Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overhyped Dubs wilt again!

• 05-07-2003 4:57pm
    Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Well done Armagh ,Armagh proved Dublin simply are not good enough.
    Apart from Westlife they are the most overhyped group of guys on this island.When questions were asked Armagh answered but Dublin wilted.
    Yet again Whelan [who has the ability to put in awesome performances] was terrible again today.Once i saw Dessie Farrells and Sherlocks names on team sheet i knew things were looking bad for the Dubs.

Nothing else to say but "BYE BYE Dublin" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Yeah, fair play to Armagh...great second-half performance.

I have to admit I enjoyed the interview with Tommy Lyons afterwards. The interviewer didn't seem too sympathetic towards Dublin...but then again, why should he be? And Lyons wasn't exactly a gracious loser, practically blaming Pat McEneaney for them losing.

How were Dublin supposed to win the championship when don't even have a free-kick taker? I thought it was a disgrace to see them taking short free-kicks from relatively close to the goals, as well as 45s, and not to mention the number of wides...again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Well done Armagh yeh proved that ye can still play good football when needed proving that they can still retain Sam.I think they really showed there class in the second half,they played Dublin of the pitch and rised them so they would react and have a player sent off in this case Cluxton

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Well done Armagh, proved the Dubs are nothing more than a media dream. played them totally off the pitch, thought it was poor show to blame cluxton by lyons, it came down to the fact that he did not know what to do when he had a man sent off.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Stephen McDonnell is something else. Definately the best forward in Ireland at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

Just gotta face it... Dublin will always be over hyped / favoured as long as they bring the big bucks in :)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

I was at the match on Saturday and the one thing I noticed was the speed at which the Dublin players were out after the game. They were dressed and out of the ground by the time it took me to get out of my seat and out onto the road.

For me this is a sign that Lyons is going to resign, or pushed. They must have had no post match talk at all.

In relation to the game, I thought Dublin had a very good first half - contained Armagh very well. The sendings off switched the game and it has to be said that Dublin seemed to believe their own hype - especially after the first half.

I think Dublin have to realise that at the moment we are a very average team. The selectors have to take some blame - afterall surely they can find one player in Dublin who can take a free

Hyzepher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

well, as usual there are some gloaters that come out of the woodwork that truly piss me off.

Yes Dublin are bottlers...they had every chance to kick the crap outta Armagh and fell falt on their faces.

Terrible display from dublin, bad referee and great determination and power from Armagh, back to being depressed about Dublin again. at least when Tommy carr was the manager you could expect to do bad... its much worse when you get your hopes up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭xlex

Originally posted by Alany
    at least when Tommy carr was the manager you could expect to do bad... its much worse when you get your hopes up.

Tommy Carr is still in the championship, youse are not....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I have to say that Dublin was sorely lacking in midfield. Whelan just wasn't there. And the forwards weren't doing too hot a job up front during the first half. After Cluxton's sending off the discipline (what discipline there was) went out the window.

Now with that bit said ... Armagh were filthy b*stards though. I have never seen so much jersey pulling/swinging and off-the-ball incidents in a game of football before. And that's saying something...

For that alone, I hope they have their a*rses handed to them in the next round because that was about the only thing that they looked competent at doing on Saturday.

All in all it was NOT an enjoyable match.

the way they played Dublin is the only way to play Dublin because they can't handle it... I think that if Cluxton wasn't sent-off Dublin would still have been beat...

Tactics were wrong and the substitution for Cluxtons S/O was very quick:confused:

Originally posted by xlex
    the way they played Dublin is the only way to play Dublin because they can't handle it...

Nope .. I don't agree with that assessment. There's playing rough, but saturday was just a farce. There were off the ball incidents all over the pitch that were NOWHERE NEAR the ball

The amount of jersey swinging by Armagh was unbelievable. Right from the 1st minute I saw it and 5 mins in realised that there was going to be punch-ups & sending offs at some point.

I think that if Cluxton wasn't sent-off Dublin would still have been beat...

Had Dublin's forwards not kept missing during the 1st half I believe it /could/ have been a different story ..... they missed about 6/7 or so points

Tactics were wrong and the substitution for Cluxtons S/O was very quick:confused:

I have to say, I don't know why they took Connell off instead of Whelan, who just wasn't doing anything for the game at all.

Tommy car was dublins worst manager EVER...

Now if he has his act together fair play to him..I was refering to him then.

Cluxtons sending off was not consistant with the rest of the game. Im not saying he should not have been sent off but if that warrants a sending off then Armagh should have lost 3 or 4 players. But there should be no blaming the ref for that shambles of a dublin performance.

Dublin need a backbone, they need a Leader ( which Whelan obviously isnt) and they need some sort of decent managment to sort out the forwards.

