Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prime Time -RTE1 NOW!!!!

• 01-12-2003 10:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭

Its on til 10..30 and there is interviews with joyriders, skangers, etc. Don't miss the rest.

I'm watching it now and I was just about to start a topic about it myself.

The video footage was especially nauseating. These people don't need help, we need help. The first thing that should be done after this program is the bringing in of a bill to exterminate every single scumbag featured in this program.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭davelerave

yah,it turned into 'world's wildest police video' at one point .i keep expecting the background music to break into song"she's a maniac maniac for your love"there's some seriously fu*+ed up kids in this country and they belong to us

If someone robs a car once, they should be banned from driving forever. Twice and they get both of their hands taken off to stop them from doing it ever again. Same with people who steal phones.

I'd love to see figures of how well these "social" programs are doing compared to crime in nations where there's a lot more poor people and they have some decent crime prevention methods.

3/4 millions pounds to keep some arsehole in a care house??? Fúcking disgrace. I wouldn't mind (as much) if it had actually worked...but this is just too infuriating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

oh man
    im still watching this.... aww, its over...... very good program though
    fúckin skangers

look at my sig........ :ninja:

cue all the "not every scanger is bad" morons...

entertaiment value 7/10
    content 4/10
    obligitary sexy female cobtributors to program 8/10
    my marks anyway! plus i learnt a new word"dualler"

yeah I'm defo gonna work that into conversation tomorrow. 'Baitin'' down the 'dualler' sounds like a right good larf.

Originally posted by utility_
    yeah I'm defo gonna work that into conversation tomorrow. 'Baitin'' down the 'dualler' sounds like a right good larf.
    make sure you go the right way about it!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Yes well It seems to have done its job in enlighting the caring people of Ireland.

WHA D ****S A DULLER? = Could you please explain the meaning of the word duller to the Middle classes, thank you

did you not see the doc? Some total knack was describing how he was getting a chase from the cops while "baitin' it down the dualler", with 'baitin' meaning 'driving a car really fast' and 'dualler' meaning 'dual carraigeway'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I think funniest was;

Interviewer: " And what about those Gardai that were killed last year? Do you not worry that something like that might happen?"
    Scumbag: "No, that wouldn't happen while I'm driving."

*smack*
    *smack*
    *smack*
    *smack*
    *smack*
    *smack*

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

I'm waiting for the goode's to weigh in with their "Locking them up all their life won't help"

If some little pr1ck has commited 50/60 or even 70 crimes by the age of 16/17 lock him up for good , and not in some plush place thats more comfortable than home . Did anyone see the Count Of Monte Cristo ? The jail in that film is where these fcukers should be sent .

Scumbags through and through .

What about the mothers complaining about not having any homes ? Why is this ? Cause you won't go and work ? And the father/s of your kids is locked up in the Mount !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭a_ominous

I remember hearing a pub discussion one time. It went along the lines of "3 strikes and you're out". You allow someone to make a mistake, but warn them that continuing along the wrong path will have consequences. If they get to a third offence, deport them to some Arab country where they will have to live within the laws of the land. If they steal, a hand will be chopped off. Straight, no messing.
    Instead of us taxpayers paying 250 grand a year to keep these scumbags in gaol, we pay an Arab host family say 30 grand a year to give these feckers room and board. The perps can work over their to earn plane fare back to Ireland, but cannot come back until a reasonable time is up depending on the crime.

There were feckers on the programme with 70 convictions by the age of 16/17. If there's no father figure to discipline the kids, then it falls on society's shoulders. They should not be allowed to get away with these 'petty' crimes. My car's been vandalised twice in 3 months. I'm prepared to deal with the feckers myself. I know what happened to the man in Ballyfermot. RIP. I won't go out unarmed like he did.

It's about time that the idiots in government called time on the criminals. They wouldn't have to be trying to cut prison officer wages if there were less criminals. Deal with the real problem, not the symptoms.

</rant value="$0.02">

-ao-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

Nah, the funniest thing was when they interviewed the two scumbags who robbed a Lotto machine and got 3 grad:
    Scumbag 1: Yeah we got bout 3 thousand eeeuurroos.
    Scumbag 2: Yeah we had a plan.
    Shanley: And did you give any away.
    Scumbag 1: Yeah I gave me ma 3 hundra. He gave his ma nothing.
    Scumbag 2: *Laughs*
    Scumbag 1: Ya scumbag.

