While I was there, it was as if I had to let them act as if they were smarter than me in order to get along with them! It didn't take me long to realise, that the manager who I was supposed to report to on paper, didn't want anything to do with me. He just directed me towards other manager that were beneath him.. which weren't very nice. I remember one of them once told me to get out of his face, and another said to me "I need you to get out and pull your finger out!" I got boyed a lot by one as he tried to knock me into place.

I don't really mind managers addressing a worker's mistakes more so than encouraging what they're doing right - but when 95% of the feedback (of a reasonably good worker) is pointing out what they wrong in a rather condescending manner, it becomes a bit much. I think I might have got a "good man" or two, but that's it. If I was a manager, I'd reaslise that a worker doesn't need to feel you breathing down their neck in order for them to get their work done. Why is this? I've also heard some very bad things about Dunnes!

As an example of how the manager were nasty, one night I was told to face off the "ends". When I was going around the store facing them off, I couldn't help but to face off the ladders too, which were right next to the ends. I remember stopping myself and thinking "hang on, he just asked me to do the ends". So I continued doing just that. This manager was in my head a bit, and as I was continuing, a voice popped in, which said "would it have hurt to do the ladders as well?". Ah ha, a dilemma I thought - I said I'll just do exactly what I've been instructed... thinking it wasn't a situation where I'd need to use my initiative.