Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DOGs on RTE!!!

• 01-10-2003 8:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭

Why why why have RTE decided that they need to splash their bloody logo on the screen at all times. Do they really think we are that stupid that we dont know what channel we are watching?

I have mailed them about this and I hope others will also join in. BBC tried this briefly but the complaints they received made them take them off again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Owenw

Good idea. What email address did you use? press@rte.ie is the only one I can find on their website for customer comments, do they have a complaints email address?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Lucutus

Yea, as a tv license holder*, that's really starting to piss me off too.

Where/who exactly did you email about this, and what reply have you received, (if any?)

Luc

* after years of simply not paying for one, finally, I've purchased the right to legitimatly complain about RTE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Originally posted by Owenw
    Good idea. What email address did you use? press@rte.ie is the only one I can find on their website for customer comments, do they have a complaints email address?

There is a list of email addresses at:

http://www.rte.ie/about/contact/index.html

I mailed the first one:

General enquiries and comments: info@rte.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭IgnatiusJRiley

i like it

Originally posted by Lucutus
    Yea, as a tv license holder*, that's really starting to piss me off too.

Where/who exactly did you email about this, and what reply have you received, (if any?)

Luc

* after years of simply not paying for one, finally, I've purchased the right to legitimatly complain about RTE!

LOL, that's the first good reason I've ever heard for buying a licence! :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,884 Mod ✭✭✭✭celticfc

Lads, this is already being discussed in the broadcasting forum.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=117036

I mailed RTE about this also and got the standard reply. However today I got a proper reply which I didnt expect:

Thank you for your e-mail in relation to our newly
    introduced channel identifiers, also known inhouse
    as ‘bugs’.

This is the first week of RTÉ One and RTÉ Network 2
    having on-screen logos for all programmes except News
    (which has its own RTÉ News logo) and live sport where
    the existing practice of the on-screen RTÉ clock will
    continue.

The channel identifier, is one of a series of actions
    designed to position RTÉ more clearly within a
    constantly changing broadcasting environment.

It is unfortunate that you find the ‘bugs’ distracting
    and annoying. The translucent design was chosen so that
    they would not interfere with viewing as far as
    possible, but merely identify each channel more clearly.

We have noted your comments and RTÉ Television
    management and the RTÉ Executive Board will be informed
    of all public reaction to the 'bugs' over the next
    number of weeks.

Gerard, for your information, you would be amazed at
    the number of people who telephone RTÉ looking to buy
    copies of TV3 programmes and/or think that TV3 is an
    RTÉ station.

Thank you for taking the time to write and we hope that
    you will continue to enjoy the range of programmes that
    are being aired as part of the new season on RTÉ One
    and RTÉ Network 2.

Yours sincerely

Brigitte
    RTÉ Communications

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

I got the exact email back too Ludo, word for word. Seems to have just been a mailer sent out to anyone who complained.

Shows rté couldnt give a toss ***. The email I had sent doesnt even relate to the complaints as outlined in that reply back from rté... I winder if they even read it :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Duo

Well, it is a pretty minor thing. ^_~

And I think they forgot to mention The Den! They must take the channel logo off then, right? Because they've had the Den logo in some corner of the scree for years. THE FOOLS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

I just wonder,. what is the fuping point of them?
    What purpose do they serve?
    I KNOW I'm watching RTE, I don't need RTE to constantly remind me;
    "You are watching RTE1"
    "You are still watching RTE1"
    "Still, You are watching RTE1"
    "In case you have forgotten, you're still watching RTE1"

I mean, what is the bloody point?!!?!?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Duo

Well, there's always the off-chance of you flicking over and back between the two stations REALLY quickly, until you don't know what's-what, in which case those bugs will be your saviour.

Presumably they (RTE) consider the majority of their viewers to be suffering from Attention Deficit Disorder, senilility or terminal short term memory loss.

These poor unfortunates are also unable to see their TV's inbuilt onscreen channel name or number, or use the Aertel service, Sky EPG, Search and Scan banner or even use their Sherlock Holmes-like powers of deduction to work out what channel they are watching with nothing more than a copy of the RTE Guide.

Praise be to allah for the on screen graphic!

Now if they could just add some equally useful onscreen braille ident and an audio reminder for the hard of hearing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Occidental

Damn,

I was sure this was going to be about Nuala Carey and that other yoke from AA Roadwatch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

but if people say it's damaging their tv's by burning imprints on them, surely they're obliged to get rid :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

that arguement hasnt worked anywhere else

Ha!
    I sent a mail complaining about these bloody things.
    I also pasted in Brigitte's standard reply above saying

"If you want to reply with the standard email you've been sending to everyone else, I have copied it in below so you can just hit 'Reply' and then copy & paste"

This is the answer I got...

"Comments from viewers are helpful in assessing the
    response to the channel identifyers.

You copying the RTÉ response is just smart!

You would be surprised how many people phone into RTÉ
    requesting TV3 programmes, and/or are unsure whether a
    programme was broadcast on RTÉ, TV3 or other.

I have nothing further to say to you that you are not
    already aware of.