Hello?!!! You are both scumbags and should be put in a small, dark hole on an island for 40 years.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I like that plan a_ominous! I'm fed up with young criminals being given the soft treatment. Fining their parents doesn't work either so why not deport them on the 3rd strike? They don't - especially 50+ offenders - deserve a cushy number. They've wasted their chances and they are more than mature enough to understand morality and ethics and know what they did was WRONG. I know people who've had sh1tty upbringings but they don't feel the need to go around vandalising and committing crimes.
    That or my enforced labour camps, as suggested in other threads. It's time to get tough!

deja vu,we've been here before with the revolving door justice system.it's not working

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

My sister works as a psychologist in Trinity House and they treat the scumbags like family. They bring one of them shopping every now and then and buy them clothes and they play snooker with them and stuff like that. Trinity House is like any other house except they aren't allowed out. They boys are aged between 16-18 and they deserve a beating and put into the joy with all the fat rapists. Also, I don't think Mount Joy deserves to be done up, leave it as it is.

Originally posted by eirebhoy
    My sister works as a psychologist in Trinity House and they treat the scumbags like family. They bring one of them shopping every now and then and buy them clothes and they play snooker with them and stuff like that. Trinity House is like any other house except they aren't allowed out. They boys are aged between 16-18 and they deserve a beating and put into the joy with all the fat rapists. Also, I don't think Mount Joy deserves to be done up, leave it as it is.

forward them to crime school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

will this episode of Prime Time be repeated does anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭carrotcake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

was anybody listening to the Adrian Kennedy show monday night aswell?
    they were discussing curfues for kids n stuff......

MAN I HATE THIS COUNTRY:mad: *mumbles to self*and i HAD to be born here

MAN I HATE THIS COUNTRY *mumbles to self*and i HAD to be born here

You listened to the Adrian Kennedy Phone show of course your not happy, the people who ring that show would make one want to kill themselves.

and of course the so non-libral views of many board posters, sorry lads but a good kick up the arse doesn't always work. Its time that Perants started to take responisblity for their kids actions and actuall give out to them. I mean my perants always sided with the teachers even if the teacher was wrong and that is what you have to do. You do grow out of the moody teen years but you have to get some help and that is through your perants.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

a lot of these scumbags are from homes that don't want them. They were born because some skangers decided they wanted a free house and loads of child support money etc etc. You need to start at the source to erradicate the problem and that means a serious look at Social Welfare. No more free houses. No more hand outs for useless tits who sit on their arse everyday because the Dole means they don't have to work. It's no wonder these kids turn to crime when all they know is abuse, get no love and have complete scum for parents.

Yeah how Right wing we have become.

However you are right in ways pity you come out sounding like a member of the Dail.

watched this last night as I'd recorded it. It made my blood boil. Not only because of the scum they had on it but because of the inability of the Gardai., courts etc to do anything about them. Kids with 70+ convictions but no jail time? Where's the sense in that? Also, in one section they talk about it costing 250,000 per year per scumbag in some place but then later they talk about sending them abroad and that only costs 100,000. How on earth does it cost a quarter of a million to put 1 little pr!ick away when it costs 100,000 to send them abroad?

Originally posted by Elmo
    pity you come out sounding like a member of the Dail.

Ugh! No, not a politician. No way. I don't. Agghghghhghghghghg!!!!!!!

no, hold on. A member of the Dail would have said something more like, 'we spend x amount on this and anyway, it's all a load of pap made up by the press to sell papers and there isn't really a problem, and schools aren't really falling down, and we are really doing a great job and what was the question again?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I think its good that it was highlighted what is and always been a problem.

I could even see the back of my house in that program, the bunch that were interviewed around the bonfire in the field are not from broken homes, they do it out of bravado, while the parents are mostly in the pub.

On growing up in this area, i have seen many cars been driven around stolen for years. I remember a bunch of kids had 4 cars screeching around in one field 4 years ago for a whole day un-impeded in full view on the nearby busy main road.

Although the area has been quiet for over a year(scum were either locked up or grown out of it), joyriding was at its prime specifically in this area 4 years ago.
    I could have taken alot more dramatic footage than the prime time team if i had the money to afford a camcorder back then :)

The skill of hotwiring a car has been passed down from the older generation before me(late 30s) to my generation(late 20s) and to this younger generation of teens.
    Every single day, a car was either stolen from another area of dublin and brought here or either bought as a 'company car' of the travellers and when they ran out of petrol, the cars were subseqently burnt out.

Nothing was done by the guards for many years about it.

Poverty is an escapism excuse, i grew up classified as 'poor' yet i turned out alright (allegedly:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Poverty is an escapism excuse, i grew up classified as 'poor' yet i turned out alright (allegedly)

Agreed .