Robin 2012 Registered User

Hi,

Im new to this but I said Ill give it ago. Anyway just wondering if anyone knows alot about coolock village and surronding areas as im looking for an area called Shrubs but as far as I know its not called that any more. On my grandmothers birth cert (1916) it has an address of Shrubs Lodge Coolock but cant find where it was nor can I find any pictures from around that time of the area. Iv traced a lot of the family which I found on the census as well.

Any help or info would be great. Thanks guys

Robin

Hermy Registered User
1 person has thanked this post
shanew Registered User

Shrubs is a townland of about 79 acres, located in the civil parish of Coolock.

Townland database : www.seanruad.com

Shane

shanew Registered User

Shrubs townland and House on the OSI Map ...

http://maps.osi.ie/publicviewer/#V1,718332,740370,6,7
(1st edition map)

a couple of Lodges are shown nearby on the slightly later OSI maps - c1890

http://maps.osi.ie/publicviewer/#V1,718612,740481,7,9

Shane

Hermy Registered User
Jellybaby1 Registered User

I have no particular interest in Shrubs in Coolock. But I did enjoy watching everyone's detective skills coming into play, which happens regularly in the Genealogy forum. Well done all!

4 people have thanked this post
Hermy Registered User

Me too Jellybaby. Though Shane is the real detective. I'm only learning.

Jellybaby1 Registered User

Hermy said:
Me too Jellybaby. Though Shane is the real detective. I'm only learning.

Me too.

P. Breathnach Registered User

Shane would probably also say (but for the fact that I am now forestalling him) that he is only learning.

He's quite a few pages further into the book than most of us.

shanew Registered User

there's always more to learn!