Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Recreational" Drugs

• 23-08-2003 3:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭

during a conversation i had with some people in #boards.ie about the use of recreational drugs, i have found myself questioning some of the beliefs i have had about drug use in ireland.

It appears to me that the drugs culture is a lot bigger han i originally thought. Personaly i think taking drugs is pretty stupid but i'd like to see the percentage of people who would disagree and take them regularly.

I am no expert in the matter so my opinions are based on what i have been told by people who have given talks in my school and stories i have heard about what these drugs do to people. Which is why i'd like to see what you guys have to say.

"order" is supposed to be "harder"

What drugs have you taken and how often? 192 votes

Ecstacy
    0% 0 votes
    Mushrooms
    23% 46 votes
    Acid
    16% 32 votes
    Other "order" Drugs (post what)
    10% 21 votes
    I Take them Occasionally
    23% 45 votes
    I Take them often \ whenever I go out
    25% 48 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Originally posted by Truckle
    Personaly i think taking drugs is pretty stupid
    agreed, but i have no problem with those that take them though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

I had the pleasure of being involved in this heated debate

I did take drugs for many years, if it was put in front of me i'd take it was my aproach from when i was about 14. This is a ****ing idiots mind set to have.

I don't take drugs anymore for various different reasons, but I would never try and put someone off taken them, based on the expirience I have had with them.

People who gives these talks in schools normally have no first hand expirience with drug taken and usually provide gullible kids with the horror stories to frighten them away.

You rarley here the other side of the coin. after taken many hard drugs for 6 years on a very regular basis, I myself have never had a bad expirience and don't know anyone who has. I've been at events with 60,000 people with a very high percentage on drugs not one fight broke out and no horror stories.

but in my first month of drinking alchol i was arrested..hmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

you should add an option for people who dont do drugs at all - that way you would be able to see how many do compared to dont ?

I have done and try not to , but when your constantly around people who are its hard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

Originally posted by Tusky
    you should add an option for people who dont do drugs at all - that way you would be able to see how many do compared to dont ?

I have done and try not to , but when your constantly around people who are its hard

Taken drugs because you're friends take them.
    this is something I don't agree with and can't really understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

I just drink. No Drugs for me. :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

No - I dont take them because my friends take them , I originally took them because I was curious , but if you are out with your friends and they are all partaking in whatever it is then it is VERY tempting,

You only really realise how hard it is to stay away after you have tried pills or whatever ( please note - pills are devil biscuits and people are doing them around you ) ,

Maybe I was unclear originally but taking drugs to "fit in" or to be "cool" is not what I meant :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

I maintain that if you told teenage boys what taking Ecstacy does to the size of your knob, they'd never touch 'em.

(You can always spot the newbies in a club, they're the ones stood at the urianals panicking and going "where the fuck has my cock gone!"...)

Originally posted by Shinji
    I maintain that if you told teenage boys what taking Ecstacy does to the size of your knob, they'd never touch 'em.

(You can always spot the newbies in a club, they're the ones stood at the urianals panicking and going "where the fuck has my cock gone!"...)

I never found that really with E, speed now...walnut whip...mmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

I don't drink, take drugs, or smoke. My only vice is caffeine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Have done Ecstacy and Hash and on the odd time I still do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

I have never imbibed a class A drug, but I've certainly had my experiences with the other categories. I have to say, my experiences have been more or less wholly positive. There's an awful lot of misinformation dished out on the issue. And let's face it, any of those talks you refer to rarely go beyond "all drugs are bad, stay away from them!". In this day and age, that just doesn't cut it.

I don't think it is upon any of us to decide what other people are allowed shove up their nose. Ok, it's an archly liberal position, but I've been coming around to the complete legalisation idea for a little while now. At the very least some of the ideas put to use in Holland etc should be considered. If you don't want teenagers dying from taking E that was cut with rat-poison then set up the facilities to test it before its taken. Want to stop the spread of HIV between drug-addicts? Then organise needle provision programs.

Yeah drugs can be bad. So can drink. And that's practically compulsory in this country.

