Zelda247 Registered User

i have just moved into an area where there is an Aldi, i am not really familiar with the store, what do you recommend of their products.

6 people have thanked this post
The Hill Billy Prick, with a fork

OP - try the forum search function. Here are a couple of search results that you may find useful...

Aldi threads in F&D

Aldi threads in C&R

I've moved this thread to the main Food & Drink forum as your query is appears more related to general produce rather than cooking or recipes.

tHB

Bannasidhe Registered User

I do all of my grocery shopping in Aldi with the exception of coffee. As a former chef I tend to stick to 'basics' (i.e. I cook ) so can't comment on their ready meals with the exception of their curries which I believe are superior to either Marks or Tescos.

At the moment I am happily eating my way through Rosamund Grant's Taste of the Caribbean cookbook using only Aldi bought products and enjoying some seriously good food every night at an average cost of a fiver for two people.

30 people have thanked this post
fussyonion Registered User

There's a good few things from Aldi we love so I'll list them here:

-Specially Selected Madras Curry Sauce (Aldi's curry sauces get rave reviews here. This one has a spice pot attached to the top of the jar, and it's delicious)
-Naan breads (You get two in a pack for 79c and they're lovely)
-Brannan's Deli Style Roast Beef Slices.
-HotDog Rolls
-Orange Squash

And all their cheeses are fabulous!

10 people have thanked this post
Spanish Eyes Registered User

Tea. McGraths Gold Blend. Passed the Ma's taste test, so all is good there!

Kavanagh's Porridge. Just the big 1k bag. Creamiest I've tasted so far.

Jams.

Greek Style Yogurt.

Curry sauces.

There are lots more, I just can't think at the moment, although I am mentally going up and down the aisles as I post!

Enjoy, you will find lots to please you in Aldi.

2 people have thanked this post
gordongekko Registered User

Tis all good