Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Horse Racing Websites and Information Services

• 18-09-2003 8:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭

Well I'll kick off so. Just thought I post a couple of Horse Racing links that I use frequently. The first on is:

Racing

Irish Racing Services Web Site. Probably the best and most up to date racing web site in Ireland. IRS is owned (kinda indirectly) by the Irish Times. They are the only company in Ireland allowed to produce starting prices for Irish Race Meetings.

The Irish Field Currently owned and co-hosted by the Irish Times. The Irish Field wil become the property of the Agricultural Trust on the 19th of Sept 2003 (Tomorrow). BTW I do quite a bit of work for them.:cool:

The Racing Bible Not as accessable as it used to be, but still a fantastic resource.

Bloodstock

The key to any good horse is breeding. There are only 2 Bloodstock Auctioneers of any real signifigance in Ireland:

Goffs Ireland

and

Tattersalls Ireland

Both web sites are equally good and fairly comprehensive

Betting

www.paddypower.ie

www.ladbrokes.ie

William Hill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Irish Racing for all of the days irish racing cards, and facts and the like.

Aertel's Horse Racing page and it also gives you the tote prices so you can calculate how much you lost.

BBCs Horsey page - good for previous results.

The Racing Post - some call it the bible, but it's a slow web site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

new site that might interest some on this board. Good reading, i thought.

www.racereviewer.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

This is a good site for tips. Just fill in your details and they will send you an e-mail every day with a tip on it. The Saturday tips nearly always win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

www.oddschecker.com - Great for up to date odds and results

http://asx.sportcaster.net/williamhill/wh1.asx - Live horse-racing Commentary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 ft

www.horse-betting-systems.co.uk

small site with some good message board discussion on horse racing systems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

http://www.adrianmassey.com
    Exellent site that has stat's on almost everything possible in racing from Draw analysis to full jockey and trainer stats as well as producing daily ratings for each UK meeting.

http://www.racingconfidential.com/drawhowto.shtml
    Produces draw stats for each distance and track, allows you to enter the race conditions (i.e. no. runners, going, race type etc.) and produces draw stats for any races matching your criteria. A must for flat racing.

http://www.speedfigs.co.uk/
    Produces Speed figures for English flat racing, seems to be quite accurate in handicap races.

http://www.theracingforum.co.uk
    Forum dedicated to horse racing, some very knowledgable members including the owner of Betfair and bookie Barry Dennis.

http://www.patternform.co.uk
    Another ratings site that allows you to add filters and it produces ratings for a race based on your filters. Very popular site, although I have never really taken to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 cshunt

:) You can watch live horse racing on your pc. Great if you've got broadband. By downloading the following file at:

http://www.cs-hunt.supanet.com/live_horse_racing_v1.zip

The channel broadcasts in the afternoons only.

German language - but shows lots of racing from Dubai ect.

;) Enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 cshunt

:D Another good link:

Live Horse Racing Chat Page. (New, but becoming popular)

http://www.cs-hunt.supanet.com/chat.htm

;) Enjoy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭UpInClass

If you follow the "Road to the Roses" and are looking for a great place to find information about our American *Triple Crown* races (Kentucky Derby - Preakness - Belmont), you're invited to visit the UpInClass Racing Forum @ http://www.upinclass.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭nore

For Irish racing...

http://www.irishpunter.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

http://forum.betfair.com

Betfairs Horse Racing, Ante Post and General Betting forums are worth a read, if only to marvel at the pure chaos that goes on there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

CiaranC wrote:
    http://forum.betfair.com

Betfairs Horse Racing, Ante Post and General Betting forums are worth a read, if only to marvel at the pure chaos that goes on there.

for the record there is a guy that posts on there using the name scargill - but its not me !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

I came across an interesting Austrailian site yesterday, now although the advice is for Austrailian racing, it can definately be used for any racing really. Alot of the stuff is very general, not being race course specific or anything like that. One of the most interesting articles in the site is this one:
    http://www.form-pro.com.au/article_horseprofiles.html
    which suggests keeping detailed horse profiles. Give the site a good look over, it will definately change the way make your selections. Granted, following the advice on the site will take time, but I promise it will be worth it in the long run - if you are that serious about horse racing this site is a must see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭clusk007

http://www.bookies.com/

Similar to oddschecker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 collette38dd

i assume it's ok to post a site i'm promoting?

http://www.napitforum.com/forum/

Napit Sports forum: lots of informative write ups and has free competitions.

could do with a few more members - especially those with a sense of humour who enjoy the craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭joebhoy1916

Anyone know anywhere i can watch
    live racing for freethe meetings that does be
    on racing uk?

