Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The girl on the Dart

• 13-08-2003 11:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭

It was the morning after an extremely indulgent night before. What had started as a quiet drink in the shade of the canopy at The Bailey on Duke Street had inevitably developed into an almighty session and a traipse around the usual Dublin city centre pubs and clubs. Dealing with drink-induced dehydration is an annoyance at the best of time- in the prevailing dead heat the problem was exacerbated manifold.

We debated the options- The Queens in Dalkey? A trip down to Greystones? The Wicked Wolf in Blackrock? Eventually we settled on a trip out to the 40-Foot bar in Dun Laoghaire as the solution. A healthy light brunch sitting out in the sea breeze followed by a brisk walk along the pier would surely sort out our self-inflicted woes.

After a few black coffees and the guts of a large bottle of Ballygowan each to fortify us for our excursion, we made the short walk to Sandymount Dart station. We made smalltalk about the missed opportunities from the night before, the girls-that-might-have-been, at what point we had crossed the line of overdoing the drinking, about what we would do differently next time to maximise the opportunities.

When it eventually arrived , we got on the Dart. Though there were plenty of seats available, we stood opposite the opening doors and continued with our banter, laughing at incidents that had come to pass the night before that were probably humorous to nobody but ourselves.

I looked up, and in the seat in the corner of the carriage was the most astonishingly beautiful girl I have ever seen. If you took Denise Richards as a starting point, then made her prettier, with more presence and less attitude, gave her a naturally beautiful symmetric face with a high forehead, you’d only understand a fraction of how stunningly beautiful this girl was. She wore no make up, for makeup would only have detracted from her natural beauty. She didn’t have some leather D&G handbag or YSL purse hanging out of her, because her elegance was eternal, not defined by some fleeting label-defined trend. She had a long flowing curled blonde hair, cared for but not over-cared for. Gorgeous lips and an exquisite nose, a charming smile and the sort of complexion that Leonardo would crave in a subject completed this magnificent vision of beauty.

I was awestruck. I dearly hoped that she had planned for herself a brunch in the 40-Foot bar, that I might approach her and ask her something inane like ‘Didn’t I see you on the Dart earlier?’. After a languorous afternoon enjoying each others company in the sun, she would see the wisdom of our settling down; in time she would bear our children, and many years hence when enjoying each others companionship in our twilight years, we would fondly recall the day we had brunch together for the first time in Dun Laoghaire.

As I stood there besotted, I refined the weaknesses in my plan. In the five minutes before the Dart arrived at Dun Laoghaire station, I honed the approach and conceived all sorts of humorous things to say that might entertain her. I imagined her dazzling smile and her spectacular eyes sitting across from me. I wondered, when I would eventually propose marriage, where would be a sufficiently elegant place to bring her?

Lost in the delight that destiny had finally smiled so gracefully on me, I alighted the train at Dun Laoghaire Station. The doors were closing when I turned around, and she was still sitting in her seat. As the train pulled out of the station, I wondered, perhaps, should we have arranged to have brunch in Dalkey in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

times like these one of those photo phones would come in handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dampsquid

Dod, I'd say the Gardai are out looking for you right now... Stalker Alert!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Went to the beach the other day.
    Eyed up this cracker on the train.
    No luck - lezzer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭bugler

Something like that happened me probably every second time I used the tube in London. It's nice to look, but as brazen as I am (I have approached a couple of women in the street before, no not those kinds of women, well not all of them..) I think let them travel on in peace.

They'll almost certainly burn you anyway, unless they like strange men approaching them on public transport :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

Dont moments like that make life worth while... :D

Ive seen a few ladies like that in my time, none in my company of course.. more like passing them on the street or see them driving by..

Isnt nature wnderful when they can create someone so beautiful and then if by chance you do bump into them in a pub or a cafe and you say hello..

they open their beautiful lips to a reply and say....

