Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nokia 6600 - Opinion Please!

• 09-12-2003 3:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭

I am upgrading from a nokia 7650 and think I'll go for the nokia 6600 for functionality, etc. I find that most of the other phones are not as good, software wise. I use 7650 for email, browsing, photos, video, etc. Anyone got any opinion on the 6600? Is it worth it? Paying EUR 450 all in, import from the UK!

http://www.nokia.com/nokia/0,,33210,00.html

Thanks,

Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭flywheel

a good upgrade from the 7650 - however i'd hang on and check out the upcoming Sendo X

BrianG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I would agree with Brian if I wasnt blind and stupid.

I am in love with the 6600 to be honest, blindly too cause I know it has its faults.. I have got to use it on 2 or 3 occassions so far and its a great littler phone, although the lack of a stereo MP3 player (or even a mono one from Nokia) and a radio is a bit dissappointment for me. I dont think I will be getting one unless I can get a good deal on it.

The Sendo X looks like a little beaut, www.mobileburn.com , had a pretty good preview on it recently. Some really good features and I would be pretty certain that it will be cheaper than the Nokia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

The 6600 looks class. It might not have great audio support, but if you want a great all-round communications device, I think the 6600 has more features than anything else on the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Can the 6600 use predictive text for email/notes and web forms etc?

I've only ever used a communicator and ancient/low end Nokias. Trying to enter text on wap pages with a 3410/6210 drives me mad....

The P900 seems to be the dogettes fanjita though... Hopefully it will be about the same time as the Nokia so we can get a fair comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭manchine

Have been playing with a 6600 for the last few hours and it's class :)
    As JTG mentioned it's missing a load of nice do-hickeys like radios, MP3 etc... but I just think it looks great. Everyone who saw it went "Ohhh, show me that"

The camera also looks to be very good too (or is it just the screen?) Best of all they dumped the silly keypad idea from the 3650.

it's mainly the screen - their first Series 60 with a 65,536 colour screen - still a fun VGA camera with no flash - it's brand new so there will be plenty of oohs! :) - but i would have preferred it to have been more svelt and less 'round'
    6600._ctia03_devices.ie.jpg

the 3660 will sort the keypad on that series for those who had a problem with the layout, plus the screen is upgraded to 65,536 colours

but a lot of Nokia fans are tied up in the brand etc... so don't investigate the alternatives - if Sendo can deliver a reliable device it will be a better Series 60 handset than the 6600

BrianG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭dynamic.ie

I agree with you there Brian about nokia fans not considering the alternatives. In the past I moved to nokia and then away to a others like siemens, etc. Always came back to nokia and decided wasn't going to waste money using a phone of lesser quality.

Ordered the 6600 this morning so should have it tomorrow. Can't wait! Cheeurs for all the posts!

Dave

enjoy the handset

most 'fans' will single out the user interface as the reason for sticking with Nokia - but as their Series 60 interface is used in the Sendo (and some other upcoming devices) that reason pretty much goes out the window for these handsets ;)

as to the 'phones of lesser quality' - i've experienced a much hardware and software issues over the years with Nokia handsets as with many other manufacturers - so i couldn't say their quality was any better / worse than many others

BrianG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

Originally posted by dynamic.ie
    Ordered the 6600 this morning so should have it tomorrow.

Don't forget to give us an extensive review; I want to get one myself but straying away from the battery life of my 6310i is going to be difficult.

Hi Ryan,

I will indeed. The software used seems to be much better than the 7650 and ok, it depends what you want a phone for but the 7650 is best phone I have ever had. I proved that to myself by keeping it for a whole year. Normally I change after a couple of months. Will take a few photos with it and post them up to so ya can see the quality of them.

Regards,

Dave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

dynamic, where are you getting it from for 450? Cheapest I can find is expansys.com, and it works out as E 487

Also, anyone from Irish Vodafone here who might have an idea what the 6600 will cost on an upgrade when its launched here next month?? basically should I wait for it to be launched, or order it from the UK for a Chrimbo pressie for myself???