Drugs. I like them in moderation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Lukin Black

Did ecstacy once, hash several times. Would only do hash if I was in the mood - have turned it down as often as not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

There was a similar thread a while back on this subject, so I'm not going to get too deep into it (also I was involved in the aforementioned IRC session). The bottom line for me is that I'm going to do whatever the hell I like, and begrudgers be damned. Whatever recreational drugs I choose to take, it has no immediate effect on anyone else. So, just as I respect other people's beliefs and informed decisions, I sure as hell will not put up with someone bitching at me for doing something (however stupid they think it is) that I enjoy doing.
    Originally posted by Truckle

I am no expert in the matter so my opinions are based on what i have been told by people who have given talks in my school and stories i have heard about what these drugs do to people

You have a one-sided view of the issue. You are basing your anti-drugs stance on information you have been given by sensationalist anti-drugs fun-nazis whose primary agenda is to scare the crap out of you. They'll feed you horror story after horror story (many of which I find hard to believe to be honest) to get you to think the way they want you to. I have heard plenty of anti-drugs speeches in my time, and of all the horrible stories I've heard about what "will" happen to drug users, I've never known anyone who has had those kinds of experiences. E.g. the ridiculous idea that someone would regularly cut ecstacy tablets with rat poison - quite clearly it's not exactly going to be very good business to kill your customers. If people are wondering how regular recreational drug-users can be so casual about the issue, it's because there really isn't as high a risk as some anti-drugs doomsayers would have you believe.
    Originally posted by DriftingRain

I just drink. No Drugs for me.

Nice contradiction there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i think that was intentional sico dear :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Mushy in amsterdam or if i m8 can get them which is rare
    went through about a 4 month spell of doing pills every 2nd weekend
    done a good amount of coke this year a m8 is selling the crap so i havent payed for any. I still dont get any effect off coke compared to what im like on mushys or pills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭nadir

Personaly i think taking drugs is pretty stupid
    I just drink. No Drugs for me

personally i find these kind of opinions 'stupid'
    and in particular those who say stuff like i just take alchol, or coffee.
    And let me tell you coffee is some heavy ****.
    Everyone should be allowed to do whatever they want. Doesnt bother me if people take drugs or not. Apart from when young people get dependent on addictive Hard drugs. But this thread is about recreational drugs which I assume you mean stuff like, dope, xtc, alcohol .etc.
    Who cares,
    Bubba like to smoke a spliff in the mornin and pop a pill at the weekend. Big Swing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Surely hash is the most popular drug in Ireland so why isnt it in your poll shortlist?
    Personally speaking I smoke hash about maybe two or three times a month. I seldom buy any myself. Most of my use is just when its passed around in a club or a drinking session or whatever. 90% of hash I have ever smoked has been scabbed off others;)
    Practically all my mates have done drugs at one time or another. Only about two or three of them have never used. Some are daily users. Some like me only use it at the weekend or whatever. Some only smoke at concerts and other events. Ive no problem if they arent arsed doing it .

If anybody cares Ive been clean of drugs for 12 hours:D A few pints and 5 mins on a joint are good craic.

But as people are saying when you think about it in terms of danger hash is safer than alcohol. You can drink a lethal amount of alcohol in one night but bar you smoke a few joints a day for many years and develop cancer hash will not kill you. Even the threat from ecstasy is a bit hyped.(no offence to anyone who knows somebody who died from taking it but it is alot rarer than the media would have you believe)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Turnip

I don't take illegal drugs and I don't like people who take them and talk about little else. Either get off your fat arses and campaign to get them legalised or stop funding scummy criminal gangs you stupid lazy smelly stupid hippy bastards. :mad: I wish you'd all feck off to amsterdam and stay there.

Haha. Trollicious!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

Go turnip.
    I used to smoke the odd bit in college but have turned my back on it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

Tried Ecstacy/Coke/Speed.

Coke is very dangerous [imo]..far too confident and willing to do anything really.

Speed was horrible. very paranoid and thought i was being chased about my own home.

Ecstacy was the nicest but is proably the ugliest and too aware of what of what it does to you [physically]..limp jaw and all the jitters and your eyes flicking about the place..uhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

Either get off your fat arses...

Actually I've noted a significant reduction in the fatness quotient of my arse as a direct result of certain recreational drugs. Woot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

/me breaks out the pom-poms and does a dance and theme song for turnip "SAY NO, SAY NO, SAY NONONO TO DRUGS"

drugs are bad mmmmmmK! My mate lost his left testicle when he took X, Y, Z! Steer clear :rolleyes:

Tried pills/mushies etc beforehand but it doesn't tempt me anymore at all.

The drink and a few smokes are my only indulgencies now, apart from the caffeine/paracetamol :p

ROFL shinji, I know a few girls at school/college that noticed the same, mebbe if we get em legalised we can start organising the best weight loss programme ever know to the human race!

"Requiem For A Dream" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

Never tried them but just as a matter of interest how many people took them and knew the dangers of what they were taking, the exact drug itself and weather it was pure? I mean it is very easy for someone to post here they have tried them, but how many of you actually have? Dont get me wrong I am not attacking you lot, your lives, you do what you want with them.

In reply to Sico, have a look at the statistics from the National Lavboratory of Ireland, it has been shown that warafin and other drugs (paracetomol, anti inflammitorys ,whatever have been put in, I read it in a Science magazine, very reliable publication . I will try and find the website.

