The Cush Registered User
#1

Brian Geraghty on Morning Ireland discussing this now, all Saorview boxes will require a retune in the coming weeks for RTÉ1 HD which he said will be coming in the new year.

http://www.rte.ie/news/morningireland/player.html?20131021,20458134,20458134,flash,232

SAORVIEW RE-SCAN OCT 21ST 2013

Due to technical enhancements to the SAORVIEW service, as part of the ongoing process of expanding the platform, viewers are required to carry out a rescan of their SAORVIEW television or set-top box from Monday 21st October. Failure to re-scan will result in eventual loss of service.

Re-tuning is simple, go to the menu on your tv or set top box and find the option to re-tune, scan or search for channels.

Instructions will be found in your TV or set-top box manual or for more information about how to re-tune, click on our
Guide to Re-Scanning SAORVIEW APPROVED Equipment.

There is also an information helpline available, call 1890 222 012

http://www.saorview.ie/news/saorview-re-scan-oct-21st-2013/


http://www.irishtimes.com/news/consumer/saorview-users-urged-to-retune-or-risk-losing-television-service-1.1568163
http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/householders-urged-to-update-saorview-or-risk-losing-service-610757.html
http://www.newstalk.ie/reader/47.301/15698/0/
http://www.tv3.ie/entertainment_article.php?locID=1.803.813&article=116606

6 people have thanked this post
marclt Moderator
#2

Changes have already happened/happening from Mt L. A retune shows RTE one and RTEjr/one+1 is in the second multiplex

The Cush Registered User
#3

Saorview Multiplexes this morning

Multiplex 1

LCN
Channel
11no channel name (RTÉ 1 simulcast)SD
02RTÉ TwoHD
03TV3SD
04TG4SD
053eSD
06RTÉ News NowSD
17no channel name (RTÉjr simulcast)SD
18no channel name (RTÉ1 +1 simulcast)SD
200RTÉ Radio 1
201RTÉ Radio 1 Extra
202RTÉ 2FM
203RTÉ Lyric FM
204RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta
205RTÉ Pulse
206RTÉ 2XM
207(not used**)
208RTÉ Gold
209RTÉ Junior/RTÉ Chill

** previously RTÉ Choice

Multiplex 2
LCN
Channel
01RTÉ OneHD
12(no channel name***)HD
13(no channel name/testcard)SD - RTÉ Lyric FM audio
14(no channel name***)HD
15(no channel name/testcard)SD - RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta audio
16(not used)
07RTÉjr*SD
08RTÉ One +1*SD
211-212(no radio channel names)no audio
213(no radio channel name)RTÉ Lyric FM audio
214(no radio channel name)RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta audio
215-217(no radio channel names)no audio
218-219(no radio channel name)RTÉ Gold audio
220(no radio channel name)no audio


***No HD testcards on LCNs 12 and 14 this morning
* RTÉjr 0700-1845 approx / RTÉ One +1 1900-0100/0200 approx. Not timesharing on Mux2, static on-air caption on RTÉ1 +1 "This channel is currently off air"

5 people have thanked this post
channelsurfer2 Registered User
#4

The Cush said:
Saorview Multiplexes this morning

Multiplex 1

LCN
Channel
11no channel name (RTÉ 1 simulcast)SD
02RTÉ TwoHD
03TV3SD
04TG4SD
053eSD
06RTÉ News NowSD
17no channel name (RTÉjr simulcast)SD
18no channel name (RTÉ1 +1 simulcast)SD
200RTÉ Radio 1
201RTÉ Radio 1 Extra
202RTÉ 2FM
203RTÉ Lyric FM
204RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta
205RTÉ Pulse
206RTÉ 2XM
207(not used**)
208RTÉ Gold
209RTÉ Junior/RTÉ Chill

** previously RTÉ Choice

Multiplex 2

LCN
Channel
01RTÉ OneHD
12(no channel name***)HD
13(no channel name/testcard)SD - RTÉ Lyric FM audio
14(no channel name***)HD
15(no channel name/testcard)SD - RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta audio
16(not used)
07RTÉjr*SD
08RTÉ One +1*SD
211-212(no radio channel names)no audio
213(no radio channel name)RTÉ Lyric FM audio
214(no radio channel name)RTÉ Raidió na Gaeltachta audio
215-217(no radio channel names)no audio
218-219(no radio channel name)RTÉ Gold audio
220(no radio channel name)no audio

* RTÉjr 0700-1845 approx / RTÉ One +1 1900-0100/0200 approx
***No HD testcards on LCNs 12 and 14 this morning


is it actually broadcasting in HD rteone? or is the signal just saying HD?

irishfreeview Registered User
#5

channelsurfer2 said:
is it actually broadcasting in HD rteone? or is the signal just saying HD?


Its either upscaled or HD, vast improvement on the SD channel which is still broadcasting.

The Cush Registered User
#6

channelsurfer2 said:
is it actually broadcasting in HD rteone? or is the signal just saying HD?


Upscaled HD 1440x1080i, same as RTÉ2.

channelsurfer2 Registered User
#7

and more importantly is the DOG back? lol

formerly scottish paddy Registered User
#8

irishfreeview said:
vast improvement on the SD channel which is still broadcasting.

Yes indeed!!

1 person has thanked this post
Elmo Registered User
#9

Where are we living? On the day of the re-tune they announce the re-tune?

In relation to the few channels available there are a number of Irish services that could have launched on Soarview had they been given some support and appeared on other platforms. IMO at least 15 new services. Even for a small country Soarview is bad IMO.

In relation to my figures I quickly said to myself that RTÉ TV had 6 out 9 SD spaces, TV3 had 2 and TG4 had 1 and I divided by 9 to give me the figures I got for the example. Either way any spare capacity is paid for by the broadcasters and 2RN are paid in full for Mux 1 and 2, which was the real point.

The Cush Registered User
#10

channelsurfer2 said:
and more importantly is the DOG back?


No DOG on display on Morning Edition.

Elmo Registered User
#11

The Cush said:
No DOG on display on Morning Edition.


News programming never has a DOG/BUG on RTÉ, except Prime Time but I think that is because its Current Affairs!

1 person has thanked this post
RonanAnthony Registered User
#12

Don't see the point. One in HD. I New there wundt be much on offer

mickeyboymel Registered User
#13

Notice the New RTE1+1 is now actually broadcasting the "This channel is currently off air" caption as opposed to the MHEG5 message, presumably because of the additional spectrum available?

1 person has thanked this post
Elmo Registered User
#14

RonanAnthony said:
Don't see the point. One in HD. I New there wundt be much on offer


Ah now that's not quite fair we got a.....

mickeyboymel said:
.... New RTE1+1 is now actually broadcasting the "This channel is currently off air" caption as opposed to the MHEG5 message, presumably because of the additional spectrum available?

irishfreeview Registered User
#15

mickeyboymel said:
Notice the New RTE1+1 is now actually broadcasting the "This channel is currently off air" caption as opposed to the MHEG5 message, presumably because of the additional spectrum available?


I wonder why they cant actually broadcast RTE+1 24 hours now that they have the space?

Want to share your thoughts?

Login here to discuss!