Thank you for taking the time to write your views,
    which have been logged for further review by management
    in relation to this new branding initiative.

Kind Regards"

Brigitte
    RTÉ Communications

Originally posted by Occidental
    Damn,

I was sure this was going to be about Nuala Carey and that other yoke from AA Roadwatch

Rofl :D

Don't be dissing nuala now , she's a very nice person

Originally posted by Man
    Don't be dissing nuala now , she's a very nice person

how come i have yet to see her give a weather report for Ireland. it's always the continent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Now if they could just add some equally useful onscreen braille ident and an audio reminder for the hard of hearing...

They are only giving what their viewers need :D

I dont really mind it too much on RTE One, as there is nothing on that channel execpt Murder She Wrote and the Midweek movie.

Network2 is where it does really annoy me. RTE have tried for so long to make Network2 look in some way indopendent. Hence why its called like Network2 insted of RTE Two and the like. Also the news was always News2 up until a month ago when it was changed to RTE News on Two. Possibly they now feel very threatened by TV3 and TG4 that they are trying to highlight what they own.

Thats why i get pissed off when i see RTE N2 on Network2 insted of just N2. And also when they have it on with the Den tag. I find it stupid to have both tags on at the same time. RTE are just stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

I could understand the N2 symbol (without the RTÉ beside)

As the have the Den (a children's channel on in the morning)
    Then ID from 5:30 until 8 (a teeny bobber channel0
    and the N2 for the beloved 15 to 35 year old age group.

but why put RTE beside N2
    and why put the DOG/BUG beside the Den's Bug?

I think The IPU should take over N2 anyway.

Bring back News 2 (but with a real set)

Also is anyone that stupid not to know TV3 is not RTÉ, I mean TG4 get sore when you call them RTÉ.

Originally posted by Elmo

Also is anyone that stupid not to know TV3 is not RTÉ, I mean TG4 get sore when you call them RTÉ.

I think some corporate head in RTE has got these bugs on their brain and thinks they are a good idea.
    The RTE beside N2 looks plain stupid.
    Why not go the whole hog and put a scrolling banner across the top of the screen as follows: Radio Telifís éireann 625 line transmission from Donnybrook Dublin 4 in colour

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

If the people that came up with the idea of these stupid "Bugs" think that anyone watching Fair city doesn't know they are watching RTE, then it is they that are stupid.
    I'm already watching less RTE as I cant stand the things:mad:

Originally posted by Winters
    Network2 is where it does really annoy me. RTE have tried for so long to make Network2 look in some way indopendent. Hence why its called like Network2 insted of RTE Two and the like. Also the news was always News2 up until a month ago when it was changed to RTE News on Two. Possibly they now feel very threatened by TV3 and TG4 that they are trying to highlight what they own.

Thats why i get pissed off when i see RTE N2 on Network2 insted of just N2. And also when they have it on with the Den tag. I find it stupid to have both tags on at the same time. RTE are just stupid.

Mmm, I also liked the "independant" feel of Network 2 last few years. It was almost like the Irish cousin of BBC2 with some funny prog.'s on a monday evening.

I rarely watch any RTE these days except to check out these awful on screen graphics!
    I wonder have viewing figures increased with the addition of the bugs / mysterious white box and the discussion that has ensued?! They got 10 mins out of me this week :D

Isn't TG4 broadcast by RTÉ?
    If so, what's next, an RTÉ TG4 ident???

I notice the TG4 ident is very transparent and smooth compared to the rough and ready RTE 1 N2 graphics.

Channel idents would make sense (from a channel execs' POV) if RTE channels were available free to air in the UK and placed on some obscure channel numbers way down the EPG list. I wonder is this what RTE is considering?

Isn't TG4 broadcast by RTÉ?
    If so, what's next, an RTÉ TG4 ident???

not thank god. it is a seperate organisation. RTÉ give them programming though. TG4 already have on screen identification. it is so small you'd barely notice it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

They're slightly smaller and slightly more transparent - good but not quite good enough. They could do with being even smaller and more transparent. Caught a glimpse of that lil white box in the top rhs a few times - that I could live with. :p For a while at least.

It is what it's.

Originally posted by Kananga

You copying the RTÉ response is just smart!

You would be surprised how many people phone into RTÉ
    requesting TV3 programmes, and/or are unsure whether a
    programme was broadcast on RTÉ, TV3 or other.

I have nothing further to say to you that you are not
    already aware of.

Kind Regards"

Brigitte
    RTÉ Communications

She actually sent this to you?? This is a disgraceful response to send a licence fee holder. Talk about bloody rude. If this was a private company sending this kind of email to a customer she would be in bug trouble if she was complained about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Could everyone in boards just write an email asking them to remove the dogs/bugs.

Brigit will be delighted

Originally posted by Ludo
    She actually sent this to you?? This is a disgraceful response to send a licence fee holder. Talk about bloody rude. If this was a private company sending this kind of email to a customer she would be in bug trouble if she was complained about.

Yup, that was the exact resonse I got. They really are untouchable. They do whatever they want and feck the public's opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

A letter to the Times I think!

Mike.