HOWWWYYAAAASSSSS!!!!!!

in a thick northsider accent or a thick culchie accent that would scare the sh*te outta even the most fearsome opponent.... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭ThreadKiller

Originally posted by dod

I looked up, and in the seat in the corner of the carriage was the most astonishingly beautiful girl I have ever seen. If you took Denise Richards as a starting point, then made her prettier, with more presence and less attitude, gave her a naturally beautiful symmetric face with a high forehead, you’d only understand a fraction of how stunningly beautiful this girl was. She wore no make up, for makeup would only have detracted from her natural beauty. She didn’t have some leather D&G handbag or YSL purse hanging out of her, because her elegance was eternal, not defined by some fleeting label-defined trend. She had a long flowing curled blonde hair, cared for but not over-cared for. Gorgeous lips and an exquisite nose, a charming smile and the sort of complexion that Leonardo would crave in a subject completed this magnificent vision of beauty.

Hmmmmm... sounds suspiciously like my wife...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Oh dear... what a load of D4-sounding twaddle (or something directly from The Orange Mocha-Chip Frappucino Years).
    What Dustaz said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

Originally posted by Dustaz
    Went to the beach the other day.
    Eyed up this cracker on the train.
    No luck - lezzer.

LOL, ah ****in brilliantly said :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

dustaz novel was better.
    you suck shakespear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

Originally posted by fisty
    dustaz novel was better.
    you suck shakespear!

LOL:D :D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Originally posted by Kali
    Oh dear... what a load of D4-sounding twaddle (or something directly from The Orange Mocha-Chip Frappucino Years).

My words floated on wings of electrons from my palate and alighted on Kali's frontal lobes with the grace of dainty fingers on a keyboard of satin.

Read: blegh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

I had a scenario like that recently, but at least I did talk to her and she "blatantly" did say where she worked. I could find her but ... nah.
    Originally posted by bugler
    (I have approached a couple of women in the street before, no not those kinds of women, well not all of them
    ... and when you weren't sober?

Technically I was sober, but undergoing one of my delusions of grandeur when it comes to my ability to interact with females. It normally sorts itself out after a bit..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

It was the morning after a quiet evening watching eastenders with a glass of red wine in one hand and the gently wafting aroma of dinner drifting in from the kitchen. 10 o'clock had struck and I went upstairs to relax with some yoga before bed.

The next morning the sun rose high in the sky, I knew it was going to be another scorcher. My dear old gran would love some company I thought, so I will take a trip out to Bray to visit her and enjoy a healthy light brunch sitting out in the sea breeze.

I had a low-fat, high-fibre bowl of breakfast cereal to fortify me for the trip south and walked to the nearby dart station. Humming to myself and enjoying the way the breeze gently rustled my long golden curls I waited patiently for the long-overdue train. I glanced around at the other waiting passengers and smiled as a small child played with a colourful balloon.

When the dart arrived, I took a comfortable seat in the corner of the carriage. At the next stop, Sandymount, a group of dissheveled looking guys trooped on to the train, and despite the many empty seats, crowded around the open doors, noisily referring to incidents that had occured on their night out and laughing uproariously. I turned my face to look out the window and prayed silently that they would not come and sit near to me.

Suddenly my gaze out the window was disturbed by the knowledge that someone was staring at me. I turned my eyes away from the window to glance around the carriage and immediately noticed that one of the unruly guys from the group that had entered the train previously was staring at me with no indication of embarrasment. His mouth was gaping half-open so that I could see his not-so-white teeth, and the day old stubble on his face only made him look more disturbing. A smell of alcohol and vomit wafted across the carriage towards me and I turned my head away. I clutched my cheap dunnes stores handbag to my side and hoped that he would stop looking at me.

Looking around again, I saw him mentally steeling himself, as if he was going to cross the carriage to speak with me. I wondered what he would possibly have to say to me - 'haven't I seen you before?' or some other cheesy line I thought. He had closed his mouth by this time but was still staring at me as if there was nothing else in the world to look at. I made a mental note of the wherabouts of others in the carriage in case it became necessary for me to seek help. He made a move as if to approach me and I gasped and prepared to get off at the next stop but luckily his friends nudged him and exclaimed that this was their stop.