Why did brogan stay on so long ? Why did connell come off ( sore ankle maybe?) why was dotsy Callaghan not on earlier
    why in gods name did Mcgee come off ? where the fucck was the support for davind Henry ( dublins best player this year) and Paddy christy ?

Its fairly depressing, dublin have fallen flat on their faces. Something big needs to happen.

But what is more annoying is posters like Dcully, Xlex and others comming on here gloating..where were you when Armagh lost to Monaghan ? I hpoe you turn out to be real GAA fans and not flaming mupputs that show up to make a few gloating posts.
    then dissapear till next year when Dublin fall flat on their faces again.

Originally posted by Alany
    Dublin need a backbone, they need a Leader ( which Whelan obviously isnt) and they need some sort of decent managment to sort out the forwards.

Its fairly depressing, dublin have fallen flat on their faces. Something big needs to happen.

But what is more annoying is posters like Dcully, Xlex and others comming on here gloating..where were you when Armagh lost to Monaghan ? I hpoe you turn out to be real GAA fans and not flaming mupputs that show up to make a few gloating posts.
    then dissapear till next year when Dublin fall flat on their faces again.

This is the first in quite a few years (1998 ??) that Dublin have been knocked out so early. If they're such no-talents, answer that one gloaters? :rolleyes:

But on that note, this should serve as the team's wake-up call.

yeah this is dublins worst all Ireland in a long time
    but not since 95 and last year did they really look like contenders.
    and ever last year was doubtful

I'm not exactly on hear to gloat at Dublin, but when the Media and the fans talk up Dublin's chances it's nice they fall on teir faces... Kerry must be loving it... it's nice and quite down in Munster....

Now for the real chat... Dublin have forwards, it's all about movement, through Armagh being clever and Lyons being stupid, Armagh crowded out their backs and Dublin tried to walk the ball down the field... it takes energy to give the rough that Armagh dished and it takes as much to take it but Dublin were getting hit when on the ball because they didn't exploit their half, what was the piont of Dublins half-back line and midfielders carring the ball into their half forward line...

Armagh on the other hand used the 14 a side game to open up their forwards where they had the luxury of playing down the sides or just popping it in front of their forwards who were killing the Dublin backs.... If they fouled they were punished.

Was it McGrane that scored two points in the second half?

The best thing Lyons could have done was to take Brogan off for Paul Byrne intro, Leave Whelan and Connell back to cover Armagh space and exploit Farrell and Cosgrove. fook all cleverer than Farrell inside... problem sorted...

gotta agree with some of what you said xlex.

but then everyone has an opinion regarding how dublin should play their football. I dont think tommy has with it takes ..I was so hopeful of him. he seems like a great manager, but lets face it unless he takes a good look at himself, the tatics and his selectors he will never win another trophy with dublin.

Personally I think all he has to do is head down to mobhy ( spelling ?) and watch Na Fianna play..they have a lovley style and they play hard too...not dirty like armagh but rough like maybe you would see from Kerry or Meath 4/5 years ago.

Or maybe he should come up to tallaght where davis's and Judes are playing lovely stuff. ack...I dunno

There is a lot more at fault than tatics...Dublin just didnt have the heart or leadership yesterday. Brian Stines is sorely missed...dublin need midfield leadership...

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

In fairness if there was consistency in the sending offs then cosgrave was the first to throw a punch then he should have gone, it is easy to be blinkered and see only armaghs fould but dublin are well know to be filty dirty with continous off the ball blocks and sly slaps.
    Armagh should have been down to about 11 with the dubs down to about 12 or 13.

Alany we are not getting at you as I am sure u are pissed off but the majority of GAA fans are sick to the teeth of the over media coverage handed out to every match the dubs play. Dublin may have a population of 1million people but at least 1/2 of that are not dubliners, why there has to be a 4 page pull out when the dubs have a training session pisses the rest of us off.

We are not getting at the genuine GAA supporters like yourself.

thanks Yop I appricate your view as I do everyone who posts here ( cept anyone from meath....by the way HAHAHAH Gloat Gloat...least we were trounsed bu the all Ireland Champs)

I really am bitterly dissapoined by Dublin and as a fanatic I do tend to only see armagh fouls this is true.

But I would also like to say that I have not placed any of the blame on the ref for this match. Pat McEvoy ( or what ever his name is) is in my opinion the best ref in Ireland and I feel by his standards he didnt have his best game.

The blame is Dublins, both players and Management. some times I dont think Dublin deserve the support they get.

Well another year being jelous of other counties...

As for the ott media coverage I totally agree. More focus should be placed on the clubs.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

well, as usual there are some gloaters that come out of the woodwork that truly piss me off.

