Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why so many soap operas?

• 04-07-2003 7:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭

Why are there so many soap operas? There all head wrecking.

I wouldn't mind if they only went out once or twice a week but now most of them go out 4-5 times a week. Do TV producers have no other ideas for other shows.

Come on lets get something good on the TV for once.

Reduce Soap Operas 14 votes

I think that they should only go out once or twice a week
    0% 0 votes
    No leave them as they are, because what more do you want?
    100% 14 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The soaps are out of control with worse to come as Emmerdale might be going 6 times a week! The cast dont want it but they dont count.

Most week days/evenings you can gorge on 3 hours
    of soap opera without having to tape anything (you'll notice how after a few bunfights in the late 90s the channels now make sure they don't schedule episodes to clash).

I used to have quite a bad soap habit even watching Home and Away for a while :eek: but now only watch them a few times a week (Corrie and 'enders).

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

It was nice to see that the extra episode of Coronation Street had to move because it clashed with The Thursday night episode of Fair City.

I have to say I watch Fair City and Coro St maybe once a week. Unfortunately the other two big ones are just terrible. But I shouldn't say anything bad about either Emmers or EastEnders as they are both Soaps and the do exactly what soaps do. And I really don't like Soap anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

soap operas are going into overkill. i feel sorry for people who have no interest in soaps, 1 television, no video recorder and a soap addict who has to watch them all. luckily only Coronation Street and Eastenders get regular viewing in my house. Emmerdale is starting to get viewing figures though :( but there is nothing on at 7 anyway. there are other televisions for those that don't want to watch (myself for most days). i would only watch Eastenders on a regular basis, about 2 or 3 times week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Opposite here Mossy.We used to watch Emmerdale but in the last few years,and especially since it went 5 or even 6 nights a week we have semi quit.I never watch it and the parents do rarely.If they are out its usually the simpsons on sky 1 for me,although recently they have been showing such ancient episodes I cant even be arsed watching them.Now we only watch coronation street and eastenders.But Emmerdale is so bad it is laughable TBH.Last time I watched most of the people under 18 in that show were living together as couples for some reason.

I think what pisses me off about them is how bloody unrealistic they are like how I said about all the under 18s living together and none of them even seeming to have a parent about.How many people in real life do you know like this?Most guys of that age make fun of their mates if there is any indication that they actually love the girl they are shagging.I know Ive done it:D That whole story of the guy in coronation street walking out on the exams to be with his girl was embarrasing to watch say the least.

And how come everybody in soaps who uses drugs has a drug problem?There is nobody in soaps who can smoke the odd joint to relax or very occasionally does some other type of drugs like ecstasy.No,everybody in soaps who uses drugs is either a cocaine or heroin addict.

And there has NEVER been a baby born in soapland who either didnt die at birth,have uncertainty as to who the father is,be born to a teenage mother,or at some point have the threat of abortion hanging over them.What ever happened to two people finding out they are becoming parents with no hassle?:D

And how does everybody always manage to find work in the street they live in?Perhaps if they made more sense I would be a bit more arsed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

ever notice how in Eastenders the only place that has a working washing machine is the laundrette. no one cleans their clothes at home. most people have their breakfasts and lunch at the café when they live about 2 seconds away from it. with the amount of time that everyone spends in the pub, it seems they all have a liver made of cast iron. it is all true to life. really it is :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭Fry

its true, theyre always in the pub...they go into the pub everyday, at lunchtime,during their dinner and in the evening. They have a few pints and go back to undieworld......and yet when they need something for the kids or whatever......."20 pounds !!!....where am I going to get 20 pounds!!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

I think Fair City is pretty dire. Ros Na Run I think is superb.

I used watch fair city, Eastenders - but I find them pretty bad TV.

I keep an eye on Conoration Street - but only watch it once a week.

I think soaps need to develop characters. I think Ros Na Run has done this with Tadhg, Cathriona & Berni.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 buttons malone

Yeah, ros na run is good. even tho i have to read the sub titles!
    emmerdale is no good. its brookside waiting to happen.

eastenders is alrite, tho who seen that episode totally devoted to yer man trying to get a condom?! that was soaps at its worst.

fair city is sooo wooden-plot, actors...
    which mother in her right mind would let her 8mths pregnant 15yr old daughter live in a tiny bedsit all by herself during the day,sleepin on the floor at nite and eatin baked beans every day??!!
    the incest story was interesting but they ended it way too quick. they built up and up to it... and they finished it in 2episodes!!

corrie is the best. i think its the most realistic. its going to be really hard to top the "tricky dickie" story tho...

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Yes, soaps are on Waaay too often now! :( I used to watch Eastenders a lot when it was just on Tuesday and Thursday, but now it's on far too often so I don't bother much anymore. As far as I see if you only see one episode per week, you will note that you haven't missed much! :rolleyes:

I like the younger actors in Fair City, Mondo etc. I think there good, the yougest doyle is very good. I am glad that the whole incest thing didn't go on to long, It could have gone on forever. They should have started the relationship before the mother and daughter found out about each other. Maybe floyd will get back to himself, rather then the pathic love sick wimp that he is at the moment. God i know to much about this soap.

Catching up on Ros Na Run on TG4 week days. Is very good. Did one of the twins have the baby or did it die?

EastEnders is just depressing. And Emmerdale just gets more and more ridicolous, another plane waiting to happen on that show.

I used to live with people who watch nothing else that prob why I am so againist them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

i think Emmerdale is the best of the soaps. It has the best range of characters.. ie young, middle aged, elderly, rich, poor etc. SOme of the storylines are a bit OTT but thats half the fun of it. They have some great comedy characters like Viv and Bob and Tricia. Some of the younger actors like Robert are very good.

I have just started to get into Ros Na Run, it seems to be very good. One question about it though, last xmas there was an accidental killing, some woman was murdered in the radio studio, Tadhg and that other guy who beats up his wife was there and there was some other guy hiding under a table...what ever happened to that storyline??

It was new years eve on Ros Na Run today. So may be that storyline is starting tomorrow or its just gone. Why did I reply.

Emmerdale is based on the Riordans. Just thought I would mention that.

Originally posted by Elmo

Emmerdale is based on the Riordans. Just thought I would mention that.

:ninja:*

Mike.

* where's Benji?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

There all so full of crap I can't stand any of them. Get rid of them all.

I was going to put that as an option but i felt that if anyone did that then their would be uproar from loads of people and I am hope that TV excutives look at Boards and listen to what the people have to say.

Emmerdale Farm was based on the Riordans, Benjy could be Jack Sugden???

Get Up the feild ye smell of Benjy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

I cant stand any of them either. Never ever watch them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by mike65

* where's Benji?

In the club orange ads, taking his bits out :)

Originally posted by Dustaz
    In the club orange ads, taking his bits out :)

Feck! I knew I recognised the face...

Is that one of my favourite ads? Glad you asked! :D

Mike.