Anyone know anywhere i can watch
    live racing for freethe meetings that does be
    on racing uk?

I've looked before without any success. You're going to have to pay.

I was sure I'd posted this before but obviously not.

http://www.startingstalls.co.uk/

This is the absolute bible for draw advantage and stalls positioning for UK racing, any serious punter should consult this site before betting in a flat race where there may be a draw advantage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 pedropete

New user pimping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 meverly

eirebhoy wrote:
    This is a good site for tips. Just fill in your details and they will send you an e-mail every day with a tip on it. The Saturday tips nearly always win.
    This website was removed by one of the moderators after I posted it couple of weeks ago and was regarded as a spam website. Just FYI, eirebhoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

meverly wrote:
    This website was removed by one of the moderators after I posted it couple of weeks ago and was regarded as a spam website. Just FYI, eirebhoy.

It wasn't that it was regarded as a spam website, it was that you were regarded as a spammer. I wouldn't regard eirebhoy as a spammer.

Ok Fade2Black as a matter of my own pride I must stop referring to this website no matter how good it is since for posting the same website address as eirebhoy I was regarded as a spammer and he was not. I wouldn't regard Eirebhoy as a spammer either nor anyone else.

Meverly mate, you have to understand that when someone is new to boards and starts posting links to websites before they have ever really contributed to the forum then they have to be considered possible spammer material. I'm sure you were just contributing to the forum but you can imagine the amount of people who sign up to boards each day just to pimp a site? As an example, see post 22 in this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭finnpark

fade2black wrote:
    Meverly mate, you have to understand that when someone is new to boards and starts posting links to websites before they have ever really contributed to the forum then they have to be considered possible spammer material. I'm sure you were just contributing to the forum but you can imagine the amount of people who sign up to boards each day just to pimp a site? As an example, see post 22 in this thread.

Pedropete's was obviously a pimp alright - oldest trick in book that, offer a free tips web site to get folk hooked and then skin them dry.

www.racingbetter.co.uk - comprehensive webpage, including links to races, bookmakers, news, betting techniques, memorabilia and more.

hi everyone, how is the betting going? Would like to ask if you know the website www.gg.com - they offer tips for Friday too, but Thursday tips did not strike a high rate at all.
    Any ideas for May 19?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

eirebhoy wrote:

Fair play to ye mate. I only became a member yesterday and they won me 100 yoyo's today.

13/2 on Colateral damage 4.25 york
    A+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

Dun laoire wrote:
    Fair play to ye mate. I only became a member yesterday and they won me 100 yoyo's today.

13/2 on Colateral damage 4.25 york
    A+

A word of warning about that site......

I have no idea how good or bad the tips are because I stopped following it. But....
    I signed up about 3 years ago, and they must have put my e-mail address on a mailing list, because I STILL keep getting e-mails from various 'tipsters'. I have been blocking each one, but end up getting one or two new ones every week. If you are considering signing up to anything, set up a new e-mail address, and dont give out your regular one.

wbailey wrote:

I have no idea how good or bad the tips are because I stopped following it. But....
    I signed up about 3 years ago, and they must have put my e-mail address on a mailing list, because I STILL keep getting e-mails from various 'tipsters'. I have been blocking each one, but end up getting one or two new ones every week. If you are considering signing up to anything, set up a new e-mail address, and dont give out your regular one.

His tips are useless too, Ive got the web addres to his "bonus" tips too and they are not much better.

He picks hot favs, many odds on shots, and still only manages a SR between 20% and 40% max - not worth following. - he could be an email harvester as wbailey pointed out. At level stake he shows huge losses.