There's no doubt that you can have drugs getting cut with various unsavoury substances, Sico is just stating that for a number of reasons semi-intelligent dealers are not going to supply something that will almost certainly cause death or serious harm.

Obviously it is very hard to know how pure the stuff you're taking is. The fewer hands it has passed through the better the likelihood it is reasonably pure, so try and get it off someone near the top of the tree if you must have it... of course with pills this doesn't really apply...what can you do except hope that your supplier provides only the finest narcotics :)

The first time I took Ecstasy was unsurprisingly when I was probably least well-informed, but I was well aware that what I was doing was potentially dangerous. I could remember the clutch of Ecstasy related deaths in the UK, which had occured not all that long beforehand. You make your calls and live with the consequences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭richindub2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

I smoked hash once.
    Not a good idea when one has epilepsy.
    I fell down a flight of stairs shortly after smoking and put my head through a window.
    Its okay though - strangely, I dont remember it.

But the thing is why put your lives at risk when you know there is better ways of satisfying yourself, I mean be promiscous or drink yourself under the table, its pretty easy to ake precautions with that but when taking drugs there is no safety vavle s to speak . I mean if I have sex I will use a condom, if I drink , I can have a couple of pints of water but what about drugs?

But the thing is why put your lives at risk when you know there is better ways of satisfying yourself, I mean be promiscous or drink yourself under the table

Haha! Being promiscuous is dangerous, and you can't protect yourself against everything. Condoms won't stop pubic lice, and as far as I know do not fully protect against Herpes or other STDs that can be passed by genital contact. And herpes isn't just for Christmas. As for drinking yourself under the table..well if you took precautions and drank water (not that this will do a whole lot) then you wouldn't be under the table, would you? And getting very drunk is dangerous for a variety of reasons, which I'm sure noone needs to run through.

Anyway, none of those are comparable to drug use. People take drugs because they like the feeling they induce. Drugs are not as dangerous as many would have you believe. If you start forming a habit then yes most drugs can be dangerous, but if you avoid the nasty ones and don't take the lesser ones to excess you are not endangering yourself unduly, in my opinion.

I'd prefer my sister to take the occasional pill rather than be promiscuous any day :)

I agree to disagree I am afraid, I think you are kidding yourself bud !

What is it that you disagree with? And in what way do you think I am kidding myself? Regarding the danger?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 meesha_beesha

Do you mean those untaxed drugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Originally posted by dendenz
    there is better ways of satisfying yourself, I mean be promiscous or drink yourself under the table

Please, please tell me you have enough of a brain left after all that booze to see the irony in that post :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

But the thing is why put your lives at risk when you know there is better ways of satisfying yourself, I mean be promiscous or drink yourself under the table, its pretty easy to ake precautions with that but when taking drugs there is no safety vavle s to speak . I mean if I have sex I will use a condom, if I drink , I can have a couple of pints of water but what about drugs?

I vote this post "stupidest post EVER!"

Well done dendenz. I'm not even going to argue with you about this one, because anybody with a single ounce of intelligence, whether they take drugs or not will know that your post is pure shíte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 933 ✭✭✭mooman_00

i take extacy most weekends except during college when i do it every two or three weekends.

ive started to take coke regulary which is a balls cuz its expensive

ive taken speed and mushrooms occasionnaly

I dont smoke hash cuz i dont like it nor do i drink to the point of getting drunk.

in three years of drug taking ive never once had a bad experience nor have any of my mates. Ive seen a lot of people i know land themselves in far worse trouble from drink related issues.

I'd also like to add that drugs can be taken safely* as long as its in moderation and the person is well informed as to what they are doing..

*You know what i mean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Emmo

Well I have taken E in pill form for about 3 years very infrequently, maybe once a month except for the last 6 months or so during which I have taken pills about once a week.

I have also take coke infrequently and I occasionally bake magic muffins.

I knew well the dangers of all drugs before I started taking them (21 years old) so I feel as if I wasnt misinformed but came around to the decision on my own.

I get my drugs of a dealer that I actually go out pilling with so they are very very good quality and at cost price.

Emmo

OK, So maybe I am naive and maybe drugs are safe. I am only going on the basis of what I know and I will admit I put my point across very badly. Bsically I am saying with alcahol and sex preventitve measures can be taken but not with drugs, I do apologise for that tongue tied post but look I am just intrigued as to why you are aware of the dangers yet still partake in "drug taking". I mean one small pill could evne kill you. How many of you wll end up on a slab in a morgue due to your misadventures, eh? Think about it. I dont mean to go off the point but it's all very well half of you posting here, yes I take drugs etc. but how many of you say that to fit in with the corwd? Its your life guys , your funeral, I ahve seen the danger of drugs and what they can do. Dont expect people to be looking sympathetically on your lives when your funerals come along due to your idiotic thrills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I don't do any drugs.