I breathed a sigh of relief and relaxed, looking forward to seeing my dear gran again. I will get the bus home I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Originally posted by dod
    It was the morning after an extremely indulgent night before. What had started as a quiet drink in the shade of the canopy at The Bailey on Duke Street had inevitably developed into an almighty session and a traipse around the usual Dublin city centre pubs and clubs. Dealing with drink-induced dehydration is an annoyance at the best of time- in the prevailing dead heat the problem was exacerbated manifold.

We debated the options- The Queens in Dalkey? A trip down to Greystones? The Wicked Wolf in Blackrock? Eventually we settled on a trip out to the 40-Foot bar in Dun Laoghaire as the solution. A healthy light brunch sitting out in the sea breeze followed by a brisk walk along the pier would surely sort out our self-inflicted woes.

After a few black coffees and the guts of a large bottle of Ballygowan each to fortify us for our excursion, we made the short walk to Sandymount Dart station. We made smalltalk about the missed opportunities from the night before, the girls-that-might-have-been, at what point we had crossed the line of overdoing the drinking, about what we would do differently next time to maximise the opportunities.

When it eventually arrived , we got on the Dart. Though there were plenty of seats available, we stood opposite the opening doors and continued with our banter, laughing at incidents that had come to pass the night before that were probably humorous to nobody but ourselves.

I was awestruck. I dearly hoped that she had planned for herself a brunch in the 40-Foot bar, that I might approach her and ask her something inane like ‘Didn’t I see you on the Dart earlier?’. After a languorous afternoon enjoying each others company in the sun, she would see the wisdom of our settling down; in time she would bear our children, and many years hence when enjoying each others companionship in our twilight years, we would fondly recall the day we had brunch together for the first time in Dun Laoghaire.

As I stood there besotted, I refined the weaknesses in my plan. In the five minutes before the Dart arrived at Dun Laoghaire station, I honed the approach and conceived all sorts of humorous things to say that might entertain her. I imagined her dazzling smile and her spectacular eyes sitting across from me. I wondered, when I would eventually propose marriage, where would be a sufficiently elegant place to bring her?

Lost in the delight that destiny had finally smiled so gracefully on me, I alighted the train at Dun Laoghaire Station. The doors were closing when I turned around, and she was still sitting in her seat. As the train pulled out of the station, I wondered, perhaps, should we have arranged to have brunch in Dalkey in the first place.

You are the saddest person I have ever met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

Go easy on the chap.......I recall a similar post set in Bewelys if memory serves me. ;)
    The chaps clearly a romantic, and not afraid to say so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

Originally posted by Wyvern
    It was the morning after a quiet evening watching eastenders with a glass of red wine in one hand and the gently wafting aroma of dinner drifting in from the kitchen. 10 o'clock had struck and I went upstairs to relax with some yoga before bed.

...<snip/>...

I breathed a sigh of relief and relaxed, looking forward to seeing my dear gran again. I will get the bus home I thought.

Absolutely top notch Wyvern. Top notch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

Ah now, it just doesn't compare to your literary skills :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 743 ✭✭✭UbahOne

Oh Christ...Romantic? Possibly...overdoing it? EH YE!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Depends what you call romance I suppose. By todays standards Romeo would be arrested for climbing up into Juliets penthouse just because he got a quick snog in the club earlier. I guess back in those days full on stalking was appreciated for all the hard work it does intail. What is it with women these days, cant even lurk in a tree behind their bedrooms with a pair of night vision goggles when their getting changes without them getting all restraining ordery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

I saw a lovely girl on the DART today. She tried to steal my paper.

I saw a group of scum on the dart down the back. They looked like ****, smelled like **** and had a limp and no teeth. Wow welcome to Dublin...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Thread of the month I thinks, along with the Male Masturbation one. I liked dod's post even thought it was a lot like the Bewleys one, but it was entertaining none the less. But Wyvern's was sheer genius, too much time went in to that reply :)

But still "Thread of the Month™"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭kamobe

There was a similar bunch of hoodlums sitting down the back of my carriage today as well.They weren't making much sense but generally barked in a Dublin accent. I wonder if they were celebrating exam results.

