Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

House Of Love

• 18-11-2003 2:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 170 ✭✭

Anyone watching the house of love

on rte 1 @ 8pm,

what do u think?

who do you want to win

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

It's shíte. I actually went for the auditions with my girlfriend. Obviously we weren't amusing enough to make the show, or else I cursed too much during the interview. Either way, after watching it I'm glad we didn't make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

I caught a few minutes while flicking channels.
    I won't make the same mistake twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Yes, good idea, badly made.

Nothing to get excited about, but nothing to give out about.

Also did you see Blizzard of Odd's review, very funny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by Elmo

Also did you see Blizzard of Odd's review, very funny.

I did and I may have to watch an episode now to check its that awful. I also find the concept fairly distasteful
    as well...

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭Go Figure!

Yes it is absolutely TRIPE, why oh why are RTE wasting the license fee on this rubbish. I watched half an hour of the first episode last week, I will never make that mistake again!

Yes the 1st episode had to many MR + MRS'S type questions for too many couples.

But the game is not the same every week so I guess that the first show was just a sample.

Not the greatest sample. I think it would be better if they had put more thought into this production.

It was a very bad start, especially the bad LIVE work that was going on.

One of the couple have already left. I think sean moncreiff should present it on his own and they should forget about the white room with Brenda O'Dounahue.

But as I said I don't think its something that we should give out about its only one show that will only run for eight episodes. Life goes on. And it is a good prize. Even if "Dr. Loon" didn't get his chance :( , maybe next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Busy Hands

Appalling nonsense. The panel they hard is hardly needed & as Elmo says Brenda Donaghue is a waste of time. Unbelievable that RTE can get it so wrong yet again. Contestantwise, I hope that middle-aged bloke with the moustache doesn't win it anyway (or his mot for that matter). He looks like he narrowly lost out on the role of one of Harry Enfield's 3 Scousers! The answers they gave to the questions on week one were the most conservative, un-real life answers possible, they just didn't want the neighbours & family to get some info. Then he tells us that he is a funny man, lord save & protect us, my proctologist is a funnier man, even when working as violently as possible! Maybe they are already gone, as I didn't stick around to watch much of episode 3.

Hint for RTE:

Help avoid making an unnecessarily dreadful television programme but not employing anyone who has (or has had) anything to do with the Gerry Ryan radio show as a cast member. (e.g. Brenda Donaghue, Fiona Looney and of most importantly Gerry himself.)

Point of Information : I do not actually employ a protologist, never have either.

Help avoid making an unnecessarily dreadful television programme but not employing anyone who has (or has had) anything to do with the Gerry Ryan radio show as a cast member. (e.g. Brenda Donaghue, Fiona Looney and of most importantly Gerry himself.)

I liked Gerry's one on one interviews during the summer.

But Brenda did get to present Ireland AM for a while. mmmmmm.

And oh no Fiona just stop smiling at your smart self.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

Flicked through this the other night but there appeared to be a couple who were about 14!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

I saw this for the first tme tonight. Just typical RTE
    A couple who,after 8 weeks sticking out missed out on the top prize of a new house won the runner up prize of.......2 grand of shopping vouchers and a weekend away in some hotel in Clifden. They thought they were going to get a car at least I think,especially as Moncrieff(the mans a comic genius,get him back on DFTG and off this ****e and radio ad voiceover jobs)asked them in a rather upbeat manner to come over to him or something,i cant recall what exactly. Shame on RTE.
    Must have been the couple anthony was talking about-he looked no older than 16,even though he was 19 or something. But they looked pissed off,and rightly so. Id have told RTE to shove the prize up their holes if I were them. Imagine enduring 8 weeks to win a prize that a audience member on the late late can win for only having to sit through 2 hours of Pat Kenny.
    But imagine how pissed off youwould be to find that you had missed avoiding having to enter a 30 year mortgage by the skin of your teeth,and your concolation prize is a weekend in the sticks. Bollix to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭James R

I think Mary O'Rourke cost them the house when she said they were too young. Bitch what does she know? I mean they'd have no mortgage so why couldn't they have a house? Students across the country are living together all the time with the problems of rent etc but these two wouldn't have had rent to pay! It would have been the perfect start for them. How long will it take for them to get a mortgage now?!

Also just on a side note I tried voting for them 8 times and couldn't get through any of the times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,569 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Originally posted by James R
    I think Mary O'Rourke cost them the house when she said they were too young.
    I was thinking EXACTLY the same thing. I couldn't believe it when she said that. Plus the fact that she said it 10 minutes into the program (leaving 45 mins for viewers to go "Yeah, she's right - lets vote for the other two"). Wouldn't have been too bad if she said it 5 mins before the end of the show....

- Dave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I would have liked to see that young dundalk couple win, that culchie redneck thing with the tache and a horse for a wife make me cry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

well in all fairness did did look soo young that you wree wondering how they got on the show at all ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭sovtek

Originally posted by Tha Gopher
    especially as Moncrieff(the mans a comic genius,get him back on DFTG and off this ****e and radio ad voiceover jobs)

If that's what my €150 (or whatever it is now) license fee was going for then I'd actually pay it.
    They need to be making shows like that instead of this game show sh1te.
    Ok Ok OK I admit it...I didn't actually watch House of Love. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

It's a terrible program, between that, You're a Star and Delegation RTE's Sunday evenings are a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

RTE seems to get away with it. Quality Programming probably did consist of "Bosco".

But seriously, "House Of Love" was better than "Cabin Fever".

"House Of Love" was at least watchable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Not for me. It was the first reality tv show that I turned of permanently after five minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭James R

Their age shouldn't have too much to do with it. yeah they're young but the fact they haven't won means that it'll take them years now before they can even contemplate getting a house of their own with the price of houses/mortgages etc in this country. The ones who won would have a far better chance of starting out together with a house because of their age etc. Winning House of Love could have been a great start in life for the Dundalk couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElNino

Once I saw Mary O'Rourke on the first episode I never watched any more of the series.

Are we going to have to send for Buffy and a stake to get rid of her once and for all? You would think that she would have taken the hint when the good people of Westmeath sacked her at the last election.

The judges where a stupid Idea, what exactly was the point of them?

The best couple won as far as I was concerned.

I think that it is a good concept badly delivered.

I don't think they will get another series. But then I said that about Treasure Island and it got a second.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Originally posted by Busy Hands

Thats the best suggestion for RTE I've ever heard, shame they'll never use it

Right, I ain't seen this show and I have no planes to do so anytime in the future.
    Whats the story with it, what do people do and most of all whats the bloody point of it?

I think people gota start looking for better value for the tv license money...