Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tuborg VS Dutch Gold

• 27-11-2003 9:18pm
    Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭

I put it to the people - which is the greatest bargain brew?

Tuborg - the beer of danish Kings, or Dutch Gold, the... beer-like piss.

Which is the finest bargain brew? 20 votes

Tuborg
    0% 0 votes
    Dutch Gold
    100% 20 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

Originally posted by kif
    Tuborg - the beer of danish Kings, or Dutch Gold, the... beer-like piss.

i think thats whats called a loaded question :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

You moron! Where is the one euro bavaria.
    I am boycotting this outrageous and biased poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

We'll miss you darren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Whatchu talking bout fool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

you...clearly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Okie

Originally posted by Sangre
    You moron! Where is the one euro bavaria.
    I am boycotting this outrageous and biased poll.

I too am boycotting :)

Not a single mention of the student's beloved McEwans, a Euro a can! Now available at John Hanley's Supermarket, Station Road, Castlebar, for all your alcoholic needs

Takes a bit of gettin' used to, but the price is right...for a shower of stingy tax-dodgers, that is.

But given the choice, I'd have to go with the ould Crotch Mould! ;)

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Castlebar hahahahaha. Honestly, savages these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

HAH! Cheap Tesco beer at 83c a can!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭Duffman

Let's not forget Euroshopper's aptly named "Beer"... Mmmmm...

And, of course, large foamy sweet Coq.

ale_logo.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

God... I'd never put that pigswiss in my mouth!

If I was going for some offie, I'd be going straight for the imported Belgian beers.
    €3 for a little bottle of Duvel, but man, it's so worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

I must also protest at the abscence of Barvaria, so much nicer than Dutch Gold (never tried the other stuff). Couple of months when we were going out I got about 6 cans of cheap beer, each of them different and he cheapest I could find - sorta like a bargain beer testing! Anyway Barvaria won hands down, put it in the poll!!! ww)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Funky

where the hell are Hackenberg and Bavarian Crown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

neither, they're both pisswater

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by TacT
    neither, they're both pisswater

i agree wholeheartedly

my bargain price drink of choice is Lidl Dry Cider.

i love them apples :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Linden Village Cider :D

Followed by the decidedly upmarket Devils Bit :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    God... I'd never put that pigswiss in my mouth!

If I was going for some offie, I'd be going straight for the imported Belgian beers.
    €3 for a little bottle of Duvel, but man, it's so worth it!

AW you're just a snob. Anyway, the question isn't which ultra cool imported, unkown strange expensive beer you drink. It's which cheap, píssy, filthy beer is your favourite?! :)

I'd go for Dutch Gold... or anything really around the euro mark, but like AW I too am a snob, and haven't drank this stuff in quite some time. I find it's only for those sessions where you need to drink as many cans as possible or where it's a bunch of lads chippin in. Dutch Gold actually is alright if super, super chilled though. As in, almost frozen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

I used to work as a floor manager in a Lidl's and am desgraced to see none of their bargin (less than 80 cent a can) beers appearing in this poll. What sort of student bums are you, that you can afford beer anyway??? And Dutch Gold is the nightmare drink sold the children of alcoholic skanger children, no real people drink it.
    So I to refuse to vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Well said, Havelock.

And Abt Watou. 3 quid, 10%, tasty, you can't go wrong. :)

If that means I'm a snob, then go polish my drinking stein, peasant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

Does anyone remember Yellow pack beer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Good aul Dutch all the way baby! Students choice naturally, and at 6.99 fro a 6 pack its hard not to go for it.
    Now Dutch Gold on tap...theres a dream!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Originally posted by Havelock
    And Dutch Gold is the nightmare drink sold the children of alcoholic skanger children, no real people drink it.
    I have been drinking Dutch Gold the last 4 or 5 years when I am stuck for money and I think it is beautiful. The more you drink it the nicer it gets, the same with any drink, you get used to it. I think it is stupid that you can't drink it without getting slagged just because it is the drink that most of the teenagers drink. If it hadn't got a bad name I would drink it if I had all the money in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Basher Ned

It's not fair. Tuborg is a low alcohol beer at less than 4%. This is why in my view it's so easy to drink. Dutch Gold is 4.2% just like Heineken or The real Tuborg - Carlsberg. More beer flavour Dutch Gold, rather than watery Tuborg gets my vote. Versus Bavaria now there's a real competitor to the above!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Tuborg is a cheapo beer in Ireland only, staple beer in Denmark and Carlsberg is the piss. Reps from Tubirg were in our offo one day a couple of years back. they were disgusted it was marketed as a cheap beer over here :D

It's also lovely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Can't believe the Borg is losing to dutch piss water.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Perlenbacher is a class beer that Lidl do. 6 500 ml bottles were recently 4.29. No chemicals in it so less chance of a hangover. The classiest of the cheap scoops so it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Since this thread was started in 2003 a Beer forum has been created.