Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did this film piss anyone else off??

• 02-07-2003 5:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42

Did that film gangs of new york piss anyone off???

i rented it out last night and i was shocked at how much the americans in it are such **** jockeys... and now i never want to go to new york in my life.... it seems ther all ****s?

it really sets a bad picture of americans...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

YOU piss me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 ScArY_Cheese

thanks... why might i ask???

im just stating that the film is really damn racist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

Doesn't piss me off anymore than the racism I see here in Ireland today, it's not like we are any better as a people when it comes to tolerence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

cool music in Gangs of NY though, some mean flute playin'!

lol, yeah i thaught the flute'y song at the start was cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

I liked that film, It had some historical content unlike U5179, and other propoganda films that Hollywood have given us over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

The film pissed me off because it was crap. Especially the ending. But not for your reasons.
    You are a dope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

i loved the film, the ending was pretty ropey alright, not to mention the editing...
    i'd love to see the directors cut of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Shad0r

Originally posted by ScArY_Cheese
    Did that film gangs of new york piss anyone off???

i rented it out last night and i was shocked at how much the americans in it are such **** jockeys... and now i never want to go to new york in my life.... it seems ther all ****s?

it really sets a bad picture of americans...

Yes the americans in the film are "**** jockeys" but erm you do realise that a) its a film (i.e. fabrication) and b) it was supposed to be set waaayyyyy back in the day (1863) so I dont really know wtf your talking about saying what you've said about not wanting to go to NY.

Frankly you've either got a strange sense of humor or your a moron.

I thought it was a well made film with some excellent preformances but overall I didnt enjoy it really. Just not my type of flick I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

and now i never want to go to new york in my life.... it seems ther all ****s?
    I know what you mean. I just watched the directors cut of Evil Dead 3 the other day, no way am I going to England again. I mean they've skeletons and undead people running around the place trying to take peoples souls!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Yeah i agree there ScArY_Cheese... When i saw Michael Collins i was aghast... Dublin is full of Fenians and dirty racist and prejudice b@stards. It also has some Americans with bad Irish accents.. im never going to Dublin!!!!!! Hmmm would help if i did not live here :D :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭Ajos

Originally posted by tman
    i loved the film, the ending was pretty ropey alright, not to mention the editing...
    i'd love to see the directors cut of it

I'm one of the only people I know who absolutely adored this film, but there you go. Anyway, Martin Scorsese doesn't believe in director's cuts, so there will never be one. The film is the film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

I found the film to be utter crap, only real thing i liked about it was the flute playing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Haven't seen the film, but am currently reading the book it is based on, and yes it does contain the racial prejudices of the era..
    (mid 19th Century onwards)... Anti-black, Anti-white, Anti-Irish, Anti-Italian, anti-roughs, anti-toffs, anti....

If it's in the book, it's gotta be in the film, otherwise it's not a good representation..

Did you dislike Schindler's list, because it featured Hitler?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

I didn't have a oroblem with the "anti" everything sentiment even though it smacked of Nihilism and social darwinism of the worst kind,ie survival of the fittest.

Was this a brave new way of film makers "telling it how it was" ?
    Well only if you ignore every other law of the gun,might is right message churned out by the studio system over the years every time the thorny subject of american history is brought up.

I disliked the fact it was to long,lost its own plot (what little there was of it) and required the viewer to break the suspension of disbelief whilst the whole final real was labouriously explained using psuedo doccumentary techniques.
    I also think Day Lewises performance was probally the most overrated in film history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Ive been to New York several times and can confirm that there are several "**** jockeys" living there..

so the chap is correct I suppose :)

thank you all... i expressed my oppinion and again i am flamed.. ok thanks..

im just saying it pissed me off the way all the iish was bet around... ffs..

sorry about the im not going to new york thingy.. i was kinda drunk when i wrote this thread :P

Originally posted by Ajos
    I'm one of the only people I know who absolutely adored this film, but there you go. Anyway, Martin Scorsese doesn't believe in director's cuts, so there will never be one. The film is the film.
    ah ffs, he must be some kind of **** jockey!

ah well, i guess this means that at least they won't bring out 10 different versions of the dvd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

thank you all... i expressed my oppinion and again i am flamed.. ok thanks..

sorry about the im not going to new york thingy.. i was kinda drunk when i wrote this thread :P

What did ye expect when writting an "opinion" when flaming drunk..?

er...The whole thing about the Irish being bet around the place is the whole plot so if ye knew anything about the film before ye watched it it hard to see how it surprised\pissed ye off.

