Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wife Swap

• 02-10-2003 11:58pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Anyone seen the new series? I spent the first forty five minutes hissing at the complete bo11ocks of a father that the rich guy was. I was nearly getting upset myself (and I'm just a viewer!) at how desperately happy the kid - Lucas? - was when his father agreed to spend five minutes with him. It was heart-breaking that the guy just had no time for anyone who he didn't see always in the mirror.
    His brother was like some bizarre movie opposite of him: kind and loving and yeah, his wife didn't appreciate him either.

However the ending was great. They seemed to have made positive changes in their lives and Bo11ocks Father seemed to have got the message. I found this very emotional viewing - as much so as any show I watch.

Wife Swap still seems to be great viewing and look forward to getting upset at my TV screen next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Dakeyras

I have to say that this is actually one reality tv show which i like to watch. That rich father was just unbelievable really, spending all his time locked in his games room with the playstation or down the pub without even really going near his kids at all. And then he'd just throw money at his wife to bribe her into doing things. I thought he was just like a big kid that had never really grown up at all. But as you said, in the end he looked like he had learned something out of it, in fact they all had. Including the other father not letting himself being walked over so much.

It makes great television and it isnt presented in a really tacky way or anything, not like some other reality shows. If this was the only reality show left then id be quite a happy man.

Also did anyone see the show after, showing what had happened them all afterwards? Showed how some of them changed and some just didn't at all. That guy Barry i think it was, the one who didnt work but did his gambling all day was still an absolute tosser and the only thing that changed about him was he made his own porridge in the morning, idiot. Though she did do the sunday sport :rolleyes: but the rest of the couples seemed to be getting on well since the end.

One of the things i always find a little bit worrying is that its always the women who are attacking each other at the end of the programs with the men sitting there staying out of harms way. These women are just far to aggressive at times.

Damn good show and can't wait for next weeks.

:f33r:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,329 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

best thing on TV at the moment - this weeks one was a bit sad, but many of last years swaps (which were revisited on tuesday) were absolutely hilarious.

The makers are obviously picking the most awful people they can find for the purpose of creating conflict. The couples generally come out of the shows looking terrible but it makes for great viewing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Great show - unmissable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Shilo

Don't you find it depressing that there are people like Barry and (was it Michelle?) out there though? It just struck me that he was an absolutely ignorant pig and she would have done anything for attention... Hence the Sunday Sport or whatever it was. How can a woman have that little self respect that she'd stay with such a miserable little runt of a man??

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,002 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by Shilo
    Don't you find it depressing that there are people like Barry and (was it Michelle?) out there though? It just struck me that he was an absolutely ignorant pig and she would have done anything for attention... Hence the Sunday Sport or whatever it was. How can a woman have that little self respect that she'd stay with such a miserable little runt of a man??

Exactly - that's what makes it such a damned great reality show. It really opens your mind as to who lives in our world and makes you wonder about your (presuambly) fairly cozy life. I actually got very angry when I watched Barry and started talking to my TV, telling Michelle that she deserved better. The way she got so happy when that igorant little fcuk practically ran past the words "I love you" (said in an offhand way, like he was talking about dinner) was upsetting. I really hope she leaves him but, looking at the follow-up, I doubt she ever will. Thank God Ignorant Rich Dad has turned himself around - it was painful seeing his little boy upset.

Anyone catch it tonight? Your woman Lizzy was absolutely bonkers. The way she ranted and raved at the end... it's no wonder Emma and hubby laughed at her (and yeah, they were a bit condescending). Imagine being married to someone who thought so little of you... Great stuff still!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Dakeyras

caught it last night as well, still one of the best shows on at the moment. Your woman last night though had severe trust issues going on and severe insecurity issues, couldnt believe she flew off the handle and was ranting about the other woman as a 'marriage wrecker' and 'slag' when she didn't even know her. And i think they the bloke (cant remember his name) was just trying to pull a fast one and get all the work done for him, unbelievable. At the end i thought they were about to come to blows, lizzy was getting so damn agitated. Once again, addictive television and it just keeps getting better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Originally posted by Dakeyras
    caught it last night as well, still one of the best shows on at the moment. Your woman last night though had severe trust issues going on and severe insecurity issues, couldnt believe she flew off the handle and was ranting about the other woman as a 'marriage wrecker' and 'slag' when she didn't even know her. And i think they the bloke (cant remember his name) was just trying to pull a fast one and get all the work done for him, unbelievable. At the end i thought they were about to come to blows, lizzy was getting so damn agitated. Once again, addictive television and it just keeps getting better.

I think for yer man it was more that he didn't want to be seen on T.V. as doing all the work. Being a tough aul lad, it probably wouldn't have done his image any good for his mates to know that he does most of the ironing and cleaning and his wife sat around swilling beer and watching T.V.
    you're right about the 'trust issues' and 'severe insecurities', she couldn't stop talking at "what might be happening"

I couldn't believe yer wan saying she didn't go to work cos she was feeling sick
    "I'm asthmatic ya know!"
    And there she was with a fag in her hand!
    And they smoke around their kids, some of whom also have asthma; that's terrible.
    A great show though, you really want to get into the T.V. and start roaring at them.

Originally posted by Kananga
    A great show though, you really want to get into the T.V. and start roaring at them.

Exact-i-mundo! That's why it works so well for me - I get severely agitated watching them. I want to shake them and rattle them until their teeth fall out of their heads half the time. I've never gotten so emotive about people in a reality show and that says something about the quality of this one - you get totally wrapped up in their lives.
    You know I thought the new series would fail being under the spotlight of the original. How happily wrong I was :)

So what did people make of the Facist Freaks this week? I mean we got the two extremes of parental discipling. Jeff and Wifey were definetely too lenient - altho' Jude is a bitch, they really shouldn't just scream and shout at people who don't agree with them. Won't serve them well. Having said that, they seem to enjoy a good relationship with their dad, whos' clearly a loving man.
    As for the Hitler clan - jesus... I couldn't believe how much they had regimented the poor kids. To what end?! Have they ever even thought about the kids for a second? Don't they know such strictures are just being set to allow the kids to rebel (and ferociously so) at a later stage? I mean COME ON - they're not 4 year olds. The kids really seemed an inconvenience. However, Eva's husband at least showed some signs of wanting to change - just desperately afraid he'd fu*k it up. I felt a little "awww" moment when the boy admitted to calling him "dad" for the first time. That was kinda sweet and Husband of Eva was, I reckon, more touched than he let on. However his militant bitch of a wife brooked no criticism of her (just like the vegan freak of last week) and just walked away rather than face her faults. Be interesting to see if that family learn anything....
    Great TV *again*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

yes I have to say I love this program, I missed the last series and only started to watch it because I wanted to know what everyone was ranting about. Now I'm hooked.

I've often thought what I'd be like if I was swapped in someone else's house. Mind you I've no kids.. but I'd say it'd be hard.

You get used to how your life is, the way you do this, yourself and your partner. love to see an irish version!