Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Friday the 13th!!

• 13-06-2003 10:33am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭

anyone had any bad experiences today? considering the day in question it's gotta be really bad for someone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

I get my exam results later on today, i pissed on a black cat last nite :ninja:

Things might get worse later on :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭Duffman

lol, who's doing Leaving Cert German today? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

Originally posted by Duffman
    lol, who's doing Leaving Cert German today? :D

who ever is... i pity them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

a mate of mine is getting married today.......................the fool.

I can see the divorce papers now.

"The Nightmare of Violence and recrimination that was there two day marriage"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

On friday the thirteenth last december i went to the airport to fly to brussels at 10 in the morning.

Ryanair refused to let me on the flight because of an airbubble underneath the lamination of my passport.

I missed the flight, had to go to the garda station get a new passport form, then go to the passport office in town and wait around dawson st for 2 hours for an emergency passport.

Then I went back to the airport, eventually got on a flight at about 5.

Cost me 50 euros for the passport and 35 i think for the new flight.

So I was 6 hours behind, then I had to get the train from Brussels to Rotterdam where I arrived about 7 hrs late.

From then on I have vowed never to travel on Friday the 13th again.

And I have to go to the dentist in an hour
    Eek!
    :( :mad: :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

i got paid more money than i thought i was gonna get, been bought 2 meals already, and the day has only started.

wh00t!

hope i dont jynx it

fathole

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

my blokes 63 year old mother is coming to stay for the weekend, we will have to entertain her and I won't be able to drink, I'm dying from hayfever, which I haven't had for two years now.
    the weekend hasn't started yet and I'm already in hell :(

back from dentist and she told me i need 3 fillings.
    **** friday the 13th, **** it in its fat ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Mistakill

i was a doing a junior cert exam today and it went fine. I dont think there is anything behind this 'friday the 13th dings'

note:
    Ding - german [din] (-(e)s, -e) nt thing, object; d~lich adj real, concrete; ~s(bums) (-) (umg) nt thingummy-bob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

I was walking around downstairs in me house last night at about 2am. There was a beetle type yoke on the carpet. I kicked him before I was gonna squash it...but...it disappeared! Vanished! I looked around for it so I could kill the bástárd but it was nowhere to be seen. It was a freakin ghost-beetle !!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭Tyrrial

Originally posted by Mistakill
    i was a doing a junior cert exam today and it went fine. I dont think there is anything behind this 'friday the 13th dings'

i think fisty may disagree with you there

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

/me slaps any superstistious people in the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 933 ✭✭✭mooman_00

got into work about 8:15 this mornin and the power was gone in my half of the office, i thought lovely easy friday........power was put back on about 9:45. A girls comp was still without power so i fetched a power cable to get it going again. Pluged it in a went to flick the power kill switch on the back off the comp.........bang (with a loud flash)............. had a bit of a blank expression on my face as smoke came from right next to where my hand was..........the computer is fukked now, still dunno what caused it but im lucky that i only came out with slightly blakened tips of my fingers............the smell in the office was terrible..........other than that everything is fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

hey nem i kno sum1 gettin married today too - u from co. antrim?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭cartman

hehe ,
    my gf was doin German today...
    and after it a bird shi*ted on her head:)
    so that means good luck yes..

cartman

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Originally posted by fisty
    back from dentist and she told me i need 3 fillings.
    **** friday the 13th, **** it in its fat ass.

"I like cake" .. and you think its Friday the 13ths fault :rolleyes: .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭patch

I was talking to a mate last night, his sister is moving into her new house today. It's no. 13 as well. Some people have no cop on. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

this is a good day for me. :)

<< Fio >>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

I had a lovely relaxed day. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

yes but as well as being the 13th it is a full moon and the full moon cloested to the summer solatice so lots of fun vibes about the place

Today is the witches day, BURN HER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

i broke a heart today, i bet that person ain't happy

just because i think this friday the 13th ****e is all well.. ****e, i'm going to post a saturday the 14th! thread tomorow

beware!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Sev

So how do we explain then, the friday 13th's on which fortunate things happen?

Originally posted by Sev
    So how do we explain then, the friday 13th's on which fortunate things happen?

Hmm, that would be quite unfortunate for Friday 13th...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭Sev

Ross, you know this board has been completely dead for an hour and 15 minutes before you replied. I know its a friday night, but still, that can't be natural.

Originally posted by CuLT
    Hmm, that would be quite unfortunate for Friday 13th...

i have never hated you more than I do right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭BoobeR

i had a great day today, got lots of sleep too :D
    lol @ that RTE boat sinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Originally posted by BoobeR
    lol @ that RTE boat sinking.
    Are they actually gonna have the series now? Or are they just going to replace the boat with an old jeep? And the sea with a jungle? And the lifejackets with guns? And will Fonzie jump the shark?

they have them up in some hotel and are gonna get another boat as far as i hear, but your idea sounds better lol :D

Originally posted by Sev
    Ross, you know this board has been completely dead for an hour and 15 minutes before you replied. I know its a friday night, but still, that can't be natural.

