Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Clinic ,rte

• 05-11-2003 6:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭

Hey who loves the clinic on rte1. I think it is one of the best programmes on at the moment. Crazy Fiona, don't you just love her! ED's bitchy wife is good too. And the murse! (sorry any male nurses), hes good. Can you believe RTE have a gay person on telly, shocking!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭youdecide

Is anyone out there??

I watched it for the first time last week.

It's not bad at all.

They seem to have imported half the actors from Glenroe though.

Yer man with the roy from coronation street antics is kinda funny :D

mm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Didn't Fair City have two gay characters.

And over on TG4 Ros Na Run has two gay main characters who have fostered a child.

But yeah the clinic is good TV very enjoyable.

Lads only joking about the gay characture!! You are right all of glenroe are in it!!

Mary From Glenroe Geraldine Plunket is in it. Who else from glenroe is in it?

The american one. I cant remember her name

Main Characters.

I don't like that american one.

Ye i know, her voice, jesus it would go right through you!

Originally posted by Elmo
    Mary From Glenroe Geraldine Plunket is in it. Who else from glenroe is in it?

The physiotherapist.
    She's the young lass who had the affair with Dick moran who was busy trying to marry her mother who went broke 'cause her son didn't like the marriage with Dick so reported her bogus non resident account to the taxman - remember ? :D

mm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

I watched a little bit of one of the early episodes and I thought it was awful. The acting, the accents... everything, it's worse than Fair City. Am I missing something?
    In David Wilmot's defence, I saw him play Private Gar in Philadelphia Here I Come a few years ago and he was absolutely brilliant. He also played the assassin of Cahill in The General, tiny part but great!! :)

Kalina, how can you say its bad, it is really good. RTE are getting huge numbers for it

The acting, the accents

Emmm there Irish Accents, you speak like that. Your just not used to hearing Irish Accents on the TV. I think there all very nutral.

I think the acting is very good. IMO.
    She's the young lass who had the affair with Dick moran who was busy trying to

Yeah I was wondering what she was out of, nice looking girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Originally posted by youdecide
    Kalina, how can you say its bad, it is really good. RTE are getting huge numbers for it

Just what I thought on first impression, I'll have another look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by Kalina
    I watched a little bit of one of the early episodes and I thought it was awful

Mossy agrees

i'd have to see it again. i feel it is one of those shows that needs to grow on me

Prehaps its just one of those shows that your either into or not.

I enjoyed it from the beginning.

But was a bit wary of it because of On Home Ground.

I don't mind Fair City its just a soap opera, I general hope that most BBC dramas are better then EastEnders. There a different kind of Drama there Soap Operas easy to ignore if you try.

The Critics have been good to it all the same.

On home ground was good, what did yee think of it?

It look very good, as in the camera work and production etc.

But that doesn't make good TV alone.

It lacked any humour and acting direction (the forgot with all the excellent camera shots).

The Character were unrealistic for me as I am not the kind of person who gets so involved in sport and would not like to met have of the people in that show as the were over the top GAA heads.

It took to long to get into any kind of story so if you didn't continue to watch it after the first few episodes you just wouldn't be bothered to return to the serie.

And as there where only 10 episodes, where the first few episodes introduced every character, each series. This is not the best way to attract viewers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

I've watched most of the episodes. It's quality tv, well acted, quirky characters, holds the interest.

The main doc is very good. That's the guy from Intermission who was the least famous of the kidnappers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Originally posted by youdecide

Didnt they get huge numbers for Glenroe too?
    That was a LOAD of bollox.
    And Ear to the Ground, and Celebrity Farm.... its amazing with all of the money theyre taking off us for licences that the only good programming in the last five years has been Dont Feed the Gondolas, Bachelors Walk and now The Clinic.

Didnt they get huge numbers for Glenroe too?
    That was a LOAD of bollox.

Towards the end of the series it got bad, but for the early eights and late ninetys it was good.

I mean just look at TV during the 80's

Dallas
    Knight Rider
    Matlock
    Muder She Wrote

I think Glenroe was above these.

Tell me about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinCool

I've been watching this and I think it is definitely one of the better, "soap", not really a soap but you know what I mean. I like the style of it. Reminds me of This Life that was on Ch4 a few years back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

The Clinic is pretty cool. It even got a good review in Phoenix, which hasn't given credit to anything on RTE since the Jurassic ere.

Is Rachel Pilkington (Keelin, the physiotherapist) any relation to Lorraine Pilkington (the homeopathist with the teenage daughter)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Originally posted by Elmo
    Towards the end of the series it got bad, but for the early eights and late ninetys it was good.

I mean just look at TV during the 80's

Dallas
    Knight Rider
    Matlock
    Muder She Wrote

I think Glenroe was above these.

You gotta be kidding me???

You seriously think Glenroe was better than Knight Rider????:eek: :eek:

You seriously think Glenroe was better than Knight Rider????

Ah now Irish 1 take your nostalgic ass out of my face please, thank you.

Gelroe = Drama/Soap

Knight Rider = David Hasselhoft (He is a Big Star in Germany now) :rolleyes:

I hope you don't think That Knight Rider was one of the better series of the 80's lets just mention good 80's TV for you:

Hill Street Blues
    LA Law
    St. Elsewhere
    Cagney And Lacey
    Roots

I would rate Gelroe a tiny bit below these, but then I rate EastEnders and Coro St Below these.