If you want to follow free tipsters I suggest:
    Glasgow Evening Times > 2/1 tips - very good long term.
    Irish Independent John Keane - also very good but as he picks big shots he will have long losing runs but his tips are generally excellent.
    The above 2 tipsters can be found at www.racingpost.co.uk for free - RP Ratings also is quite consistent. Getting

Value Scope in the Mirror every Saturday is also excellent. Well worth following for a year and a half now if your into free tipsters. He made about 300pts profit last year and is up about 150pts this year already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

wbailey wrote:

Sh1t, i must've just got lucky today, that was a good tip i must say, i was well pleased. Just gonna have to put up with the sh1t they're gonna send me now:rolleyes:

on www.gg.com found a few tips last night and i double checked on www.racingpost.co.uk - Double Vodka at 7.15 at Aintree was a winner (very good tips on Nottingham at 3.05 - the horses came placed (Shipmaster,Contemplation, Openide was 3rd). Will definitely keep look at those websites.

http://www.racingukguide.com - Latest Horse Racing Results, updated automatically as well as latest betting shows from our very own RTE Aertel.

Horse Racing Results

Horse Racing Live betting

After getting permission from a mod, I would like to post a site.

A mate of mine has set up this website.

The site is free, so he is not pimping anything and he wont spam your inbox.

As usual, when laying, you will need to fully understand what you are doing in order to make a profit. I have been following his (lay) tips for some time now on another forum and they have made a tidy profit. He has now started posting them on a site

These are lay tips, so a sensible staking plan is required, and careful records must be kept. Also, it is long term, so it can have 'losing' months, but so far it has levelled out over time and produced profit.

For the record, my starting bank of €200 in March now stands at €252.10

Anyway, feel free to have a peek:

http://www.lay-the-loser.co.uk/

wbailey wrote:
    The site is free, so he is not pimping anything and he wont spam your inbox.

:rolleyes: How long is it going to be free for though. Having it free at start is a great way to attract potential customers for charging later.

Also, the site was registered on the 31st May so the results prior to that are reduntant. They are not proofed so we have no way of knowing whether or not they are genuine. More than likely they are not as his proofed results show an ROI of just over 2% at SP and 0% Commision.

What are the chances that this will be a charging web site within 2 months.

How long is it going to be free for though. Having it free at start is a great way to attract potential customers for charging later.

True, but if he does start charging, I will remove the link. For the moment they are free, and he has provided free lays on another site for a good while now.
    Also, the site was registered on the 31st May so the results prior to that are reduntant. They are not proofed so we have no way of knowing whether or not they are genuine.

You can only take my word for this. He is posting them on another forum for a few months and I can assure you that they have been profitable (long term). There have been losing weeks etc. but with long term planning, it has leveled out so far.

I dont want to pimp other forums here, so I will pm you the link to where he has been posting them.

What are the chances that this will be a charging web site within 2 months
    . If it becomes a pay site, I will remove the link.

Ok thanks wbailey PM me the link.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 silax

hi finnpark the site waynes posted is mine
    i can assure you i have no intentions of charging for the service for the foreseeable future.
    but if i got a million people following them i'd charge €1 and become a millionare overnight woohoo
    seriously though if you want to know anything about it e-mail me on the link via the site and i'll be only to happy to answer any queries you have and give you any advise on gambling i've been laying horses for about 5 years and currently live in spain off the proceeds of my laying.
    i'm just an ordinary everyday guy who found a way to make an alternative through gambling.
    i don't do spamming with e-mails wouldn't know how.
    all the best

Welcome to the forum Silax. Unfortunately, Finnpark already knows everything there is to know about horse racing but I'm sure there are others who would benefit from your advice.

no probs ftb
    just trying to make sure nobody goes diving in trying to get rich overnight and losing a fortune don't no anybodies history on here so best to treat everybody as a newbie to gambling no offence meant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

finnpark wrote:
    :rolleyes: How long is it going to be free for though.
    Also, the site was registered on the 31st May so the results prior to that are reduntant. They are not proofed so we have no way of knowing whether or not they are genuine.
    I 'm telling you now Finn that the results Bailey is telling you about are true as I have been following Silax' lays for a while now

jimmyboy wrote:
    I 'm telling you now Finn that the results Bailey is telling you about are true as I have been following Silax' lays for a while now

Fair enough. An average of about 25pts per month over 4 months is some going:) At £100 per lay thats a profit of £2500 per month. Nice work. He must be very rich.

i'll take that as a compliment finbeck yeah an average of 25 points a month to betfair prices and not one horse over 10.5 off 1 system i think thats ok as well.
    as for being rich depends what you mean by rich i have a nice lifstyle living in spain and lets just say i get by on what i earn from horse racing. it cirtainly beats working in a factory to get by which is what i did before i started laying horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

finnpark wrote:
    At £100 per lay thats a profit of £2500 per month. Nice work.