Wha? I do attract that masses ;) , if thats what you're implying :D .

Mord,

TEEHEEHEE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

"Thirteen is especially unlucky terms of dinner parties, referring back to the Last Supper or the Norse feast: it is believed that one of the thirteen diners will die within a year. But the fear exists in every occurrence of the number. Fear is also aroused if the thirteenth of the month falls on a Friday--in itself a notoriously unlucky day, largely by association with Good Friday."

In the United States, roughly 8 percent of the population is afraid of Friday the 13th, a condition known as paraskevidekatriaphobia.
    The superstition surrounding Friday the 13th is actually a combination of two separate fears -- the fear of the number 13, called triskaidekaphobia, and the fear of Fridays.

Sailors were particularly superstitious in this regard, often refusing to ship out to sea on a Friday. According to legend, in the 18th century, the British Navy commissioned a ship called the H.M.S. Friday in order to quell the superstition. The navy selected the crew on a Friday, launched the ship on a Friday and even selected a man named James Friday as the ship's captain. Then, one Friday morning, the ship set off on its maiden voyage -- and disappeared forever.

Some historians trace the Christian distrust of Fridays to the church's overall opposition to pagan religions. Friday is named after Frigg, the Norse goddess of love and sex. This strong female figure, these historians claim, posed a threat to male-dominated Christianity. To fight her influence, the Christian church characterized her as a witch, vilifying the day named after her. This characterization may also have played a part in the fear of the number 13. It was said that Frigg would often join a coven of witches, normally a group of 12, bringing the total to 13. A similar Christian tradition holds that 13 is unholy because it signifies the gathering of 12 witches and the devil.

Another significant part of the Friday-the-13th legend is a particularly bad Friday the 13th that occurred in the middle ages. On a Friday the 13th in 1306, King Philip of France burned the revered Knights Templar at the stake, marking the occasion as a day of evil.

<< Fio >>

erm
    he didn't burn any templars at the stake
    he and the pope conspired against the templars and imprisoned them all. only about 20 escaped. they were tortured and "confessed" to being heretics and there was talk of their being idoliters (can't remember the idol they were supposed to be worshipping) but that's more than likely untrue and most of the "confessions" can't really be believed because well... when you're being tortued you'll say anything to make it stop :)

the templars were so popular and powerful at the time that their sudden demise on october the 13th (a friday) marked the date in people's minds as being unlucky and bleh bleh the rest is history.

pish, people shouldn't have to think this much when they post :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

i really didnt have a good day today..
    My mosquito bites which have become infected and are making me sick which means my foot is purple and swollen but at least my arm isnt oozing anymore...
    not to mention that ive got bad hayfever which is messing up my asthma..
    and i broke my glasses in a place they cant fix em so now i have to spend my first ever pay check which i only got yesterday on new glasses.
    d'oh.

GOE FIO!! lol :P
    god you didnt have a good day at all snickerpuss!!
    My mosquito bites which have become infected and are making me sick which means my foot is purple and swollen

i know....
    but it should go down cos i went to the doctor...im on 3 different kinds of tablets and some creams..
    im really disorintated from lack of sight and excessive amounts of drugs.. (prescription kind of course)
    =)

so today the 14th is your lucky day? as its going down? :p hehe

yeh i guess it must be.
    its all bandaged up.
    god what are we doing up at 3.30 in the morning talking about my purple foot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

My boss gave me **** today I nearly quit cuz of the b!tch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Finished the aul leaving cert yesterday, which all in all went pretty well. But with the day being friday the 13th and all, some fupping blunt punched me in the face leaving me with a bloodied mouth.

Damn you irish drinking culture!!!

Despite the ****ty happenings, when news of the rte boat filtered into the club, it sure as hell cheered me up. On top of that i scored with a girl who thought my first name was Gilroy - come on girl who the fup would call their son Gilroy.

There dont appear to be any real consequences, as i drank 10 long island ice teas yesterday evening, in the space of 2 hours, to kick the night off, and proceeded to do a further 10 hours of heavy drinking. Surprisingly all i have is a minor headache, a dry mouth and a sensation of greatness for getting the girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

Must be a really unlucky day - we had a great day in the office, then when I went out last night I lost 60E only to find it again when I went back to the bar :eek:

i guess some peoples case is they're trying to be too careful and are just making it worse for themselves yesterday :D lmao i had a great day