That's a cool website. The price of EUR 450 is made up of:

Phone: GBP 297
    Delivery: GBP 19 (Fedex)

SubTotal: GBP 316
    VAT: GBP 0 (I gave them my vat number)

Total: GBP 316

Converted: EUR 450

Prices are pretty much the same all around. Only about EUR 5 in the difference of some sites. I'm buying from www.mphone.co.uk. I tried a few others and got:

- we do not ship to ireland, or
    - we don't do vat free purchases

Mphone seem pretty good. Shipment is going out today so should be here tomorrow.

Cheeurs, Dave

ok, i've found it for 428 euro now on:

http://www.mobilefly.com/shopbag.php#rates

presumably there's no reason why this wouldn't work in ireland?

That works out cheaper but I am a bit reluctant to buy phones, cameras, pc stuff, etc. from the states for compatibility reasons. Maybe I am wrong here but I feel that if it works fine in the UK, it's going to work fine here.

I was buying a FujiFilm FinePix S5000 zoom recently and found 3 prices for it:

- Shop in Ireland - EUR 520 (discounted cause I know the salesman)

- cam-ireland.com - EUR 385 (import from germany, ex vat, ex delivery)

- us website - EUR 260

Decided on the shop in ireland I didn't want to get the camera from the us and it not work here and wasn't comfortable with the cam-ireland.com website.

Maybe I am wrong here but for technology I usually try to stay close to home, UK is the furthest I'll go.

Dave

well it'd work seeing as it's a tri-band phone.. but consider the fact that youre going to get ridden by customs for importing it from outside the EU. If indeed mobilefly is outside the EU.. which I'm presuming it is.

Ohh and shipping... their shipping rate is about $35 for 5-7 day. Id forget it and buy locally.

I know what you're saying about reliability, trustworthyness etc.

OK, now I've found it for 371 euro on:

http://www.globeimpex.co.uk/cellphones.htm

(download the price list). I'm a bit wary of the website quality though, and the very low price.

Anyone ever heard of them? I've dropped them an email about shipping costs etc.

if in doubt.. pick up the phone..

If seriously in doubt, ryanair do cheap flights.

Judging from their price list, it looks like bulk buying:

new, sim free, 5 x box, EU spec

maybe the price is per unit but there is a min order?

See what they come back with.

Originally posted by Buckfast
    dynamic, where are you getting it from for 450? Cheapest I can find is expansys.com, and it works out as E 487

Also, anyone from Irish Vodafone here who might have an idea what the 6600 will cost on an upgrade when its launched here next month?? basically should I wait for it to be launched, or order it from the UK for a Chrimbo pressie for myself???

To be honest, I would guess it will be at least 300, probably 400 when it is lauched. And it wont be launched next month, will likely be Feb or March.

and even when it is released (as discussed on other threads) it'll be heavily laden in Vodafone Live paraphenalia.

You're right Dave, they are wholesalers, so I'm not goin there. On my way home to get my credit card, I was half tempted to take up a vod offer on a 7250i for €200, but screw that, I want a cool phone and the 6600 is that. And I'll have it before everyone else, which is always good for the "ooh" factor.

I'm heading to expansys.com right now.

You're right Dave, they are wholesalers, so I'm not goin there. On my way home to get my credit card, I was half tempted to take up a vod offer on a 7250i for €200, but screw that, I want a cool phone and the 6600 is that. And I'll have it before everyone else, which is always good for the "ooh" factor.

I'm heading to expansys.com right now.

I'll have mine before you.... nah nah nah nah nah :D

.... hope it arrives tomorrow after saying that!!! Come on FedEx..... oh the fun of watching a shipment via online tracking!!! :D

I'll have mine before you.... nah nah nah nah nah :D

.... hope it arrives tomorrow after saying that!!! Come on FedEx..... oh the fun of watching a shipment via online tracking!!! :D

B@ST@RD :) i suppose i'll have to wait until Monday. I couldn't call round to ur house tomorrow by any chance???

No sorry, I won't be there... I'll be out taking pictures and video and showing off my new phone!!

Hee hee :D

Presumably I'll have to come back to ye guys for instructions on how to set up GPRS and MMS settings and all that sh!te i know nothing about, or will it register with Voda once i stick in my SIM card?