Poor chaps...

I hate Scum...id love to kick you into England or something with a GIGANTIC BOOT :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

roffle Wyvern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

HAHA Wyvern.
    Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

pld dod and wyvern :)

Dod - I met you at Seán's 21st, but i've forgotten your name man...Damien...David...Darren?

Can't remember :/
    Shite with names, rememebr your face though.

Rugby jersey too. Big lad. Sound chap.

why wasnt i at this birthday party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by dod
    I looked up, and in the seat in the corner of the carriage was the most astonishingly beautiful girl I have ever seen. If you took Denise Richards as a starting point, then made her prettier, with more presence and less attitude, gave her a naturally beautiful symmetric face with a high forehead and the sweetest adams apple, you’d only understand a fraction of how stunningly beautiful this girl was.

O_O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

roflmao, Well written Wyvern

A.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

lol @hobbes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

2 classic short stories . 2 totaly different perspectives . 1 movie to come

While it's true that the Adam's apple is far more prominent in males than females, it isn't true to state that females have no adam's apple at all. It can be quite obvious on some, and is not an indicator of transgender monkey-business per se.

lock this ****e...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭MrScruff

I have seen many girls,
    On many DARTs,
    That is all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

Ubahone doesnt seem to appreciate "If Only Syndrome".
    As in If only i wasn't a nerd so i could have a chance with "her".

(Disclaimer:I have no idea if the orig poster is a nerd or not :p )

O btw i dont suffer from it, i suffer from "She was ugly anyway Syndrome" ;)

lol i just think its turning into ****e...

PS: how do i have 19 posts per day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

because you post so much rubbish.

Yo moma is my moma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Originally posted by UbahOne
    lol i just think its turning into ****e...

nothing nice to say, dont say it atall, if you dont like what your reading then dont read it..
    Originally posted by UbahOne
    PS: how do i have 19 posts per day?

because your a cocky arrogant man utd supporter who feels the need to waste my time on the football forum with 15+ crappy posts about man utd per day

Hey i think this thread was good but it turned to ****e...adams apples? I mean come on...

Big Chief...take a chill pill.

im not mad, nor do i need a chill pill. Was just answering your question

its not like this is the 1st thread to go 'off-topic' on boards either :p

dod, good writing skills as per usual, I actually do enjoy reading your posts, a bit cheesy all the same but good on you. Although i thought the reply by wyvern was 2nd to none :p

anyway im more of a dustaz thinker myself, good to see the other side of the fence though :)

edit =
    If you took Denise Richards as a starting point, then made her prettier, with more presence and less attitude, gave her a naturally beautiful symmetric face with a high forehead, you’d only understand a fraction of how stunningly beautiful this girl was. She wore no make up, for makeup would only have detracted from her natural beauty. She didn’t have some leather D&G handbag or YSL purse hanging out of her, because her elegance was eternal, not defined by some fleeting label-defined trend. She had a long flowing curled blonde hair, cared for but not over-cared for. Gorgeous lips and an exquisite nose, a charming smile

i dont know exactly why but that paragraph really struck a note with me. Im no cheesy guy but that stuck.. reminds me of my ex except with brown not blonde hair

I waste your time on the soccer forum with 15+ posts per day....ban me then?

i wouldnt ban you, plus the fact i cant as i aint a moderator for that forum.

most man utd supporters are cocky + arrogant, and most of them have never been to manchester in there life. I just get on with it, all i did was answer your question about why you have 19 posts a day, I genuinely wasnt having a go :p

*ok cocky and arrogant was 'maybe' having a small dig, but when it comes to man utd... i take every opportunity i can!*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

He's not a soccer mod :p

Denise Richards :) hmmmmmmmm (sorry i couldnt help myself any longer)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

this is looking dead now but it has to be said
    B-K-DzR
    ur second smily is classic