Anthonyk2010 Registered User
#1

Connected an aerial to my Sony tv today so I could tune in saorview.

Picked up 18 channels, sound is fine but no picture.

The aerial is the one I used to pick up tv3 and tg4. Thought it would work, could thus be tge problem ?

#2

Your TV is probably MPEG2 , You need MPEG4 for Saorview, Sound no pictures indicates this !

IMO You will need a Set Top Box

Anthonyk2010 Registered User
#3

galait said:
Your TV is probably MPEG2 , You need MPEG4 for Saorview, Sound no pictures indicates this !

IMO You will need a Set Top Box


Thanks

Should the tv be marked some where MPEG4?

#4

google the model number

#5

google the model number

The Cush Registered User
#6

Anthonyk2010 said:
Thanks

Should the tv be marked some where MPEG4?


Check the specifications page in the TV manual for
Digital: MPEG-2 MP@ML/HL, H.264/MPEG-4 AVC MP/HP@L4

liamtech Registered User
#7

Anthonyk2010 said:
Connected an aerial to my Sony tv today so I could tune in saorview.

Picked up 18 channels, sound is fine but no picture.

The aerial is the one I used to pick up tv3 and tg4. Thought it would work, could thus be tge problem ?


Its important to ascertain when you bought your TV - if you bought it in the last two years you could be entitled to a refund, if it is not MPEG4

Anthonyk2010 Registered User
#8

Anthonyk2010 said:
Connected an aerial to my Sony tv today so I could tune in saorview.

Picked up 18 channels, sound is fine but no picture.

The aerial is the one I used to pick up tv3 and tg4. Thought it would work, could thus be tge problem ?


Its important to ascertain when you bought your TV - if you bought it in the last two years you could be entitled to a refund, if it is not MPEG4


TV about 4-5 years old, mpeg2 I'm afraid.

liamtech Registered User
#9

Anthonyk2010 said:
TV about 4-5 years old, mpeg2 I'm afraid.


In that case you will need to buy a set top box - available for around 60 euro

Want to share your thoughts?

Login here to discuss!