I thought Daniel D. was brilliant in it but it was unfortunatley, ****.
    The build up was too long and then the end too short.
    Not half as graphic as i was led to believe either.

NOT.... as graphic as you thaught??

ok

well yeah, i didnt know what the film was REALLY about before i watched it.... but i dont really go and read up on a film before i go and rent it out?? i just see a "reccommended" sticker in extra vision and say "that mgiht be good" o i get it...

and as you see i didnt like that film at all
    ( i agree, dan was class in it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

If "iish" means Irish, would you have left the cinema with a warm fuzzy feeling if they'd all been from east London instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

NOT.... as graphic as you thaught??

ok

From all the reviews i thought it was going to be a complete gore fest that was going to disgut me but i think they actually didnt show anything too gorey. for instance
    When the irish sherrif was killed by Bill they didnt show the cleaver hitting him in the back or did they show his head getting mashed in with the club
    . Wich i'm rather glad they didnt by the way.

There are a lot more hard hitting gory films\tv series out there like Saving Private Ryan and Band of Brothers which completely turned my stomach at times. which was a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

I've seen neither Gangs of New York or Once upon a time in america. Are they worth adding to my dvd collection?

haven't seen once upon a time either, i nearly ordered it on play the other day...
    wouldn't mind seeing some opinions on that...
    rent gangs tbh, it's not everyones cup of tea & it's not a film that i would feel comfortable reccomending.
    i loved it tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Once upon a time in America is one hell of a movie. Closer to the Godfather (part 2 particularly) than Goodfellas (just for comparison), great cast, great score.

HMV are selling it for €22.99, I assume Play are cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    I've seen neither Gangs of New York or Once upon a time in america. Are they worth adding to my dvd collection?
    I quite enjoyed Gangs of New York more from the interesting history point of view than the fairly uninspired plotline. A bit too cliched for it to be a *great* movie. Not worth buying IMO anyways. Also Daniel Day Lewis is absolutely mesmerising. Chewing scenery, people etc.

Now Once Upon In American is an immense movie, well worth a look indeed. A little overlong and overblown but all in all a fine crime/gangster film. The one problem I have with it is how the female characters are portrayed in movie. Now I'm not one to have a weak stomach normally and I realise that the film is about hard men living hard lives, but there seems something almost gratuitous about the degradation of women in it.

I dunno maybe I just didn't understan what he was getting at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Originally posted by sceptre
    HMV are selling it for €22.99, I assume Play are cheaper.
    They are indeed, I picked it up from them last week for about €20
    It's a great movie, well worth the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Kai

I watched it in the cinema and thougght i was only ok. a friend of mine got it on Dvd and i watched the first 5 mins then walked out, and i never walk out on a film ever. theres just something about this film that i hate and im not sure what it is. It doesnt have much of a plot its all over the top type stuff, and yer man daniel day lewis is overated as well.
    I dont think ill ever watch it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Originally posted by tHE vAGGABOND
    Ive been to New York several times and can confirm that there are several "**** jockeys" living there..
    Hell, that much is already confirmed to anyone by the time encounter security at JFK! :)

And to the thread author complaining about the way the Irish were 'treated' in this movie, cop on! The Irish are the second least demonised race in cinema (after the beloved Jews of course) so the net result of that is that they're most often going to be the race that gets picked on in order to perpetuate this stereotpye.

Finally GONY is a piece of overhyped overrated garbage that no-one will care about in 5 years time anyway so don't be getting so worked up about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Ebonyks

That Dicaprio lad must be stopped....cannot stand the prick.

Anyone know a good hitman cos I'll foot the bill no probs.....

Enjoyed Daniels performance, film s**t mind you

fin