Could Jimmyboy or Silax clarify the following for me please?

The average monthly profit of 25 points is to a Lay outlay of around 125 points in total (assuming an everage Betfair starting price of 6.0 -- midway between evens and the cut-off of 10.5).

Hence, to achieve the monthly profit of £2,500 would require a staking outlay of £12,500. Correct?

Could Jimmyboy or Silax clarify the following for me please?

The average monthly profit of 25 points is to a Lay outlay of around 125 points in total (assuming an everage Betfair starting price of 6.0 -- midway between evens and the cut-off of 10.5).

Hence, to achieve the monthly profit of £2,500 would require a staking outlay of £12,500. Correct?
    hi pro not sure exactly what you mean ok but i'll try and answer the question.
    i've been running them from jan to present this year figures from start 8th jan to end of may have recorded an average 25 points profit a month to betfair prices (not sp)
    the horses are all priced between 0.1 and 10.5 when i select them betfair prices. there are anything between 7 and 25 lays a day.
    i class a point as your lay stake on each horse not the liability so. i put 1 point on each horse no matter what the price. i cut off at 10.5 (don't lay anything higher)
    so if you lay them to a stake of say €4 a horse on average from day 1 you would have made an average of €100 a month up to the end of may.
    now to start with laying at €4 stake i would say you would need a gambling bank of minimun €400. they are not perfect and have losing runs like any system and you need a relativly big bank to cope with the losing runs.
    hope that helps and by the way june has been crap on them so far but only half through the month and hopefully i can make a profit this month.
    the site is free and will remain free for the foreseeable future. if you want any confidential advice you can e-mail me via the site or just post on here i'll always try and answer any questions as best i can.
    hope that helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

Silax, many thanks for your reply.

Unfortunately, some confusion still remains. If
    silax wrote:
    you lay them to a stake of say €4 a horse on average from day 1 you would have made an average of €100 a month up to the end of may.
    then that would would entail an outlay (liability) of 20 euro on the horse -- assuming an average SP of 5/1. Maybe to clarify, it would be helpful if you could state what your average outlay per month to achieve a profit of £100 would be. At an average SP it would be £500 (or £12,500 to win £2,500). Would you agree?

This is the difficulty with stating LSP figures for LAYING systems ......... sufficient account is not given to the staking outlay. A 25 point LSP of a LAYING system is a whole world apart from a 25pt LSP figure of a BACKING system where the outlay on each bet is only 1 point -- as against an outlay of (say) 5 points when it is a LAYING system.

Many thanks again for your help. I do accept that 25 points per month is an excellent return, but, consideration must be given to the outlay required to achieve this.

very true pro
    return on investment is very low on all laying systems as most of the time you are basically betting odds on which is why normally a system producing 1 lay a day is not good the simple fact being there are not enough selection to make a good return on your money.
    one of the main reasons i like this system is because there are lots of horses so you have a chance to make a descent profit over the month also the losses on a winning lay can be recovered quite quickly.
    staking €100 a day means an investment of roughly (if you take the average price at 7.0) €6,000 a day x this by 30 means an investment of €180,000 a month to make €2,500.
    if you put it like that the returns are very poor for the investment.
    on the other hand you don't need €180,000 a month thats just the amount of cash you are using if you total it up day by day.
    playing relativly safely i use a bank of €40k with this system it goes up and down and over 12 months i can hopefully make €30,000 a year.
    so in reality i'm investing €40,000 to make €30,000.
    it really does depend on how you look at the overall picture.
    with all systems you also run the risk of losing your cash but thats the first descion you take when gambling. you gamble at a level you can afford to lose.
    hope this helps a bit

This has ceased to be a website and informtaion services thread....can we take it elsewhere lads.

sorry ftb was just trying to answer the questions.
    if you want to move it or delete it thats fine by me

Open up a thread for yourself mate...let people ask away there.