chainreaction Registered User

So what's up in Listowel these days

snow scorpion Registered User

Is the store called "Crowley's" just off the town square still there? As I remember it was somewhere close to John B. Keane's place.

We'd come into town from Ballybunion, turn right onto a long wide street, (Tuesday was market day and the market was on the right.)

At the end of that long street the Irish Tourist Board had on office at the corner on the right hand side of the street.

Turn right at the Irish Tourist Board onto a short narrow street ... ... I think that's where Keane's and Crowley's was.

And then turn left to the Church square/town square.

That's about all I remember.

Alfasudcrazy Registered User

Hey - I will have to start asking Bord Failte (Irish tourist board) for some conmmission

Here is a link to Kerry/Listowel -
http://www.kerryguide.com/listowel/index.html

Not more stuff! I'm still studying the pictures from Ballybunion!

reic Registered User

I like Listowel, still getting to know it. The only thing I find disconcerting about it is that when I go "downtown" there in the afternoon, the pubs are full already, and when I go out there for an evening, everyone's already drunk when I get there! BIG drinking culture there.

MissT Registered User

Hey,
Just saw the 'listowel thread' am actually looking for info on a guy from listowel, screwed a friend of mine over recently, wont get into details yet, but its a pretty interesting story!. Dont want to give his full details out. HIs name is Eddie, he is a physio in Cork- if you have any info let me know!

tinkerbell Registered User

Crowleys is no longer there - it was bought by the toy shop, but then it was sold again a few years later. Now it's a furniturey-type shop.

Listowel + Fleadh Cheoil = insane The pubs stay open all weekend. I know some people who went into the pub on the Friday night and didn't surface til Sunday morning

tinkerbell