Eh, the poll is FUBARed. No "none" option, no multiple choice option.

I grew up in the South Inner City and have people I grew up with shot, stabbed, beaten to death all because of drugs, Heroin, and Crack.

Firstly Pills can be fatal if you dont drink enough water and go mental dancing or if you drink too much water and go mental drinking. You will either overheat and have a heartattack or end up with a failing Liver. That being said you can kill yourself by spending to much time in the sun or by drinking to much alcohol.

The thing to remember with drugs is they have no quality control so you need to trust you dealer. Thats why dingy flat with junkies hanging outside it is a bad place to get pills, comfortable appartment in city centre where dealer and his bird live and talk about feeling and surfing. Great place to get them.

You need to use your cop-on when using drugs.

I have seen how drugs can kill on both ends both from misuse and from someone beating the hell out of someone else for not paying up but things like this happens time and again with drink.

More assaults on the street are related to drink than drugs. If you factor out all the drugs cept Heroin and Crack I would say the figure would be minsicule.

Emmo

All a dealer care's about id where his next customer is going to come from. For every "E" head out there who dies due to misuse of the drug, there'll be another stupid c*nt ready to take his place. IMO I think you are all naive little kids with a little too much time on your hands, take up something else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

First there is very little cash to be made on E at the moment.

They retail on the street for about 7 euro and the dealer if he buys in big enough amounts can get em for 3 euro.

So profit wise thats 4 euro a pill.

For a person to make 30,000 a year from selling pills he needs to sell 7500, no that might not sound a lot but thats 144 a week.

If you take 2 a night (belive me when your on good pills 2 is plenty) then thats still 70 odd people to sell to and with so many dealers out there the only way to sell them is to be trusted, to sell good stuff and to looking for a win/win deal every time.

I buy 30 pills at a time from my dealer, minimise risk and get a better price.

No matter what anyone says you are going to call them stupid or immature Dendez but I hold down quite a good job in the city and have a mortage so im not a immature kid or stupid. Perhaps you could re-asses your profile on the average drug user?

Emmo

Anyone remember Lea Beths or should I jog a cople of memories, now dont get me wrong , I go out and get hammered drunk but I know I dont risk killing myself with a couple of drinks on me. Lea Beths died after her 18th Birthday Party after ONE Ecstasy pill.

Think about it. I dont mean to go off the point but it's all very well half of you posting here, yes I take drugs etc. but how many of you say that to fit in with the corwd? Its your life guys , your funeral, I have seen the danger of drugs and what they can do. Dont expect people to be looking sympathetically on your lives when your funerals come along due to your idiotic thrills.

Doesn't matter what the reasons are for taking them, I'm sure people will do anything when they're young and want to "fit in with the crowd"

I never for one instant expected anyone to look down on me with sympathy should I die from taking drugs either.
    Between my group of friends in secondary school, we researched the matter, had heard of the horror stories blah blah blah and we made ourselves a little pact to not feel sorry for someone who died because of what they had taken as we accepted the potential risk and it was our personal choice to do what we did and put our lives at risk. In fact I think the sympathy lied moreso on our behalf for what our family/friends would have to go through should we die because of our curiosity and willingness to experiment.

Anyone remember Lea Beths or should I jog a cople of memories

Oh my god, we're all bound to die! One E tablet will kill!
    shouldn't let this board distract you from reading the Sun.

1) I agree Tact, people will do whatever they can to fit i with the crowd as no one likes being "left out". The families go through a torment

2) Ihave no problem if people want to support the scum of society. Of course the dealer lives in a plush pad, but hey thats because he hasa couple of mugs who paid for it.

3) http://www.geocities.com/ebrunsdon/info/ecstasy.html

Have a read of that link if you wish, pretty informative .

Bugler thats just ignorance on your part, tnhe very fact that one ecstasy tablet kills you is well documented. Dont get me wrong , I am not looking to change minds or troll but merley point out the dangers. But is life that bad for some of you that you have to go on a high ??

no thanks dendenz, I'm no longer interested as I stated in my first post in the thread, I know how it works.

In fact your view on drugs comes from your experience with them really in the end doesn't it, in your case being they're bad bad bad and they kill kill kill which I'll agree with to an extent but I know anything I took was safe safe safe and fun fun fun.-

what was the story with that girl, irregular heartbeat or dehydration or what anyway?

example - one of my mates in the group in secondary school had a heart flutter/irregular heartbeat and thus 1 ecstacy tablet would have had far more chance of killing him than any of us so on his doctor's advice he never touched a pill in his life, we had some good times with the shrooms though and there is no drug dealer involved there so who's makin the money and where are the tormented families? :p