Ive been saying it the past 5 years.
    Armagh,Kerry.Galway,are light years ahead.
    Jesus even Kildare and Laois are superior in all departments.
    I mean that muppet "Jayo" as the Dubs fondly call him is totally useless.Brogan and Cosgrove are decent forwards but certainly not in the class of Kerry,galway Armagh forwards.
    i actually feel sorry for Dublin players as the hype they have to live with is crazy.
    Dublin have some really good players but Tommy Lyons is simply not even an average manager never mind a good one.
    Oh what would the Dubs give for Micko,Sean Boylan or Paudi O Shea to name but a few?

Personally I think dublin need a manager like sean boylan...however as a dub I would never feel comfortable with that poxy bstard incharge. maybe Paudi can be convinced to come up to the big smoke ???

Not fukin likley.

There are good managers in dublin... we just need t pick the right one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I dont think Paudi is the man. Feck sake he has trouble winning the All Ireland with a team that can afford to sideline Jonny Crowley last season, and Maurice Fitz for a couple of seasons before that. If you cant win the championship with that team you should not be managing. John O Mahony could be the man but he would be mad to leave Galway. I would like to see Paul Caffery have a go, he is one of Tommy's selectors but he brought Na Fianna to All Ireland Club finals and won back to back Dublin championships.

By the way Dcully there is no way Kildare and Laois are superior in all departments. Try and keep some kind of a grip on reality.

Originally posted by Lemming
    Nope .. I don't agree with that assessment. There's playing rough, but saturday was just a farce. There were off the ball incidents all over the pitch that were NOWHERE NEAR the ball
    I'd hate to see you playing in Ulster Lemming because that happens all the time up here.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    I'd hate to see you playing in Ulster Lemming because that happens all the time up here.

My dad played intercounty for 11 years for Donegal. I;ve heard plenty of stories from him on the subject.

With all that in mind and from everything else I've ever seen/played, saturday's game was just farcical pornapster. Dublin were brutal, but Armagh were just plain filthy.

Originally posted by Lemming
    My dad played intercounty for 11 years for Donegal. I;ve heard plenty of stories from him on the subject.

With all that in mind and from everything else I've ever seen/played, saturday's game was just farcical pornapster. Dublin were brutal, but Armagh were just plain filthy.
    You could be right, because I only saw the highlights from the match there on Sunday. But alot of that stuff does happen in Ulster... Especially when Fintan Cahill was playing for Cavan. :D

Porn that doesnt make it right...

The way Armagh paly their football is not right. Im all in favour of rough football but blatant thugary is not welcome imo

OMG thats rich coming from a Dub fan :rolleyes:
    By the way Dcully there is no way Kildare and Laois are superior in all departments. Try and keep some kind of a grip on reality.

We all have our opinions but both Kildare and Laois are in Leinster final in case u forget therefore have gone further than the OVERHYPED DUBS :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

Very sensible arguement Dcully. that obviously means they are better teams, and in every department. Cop on to yourself!

Seriously though its laughable how easy it is to wind up Dub fans after Laois beat them and now Armagh.I know Kildare or Laois are no better than Dublin,i mean ffs Kildare have only one half decent forward and any Dub forward is superior.
    I just enjoy laughing at the fans of a team who always under achieve.The fans and media still think they will win an all Ireland.
    TBH i feel sorry for the Dublin players having this burden on them.

I think its you who needs to cop-on TBH.
    You obviously still believe the hype. :rolleyes:

To be honest lads, I was hoping that Cavan would meet Dublin or Meath in the qualifiers because I knew we could beat them. Teams like Fermanagh deserve way more credit than Dublin do, because I honestly think they are better than Dublin. Yet history (and the media) tells you that Dublin are a better team on paper (which is not true). And Dublin people believe it.

I think Lyon's has done well with a mediocre team and should be credited for what he has done.

Teams like Fermanagh deserve way more credit than Dublin do, because I honestly think they are better than Dublin. Yet history (and the media) tells you that Dublin are a better team on paper (which is not true). And Dublin people believe it.

Couldnt have said it better myself.

Like i said this doesnt help the players either.I honestly feel the Dublin teams biggest enemy is their over expectant followers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

