. You're all individuals, that is, you like to think you are, when in fact you all do the same stupid things all fucking day and still find time to make each others lives miserable. Keep it up, tit heads.

What a brilliant post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭krattapopov

You're all wrong.

Fights on the streets occur because we're all horrible and deserve to die.

All you 18 year olds so heartedly defending your honour, shut up and listen to older wiser people than you.

All you do is moan moan moan, and then go stare at the genitals that have just grown between your legs in the last few weeks.

Young people are refused for a reason, not because there's a vendetta against you smelly, loud, ugly bastards. Just because you don't start fights, doesn't mean there aren't people in your age group who do and give your age group a bad name. Just because you're an almighty super intelligent angel who never does anything wrong doesn't mean that you should get into a club.

The main thing that unites the allowed-to-drink-this-year group is their unbelievable stupidity.

Have a bit of respect. Think about the reasons for why things are instead of why they are so unfair. Only talk when spoken too. Unless you're a girl, then you can just look pretty. I don't mind you being in the club with me.

All you ****** with your turned up denim jacket collars, your long, greasy smelly hair, your baggy trousers, your tight trousers, whatever music you listen to just **** off. I don't care what you are, who you are, you just annoy me. You're a disease.

Just be quiet until you at least get laid, or the world ends or something. Gain some perspective, always be nice to strangers. Treat others as you would want to be treated yourself. Etc. Etc. Etc.

In summary: If you want to get into a club, walk up to the club in very small groups, smile and nod, have your ID ready, don't act suprised when your asked for it, look the bouncer in the eye and speak in a quiet even tone regardless of how drunk you are. Instead of being upset when your provisional licence is refused, bring six different forms of id including your passport. If you can't do this, you shouldn't get into the club anyway.

Finally, disregard everything I've said. Make up your own minds. You're all individuals, that is, you like to think you are, when in fact you all do the same stupid things all ****ing day and still find time to make each others lives miserable. Keep it up, tit heads.

What a brilliant post.

thats bizarre i was thinking exactly the same thing

Originally posted by dangerman

What a brilliant post.

hahahahaa.

You're my fúcking hero.

I think people have lost trend of my original post, e mail the address that I have put up and make a stance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

In fairness dendenz, I think most people have made clear the best course of action - if clubs don't want your custom, don't give it to them.

If you get refused from a club for no good reason (and yes, 'you're drunk' or 'no runners' are good reasons) then don't go back there.

There are plenty of other places that will be happy to have your custom. If you got refused from a shop because of your age, the best thing you could do is not visit it anymore, and take all of your friends with you. Name and shame, etc.

Bring on deregulation. They should be fighting for us to spend our money in their pubs, we shouldn't be fighting to get in to their pubs spend it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Email sent, doubt a million of them will make a difference though...

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Tazzle

Stop getting your bloody knickers in a twist, go to where you know you'll get in and have some fun, stop complaining on every corner. Sigh. Who gives a shít!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

I dont particularily like night clubs but have worked in a few over the years,
    I agree witht he right to refuse admission on certain grounds age being one of them, over 21'2/23's clubs give people slightly older a break from teenagers who always seem to be in the majority in those sorts of places,and are normally a slightly different scene too,and as its Dublin there are many different places for them to go,
    I disagree with it for gigs though once ur 18 u should be able to go in and see the show/band/comedian that you want,
    and I also disagree with it if a nightclub that has a mixture of ages frequentiing it regularily that suddenly brings in this requirement,

hahahahaa.

You're my fúcking hero.

You can get your tongue out of his a*s whenever you're ready.

Moonbeam is right in a way, anywhere that has a mix of ages should not just say over 21/23's if there is already people there under those respective ages. I suppose I have to have a big pair of tits to get into a lot of places that hang outta of a low cut dress ! lol