Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

those bangers..

• 16-10-2003 4:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭

What is the buzz with those bangers that seem to be going off constantly around dublin lately? Every afternoon, evening and into the early morning I can hear them going off around the place constantly.

(Last night I had a dream where I was being attacked my loads of skangers throwing the things at me).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Eppie

don't talk to me i feckin' hate hallowe'en. all the gurriers of the world trying to blow off their hands and scare grannies and animals. oh i hate it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭John Player

ever shove a banger up a cats arse! did it years ago, cat just legged it so it really wasnt worth it cos didnt get to see any gore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Originally posted by John Player
    ever shove a banger up a cats arse! did it years ago, cat just legged it so it really wasnt worth it cos didnt get to see any gore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

It's the same in Galway. Every fupping night. Bangers and fireworks.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I'm starting to feel like I'm in a war zone some evenings. The explosions can get really really loud here in the city centre! Stupid bangers. I'd be afraid almost to go out on Hallowe'en for fear of having one shoved into my face...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

If you all send me just 10 Euro we can return fire with some surplus mortars now that would be rappah!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭ChumpStain

You should take comfort that in about three weeks time it will stop...until next year that is:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

fireworks season kicked off around here last night :mad: i hate it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

John Player

Another example of how the Irish Mental asylum system failed us once again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

I dont mind them nothing to do with the fact i have a box of these things called "Insane Exploders" and i cant wait to use them.

Although they are fairly safe now they launch from within a shell of sorts me was expectiing some sort of lethal rocket with a little stick. But these look very safe to use no risk of blowing off body parts anyway.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Stop moaning, ffs it only happens for 3 or 4 weeks a year. It's only noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

Originally posted by Makaveli
    Stop moaning, ffs it only happens for 3 or 4 weeks a year. It's only noise.

..... until someone throws it through your f**king letterbox or ends up blowing a couple of fingers off.

To be honest, I'm not too bothered by it all myself except for the fact that it drives the dogs here crazy and they spend half the night barking so you can't get to sleep.

But, as for throwing one through a letterbox, I know of someone that had that happen to them a couple of years ago. If it ever happened to me I'd be out the door like a shot, catch the guy who did it and I'd be pulling the old "banger up the cat's arse" trick on him and see how he f**king liked it!

So, be warned! ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

one of the few benefits of living out in the sticks is being able to sleep in perfect silence at night, i remember how ****ing annoying it was when i lived in Galway.

as for John Player;
    i hope you die a painfull death, wanker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

ah yes....having fireworks thrown at you is lots of fun:confused:
    last year me and some friends were walking through a park and the guy in the middle of our group yelled "****" then ran....
    everyone else looked, then also ran and some bangers landed behind us

spent the next 20 minutes (calmly) explaining to the guy it's customary to yell "run" or "look out" so people don't have to check what it is before they decide what to do...
    as for John Player;
    i hope you die a painfull death, wanker

I second that motion

Originally posted by John Player

---waffle alert---

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

dont ever shove a banger up your bum at halloween, 'cause you'll only blow yer hole to smitheree-eeens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭secret_squirrel

how is it that fireworks create more disruption, more noise and go on for longer than the UK when they are illegal here and legal there? 3 weeks down at least 3 more to go!

Legalise em I say...and have proper displays...not fingerless nackers

And I third the motion...but slowly

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

ppffttt, 'bangers'.
    Here in Belfast, if we make a bang we do it right!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Lol @ Sinecure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

Originally posted by Sinecure
    ppffttt, 'bangers'.
    Here in Belfast, if we make a bang we do it right!

w00t at the distasteful joke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

yeah sinecure and instead of blowing off a few fingers ye blow up half of Belfast!! muppet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Originally posted by tman
    as for John Player;
    i hope you die a painfull death, wanker

May I also echo these sentiments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

****ing eejit, why would you want to do that to an animal? We always keep our cat in on Halloween because of people like you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭mycroft

On saturday night on Grafton St. me and my girlfriend were walking home, when this guy let off a roman candle.

He had wrapped his hand in his jacket, and held the candle in it as it went mental.

Of course being the kind of considerate soul that you find in Dublin on a saturday, he naturally didn't mention this to any of the complete strangers around him, who had to sprint out of the way of the sparks......

He just kept walking down the street, flames shooting from his hand, by himself.

I can see why he was alone on a friday night.

Fecking muppets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭ColinM

Spasticolon animal lovers, you are being trolled.

For how many years now has hallowe'en being an month-long event? And why? At what point did one night of bonfires, bangers and fireworks become not enough?

What's next - are the skangers going to give presents to each other on every day of December?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Well you see you can only get fireworks and bangers at this time of year. So all the little kids go out and buy them as soon as possible and because they cant wait til Halloween night to let them off they do it as soon as they get them.
    If this stuff was available all the time legally I bet it wouldn't be like it is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Well at least it means the skangers will use up half their stock by the time Hallowe'en itself rolls around.

John Player is obviously a troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

The little ****s were out in full force last night were i live.
    I think it is time to whip out the pelletgun and do a bit of shooting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭Señor Juárez

Originally posted by Bard
    Well at least it means the skangers will use up half their stock by the time Hallowe'en itself rolls around.

John Player is obviously a troll.

clearly not true Bard. they'll just rob some more. i hope they all blow their hands and testicles off, so they cannot make baby skangers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭El Marco

Weh, I like bangers and rockets, good craic, but then again I'm easily amused by bright things that go bang.

I also have a mini game by which, when you see the flash of a firework in the distance you have to guess when it goes bang. I've only got it about 3 times so far. I believe it would go under the catagory of "anal games"?

Also it's kind of made me think about my pets being outside with the ammount of louts that would do something to them has made me worry, as my dog is outside at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

the line of melted wheely bins is getting dangerously close to my house.

the fact that i live beside a big field in the middle of a very heavy suburban zone doesnt help much :(

Originally posted by marclar
    clearly not true Bard. they'll just rob some more. i hope they all blow their hands and testicles off, so they cannot make baby skangers.

Yes, because skangers obviously 'handle' explosive fireworks with their willies...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

lighten up you grave dodgers, leave the little shits alone, remember when you were young???

Originally posted by ferdi
    lighten up you grave dodgers, leave the little shits alone, remember when you were young???

The fact is - age has nothing to do with it. Not all these "little shits" are young and not all the people complaining about said "little shits" are old either.

Being young doesn't mean being a f**king ignorant idiot, ferdi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

lighten up, bard.

Originally posted by ferdi:
    lighten up, bard.
    Make a valid point, ferdi.