I set gprs, email, modem and all that stuff without having to do much. I am on O2 so I just rang them and they sent text messages to my phone that had install files on them and it did the rest. If that failes, they can email out the steps to go through to set up manually but most of it is automated.

How long did it take your credit card to authorise? It says it could take up to two days for some international banks. Even AIB/Visa ???

if its anything to go by.. last time I ordered off expansys i had to send in a photocopy of my credit card & driving license 4 seperate times. So that's how long it took them to authorise my card.. all in all about 6 hours

How long did it take your credit card to authorise? It says it could take up to two days for some international banks. Even AIB/Visa ???

The reason for the 2-3 days to verify card is that they sent a check through to their bank and they verify your address and all that. You can get around that by getting a credit card authorisation form from their website. Fill that it, sign it, fax it to them with a copy of a recent statement, front and back of your card and that will do the trick. With that, they don't need to verify with the bank and can process your order straight away. It's just like signing a receipt in a shop!

Cheeurs, Dave

Didn't think it'd take that long between ireland and the UK. I presumed it would be a quick electronic check like through the machines in a petrol station. Oh well, looks like I won't be getting it til Wednesday now. Still though, can't be much worse than the length of time cd-wow.com and play.com are taking to deliver — of five packages from cdwow ordered eight working days ago, i've received two, and neither of the two from play.com. Dunno if its them or the desperate Irish postal service.

I'll expect explicit details on Monday of how you've gotten on with your new 6600. :)

The check in the petrol station and the check they do online when you input your credit card only does a couple of things:

1. is there enough money on the card
    2. has this card been reported stolen
    3. who is the issuer of the card

and a few more. It doesn't do an automatic check of name, address, etc. You have to actually ring the bank to get these. It's all to do with protection.

If I own a petrol station and you buy from me with your credit card, you sign a slip. If I receive a chargeback, I give that slip to the bank and they can't take the funds from me (most of the time).

If I own a online store and you buy from me, you don't sign anything. If I receive a chargeback, I have nothing with your signature to prove you actually made the purchase. However, by getting an authorisation form signed and getting copies of the card and statements OR by checking every detail you have given me, I am covered (most of the time).

Will tell you how I get on with the 6600 anyway. It better arrive tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

Getting mine next week, :) score score score score score.

I dunno, I was a bit aprehensive, I love my 7650, but seems like a similar phone with **** loads of good stuff attached... so yeah. :)

<< Fio >>

I'm still waiting for the card to clear.

I've just read about the Commodore 64, N-Gage, MSX etc emulators for the Symbian 60 series (hopefully I'm not treading on thin ice with this topic), presumably I need the nokia data cables (or data suite, whatever its called) to download them.

My questions are: How much do the cables cost?

Are they compatible and is the software compatible with my iMac?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭BArra

they are £30 on expanys.com

but ebay has them waaaaay cheaper

Wahoo!! I got it!!

Arrived today at 12. That was good shipping time from www.mphone.co.uk. Ordered on Wednesday afternoon, card processed on thursday morning and arrived here today (friday). Class! Well impressed with that.

Only getting to grips with the phone and playing around with the features but it is class. Here's a quick run down but will give a more detailed one over the weekend:

- phone is cool, has os styles (like windows), loads of features
    - pictures are better quality than 7650 and the digital zoom works very well.
    - video works well and plays them using real one player. has sample videos too. I'm sure you can transfer different pc videos to it and play them on the phone. Will try over the weekend.
    - pc suite works great. quick set up of 6600 to it via infrared and laptop. backed up my 7650 contacts and all that to the pc suite and then restored them to 6600. Hassle free transfer... cool! loads more on the pc suite but haven't played with it all yet.
    - 32MB card with loads of free stuff and demos on it. There's a cool pinball game and mapping service so you can maps downloaded to the phone.

ok, got to go play with it some more. Give a more detailed review after the weekend.

First impressions... deadly!

Cheeurs, Dave

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 468 ✭✭trap4

Another Series 60 to give serious consideration to is the Siemens SX-1. Check out this enthusiastic AllAboutSymbian review.