All I can say is what element of the media hype Dublin up? Joe Brolly the neutral man for the Derry game ?, who also slipped up by saying "we have to , I mean Armagh have to" at the Armagh game? Spillane? who hates Dublin, he wrote of the "laughable Dublin support" then we have meath men at half time too? I mean who hypes Dublin up? the news papers where all the above work?- these guys hype up the hype
    Why do people speak of an over hyped Dublin, the only regular writer ex Dublin Player, Barnie Rock has been saying that Dublin will get no where without a free taker and he was right, no other Dublin presenter gets a look in, even news talk 106 "Dublins News Radio Station" has Pat Spillan on it Why? is the GAA an Irish sport or a country sport for country people living in Dublin? surely its an Irish sport. The big hype about Dublin is all the shirts and tickets they sell, thats all. The GAA Love the money and make decissions to make more (like giving Dublin two weeks to recover for games which happened once)
    I love the GAA and the healthy slagging between Jacks and Culchies, I hope that Armagh win Sam again as they are a good team who have to put up with alot to even play the game in the first place, remember the media support for Sligo last year , what did Armagh do to deserve such negativity? They are good GAA men who win and loose well (better then most Dubs hint Tommy Lyons). Rember Kerry have 33 All Irelands and they get to put Pat Spillan on the air who rubs everyones noses in it, he has learned alot from Dunphy whith his post match analysis, he is constantly wrong yet gets attention for the shock element by insulting other counties and players, try listening to him without him mentioning his eight medals or something similar, you guy know what I'm talking about I've spoken to guys all over the country who hate listening to his moany voice, why cant we have good discussions where referees dicissions are analysed? and finally for the record , Jayo and Dessie are part of the forward line of the Dublin County champions, thats whay they came and made a difference compared to five crokes men who have won little since Lyons left them, these are the best we have so we have to make do

Originally posted by Stoner
    All I can say is what element of the media hype Dublin up? Joe Brolly the neutral man for the Derry game ?, who also slipped up by saying "we have to , I mean Armagh have to" at the Armagh game? Spillane? who hates Dublin, he wrote of the "laughable Dublin support" then we have meath men at half time too? I mean who hypes Dublin up? the news papers where all the above work?- these guys hype up the hype
    Why do people speak of an over hyped Dublin, the only regular writer ex Dublin Player, Barnie Rock has been saying that Dublin will get no where without a free taker and he was right, no other Dublin presenter gets a look in, even news talk 106 "Dublins News Radio Station" has Pat Spillan on it Why? is the GAA an Irish sport or a country sport for country people living in Dublin? surely its an Irish sport. The big hype about Dublin is all the shirts and tickets they sell, thats all. The GAA Love the money and make decissions to make more (like giving Dublin two weeks to recover for games which happened once)
    I love the GAA and the healthy slagging between Jacks and Culchies, I hope that Armagh win Sam again as they are a good team who have to put up with alot to even play the game in the first place, remember the media support for Sligo last year , what did Armagh do to deserve such negativity? They are good GAA men who win and loose well (better then most Dubs hint Tommy Lyons). Rember Kerry have 33 All Irelands and they get to put Pat Spillan on the air who rubs everyones noses in it, he has learned alot from Dunphy whith his post match analysis, he is constantly wrong yet gets attention for the shock element by insulting other counties and players, try listening to him without him mentioning his eight medals or something similar, you guy know what I'm talking about I've spoken to guys all over the country who hate listening to his moany voice, why cant we have good discussions where referees dicissions are analysed? and finally for the record , Jayo and Dessie are part of the forward line of the Dublin County champions, thats whay they came and made a difference compared to five crokes men who have won little since Lyons left them, these are the best we have so we have to make do
    The media and the fans hype Dublin up to the last. And Dunphy is not constantly wrong. He makes fair arguements alot of the time, but alot of the time he comes across too strong with his comments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Fair enough on Dunphy, but he does go OTT for the sake if it sometimes, but tell you what you give me the name of a famous GAA journalist who hypes the Dubs up? and I'll easily double those who do the opposite

Stoner fair enough points. however, The Dubs are hyped. no I dont like it. but we are. The evening herald is the biggest offender IMO. the fact that there is so much dublin bashing by the media and pundits is more evidience of dublins "hyped status".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Came back from my holliers on Saturday, and on the flight back I read the sports section in the Irish Times and I was shocked to discover that Armagh had beaten the Dubs.
    I just read the Tom Humphries article and it seems to be putting the blame for Dublin's poor performance this year down to Tommy Lyons and his management style.
    The manager always seems to be the first to get hit when a team does badly. Is it warrented for Lyons? And what did he say after the match, does anybody know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I don't think Lyons is that bad of a Manager. After all look what he did with very average players in Offaly!

I don't think Dublin will live up to their true potential as long as the superClub structure stays in place. Surely lesser known clubs might have one player that is better than others on the panel but there seems to be a quota system in operation for the top clubs and imo this is the biggest problem with Dublin football.

I agree with most of what was said about this over hyping too. And definitely the evening herald is the biggest offender but I would imagine most (as in probably 80% +) of its sales are in the greater Dublin area. This makes it seem more like a local paper than a national one. The thing here is that a lot of people in Dublin are not Dubs. It's just like the way Dublin soccer gets promoted in the same paper.

As for dirty play, Dublin are famous for it. Although Ulster football in general probably has just a slightly higher reputation for it.