Things I like about it are the hot swappable MMC and the Stereo FM Radio. Its release has been delayed on a number of occasions so I'm presuming that's an indication it's had the s***e tested out of it. Which should be good :p

~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    -Jim.
    http://mmsmemo.blogspot.com

I'll just drag up an old thread here.. don't mind me :D

Following suit with Dave's example, I finally ordered my 6600 this afternoon. A kind of christmas present to myself I suppose :D

Ho ho ho :)

Where did you buy from ryan? More importantly - how much?

My past experiences with them not withstanding... I decided to get it from expansys. It cost me €523. I would have gone into town and got one out of Carphone warehouse but after trying to contact any of their 4 outlets in Cork and being repeatedly hung up on I started to sour somewhat on that option.

I was going to order it from a cheaper supplier but at the end of the day the quicker fedex shipping sold it for me. I ordered it at 15:00, it shipped at 16:02 so the race is on to see if I'll have it by Wednesday evening...

(I'll have to re-register my fecking VAT number :()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

ok, i've found it for 428 euro now on:

http://www.mobilefly.com/shopbag.php#rates

presumably there's no reason why this wouldn't work in ireland?

According to Carphone Warehouse, the wont be released here until Feb. maybe March (and that'll be sim free) at around 540euro.

Reason being that they're designed for WAP 2 which vodaphone doesn't support. (they didnt mention anything about O2)

Any issues with that lads?

<< Fio >>

I was told by Carphone Warehouse "order by phone" staff this morning that the sim free 6600 was now available in their stores, albeit in limited numbers.

Somebody is right...

No vodafone don't support WAP 2, at least not yet. If I'm going to be overly optimistic for a second, they'll have to update sooner rather than later if they want the newest phones with all their bells & whistles to work on their network, keeping them competitive. First quarter of 2004, if it's any later than that I'll be blaming the Irish telco gremlins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

whats the battery life like on the 6600 how does it compare to a 6310 for instance just wondering (hopefully the price will fall after christmas)

In reply to the last question, I have mine from expansys for about a week. The battery is faulty and has to be returned ... with the phone before next Saturday. I asked them if the replacement might be faulty too, and the plain and simple answer was yes. Apparently, Nokia released a whole batch with batteries that show a full charge (after being charged) and then die for no reason.

I was on to Voda tech support last week, and they won't support it until "the end of February at the very earliest". GPRS works, but MMS, email etc won't (for me at least).

Rymus ... have u had any probs with the battery?

My battery is fine. There is a lot of functionality that kills the battery quiet quickly compared to other nokia models.

I got the following working: GPRS, EMAIL but not MMS. It must be the old wap causing the problems!

Found this on the Nokia Website... It might help:

http://www.nokia.com/phonesettings

Scroll down the page a bit and you can have settings sent to your phone for MMS, GPRS, EMAIL, etc. for your network.

6600 isn't on all the lists but try the 7650 settings as they will work for GPRS and EMAIL.

Cheeurs,

Dave

Rymus ... have u had any probs with the battery?

Not yet... but that's probably due to the fact that I haven't actually gotten the phone yet :D

I'll be waiting for the FedEx man all day tomorrow I'd say.

Well, FedEx turned up earlier and my spanking new 6600 has been charging since exactly 12pm. I did notice that when I plugged the phone in, the charge indicator took ages to appear. Also, the battery indicator only took about 80 mins to report a full charge on the battery. Erring on the side of caution, I'll leave it on charge until at least 12am tonight or sometime tomorrow afternoon.

Well it's here.. I just hope I don't have a wonky battery :(

I was on to Voda tech support last week, and they won't support it until "the end of February at the very earliest". GPRS works, but MMS, email etc won't (for me at least).

is that GPRS ISP works - but MMS and WAP doesn't?

if you can conenct to the GPRS ISP youl should be able to pop/imap email using that connection, you should also be able to try HSCSD on the handset with Voda (as long as you are already set up for the Voda High Speed Data service)

BrianG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Phone: GBP 297
    Delivery: GBP 19 (Fedex)

SubTotal: GBP 316
    VAT: GBP 0 (I gave them my vat number)
    How did you get away with VAT?